DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 6/6/2024 in which claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianev et al. (US20240323828A1) in view of Mattam et al. (US20240089820A1).
As to claims 1 and 9, Ianev teaches a wireless terminal supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, the wireless terminal comprising: (Fig. 1 first step and [0075] the AF may provide the network slices in groups where each group contains network slices that have similarities based on criteria like, similar priority, similar service, similar technology, similar capability or any other criteria for creating a group of one or more network slices.)
receiver circuitry configured to receive: ([0219] FIG. 10 is a block diagram illustrating the main components of the UE 3 (mobile device 3). As shown, the UE 3 includes a transceiver circuit 31 which is operable to transmit signals to and to receive signals from the connected node(s) via one or more antennas 32.)
in a first registration area, a mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups for the first registration area; and (Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077] The network slice priority validity or the network slice group priority validity may indicate the network slice priority or the network slice group priority can be valid in the designated location, e.g., valid for TAI(s), cell(s), PLMN ID(s), RAT, geographical location as expressed by NPL 3.; [0091]-[0092]; [0102] The Registration Accept also includes list of one or more tracking areas where the NS Group ID is valid in a registration area or an indication whether the NS group ID is valid in the registration area.)
But does not specifically teach:
in a second registration area, neighboring cell information comprising:
an identity of a neighboring cell;
network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell and including at least one network slice group index; and
mapping configuration referencing information referencing information referring to a corresponding mapping configuration to be used for the network slice support information; and
processor circuitry configured to:
store the mapping configuration received in the first registration area;
upon receipt of the neighboring cell information, retrieve and use the stored mapping configuration to map the at least one network slice group index to one or more corresponding network slice identifiers, in a case that the stored mapping configuration is referred by the mapping configuration referencing information and is preserved in the wireless terminal; and
perform a cell reselection procedure based on the neighboring cell information.
However Mattam teaches receiver circuitry configured to receive: (fig, 3 120)
in a second registration area, neighboring cell information comprising:
an identity of a neighboring cell; (Fig. 5 [0124] The proposed method introduces a SIB or uses any existing SIB to share the list of slices supported by the serving cell and neighbor cells(s) in an area (RA(s)). This can be of cell/area specific. [0127]-[0130] 2. Mapping 2: An IE with each neighbor cell to map the supported group of slices)
network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell and including at least one network slice group index; and ([0023] In one embodiment, if the network slice information includes the list of NSSAI, mapping the NSSAI to each of the serving cell and the at least one neighbor cell [0024] In one embodiment, if the network slice information includes the NSSAI group lists, mapping a NSSAI group to each of the serving cell and the at least one neighbor cell based on an Information Element (IE), [0032]-[0041] claim 16 network slice information in the network slice information list includes network slice group identification (ID) information and cell reselection priority information.)
mapping configuration referencing information referencing information referring to a corresponding mapping configuration to be used for the network slice support information; and ([0039] In an embodiment, the method includes mapping, by the UE, the NSSAI to each of the serving cell and the at least one neighbor cell using at least one of ‘a bit map with respect to each of the serving cell and at least one neighbor cell when the network slice information is received in the list of NSSAI’ and ‘an Information Element (IE) with each of the serving cell and at least one neighbor cell to the supported group of slices when the network slice information is received in the group of NSSAI lists.)
processor circuitry configured to: (Fig. 3 110)
store the mapping configuration received in the first registration area; (Fig. 3 130 [0181] The memory 1320 may store a program and data required for operations of the terminal. Also, the memory 1320 may store control information or data included in a signal obtained by the terminal.)
upon receipt of the neighboring cell information, retrieve and use the stored mapping configuration to map the at least one network slice group index to one or more corresponding network slice identifiers, in a case that the stored mapping configuration is referred by the mapping configuration referencing information and is preserved in the wireless terminal; and perform a cell reselection procedure based on the neighboring cell information. ([0029]-[0032] UE selects a cell that supports network slice; cells mapped with network slices and slice groups. [0152] FIG. 10 illustrates (S1000) the cell reselection in the wireless network (1000). At S1002, the UE (100) is camped on the cell and reads the neighbor cell information. At S1004, the UE (100) performs the reselection evaluation. At 1006a, the UE (100) determines the high priority neighbor cell. At 1006b, the UE (100) determines the equal priority neighbor cell. At 1006c, the UE (100) determines the low priority neighbor cell. At 1008a, the UE (100) determines that the reselection criteria is met, if neighbor cell fulfils Squal/Srxlev>thresh. High during a time interval T.sub.reselectionRAT. At 1008b, the UE (100) determines that the reselection will be based on ranking of service and neighbor cells. At 1008c, the UE (100) determines that the reselection criteria is met, if neighbor cell fulfils Squal/Srxlev>threshX. Low and servicing cell fulfils Squal/Srxlev<threshserving. Low during a time interval T.sub.reselectionRAT. At 1010, the UE (100) reselects to the cell ranked as the best cell among all the cells on the highest frequency meeting the criteria.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ianev with the methods of Mattam in order to provide a system for provision UE procedures for network slicing.
