Claim Status
Claims 1, 36, 40-43, 54-56, 59, 61, 67, 68, 71-73, 75, 77, 80 and 93 are pending. Claims 2-35, 37-39, 44-53, 57, 58, 60, 62-66, 69, 70, 74, 76, 78, 79 and 81-92 have been cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the invention of Group I in the reply filed on 08 December 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 80 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. As such, claims 1, 36, 40-43, 54-56, 59, 61, 67, 68, 71-73, 75, 77 and 93 are hereby examined.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 55 be found allowable, claim 56 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Moreover, claims 54, 55 and 56 repeatedly use the limitation “polynucleotide”. While Applicant may be his or own lexicographer, it is suggested that the claim not repeatedly use this limitation.
Appropriate action is advised.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 54 is drawn to introducing a guide polynucleotide and polynucleotide guided polypeptide that cleaves a target sequence. Because these polynucleotides do nothing more than result in cleaving the target sequence, and the fact that the claims from which claim 54 depend already introduce a first and second polynucleotide into the mitochondria of a cell, claim 54 is interpreted to mean that that the first and second additional polynucleotides are responsible for inserting ptxD into the mitochondrial DNA of the cell through cleaving a target sequence.
This claim interpretation is also applicable to claims 55 and 56 for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41, 54-56 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 41 is drawn to a method comprising introducing into the mitochondria of a cell a polynucleotide encoding a phosphite dehydrogenase (ptxD) and further comprises introducing a donor DNA comprising a second polynucleotide encoding a second polypeptide and a third and fourth polynucleotide for recombining the second polynucleotide in the mitochondria wherein the donor DNA “further” comprises the first polynucleotide.
The metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite because it is not clear if the method requires introducing ptxD twice (i.e., a first polynucleotide and a donor DNA comprising the first polynucleotide) or if the method encompasses introducing the first polynucleotide once.
Claim 54 is drawn to a method comprising introducing into the mitochondria of a cell a polynucleotide encoding a ptxD and further comprises introducing a donor DNA comprising a second polynucleotide encoding a second polypeptide and a third and fourth polynucleotide for recombining the second polynucleotide in the mitochondria and wherein the method further comprises introducing into the mitochondria a recombinant DNA construct comprising a first and second polynucleotide encoding a guide polynucleotide directing a polypeptide to leave a target sequence in an organelle.
(1) The metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite because it is not clear if the method is to be practiced in the mitochondria as recited in part a) or if the method is intended to be practiced more broadly in an “organelle”.
(2) The metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite because it is not clear how the recombinant DNA construct is introduced into the mitochondrion of the cell when the polynucleotides in said construct do not comprise a mitochondrial targeting polypeptide.
(3) The metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: a nexus between the introduction of the ptxD gene of claim 36, the donor DNA of claim 40 and the recombinant DNA construct of claim 54.
Namely, it is not clear what the intended purpose of the recombinant DNA construct is as all this construct does is cleave a target sequence, presumably in the mitochondrial genome, without inserting any polynucleotide into the genome of the mitochondria.
Claims 55 and 56 present the same issue and are therefore rejected for the same reason as provided for claim 54 issue (2) and (3).
Claim 59 presents the same issue and is therefore rejected for the same reason as provided for claim 54 issue (3).
Claims 1, 36, 40-43, 54-56, 59, 61, 67, 68, 71-73, 75, 77 and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for transforming rice callus with plasmid pNAP256, does not reasonably provide enablement for making and/or using the cells and methods as broadly claimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make/use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In In re Wands (8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988)), the CAFC considered the issue of enablement in molecular biology. The CAFC summarized eight factors to be considered in a determination of "undue experimentation". These factors include: (a) the quantity of experimentation; (b) the amount of guidance presented; (c) the presence or absence of working examples; (d) the nature of the invention; (e) the state of the prior art; (f) the predictability of the prior art; (g) the breadth of the claims; and (h) the relative skill in the art. The factors are analyzed in turn for the instant case as follows:
Here, the claims broadly encompass editing the mitochondrial genome of any conceivable cell type and replacing the start codon of ptxD with any RNA editing site, and doing so while also introducing any cytoplasmic male sterility (CMS) coding region, and further encompass using any guide polynucleotide and polynucleotide guided polypeptide.
