DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-5, 10-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, lines 11-12 “optionally” is not a positive structural limitations and it is vague and indefinite. Claims 2-5, 10-17 and 19 also rejected for similar reasons since these claims directly depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-12, 14-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller et al. (US 20180192211) in view of ANDERSSON et al. (US 20150110322).
Regarding claim 1, Moller discloses a flexible conductive hearing aid, comprising: {i } a flexible substrate (Paragraphs: 0032 and 0066: Moller discusses flexible substrate at the ear of a hearing aid), (ii) components, on or in the flexible substrate (Paragraph: 0032: a flexible substrate), including {a} a microphone, configured to produce an electrical signal from sound (Paragraphs: 0055 and 0057-0058: Moller discusses how a hearing aid with a microphone behind the ear leading an electrical signal to a speaker), (b) electronic circuits, connected to the microphone, configured to amplifying the electrical signal (Paragraphs: 0017 and 0057-0058: Moller discusses how a hearing aid includes an input unit such as a microphone; and a signal processing unit which include amplifier that is adapted to apply a frequency dependent gain to the input audio signal), (c) produce vibrations in the flexible substrate from the amplified electrical signal (Paragraph: 0058: Moller discusses how an output transducer such as a loudspeaker/receiver for providing an air-borne acoustic signal to a vibrator for providing a structure-borne or liquid-borne acoustic signal), and (d} a power source, connected to the microphone and the electrical circuits (Paragraphs: 0017 and 0061: Moller discusses a power source, which may be rechargeable, communication devices such as transmission and reception devices, or any other kinds of electronic components (i.e. obvious to include microphone and the electrical circuits) needed in a hearing aid), (id optionally, a flexible top layer, on the components, and (iv) optionally, a flexible bottom layer, wherein the flexible substrate is on the flexible bottom layer (Paragraphs: 0023, 0075 and Claim.8: Moller discusses how the flexible substrate is a multi-layer flexible circuit board where the plurality of transmission paths are formed on respective opposite sides of the flexible substrate; and how the flexible substrate may be multi layered so that further conductors may be provided between the two outer layers).
Moller discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “an actuator, connected to the electronic circuits, configures to produce vibrations”
ANDERSSON however discloses an actuator, connected to the electronic circuits, configures to produce vibrations (Paragraphs: 0037, 0043 and 0047: ANDERSON discusses how the actuator converts the electrical signals into mechanical vibrations for delivery to the recipient's skull).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Moller, and modify a system wherein an actuator, connected to the electronic circuits, configures to produce vibrations, as taught by ANDERSSON, thus the hearing prosthesis system converting received sound into vibrations to treat hearing loss, as discussed by ANDERSSON.
Regarding claim 6, Moller discloses a method of treating conductive hearing loss with a flexible conductive hearing aid having a flexible substrate (Paragraphs: 0017-0019 and 0032: Moller discusses a hearing aid with a flexible substrate) and optional a flexible bottom layer (Paragraphs: 0023 and 0075), the method comprising: attaching the flexible conductive hearing aid to skin on a patient's skull (Paragraph: 0055, 0058 and 0060: Moller discusses how the hearing device attached to a fixture implanted into the skull bone such as in Bone Anchored Hearing Aid or Cochlear Implant and another unit e.g. in or at the ear canal), amplifying the electrical signal, to produce an amplified electrical signal (Paragraphs: 0017 and 0057-0058: Moller discusses how a hearing aid includes an input unit such as a microphone; and a signal processing unit which include amplifier that is adapted to apply a frequency dependent gain to the input audio signal), and producing vibrations in the flexible conductive hearing aid from the amplified electrical signal (Paragraph: 0058: Moller discusses how an output transducer such as a loudspeaker/receiver for providing an air-borne acoustic signal to a vibrator for providing a structure-borne or liquid-borne acoustic signal).
Moller discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “producing an electrical signal from ambient sound”
ANDERSSON however discloses producing an electrical signal from ambient sound (Paragraphs: 0061 and fig.6A, 626: ANDERSSON discusses how the sound capture device such as a traditional microphone receives sound pressure waves corresponding to an ambient noise (such as. a speaker's voice) and transduces the sound pressure waves into an electrical signal)
Considering claims 2, 7 and 18, Moller further discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claims 1 and 6, configured to be attached to skin on a patient's skull solely by contact of the flexible substrate or flexible bottom layer, with the skin (Paragraphs: 0055, 0058 and 0074: Moller discusses how the hearing device attached to a fixture implanted into the skull bone such as in Bone Anchored Hearing Aid; and how flexible substrate under or in the protective member may include in the hearing aid).
Considering claim 3, Moller further discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein (b) the electrical circuits comprise at least 2 amplifiers (Paragraphs: 0017 and 0027: Moller discusses a hearing assistance electronics, including a filter and an amplifier, i.e. obvious to have more than one amplifier based on a design choice).
Considering claim 4, Moller further discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the components further comprise an antenna, connected to the power source; and the power source is a battery (Paragraphs: 0059 and 0074: Moller discuses hearing aid by including electrical components such as battery, antenna, or combinations hereof).
