Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmer et al (DE 10309080 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Zimmer discloses a wiper system for a glazed surface of a motor vehicle, the wiper system comprising:
a windshield wiper including a squeegee blade 26 and a support element 38, and
wherein the squeegee blade is secured to the support element by an endpiece 36 (figures 4-7),
with the endpiece including a hollow body (endpiece 36 without guide vane 34) extending, in a longitudinal direction, between a first edge (right edge in figure 4) configured to be in engagement with a windshield wiper end and a second, free, edge (left edge in figure 4) configured to be remote from the windshield wiper end, an airstream deflecting device 34 projecting from the hollow body along a guide profile defined by the set of apexes of the deflecting device relative to the hollow body (figures 4-7), the deflecting device extending between the first edge and the second edge of the hollow body (lies longitudinally between the two edges), and wherein the guide profile of the deflecting device has an amplification portion (part or all of 34) curved in a plane parallel to the longitudinal direction and including the guide profile, the windshield wiper being intended to be brought into contact with the glazed surface (configured to be used in this manner such as with surface 46),
a wiper arm 10 (figure 1) configured to drive the windshield wiper in rotation,
a connection device 14 configured to securely fix the windshield wiper to the wiper arm.
Regarding claim 3, the amplification portion has a curved shape (figures 4 and 6), the curvature of which is directed toward a front lateral wall of the hollow body (figures 4 and 6; note that there are curvatures within multiple cross-sections of the portion as seen in figures 4 and 6; wherein the curvatures are present in both a convex and concave manner).
Regarding claim 4, a height of the deflecting device varies in increasing fashion along the amplification portion and in the direction toward the second edge of the hollow body (figure 4; height more at left edge in figure 4 than near right edge in figure 4).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moll et al (US 20150166015 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Moll discloses a wiper system (figure 3) for a glazed surface of a motor vehicle, the wiper system comprising:
a windshield wiper including a squeegee blade 30 and a support element 32 (paragraph 0027), and
wherein the squeegee blade is secured to the support element by an endpiece 36 (paragraph 0039; locking of end cap in place secures squeegee blade in place on support element)
with the endpiece including a hollow body (near “60” in figure 4; paragraph 0038: end cap 36 is a hollow piece) extending, in a longitudinal direction, between a first edge (right in figure 4; left in figure 5) configured to be in engagement with a windshield wiper end and a second, free, edge (left in figure 4; right in figure 5) configured to be remote from the windshield wiper end, an airstream deflecting device (see “airstream deflecting device” in figure 4 below) projecting from the hollow body along a guide profile defined by the set of apexes of the deflecting device relative to the hollow body, the deflecting device extending between the first edge and the second edge of the hollow body (at least has an extension that is between the two edges), and wherein the guide profile of the deflecting device has an amplification portion curved in a plane parallel to the longitudinal direction and including the guide profile (figure 4), the windshield wiper being intended to be brought into contact with the glazed surface (at least of a structure that allows the device to work as claimed,
a wiper arm 24 configured to drive the windshield wiper in rotation,
a connection device 28 configured to securely fix the windshield wiper to the wiper arm (paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 3, the amplification portion has a curved shape, the curvature of which is directed toward a front lateral wall of the hollow body (figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, a height of the deflecting device varies in decreasing fashion along the amplification portion and in the direction toward the second edge of the hollow body (see decrease in height from right to left in figures 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, at a part of the amplification portion which is proximal to the second end of the hollow body (measured in up-down direction in figure 5; second end being at left in figure 5), a width of the deflecting device is less than the width of said deflecting device at the first edge of the hollow body (first edge at right in figure 5).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilms (DE 102010062274 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Wilms discloses a wiper system for a glazed surface of a motor vehicle, the wiper system (figure 1) comprising:
a windshield wiper including a squeegee blade 24 and a support element (first full paragraph starting with “A wiper blade 10”; for example “The spring rails serve as a resilient support element for a wiper strip 24”), and
wherein the squeegee blade is secured to the support element by an endpiece (end caps hold blade from being removed from support element),
with the endpiece 22 including a hollow body (figure 2; hollow opening where 26 is pushed in; see opening making the device hollow in figure 6) extending, in a longitudinal direction, between a first edge (to right in figure 2) configured to be in engagement with a windshield wiper end and a second, free, edge (to left in figure 2) configured to be remote from the windshield wiper end, an airstream deflecting device (near 34 and 36 in figure 2) projecting from the hollow body along a guide profile defined by the set of apexes of the deflecting device relative to the hollow body, the deflecting device extending between the first edge and the second edge of the hollow body (at least having an extension that is between the edges), and wherein the guide profile of the deflecting device has an amplification portion (near 34 and/or 36 in figure 2) curved in a plane parallel to the longitudinal direction and including the guide profile, the windshield wiper being intended to be brought into contact with the glazed surface (at least of a structure that would allow it to be used as claimed),
a wiper arm (not shown; see page 3 of translation, first full paragraph starting with “A wiper blade 10”) configured to drive the windshield wiper in rotation,
a connection device 12 configured to securely fix the windshield wiper to the wiper arm.
Regarding claim 2, the guide profile of the deflecting device has:
a first portion along which the deflecting device has a constant shape (a first part of device near 36 and/or 34 in figure 2); and
a second portion forming the amplification portion (a second part of device near 36 and/or 34 in figure 2), the second portion being located in the continuation of the first portion (portion of 34/36 to left continuous with portion to right; note that claim does not require amplification portion to have different shape than first portion).
Regarding claim 3, the amplification portion has a curved shape, the curvature of which is directed toward a front lateral wall of the hollow body (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, a height of the deflecting device is constant along the amplification portion (see constant height along 36 in figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Zimmer fails to disclose “a guide profile defined by a set of apexes of the deflecting device relative to the hollow body”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The guide profile of the deflecting device has apexes in the form of high points relative to the hollow body.
In response to applicant’s argument that Moll fails to disclose “the guide profile of the deflecting device has an amplification portion curved in a plane parallel to the longitudinal direction and including the guide profile”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. There are numerous planes that extend parallel to the longitudinal direction. These could be planes that extend vertically or horizontally. The curve of the deflecting device is shown to be present in such a plane. See figures 4 and 5.
In response to applicant’s argument that Wilms does not have a curved amplification portion, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is disclosed an amplification portion (near 34 and/or 36 in figure 2) curved in a plane parallel to the longitudinal direction and including the guide profile. There are numerous planes that extend parallel to the longitudinal direction. These could be planes that extend vertically or horizontally. The curve of the deflecting device is shown to be present in such a plane. See figures 4 and 5.
Note that the limitation “curved in a plane” can be interpreted multiple different ways. It can be interpreted that it is curved when lying in a given plane such that the curve extends out of the plane or that the curve lies solely in the plane.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772