Meanwhile, the specification teaches that ptxD having the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 66 was codon optimized for expression in the nucleus of yeast and fused with SEQ ID NO: 67 corresponding to the COX4 gene for mitochondrial targeting to yield SEQ ID NO: 68. This was expressed with the TEF1 promoter corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 69. Expression conferred upon yeast transformants the ability to grow on medium with phosphite as the sole phosphorous source (Example 6).
The specification teaches that ptxD having the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 70 was codon optimized for expression in the nucleus of rice and fused with SEQ ID NO: 71 corresponding to the RPS10 gene for mitochondrial targeting to yield SEQ ID NO: 68. This was expressed with the UBI promoter corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 39. Expression conferred upon rice callus transformants the ability to grow on medium with phosphite as the sole phosphorous source (Example 7).
The specification teaches that ptxD having the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 70 with codons optimized for rice and targeted to the mitochondria enables rice callus to grow on phosphite medium (Example 7).
The specification also teaches that not all guide polynucleotide function as intended to insert a desired gene into the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., see p. 147, ¶ 0422). Thus, the skilled practitioner would not be unable to predictably practice the methods as broadly encompassed by claims 54-56.
Here, the specification fails to provide working examples or supply the appropriate amount of guidance or teachings to predictably make the exhaustive genus of cells as encompassed by the claims or to practice the methods as broadly claimed.
Teachings, guidance and working examples are paramount in light of the fact that the skilled artisan appreciates that mitochondrial transformation is a nascent field that has not been applied to the genus of cell types as encompassed by the claims.
For example, Kim teaches that there are very few examples of edited mitochondria and that delivering gene editing tools in to the mitochondria remains a challenge (2023, “From ‘science fiction’ to ‘just hard’: Mitochondrial DNA editing inches closer to reality”, Chemical & Engineering News, https://cen.acs.org/biological-chemistry/gene-editing/science-fiction-just-hard-Mitochondrial-DNA-editing-inches-closer-to-reality/101/i17).
With respect to the CMS coding region as encompassed by claim 43, the skilled artisan would be unable to practice the method as broadly claimed in light of the state of the art which teaches that mitochondrial expression of orf79 is toxic to plant regeneration (Kojima et al, 2010, Plant Biotechnology, 27:111-114; see for example the Abstract).
With regards to claims 54-56, the skilled practitioner would be unable to predictably practice the methods as broadly claimed as the specification teaches that not all guide polynucleotide function as intended to insert a desired gene into the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., see p. 147, ¶ 0422).
Regarding RNA editing sites as encompassed by claims 67 and 68, Kobayashi et al teaches that although a few prediction procedures have been proposed they are not easily accessed and the reliability of the prediction result is ambiguous due to the absence of a quantitative index for reliability evaluation, and that the current PPR code may not be sufficient to predict the base preference of all PPR motifs found in natural PPR proteins due to the high degeneracy of PPR motif sequences including the PPR code generating residues (2019, Plant Cell Physiol., 60:862-874; see p. 863, col. 1, ¶ 1).
Moreover, Kobayashi et al teach that to date only 80 or so mitochondrial RNA editing sites and their corresponding site specific recognition PPR proteins have been characterized and that PPR proteins responsible for a large number of editing sites remains unknown, (p. 871, col. 1, ¶ 1).
Kobayashi et al teach that their results suggest a limitation of target RNA editing site prediction as being solely dependent on the PPR code (p. 817, col. 2, ¶ 1 and last ¶). As such, one would be unable to predictably make and/or use the RNA editing sites as encompassed by claim 67 or the RNA editing sites as encompassed by claim 68 which fail to recite any structure associated with said RNA editing sites.