Considering claim 5, Moller further discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein (c) the actuator comprises a piezoelectric material (Paragraphs: 0032 and 0053: piezoelectric actuator).
Considering claim 8, Moller further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the patient is a pediatric patient or an adult having hearing joss (Paragraphs: 0017 and 0027: Moller discusses how the hearing loss may be age dependent and/or noise induced; and how the compensation could be achieved by hearing assistance electronics).
Considering claim 9, Moller further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the patient is at most 5 years old (Paragraphs: 0027, 0031 and 0057: Moller discusses how a hearing aid design to compensate for a hearing loss of the user, i.e. it would have been obvious that the hearing aid can be design for any age including for kids at most 5 years old).
Considering claim 10, Moller further discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid is configured to be powered wirelessly or recharge wirelessly (Paragraphs: 0032, 0066 and 0074: Moller discusses a flexible substrate at the ear of a hearing aid; and discloses wireless communication devices included in the hearing aid, such as. an inductive coil/ inductive link, i.e. for wireless power transfer).
Considering claim 11, Moller discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid has a width of at most 5 cm, length of at most 5 cm, and a thickness of at most 1 mm (Paragraphs: 0032, 0066 and 0075-0076: Moller discusses flexible substrate at the ear of a hearing aid; how it is possible to provide a single-size housing with a variety of dome sizes to achieve the best combination of dome and housing for the individual user).
Considering claim 12, Moller discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid has a width of at most 3 cm, length of at most 2 cm, and a thickness of at most 600 um ((Paragraphs: 0032, 0066 and 0075-0076).
Considering claim 14, ANDERSSON discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein when the flexible conductive hearing aid is in contact with human skin, at least 50% of the vibrations are transmitted to the human skin (Paragraphs: 0034, 0044 and 0071: ANDERSSON discusses how vibrations generated by the actuator are transferred from the actuator, into the skin directly from the actuator and/or through a housing of the device, through the skin of the recipient; and how the plate or other component of the implantable component vibrates in response to vibration transmitted through the skin, i.e. it is obvious that 50% of the vibrations can be transmitted to the human skin based on design choice).
Considering claim 15, ANDERSSON discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein when the flexible conductive hearing aid is in contact with human skin, at least 90% of the vibrations are transmitted to the human skin (Paragraphs: 0034, 0044 and 0071: ANDERSSON discusses how vibrations generated by the actuator are transferred from the actuator, into the skin directly from the actuator and/or through a housing of the device, through the skin of the recipient; and how the plate or other component of the implantable component vibrates in response to vibration transmitted through the skin, i.e. it is obvious that 90% of the vibrations can be transmitted to the human skin based on design choice).
Considering claim 17, Moller discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid is configured to filter noise from the electrical signal or amplified electrical signal (Paragraphs: 0017 and 0057-0058: Moller discusses how a hearing aid includes an input unit such as a microphone; and a signal processing unit which include amplifier that is adapted to apply a frequency dependent gain to the input audio signal).
Considering claim 19, ANDERSSON discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid comprises multiple actuators (Paragraphs: 0049-0053: ANDERSSON discusses conduction device in that the vibrating actuator 342 and 452).
4. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller et al. (US 20180192211) in view of ANDERSSON et al. (US 20150110322) and further in view of Meskens et al. (US 20150382115).
Considering claim 13, Meskens further discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid produces an output force level at the actuator of at least 60 dB (Paragraphs: 0006 and 0013: Meskens discusses how the actuator in hearing aid is a piezoelectric actuator, such as a stacked piezoelectric actuator operating substantially over the audio frequency spectrum; and one or more mass elements are attached to the actuator to modify output force levels, i.e. it would have been obvious to modify the output force level to any dB level including at least 60dB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Moller and ANDERSSON, and modify a system wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid produces an output force level at the actuator of at least 60 dB, as taught by Meskens, thus deliver actuator drive signals to the actuator, and extract non-used energy from the actuator and to store the non-used energy for subsequent use by the actuator, as discussed by Meskens.
5. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moller et al. (US 20180192211) in view of ANDERSSON et al. (US 20150110322) and further in view of RASMUSSEN et al. (US 20100195858).
Considering claim 16, Moller and ANDERSON fail to disclose claim 16. RASMUSSEN however discloses the flexible conductive hearing aid of claim 6, wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid has a weight of at most 3 grams (abstract and Paragraph: 0015: RASMUSSEN discusses the advantage of allowing the hearing device to be small and light-weight, thus providing an improved wearing comfort, i.e. it would have been obvious to design the hearing aid to weight 3 grams or less based on a design choice)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Moller and ANDERSSON, and modify a system wherein the flexible conductive hearing aid has a weight of at most 3 grams, as taught by RASMUSSEN, thus providing an improved wearing comfort to the user and compensates a person's loss of hearing capability, as discussed by RASMUSSEN.
Conclusion
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691 12/10/2025