DETAILED ACTION
A preliminary amendment received on 6/06/2024 amending claims 1-14 and canceling claims 15-26 has been entered by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 6/06/2024, 5/14/2025, and 9/17/2025 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prabhakar et al (US2021/0297844 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Prabhakar teaches a method/UE for a User Equipment (UE) (Abstract), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor configured to access the memory and configured to (Para. 0256):
receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a Registration Accept message which includes a validity time (Figs. 6-9; Paras. 0176-0185; the validity timer period may be provided to the UE as part of a registration accept as shown in FIG. 9; i.e. Fig. 9 shows the validity timer is included in the Accept message from the AMF); and
removing network slice information from an Allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) based on the validity time indicating the network slice information is not available (Paras. 0138-0147; the UE may send a registration request to the HPLMN. The registration request may include a list of S-NSSAIs that identify corresponding network slices to which the UE requests access; the value of the supporting PLMN list for a given allowed S-NSSAI shall be valid in the UE even after power cycle, until the expiry of the validity timer period, or until a UE Configuration Update command with an updated supporting PLMN list for the allowed S-NSSAI is received by the UE; i.e. once the timer expires, the PLMN/slice would not be allowed/removed).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Prabhakar teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Prabhakar further teaches comprising: establishing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the network slice information based on the validity time indicating the network slice information is available (Paras. 0112-0122 and 0184; When a PDU [Protocol Data Unit] Session is established, the CN [Core Network] provides to the AN [Access Network] the S-NSSAI with the value from the VPLMN corresponding to this PDU Session, as described in clause 5.15.5.3 of TS 25.501).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 13, and 14, Prabhakar teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Prabhakar further teaches wherein the network slice information is Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (Paras. 0112-0126, 0184, and 0230; the registration request (or other message) may include a requested S-NSSAI (Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information) value associated with the given network slice, e.g., as variously described above. The S-NSSAI value may include an information element (IE) indicating whether the list of one or more PLMNs is requested).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prabhakar et al (US2021/0297844 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0053643 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Prabhakar teaches a method/AMF for an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Abstract), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor configured to access the memory and configured to (Para. 0256):
receiving, from a User Equipment (UE), a registration request message including information for temporarily support for a network slice (Paras. 0138-0147; the UE may send a registration request to the HPLMN. The registration request may include a list of S-NSSAIs that identify corresponding network slices to which the UE requests access; the value of the supporting PLMN list for a given allowed S-NSSAI shall be valid in the UE even after power cycle, until the expiry of the validity timer period, or until a UE Configuration Update command with an updated supporting PLMN list for the allowed S-NSSAI is received by the UE); and
sending, to the UE, based on the information, a Registration Accept message which includes a validity time (Figs. 6-9; Paras. 0176-0185; the validity timer period may be provided to the UE as part of a registration accept as shown in FIG. 9; i.e. Fig. 9 shows the validity timer is included in the Accept message from the AMF).
However, while Prabhakar teaches UEs may be subscribed to network slices with the HPLMN and a roaming UE may receive network slice information from an entitlement server (Paras. 0010, 0113-0114, and 0210-0214), he does not specifically disclose receiving, from a Unified Data Management (UDM), information.
Lee teaches supporting access to network slices in a wireless communication system (Abstract). He further teaches receiving, from a Unified Data Management (UDM), information (Fig. 6; Para. 0114; The AMF 620 receiving the registration request message 650 of the UE 610 may request a user data management (UDM) for subscription information of the UE 610, and may obtain the subscription information of the UE 610 from the UDM. Network slice information to which the UE 610 subscribes may be included in the subscription information of the UE 610. S-NSSAI information and slice group ID information which may be used by the UE 610 may be included in the network slice information to which the UE 610 subscribes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Lee with the teachings as in Prabhakar. The motivation for doing so would have been to check service use authentication (Lee at para. 0115).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, the combination of references Prabhakar and Lee teach the limitations of the previous claims. Prabhakar further teaches wherein the validity time is related to a configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) (Figs. 6-9; Paras. 0138-0147 and 0176-0185; the validity timer period may be provided to the UE as part of a registration accept as shown in FIG. 9;; the UE may send a registration request to the HPLMN. The registration request may include a list of S-NSSAIs that identify corresponding network slices to which the UE requests access; the value of the supporting PLMN list for a given allowed S-NSSAI shall be valid in the UE even after power cycle, until the expiry of the validity timer period, or until a UE Configuration Update command with an updated supporting PLMN list for the allowed S-NSSAI is received by the UE).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, the combination of references Prabhakar and Lee teach the limitations of the previous claims. Prabhakar further teaches wherein the validity time is related to the temporary support for the network slice (Paras. 0138-0147; the UE may send a registration request to the HPLMN. The registration request may include a list of S-NSSAIs that identify corresponding network slices to which the UE requests access; the value of the supporting PLMN list for a given allowed S-NSSAI shall be valid in the UE even after power cycle, until the expiry of the validity timer period, or until a UE Configuration Update command with an updated supporting PLMN list for the allowed S-NSSAI is received by the UE; i.e. once the timer expires, the PLMN/slice would be removed so it is temporary).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474