Therefore, in light of the inadequate teachings and guidance in the specification, the lack of working examples, the breadth of the claims which encompass edited mitochondria in cells from any conceivable organism and the unpredictable state of the art, the skilled practitioner would be subjected to impermissible undue trial and error experimentation to make and/or use the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 36, 40-43, 54-56, 59, 61, 67, 68, 71-73, 75, 77 and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims 1, 36, 40-43, 54-56, 59, 61, 67, 68, 71-73, 75, 77 and 93 are drawn broadly to editing the mitochondrial genome of any conceivable cell type and replacing the start codon of ptxD with any RNA editing site, and doing so while also introducing any CMS coding region, and further encompass using any guide polynucleotide and polynucleotide guided polypeptide.
Meanwhile, the specification describes that ptxD having the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 66 was codon optimized for expression in the nucleus of yeast and fused with SEQ ID NO: 67 corresponding to the COX4 gene for mitochondrial targeting to yield SEQ ID NO: 68. This was expressed with the TEF1 promoter corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 69. Expression conferred upon yeast transformants the ability to grow on medium with phosphite as the sole phosphorous source (Example 6).
The specification describes that ptxD having the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 70 was codon optimized for expression in the nucleus of rice and fused with SEQ ID NO: 71 corresponding to the RPS10 gene for mitochondrial targeting to yield SEQ ID NO: 68. This was expressed with the UBI promoter corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 39. Expression conferred upon rice callus transformants the ability to grow on medium with phosphite as the sole phosphorous source (Example 7).
The specification describes that ptxD having the coding sequence of SEQ ID NO: 70 with codons optimized for rice and targeted to the mitochondria enables rice callus to grow on phosphite medium (Example 7).
The specification also describes that not all guide polynucleotide function as intended to insert a desired gene into the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., see p. 147, ¶ 0422). Thus, the skilled practitioner would not be unable to predictably practice the methods as broadly encompassed by claims 54-56.
The written description requirement may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by disclosing relevant and identifying characteristics such as structural or other physical and/or chemical properties, by disclosing functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the invention as claimed. See Eli Lilly,119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Here, the specification fails to describe (1) a representative number of species from the broad genus of cells comprising an edited mitochondrial genome; (2) a representative number of cells comprising a CMS coding region; (3) a representative number of guide polynucleotides with functional activity; and (4) a representative number of species from the broad genus of RNA editing sites that retain functional activity.
Regarding (1), a description of a representative number of cells as claimed is critical in light of the fact that the skilled artisan appreciates that mitochondrial transformation is a nascent field that has not been applied to the genus of cell types as encompassed by the claims. For example, Kim describes that there are very few examples of edited mitochondria and that delivering gene editing tools in to the mitochondria remains a challenge (see entire document).
With respect to (2) and the CMS coding region as encompassed by claim 43, the skilled artisan would not be of the opinion Applicant possess the method as broadly claimed in light of the state of the art which describes that mitochondrial expression of orf79 is toxic to plant regeneration (Kojima et al; see Abstract). Moreover, the specification has failed to describe the applicability of introducing a CMS coding region into cells other than those from plants.
With regard to (3) and claims 54-56, the skilled practitioner not be of the opinion that Applicant was in possession of the methods as broadly claimed as the specification describes that not all guide polynucleotide function as intended to insert a desired gene into the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., see p. 147, ¶ 0422).
Regarding (4) and claims 67 and 68, the specification has defined RNA editing sites by function rather than structure. Namely, rather than identify shared characteristics of RNA editing sites, the specification has merely presented a limited number of RNA editing sites via sequence identifiers such that the skilled artisan would be unable to distinguish between those RNA editing sites that have function and those that do not.
This description is critical in light of the state of the art which describes that although a few prediction procedures have been proposed they are not easily accessed and the reliability of the prediction result is ambiguous due to the absence of a quantitative index for reliability evaluation, and that the current PPR code may not be sufficient to predict the base preference of all PPR motifs found in natural PPR proteins due to the high degeneracy of PPR motif sequences including the PPR code generating residues (Kobayashi et al, p. 863, col. 1, ¶ 1).
Moreover, Kobayashi et al describe that to date only 80 or so mitochondrial RNA editing sites and their corresponding site specific recognition PPR proteins have been characterized and that PPR proteins responsible for a large number of editing sites remains unknown, (p. 871, col. 1, ¶ 1).
