DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110767954 A to Zang et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) in view of JP 09010507 A to Nishiguchi (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Zang discloses a method for bringing battery powder resulting from lithium ion battery waste into contact with an acidic leaching solution inside a leaching vessel to leach metals contained in the battery powder into the acidic leach solution, wherein the leaching vessel comprises a movable member, and the method comprises destroying froth generated in the acidic leaching solution by operation of the movable member (Zang, claims 1-8, figure 1).
Zang does not disclose that the leaching vessel comprises a movable member operably disposed at a position above a liquid surface of the acidic leaching solution stored therein.
Nishiguchi discloses a reaction vessel comprising a movable member operably disposed at a position above a liquid surface of the chemical solution stored therein, wherein said movable member prevents foam from reaching the space at the top of the reaction vessel, and thus increases the amount of product that can be charged in the vessel (Nishiguchi, para [0001], figures 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the reaction vessel of Nishiguchi comprising a movable member operably disposed at a position above a liquid surface of the chemical solution stored therein as the leaching vessel of Zang. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent foam from reaching the space at the top of the leaching vessel, and thus increase the amount of product that can be charged in the vessel (Nishiguchi, para [0001], figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 2, Nishiguchi discloses the leaching vessel has at least one baffle plate protruding inward from a vessel inner side surface, the movable member is provided so as not to interfere with the baffle plate, the movable member is a rotating member rotatable above the liquid surface of the acidic leaching solution, the froth are destroyed by rotation of the rotating member, and the rotating member has a radial length that does not reach a position where the baffle plate is provided (Nishiguchi, figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Nishiguchi discloses the leaching vessel has a rotating shaft extending in a depth direction of the acidic leaching solution to rotate the rotating member (Nishiguchi, figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 4, Nishiguchi discloses the leaching vessel has an agitating blade disposed so that it is immersed in the acidic leaching solution, the agitating blade being rotatable around the rotating shaft (Nishiguchi, figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 5, Zang discloses the acidic leaching solution comprises sulfuric acid (Zang, claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zang discloses the acidic leaching solution has a sulfuric acid concentration of 40-70 wt% (Zang, claim 1), i.e. within the range of 50 g/L or more.
Regarding claim 7, Zang discloses the battery powder is added to an aqueous sulfuric acid solution and the battery powder is brought into contact with the acidic leaching solution (Zang, claim 1)
Regarding claim 8, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In the instant case, Zang recognizes that the ratio of powder to sulfuric acid can be adjusted based on the concentration of the acid and can be increased when the concentration of sulfuric acid solution is high and decreased when the concentration is low (Zang, para [0098]). It would require little more than routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal or workable ranges of the ratio of sulfuric acid brought into contact with the battery to achieve optimal or workable leaching of the battery powder.
Regarding claim 9, Zang discloses the battery includes negative electrode carbon materials (Zang, para [0072]). As Zang does not place any restriction on the amount of negative electrode carbon materials present in the battery powder, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the method of Zang would be applicable to battery powder including any amount of carbon, including the instantly claimed 17% or more of carbon
Regarding claim 10, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In the instant case, Zang discloses tearing, grinding and crushing the powder to turn the battery into powder with a small particle size and further sieving the powder to separate the powder into smaller active powder particles (Zang, para [0067]). It would require little more than routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal or workable ranges of the battery powder particle size distribution to achieve optimal or workable leaching of the battery powder.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110767954 A to Zang et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) in view of JP 09010507 A to Nishiguchi (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claims 1-10 above and further in view of JP 2021141060 A to Watanabe et al.
Zang in view of Nishiguchi discloses a method as set forth above. Neither Zang nor Nishiguchi disclose that the battery powder is subjected to a heat treatment in an inert atmosphere followed by a heat treatment in an air atmosphere.
Watanabe discloses that battery powder may be subjected to a heat treatment in an inert atmosphere followed by a heat treatment in an air atmosphere in order to make it easier to form granules containing valuable metal (Watanabe, para [0017-0021]).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to subject the battery powder of Zang in view of Nishiguchi to a heat treatment in an inert atmosphere followed by a heat treatment in an air atmosphere as suggested by Watanabe. The motivation for doing so would be to make it easier to form granules containing valuable metal (Watanabe, para [0017-0021]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738