DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites “wherein the VOC is converted in to non-toxic or less polluting compound(s)”. The Examiner submits the phrase “converted in to” is improper. Appropriate correction is required. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “converted into”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 – Claim 1 recites the limitation "the obtained sol-gel matrix" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 4 – Claim 4 recites “wherein the VOC is converted into non-toxic or less polluting compounds”. The Examiner submits the term “less polluting compounds” is unclear. The term “less polluting” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “less polluting” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The Examiner submits it is unclear as to what structural and/chemical properties are required to meet the limitation of a compound that is “less polluting” than the original volatile organic compound (VOC).
Regarding claim 6 – Claim 1 recites the phrase "such as a house, office, vehicle interior and ventilation duct" in line 5. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 7 – Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the air which is exposed to the coated surface is at a temperature which is - not more than 40°C, preferably not more than 37°C, more preferably not more than 30°C, and even more preferably not more than 25°C; and/or - more than 10°C, more preferably more than 15°C, and even more preferably more than 18°C”. The Examiner submits the claim is indefinite as the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Regarding claim 7, this claim recites the broad recitation “more than 10°C”, and also recites “more than 15°C”, “more than 18°C”, “not more than 40°C”, “not more than 37°C”, “not more than 30°C”, and “not more than 25°C”, which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation.
Regarding claim 11, this claim recites the broad recitation “between 50/50 and 85/15”, and also recites “between 60/40 and 70/30” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitationThe claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 8 – Claim 8 recites “the VOC is selected from the group consisting of formaldehyde; acetaldehyde; BTEX such as benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylene; tetrachloroethylene, trichloroethylene, and combinations thereof”. The Examiner submits the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which, if any, limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11 – Claim 11 recites “wherein the weight ratio of the at least one hydrophobic precursor to the at least one hydrophilic precursor is comprised in the range between 50/50 and 85/15, more preferably between 60/40 and 70/30”. The Examiner submits the claim is indefinite as the phrase "more preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 15 – Claim 15 recites “A method to reduce the concentration of formaldehyde, in air wherein the method comprises exposing the air with encapsulated whole microorganism of Pseudomonas putida in a sol-gel matrix. The Examiner submits the claim is unclear. The Examiner submits it is unclear how the method can be performed without first forming or providing the coated surface. The Examiner further submits the wherein clause in the preamble of the claim is improper and unclear. The Examiner suggests deleting the “wherein” to recite “A method to reduce the concentration of formaldehyde in air comprising”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senechal et al; "IOP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering Active coating including microorganism for indoor formaldehyde degradation”, Mater. Sci. Eng, January 2019 (2019-01).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 15 – Senechal teaches a method for removing indoor air contamination. The method includes the steps of providing a surface (thin layer chromatography plate or steel blades (see page 2, lines 15-16), encapsulating Psuedomonas putida cells in a sol-gel matrix (see page 2, lines 7-16), applying the sol-gel matrix to the surface (again page 2, lines 15-16), and then exposing the air to the coated surface (page 2, lines 18-24).
Regarding claim 2 – Senechal recites the use of extracted or purified components at page 1, lines 32-37.
Regarding claim 3 – Senechal teaches using whole microbial cells consisting of Pseudomonas putida ATCC 47054 at page 2, lines 2-4.
Regarding claim 4 – Senechal discloses breaking down formaldehyde with the coating at page 2, lines 20-24; page 3, lines 9-21; and Figure 1.
Regarding claim 6 – The Examiner considers the storage room or area containing the coated substrate (TLC paper or steel blades) – see page 2, lines 18-24 – to meet the limitation of “the interior of a building” or office as recited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7 – Senechal recites exposing the coating to air at temperature of about 18oC and 37oC at page 2, lines 17-19 and page 3, lines 10-21.
Regarding claims 8 and 14 – Senechal discloses formaldehyde as the VOC that is reduced through degradation at page 3, lines 20-24; page 43, lines 9-21; and Figure 1.
Regarding claims 10 and 12 –Senechal recites the use of a hydrophobic precursor (TEOS) in combination with a hydrophilic precursor (GPTMS) at page 2, lines 8-9.
Regarding claim 13 – Senechal discloses providing “Pseudomonas putida in a quantity between 20 to 40% by weight based on the total weight of whole microorganism of Pseudomonas putida and the sol-gel matrix” at page 3, line 18 and Table 1.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senechal et al; "IOP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering Active coating including microorganism for indoor formaldehyde degradation”, Mater. Sci. Eng, January 2019 (2019-01).
Regarding claim 9 –Senechal teaches a method of encapsulation at page 2, lines that includes the steps of providing freeze-dried water dispersible particles of Pseudomonas putida; providing a buffered sol-gel matrix; and mixing the freeze-dried water dispersible particles of Pseudomonas putida with the sol gel matrix. Senechal does not specify that the buffered sol-gel matrix is provided at a pH of 5. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to determine the optimal pH conditions for encapsulation through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05, Section II – Routine Optimization.
Regarding claim 11 – Senechal recites the use of a hydrophobic precursor (TEOS) in combination with a hydrophilic precursor (GPTMS) at page 2, lines 8-9. Senechal further recites adjusting the precursor ratio at page 2, line 13, but does not recite a teach a specific precursor ratio. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to determine the optimal ratio of sol gel precursors through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05, Section II – Routine Optimization.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Torbey (US 2024/0318129), Lee et al. (US 2018/0028705), and Koers (US 2018/0311614) teach devices for purifying air that include encapsulated Pseudomonas.
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 September 27, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798