Kobayashi et al describe that their results suggest a limitation of target RNA editing site prediction as being solely dependent on the PPR code (p. 817, col. 2, ¶ 1 and last ¶). As such, one would be of the opinion that Applicant was in possession of the RNA editing sites as encompassed by claim 67 or the RNA editing sites as encompassed by claim 68 and which fail to recite any structure associated with said RNA editing sites.
Therefore, in light of the failure of the specification to describe a representative number of cells, CMS coding regions, guide polynucleotides and RNA editing sites from the genera as claimed, and the state of the art as noted supra, the skilled practitioner would not be led to believe that Applicant possessed the cells and methods as broadly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 36, 77, 80 and 93 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akio et al (JP 2013031429 A).
Instant claims 1, 36, 77, 80 and 93 are drawn to a cell comprising mitochondria comprising an exogenous pxtD and a method comprising introducing into the mitochondria of a cell a polynucleotide encoding a ptxD, and wherein the cell is a wheat, maize or rice cell.
Akio et al disclose that phosphorous is an important element as a nutrient source for plants and is applied in the form of phosphoric acid but is wasted because it is insolubilized. To remedy this problem in the prior art Akio et al disclose expressing ptxD in a plant conferring the ability to metabolize phosphorous (see Abstract; see ¶ 0030). This gene may be incorporated into the chromosome of mitochondria (¶ 0057).
Akio et al disclose, in fact, that transformed Arabidopsis comprising ptxD was capable of metabolizing phosphoric acid as a nutrient source (¶ 0154). Akio et al claims methods for doing so, and that said method may be practiced in any commercially important plant (see claims 1-4; see ¶ 0013).
Akio et al disclose this method reduces the cost of producing the plant in addition to reducing soil contaminants, and that applying the method can lead to the selective growth of a desired plant by preventing growth of unwanted plants that are incapable of metabolizing phosphorous acid (¶ 0021 and 0023).
Therefore, a cell comprising mitochondria comprising an exogenous pxtD and a method comprising introducing into the mitochondria of a cell a polynucleotide encoding a ptxD, and wherein the cell is a wheat, maize or rice cell is anticipated by Akio et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 40-43, 61, 71, 72, 73 and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akio et al (JP2013031429) in view of Arimura et al (Patent No. US 10,822,611 B2) and in further view of Li et al (2018, Plant Communications, 2:1-13).
Instant claims 36, 40-43, 61, 71, 72, 73 and 75 are drawn to introducing into a mitochondrion a first polynucleotide encoding pxtD and further comprises introducing a donor DNA comprising a second polynucleotide encoding a second polypeptide and a third and fourth polynucleotide for recombining the second polynucleotide in the mitochondria wherein the second polynucleotide comprises a CMS coding region or a selectable marker providing tolerance to a selective agent, wherein the cell is grown simultaneously or sequentially in the presence of the selectable marker and phosphite, wherein the selectable marker is HPT, and wherein at least 50% of the mitochondrial genomes comprise the edited mitochondrial genome.
Akio et al teach that phosphorous is an important element as a nutrient source for plants and is applied in the form of phosphoric acid but is wasted because it is insolubilized. To remedy this problem in the prior art Akio et al teach expressing ptxD in a plant conferring the ability to metabolize phosphorous (see Abstract; see ¶ 0030). This gene may be incorporated into the chromosome of mitochondria (¶ 0057).
Akio et al teach, in fact, that transformed Arabidopsis comprising ptxD was capable of metabolizing phosphoric acid as a nutrient source (¶ 0154). Akio et al claims methods for doing so, and that said method may be practiced in any commercially important plant (see claims 1-4). Homologous recombination may be used to introduce the desired gene and selectable markers such as kanamycin may be included in the plasmid used for transformation (¶ 0055 and 0056; see ¶ 0094).
