DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2 and 5, in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2024 and 04/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suehiro et al. (US 2020/0063234) in view of Perry et al. (US 6,621,040).
Regarding claim 1, Suehiro teaches grain oriented electrical steel sheets (Paragraph [0002]). The steel sheets include a forsterite coating and an insulation coating (Paragraph [0011]).
Suehiro is silent with respect to a frequency of formation of cracks propagating through the insulating coating in a region extending 100 pm toward a widthwise middle of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet from a widthwise edge of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet is less than or equal to 3.0 times the frequency of formation of cracks propagating through the insulating coating in a region extending toward the widthwise middle from a widthwise position more than 100 pm from the widthwise edge to a widthwise position 500 pm from the widthwise edge, where these frequencies are expressed as a number of cracks per mm of length of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet.
However, this property appears to be dependent on the materials and methods of forming the steel sheets such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a steel sheet formed from identical materials and methods would have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the steel sheets of claim 1 are formed from the materials as described in paragraphs [0045]-[0052] (Instant Specification, PGPUB). Additionally, the forsterite coating is formed from an annealing separator containing MgO being applied to a steel sheet (Paragraph [0055]). The insulating coating is formed from silica and magnesium phosphate or aluminum phosphate (Paragraph [0055]). The methods of forming the steel sheets of claim 1 include hot band annealing, cold rolling, applying the annealing separator, decarburization and final annealing before applying the insulating coating (Paragraphs [0053]-[0055]). Most importantly, the steel sheet is then submitted to a slitting process with a pulse laser in order to inhibit strain resulting in the claimed property.
Suehiro teaches each of the materials and method steps for forming steel sheets required above in paragraphs [0056]-[0093], overlapping with the materials and methods taught by the instant specification. Furthermore, the insulation film onto the resulting steel sheet wherein the insulation film may contain a phosphate and colloidal silica (Paragraphs [0006]; [0095]).
Suehiro is silent with respect to the slitting process taught by the instant specification.
Perry teaches the use of lasers, specifically ultrashort laser pulses, for machining metals (Col. 1, Lines 18-20). The machining is done with very short laser pulses on the scale of 10 femtoseconds to 100 picoseconds allowing for high machining speed with extreme precision including cut quality, negligible heat affected zone and no modification to the material surrounding the kerf (Col. 2, Lines 39-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to finish the steel sheets processing by cutting with the ultrashort laser pulses of Perry which are taught to allow for high machining speed with extreme precision including cut quality, negligible heat affected zone and no modification to the material surrounding the kerf.
Furthermore, the steel sheets formed from the materials and methods taught by the combination of Suehiro and Perry are identical to those taught by applicant’s invention, which would result in identical properties. These properties include a frequency of formation of cracks propagating through the insulating coating in a region extending 100 pm toward a widthwise middle of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet from a widthwise edge of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet is less than or equal to 3.0 times the frequency of formation of cracks propagating through the insulating coating in a region extending toward the widthwise middle from a widthwise position more than 100 pm from the widthwise edge to a widthwise position 500 pm from the widthwise edge, where these frequencies are expressed as a number of cracks per mm of length of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet.
Regarding claim 5, Suehiro teaches the steel sheets as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, the steel sheets have identical properties as applicant’s claimed invention, which includes the frequency of formation of the cracks propagating through the insulating coating in the region extending 100 pm toward the widthwise middle of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet from the widthwise edge of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet is less than or equal to 2.0 times the frequency of formation of the cracks propagating through the insulating coating in the region extending toward the widthwise middle from the widthwise position more than 100jm from the widthwise edge to the widthwise position 500 pm from the widthwise edge.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suehiro et al. (US 2020/0063234) in view of Perry et al. (US 6,621,040) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takebayashi et al. (US 2020/0123662).
Regarding claim 2, Suehiro teaches the steel sheets as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Suehiro is silent with respect to the insulating coating having a roughness factor which is greater than or equal to 2.0.
However, this property of the insulating coating appears to be dependent on the materials and methods of forming the coatings such that a coating which is formed from the same materials and methods would have identical properties (See MPEP 2112.01).
In the instant case, the materials of the insulating coating are preferably formed from silica and either magnesium phosphate or aluminum phosphate, as discussed above. Furthermore, the method of forming the insulating coating includes applying the coating solution having a wet film thickness and baking at a temperature range of 850 to 950°C (Paragraph [0055]).
As discussed above, the insulation films of Suehiro are formed from a phosphate and colloidal silica.
Suehiro is silent with respect to the films being formed from applying via a wet film thickness and baking at 850 to 950°C.
Takebayashi teaches grain-oriented steel sheets which improve adhesion of insulation coatings to base steel sheets (Paragraph [0046]). The insulation coatings are formed from applying and baking a solution containing a phosphate and colloidal silica (Paragraph [0089]). The baking temperature is preferably 650 to 950°C in order to improved adhesion of the coating (Paragraph [0177]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the insulative films of Suehiro to be baked at a temperature range of 650 to 950°C in order to improve adhesion of the films to the steel sheets as taught by Takebayashi.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the materials and methods of forming the insulation films of Suehiro and Takebayashi are substantially identical to those of applicant’s invention, resulting in substantially identical properties. The properties include a roughness factor of greater than or equal to 2.0.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/715,782 in view of Suehiro et al. (US 2020/0063234). Claim 2 is provisionally rejected further in view of Takebayashi et al. (US 2020/0123662).
Application ‘782 teaches each of the limitations of instant claim 1 with the exception of a forsterite coating being applied between the laminated core and the insulation coating.
Suehiro teaches grain oriented electrical steel sheets (Paragraph [0002]). The steel sheets include a forsterite coating and an insulation coating (Paragraph [0011]). The combination of the forsterite coating and the insulation coating improves iron loss properties (Paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to provide a forsterite film between the laminated core and the insulation coating in order to improve the iron loss properties as taught by Suehiro.
Claim 2 is taught by the combination of Application ‘782, Suehiro and further in view of Takebayashi as discussed above with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections of claim 2.
Claim 5 is further taught by Application ‘782.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783