As to claim 2, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the neighboring cell is located in the first registration area. (Ianev [0102] The Registration Accept also includes list of one or more tracking areas where the NS Group ID is valid in a registration area or an indication whether the NS group ID is valid in the registration area. The Registration Accept may also include list of one or more tracking areas where the NS Group ID is valid in a registration area or an indication whether the NS group ID is valid in the registration area. Another indication may be sent to indicate whether the NS group ID is valid in the serving PLMN or all the PLMNs in the registration area in a case where a registration area includes the Tracking Areas (TAs) belonging to different PLMN. Fig. 9 other Ran nodes)
As to claim 3, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the stored mapping configuration is preserved after another mapping configuration is configured. (Ianev [0123] the UE sets the network slice priority and the network slice group priorities to default priorities if the validity timer expires and not updated by the network) (default mapping configuration is stored and preserved throughout a changed or updated mapping configuration in order to fallback on if no update is obtained)
As to claim 4, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the stored mapping configuration is associated with a validity timer and is removed from the wireless terminal upon the validity timer expires. (Ianev [0123] The UE uses the stored network slice priority and the stored network slice group priority for the purposes of cell selection and reselection as per the description in step 7 of the Second example of the Second Aspect until the expiry of the priority validity timer for each of the network slices and network slice groups or until the next update to priority validity by the network for a network slice or a network slice group. At expiry of one or more network slice priority validity timers or network slice group priority validity timers or at update to the network slice priority validity or network slice group priority validity by the network, the UE restarts the network slice priority or network slice group priority validity timers if updated by the network for example or the UE sets the network slice priority and the network slice group priorities to a default priorities if the validity timer expires and not updated by the network.)
As to claim 5, Ianev teaches an access node supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, the access node comprising: (Fig. 1 first step and [0075] the AF may provide the network slices in groups where each group contains network slices that have similarities based on criteria like, similar priority, similar service, similar technology, similar capability or any other criteria for creating a group of one or more network slices.)
But does not specifically teach:
processor circuitry configured to generate neighboring cell information configured to be used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell reselection procedure and comprising:
an identity of a neighboring cell;
network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell; and mapping configuration referencing information referring to a corresponding mapping configuration to be used for the network slice support information; and
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit, to a wireless terminal, the neighboring cell information;
wherein in a case that the mapping configuration referencing information refers to a mapping configuration that was configured to and is stored in the wireless terminal, upon receipt of the neighboring cell information by the wireless terminal the stored mapping configuration is configured to be retrieved and used for mapping the at least one network slice group index to one or more corresponding network slice identifiers.
However Mattam teaches processor circuitry configured to generate neighboring cell information configured to be used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell reselection procedure and comprising: (abstract The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), network slice information on a plurality of network slices supported by a serving cell of the UE and at least one neighbor cell from a plurality of cells via a broadcasted system information block (SIB); identifying a priority order of the plurality of network slices based on the network slice information; selecting a cell based on the priority order of the plurality of network slices; and camping on the selected cell.)
an identity of a neighboring cell; ([0152] FIG. 10 illustrates (S1000) the cell reselection in the wireless network (1000). At S1002, the UE (100) is camped on the cell and reads the neighbor cell information.)
network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell; and ([0065] The UE (100) receives network slice information of a plurality of network slices supported by a serving cell from a plurality of cells of the UE (100) and one or more neighbor cell from the plurality of cells.)
mapping configuration referencing information referring to a corresponding mapping configuration to be used for the network slice support information; and ([0069] In another embodiment, the UE (100) determines a priority order of the network slices based on the network slice information supported by the plurality of cells and select the cell from the plurality of cells for camping based on the priority order of the network slices. [0070] In another embodiment, the UE (100) determines a priority order of the network slices based on the network slice information supported by the serving cell and the neighbor cell. Further, the UE (100) reselects the cell from the plurality of cells based on the priority order of the network slices.)