Akio et al teach this method reduces the cost of producing the plant in addition to reducing soil contaminants, and that applying the method can lead to the selective growth of a desired plant by preventing growth of unwanted plants that are incapable of metabolizing phosphorous acid (¶ 0021 and 0023). Thus, Akio et al teaches selecting for plant cells with edited mitochondria.
Thus while Akio et al clearly teaches, suggests and provides motivation for introducing pxtD into the mitochondria of plants, the issue is whether one would have also introduced an additional polynucleotide for CMS into the mitochondria of the plant.
To this point, Arimura et al teaches it would be desirable to establish a novel method for creating CMS and that if the mitochondrial genome of crops could be directly modified and CMS could be imparted thereto, a variety of CMSs would be imparted to a variety of crops and varieties, so that such CMS could be promptly introduced therein without disturbing the nucleus or the chloroplast genomic sequence, thereby greatly contributing to increased production of crops, stable production, etc. (col. 2, ¶ 1).
Arimura et al teach mito-TALENs to express in rice plants while targeting orf79, and that a plant-derived mitochondrial localization peptide as a signal peptide for transferring TALENs into plant mitochondria should be used to transfer mito-TALENs into plant mitochondria (col. 4, ¶ 1). HPT may be used as a selection marker (e.g., see col. 19, ¶ 1).
Arimura et al teach that methods for introducing a double-strand break into mitochondrial genomic DNA are known in the art and include a method of using ZFN, a method of using CRISPR-Cas9, a method of using TALEN and a method of using various types of restriction enzymes with the method of using TALEN being the most preferred (col. 8, ¶ 1).
Arimura et al teach that when mitochondrial genomic DNA is cleaved using TALEN it is necessary to introduce a gene encoding the TALEN into a nuclear genome, and then to transfer the TALEN expressed in the cytoplasm into the mitochondria and can be obtained by fusing TALEN with a mitochondrial localization signal peptide (col. 8, ¶ 3).
Arimura et al teach that in order to reliably introduce a double-strand break into mitochondrial genomic DNA, a tandem expression Ti plasmid, in which two TALENs (TALEN left and TALEN right; see FIG. 1A) are simultaneously expressed in a single Ti plasmid, and to which a mitochondrial localization signal is added in order to localize it in mitochondria (col. 9, ¶ 1). Thus Arimura et al teach a second, third and fourth polynucleotide as encompassed by the method of claim 40.
Li et al teaches that global demand for crops is increasing and that to feed the rapidly rising population in the face of decreased arable land food production must grow in parallel with reduced inputs. Li et al teaches conventional plant breeding is relatively labor intensive and time consuming whereas genetic engineering is believed to boost crop productivity (p. 1, col. 1).
Plastid transformation to make transgenic plants has been offered as an alternative to nuclear transformation, and the similarity between plastids and mitochondria raise the possibility that the latter could also be transformed (p. 1, col. 1; see also p. 2, col. 2, ¶ 1). However, Li et al teach that the lack of selectable markers for mitochondrial transformation adds to the challenge of mitochondrial DNA editing (p. 9, last ¶). Thus Li et al provides the implicit suggestion that there is a need in the art for selection markers for plant mitochondrial transformation.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify by the method as taught by Akio et al for mitochondrial expression of ptxD to also express a CMS coding region because Akio et al specifically teaches and suggests that additional selection markers may be used.
Thus, by expressing both ptxD and a CMS gene one would impart a feature into a crop plant that reduces cost for production and at the same time provide the additional benefit of another means to select successful transformants while further assisting in breeding new varieties of crops.
One would be motivated to do this additional selection step as Li et al teach that the lack of selectable markers for mitochondrial transformation adds to the challenge of mitochondrial DNA editing. Thus, by applying the teachings of Arimura et al and Li et al to the method of Aiko et al one would be solving the issue of needing markers to select for mitochondrial transformation.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Arimura et al teaches, in fact, the successful knocking out of a CMS gene using mito-TALENs (e.g., see col. 19 and 20).
