DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Andris et al. US 2022/0200467 A1.
Regarding claim 20, Andris et al. disclose
A power tool [0026] comprising: a motor (fig. 1, item 114); a power source interface (item 112) configured to connect to a power source (Battery); and a printed circuit board ("PCB") (fig. 3, item 300) electrically connected to the motor and the power source interface (see fig. 1 for detail) [0030], wherein the PCB includes: wide band gap ("WBG") semiconductors [0029], and a three-level or greater inverter (item 110) configured for controlling power supplied by the power source to the motor [0028, 0029], wherein a topology of the three-level or greater inverter is one of a flying capacitor multi- level ("FCML") inverter, a cascaded H-bridge inverter (semiconductor bridge), or a diode clamped inverter [0024,0025, 0031, 0034] (It should be noted that the inverter module is configured as a three-phase output).
Regarding claim 1, Andris et al. disclose
A power tool comprising: a motor; a power source interface configured to connect to a power source; and a printed circuit board ("PCB") electrically connected to the motor and the power source interface, the PCB including a three-level or greater inverter configured for controlling power supplied by the power source to the motor (see claim 20 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 4, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein the three-level or greater inverter is a three-level inverter, a five-level inverter, a seven-level inverter, a nine-level inverter, or an eleven-level inverter (It should be noted that the inverter module is configured as a three-phase output) [0029,0031].
Regarding claim 9, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein the PCB includes wide band gap ("WBG") semiconductors [0029].
Regarding claim 10, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein the WBG semiconductors include Gallium Nitride ("GaN") and/or Silicon Carbide ("SiC") [0029].
Regarding claim 11, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein the three-level or greater inverter is a cascaded H- bridge inverter or a diode clamped inverter (It should be noted that the inverter module is configured as a three-phase output) [0029,0031].
Regarding claim 12, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein the power source is a battery pack [0025].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-8 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andris et al. in a view of Christopher (“design and control….inverter) (IDS suppled NPL)
Regarding claim 2, Andris does not disclose but Christopher discloses wherein the three-level or greater inverter is a flying capacitor multi-level ("FCML") inverter (see section 1. Background and motivation for FCML inverters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a flying capacitor multi-level ("FCML") inverter as disclosed by Christopher in Andris teachings to achieve high power density and reduce harmonic losses in the machine (Christopher’s abstract section)
Regarding claim 3, Andris does not disclose but Christopher discloses wherein a switching frequency (effective switching frequency) of the three-level or greater inverter is a multiple (N-1) of a fundamental switching frequency (fsw) of the three-level or greater inverter, and a level of the three-level or greater inverter (N) is a multiplier of the fundamental switching frequency (fsw) (see section D. Inductor sizing section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a switching frequency as a multiple and a level as a multiplier as disclosed by Christopher in Andris teachings to achieve high power density (Christopher’s abstract section)
Regarding claim 5, Andris does not disclose but Christopher discloses, wherein, during operation of the three-level or greater inverter, a modulation voltage between two levels is given by Vbus / (N-1), where N is a number of levels of the three-level or greater inverter (see section B. capacitance sizing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a modulation voltage as disclosed by Christopher in Andris teachings to achieve high power density (Christopher’s abstract section)
Regarding claim 6, Andris does not disclose but Christopher discloses an inductor (fig. 1, item L) and a capacitor (Cout) at an output of the three-level or greater inverter (see fig. 1 for detail).
Regarding claim 7, Andris does not disclose but Christopher discloses, wherein a pulse frequency seen by the inductor is given by (N-1)fsm, where fsw is a switching frequency of at least one switch of the three-level or greater inverter (see section D. inductor Sizing).
Regarding claim 8, Andris and Christopher discloses, wherein an inductor ripple current of the three-level or greater inverter is defined according to ΔiL = 0.25VBus/ (N-1)2fswL, where L is the inductance of the inductor and VBUS is a bus voltage of the power tool (see section D inductor sizing) (Andris already discloses the power tool. Deff can be easily adjusted to 50% duty ratio to get 0.25. Fig. 6 shows Duty cycle reaches to 0.5 or 50%).
Regarding claim 14, Andris et al. disclose
A power tool [00025] comprising: a motor (fig. 1, item 114); a battery pack interface (item 112) configured to receive a battery pack (battery); a three-level or greater inverter (item 110) for controlling power supplied by the battery pack to the motor [0028, 0029], Andris does not disclose but Christopher discloses wherein a switching frequency (effective switching frequency) of the three-level or greater inverter is a multiple (N-1) of a fundamental switching frequency (fsw) of the three-level or greater inverter, and a level of the three-level or greater inverter (N) is a multiplier of the fundamental switching frequency (see section D. Inductor sizing section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a switching frequency as a multiple and a level as a multiplier as disclosed by Christopher in Andris teachings to achieve high power density (Christopher’s abstract section)
Regarding claim 15, Andris et a. disclose
, wherein the three-level or greater inverter is a three-level inverter, a five-level inverter, a seven-level inverter, a nine-level inverter, or an eleven-level inverter (see claim 4 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 16, Andris et al. disclose
wherein, during operation of the three-level or greater inverter, a modulation voltage between two levels is given by Vbus / (N-1), where N is a number of levels (see claim 5 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 17, Andris et al. disclose
: an inductor and a capacitor at an output of the three-level or greater inverter, wherein a pulse frequency seen by the inductor is given by (N-1)fsm, where fsw is a switching frequency of at least one switch of the three-level or greater inverter (see claim 7 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 18, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein an inductor ripple current of the three-level or greater inverter is defined according to AiL = 0.25VBus/ (N-1)2fswL, where L is the inductance of the inductor and VBUSis a bus voltage of the power tool (see claim 8 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 19, Andris et al. disclose
, wherein the three-level or greater inverter is a cascaded H- bridge inverter or a diode clamped inverter (see claim 11 rejection for detail).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andris et al. in a view of White et al. US Pub. No. 2016/0020443 A1
Regarding claim 13, Andris does not disclose but White et al. disclose wherein the battery pack has a nominal voltage of greater than 50V DC [0485].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a nominal battery voltage of greater than 50V DC as disclosed by White in Andris’s teachings to operate the power tool using broader operating range (White’s paragraph 0485)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LU et al. (US 2019/0238062 A1) disclose a three-level inverter.
Abarzadeh et al. (US 11,456,679 B2) disclose voltage level multiplier module.
YAMANAKA (JP 2006180675 A) discloses a power converter.
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896