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit, to a wireless terminal, the neighboring cell information; ([0152] FIG. 10 illustrates (S1000) the cell reselection in the wireless network (1000). At S1002, the UE (100) is camped on the cell and reads the neighbor cell information. [0172]-[0175] 1210)
wherein in a case that the mapping configuration referencing information refers to a mapping configuration that was configured to and is stored in the wireless terminal, upon receipt of the neighboring cell information by the wireless terminal the stored mapping configuration is configured to be retrieved and used for mapping the at least one network slice group index to one or more corresponding network slice identifiers. ([0023] In one embodiment, if the network slice information includes the list of NSSAI, mapping the NSSAI to each of the serving cell and the at least one neighbor cell [0024] In one embodiment, if the network slice information includes the NSSAI group lists, mapping a NSSAI group to each of the serving cell and the at least one neighbor cell based on an Information Element (IE), [0032]-[0041] claim 16 network slice information in the network slice information list includes network slice group identification (ID) information and cell reselection priority information.) ([0029]-[0032] UE selects a cell that supports network slice; cells mapped with network slices and slice groups. [0152] FIG. 10 illustrates (S1000) the cell reselection in the wireless network (1000). At S1002, the UE (100) is camped on the cell and reads the neighbor cell information. At S1004, the UE (100) performs the reselection evaluation. At 1006a, the UE (100) determines the high priority neighbor cell. At 1006b, the UE (100) determines the equal priority neighbor cell. At 1006c, the UE (100) determines the low priority neighbor cell. At 1008a, the UE (100) determines that the reselection criteria is met, if neighbor cell fulfils Squal/Srxlev>thresh. High during a time interval T.sub.reselectionRAT. At 1008b, the UE (100) determines that the reselection will be based on ranking of service and neighbor cells. At 1008c, the UE (100) determines that the reselection criteria is met, if neighbor cell fulfils Squal/Srxlev>threshX. Low and servicing cell fulfils Squal/Srxlev<threshserving. Low during a time interval T.sub.reselectionRAT. At 1010, the UE (100) reselects to the cell ranked as the best cell among all the cells on the highest frequency meeting the criteria.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ianev with the methods of Mattam in order to provide a system for provision UE procedures for network slicing.
As to claim 6, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches the access node of claim 5, wherein the neighboring cell is located in a registration area for which the stored mapping configuration is configured. (Ianev [0102] The Registration Accept also includes list of one or more tracking areas where the NS Group ID is valid in a registration area or an indication whether the NS group ID is valid in the registration area. The Registration Accept may also include list of one or more tracking areas where the NS Group ID is valid in a registration area or an indication whether the NS group ID is valid in the registration area. Another indication may be sent to indicate whether the NS group ID is valid in the serving PLMN or all the PLMNs in the registration area in a case where a registration area includes the Tracking Areas (TAs) belonging to different PLMN. Fig. 9 other Ran nodes)
As to claim 7, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches the access node of claim 5, wherein the stored mapping configuration is preserved upon and after another mapping configuration is configured to the wireless terminal. (Ianev [0123] the UE sets the network slice priority and the network slice group priorities to default priorities if the validity timer expires and not updated by the network) (default mapping configuration is stored and preserved throughout a changed or updated mapping configuration in order to fallback on if no update is obtained)
As to claim 8, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches the access node of claim 5, wherein the stored mapping configuration is associated with a validity timer and is removed from the wireless terminal upon the validity timer expires. (Ianev [0123] The UE uses the stored network slice priority and the stored network slice group priority for the purposes of cell selection and reselection as per the description in step 7 of the Second example of the Second Aspect until the expiry of the priority validity timer for each of the network slices and network slice groups or until the next update to priority validity by the network for a network slice or a network slice group. At expiry of one or more network slice priority validity timers or network slice group priority validity timers or at update to the network slice priority validity or network slice group priority validity by the network, the UE restarts the network slice priority or network slice group priority validity timers if updated by the network for example or the UE sets the network slice priority and the network slice group priorities to a default priorities if the validity timer expires and not updated by the network.)
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465