Claim(s) 36, 40, 54, 55, 56 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akio et al (JP 2013031429 A) and Arimura et al (Patent No. US 10,822,611 B2) and Li et al (2018, Plant Communications, 2:1-13) in view of Cambell (2021, "Using CRISPR-Cas9 to Construct Knockout Mutants in DNA-Repair Genes in Arabidopsis thaliana" , Honors Theses, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. 321. https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/honorstheses/321).
Instant claims 36, 40, 54, 55, 56 and 59 are drawn to introducing into a mitochondrion a first polynucleotide encoding pxtD and further comprises introducing a donor DNA comprising a second polynucleotide encoding a second polypeptide and a third and fourth polynucleotide for recombining the second polynucleotide in the mitochondria and wherein the method further comprises introducing a first guide polynucleotide and a second guided polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide that cleaves a target sequence or wherein the method comprises introducing a polynucleotide that encodes a site directed nuclease.
Akio et al teach that phosphorous is an important element as a nutrient source for plants and is applied in the form of phosphoric acid but is wasted because it is insolubilized. To remedy this problem in the prior art Akio et al teach expressing ptxD in a plant conferring the ability to metabolize phosphorous (see Abstract; see ¶ 0030). This gene may be incorporated into the chromosome of mitochondria (¶ 0057).
Akio et al teach, in fact, that transformed Arabidopsis comprising ptxD was capable of metabolizing phosphoric acid as a nutrient source (¶ 0154). Akio et al claims methods for doing so, and that said method may be practiced in any commercially important plant (see claims 1-4). Homologous recombination may be used to introduce the desired gene and selectable markers such as kanamycin may be included in the plasmid used for transformation (¶ 0055 and 0056; see ¶ 0094).
Akio et al teach this method reduces the cost of producing the plant in addition to reducing soil contaminants, and that applying the method can lead to the selective growth of a desired plant by preventing growth of unwanted plants that are incapable of metabolizing phosphorous acid (¶ 0021 and 0023). Thus, Akio et al teaches selecting for plant cells with edited mitochondria.
Arimura et al teaches it would be desirable to establish a novel method for creating CMS and that if the mitochondrial genome of crops could be directly modified and CMS could be imparted thereto, a variety of CMSs would be imparted to a variety of crops and varieties, so that such CMSs could be promptly introduced therein without disturbing the nucleus or the chloroplast genomic sequence, thereby greatly contributing to increased production of crops, stable production, etc. (col. 2, ¶ 1).
Arimura et al teach mito-TALENs to express in rice plants while targeting orf79, and that a plant-derived mitochondrial localization peptide as a signal peptide for transferring TALENs into plant mitochondria should be used to transfer mito-TALENs into plant mitochondria (col. 4, ¶ 1). HPT may be used as a selection marker (e.g., see col. 19, ¶ 1).
Arimura et al teach that methods for introducing a double-strand break into mitochondrial genomic DNA are known in the art and include a method of using ZFN, a method of using CRISPR-Cas9, a method of using TALEN and a method of using various types of restriction enzymes with the method of using TALEN being the most preferred (col. 8, ¶ 1).
Arimura et al teach that when mitochondrial genomic DNA is cleaved using TALEN it is necessary to introduce a gene encoding the TALEN into a nuclear genome, and then to transfer the TALEN expressed in the cytoplasm into the mitochondria and can be obtained by fusing TALEN with a mitochondrial localization signal peptide (col. 8, ¶ 3).
Arimura et al teach that In order to reliably introduce a double-strand break into mitochondrial genomic DNA, a tandem expression Ti plasmid, in which two TALENs (TALEN left and TALEN right; see FIG. 1A) are simultaneously expressed in a single Ti plasmid, and to which a mitochondrial localization signal is added in order to localize it in mitochondria (col. 9, ¶ 1).
Li et al teaches that global demand for crops is increasing and that to feed the rapidly rising population in the face of decreased arable land food production must grow in parallel with reduced inputs. Li et al teaches conventional plant breeding is relatively labor intensive and time consuming whereas genetic engineering is believed to boost crop productivity (p. 1, col. 1).
Plastid transformation to make transgenic plants has been offered as an alternative to nuclear transformation, and the similarity between plastids and mitochondria raise the possibility that the latter could also be transformed (p. 1, col. 1; see also p. 2, col. 2, ¶ 1). However, Li et al teach that the lack of selectable markers for mitochondrial transformation adds to the challenge of mitochondrial DNA editing (p. 9, last ¶).
Thus, while Akio et al and Arimura et al and Li et al reasonably teach, suggest and provide motivation for introducing a ptxD gene and a second additional polynucleotide into the mitochondria of a plant, the issue is whether one would have done so using a guide polynucleotide and polynucleotide guided polypeptide that cleaves a target sequence (e.g., a Cas9).
To this point, Campbell teaches that it was known in the art that one could CRISPR-Cas9 to construct knockout mutants in plants. Campbell teaches the method is applicable to cleaving target sequences in the mitochondria of a plant cell (e.g., see Abstract; see also p. 9, ¶ 1).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify by the method as taught by Akio et al and Arimura et al and Li et al by using CRISPR-Cas9 instead of mito-TALENs because to do so is a design choice: both are functionally equivalent in so far as they may be used to introduce a gene of interest into plant mitochondria, the importance of which is discussed above.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because each of Arimura et al and Campbell et al teach the methods successfully work.
Claim(s) 36, 67 and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akio et al (JP2013031429) in view of Yoo et al (2020, PeerJ, 1-29, 8:e8362 DOI 10.7717/peerj.8362) as evidenced by Kobayashi et al (2019, Plant Cell Physiology, 60(4):862-874) and Zheng et al (2020, Plants, 9:1-14; doi:10.3390/plants9101277).
Instant claims 36, 67 and 68 are drawn broadly to a method comprising introducing into the mitochondria of a cell a polynucleotide encoding a ptxD wherein a sequence encoding a start codon of ptxD is replaced with a RNA editing site from a mitochondrial cox2 gene.
Akio et al teach that phosphorous is an important element as a nutrient source for plants and is applied in the form of phosphoric acid but is wasted because it is insolubilized. To remedy this problem in the prior art Akio et al teach expressing ptxD in a plant conferring the ability to metabolize phosphorous (see Abstract; see ¶ 0030). This gene may be incorporated into the chromosome of mitochondria (¶ 0057).
Akio et al teach, in fact, that transformed Arabidopsis comprising ptxD was capable of metabolizing phosphoric acid as a nutrient source (¶ 0154). Akio et al claims methods for doing so, and that said method may be practiced in any commercially important plant (see claims 1-4). Selectable markers may be included in the plasmid used for transformation (¶ 0056).
Akio et al teach this method reduces the cost of producing the plant in addition to reducing soil contaminants, and that applying the method can lead to the selective growth of a desired plant by preventing growth of unwanted plants that are incapable of metabolizing phosphorous acid (¶ 0021 and 0023).
Thus, while Akio et al reasonably teaches, suggests and provides motivation for introducing ptxD into the mitochondria of plants, the issue is whether one would have done so by replacing the start codon of said gene with an RNA editing site of the cox2 gene.
To this point, Yoo et al teach the use of the cox2 promoter for expression of Cas9 in mitochondria (see Table 1; see also Table 3). Yoo et al specifically teach using the 71 bp-long minimal promoter of said gene (p. 7, last ¶ bridging p. 8).
Meanwhile, Kobayashi et al teaches that cox2 is known to have an RNA editing site (p. 863, col. 2, last ¶), while Zheng et al teach that RNA editing is known to modulate transcript stability and translation efficiency and have proved to improve the stability of functionally relevant secondary structure motifs (see p. 2, ¶ 1; see also p. 6, ¶ 1).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of introducing a ptxD gene into mitochondria as taught by Akio et al by replacing the start codon with an RNA editing site, for example, as taught by Yoo et al because the cox2 RNA editing site has been successfully used to express transgenes of interest.
One would be motivated to do so because it was known that RNA editing is known to site (p. 863, col. 2, last ¶), while Zheng et al teach that RNA editing is known to modulate transcript stability and translation efficiency and have proved to improve the stability of functionally relevant secondary structure motifs.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JASON DEVEAU ROSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662