DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 41 be found allowable, claim 46 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 13, 16, 21, 27, 33-35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linn. Linn discloses in the Figures and specification a humanoid robot device 10 comprising a base 50 (see paragraph [0026]), a robotic torso 11 coupled to the base (paragraph [0025]), at least one robotic arm 22, 24 (paragraph [0018]), at least one robotic shoulder coupling the arms and torso (paragraph [0015]), a robotic neck 14 coupled to the torso (paragraph [0015]), and a plurality of actuators configured to move at least a portion of at least one of the torso, arms, shoulders and neck (paragraph [0014]). Linn also discloses in paragraph [0014] that “the robot 10 may be configured to be of a human scale, allowing the robot 10 to share the same workspaces 30 that are typically designed for human workers”, thus suggesting that the components of the humanoid robot deviate less than 25% from respective proportions of a human.
With respect to claims 2, 3, 5 and 6, the above referenced teaching in paragraph [0014] pertaining to the robot being of a “human scale” suggests that each of the recited individual components are between 75% and 15% of the respective proportions of the corresponding human components. With respect to claim 4, Linn discloses at paragraph [0019] that each arm comprises a robotic elbow 32 and robotic wrist 38. While the specific terms “bicep” and “forearm” are not used in the specification of Linn, these features are suggested in Figure 1, which shows upper and lower arm segments connected by the elbow components. With respect to claim 7, Linn discloses at paragraph [0109] the provision of actuators which are configured to actuate the shoulder elements in abduction and adduction movements. With respect to claims 13, 16, 21, 27, 33, 34 and 38, Linn further discloses actuators configured to move each of the specific components of the robot in the manner recited. With respect to claim 35, Linn also discloses an actuator configured to move the neck element in the manner recited. The provision of an upper neck and a lower neck configured for relative rolling movement is considered to be an obvious variation on Linn, which teaches such an actuator at the position where the neck connects to the torso, and amounts to an obvious rearrangement of elements having no new or nonobvious results under MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linn in view of Kamon. Linn discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of an upper torso and lower torso with a pitch actuator as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Kamon at paragraph [0028], and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of facilitating relative angular movement of the torso as recited.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12, 14-15, 17-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-32, 36-37 and 39-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It remains the examiner’s position that Linn suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art that the proportions of the shoulders, arms and neck of its robot do not deviate more than 25% from those of a human being. Firstly, Linn discloses that “the robot may be configured to be of a human scale” (emphasis added), not that only certain portions of the robot may be configured to e of a human scale. The term “the robot” suggests to one of ordinary skill the entire robot. Secondly, the Figures of Linn – in particular Figs. 1 and 5 – show a robot comprising a robotic torso, neck, shoulders and arms, all of which have proportions which roughly correspond to the proportions of a human being. None of the components of the robot are shown to have proportions that differ “wildly” from those of a human. Humanoid robots having proportions roughly commensurate with those of a human are well known in the art, as shown for example not only by Linn but in the Figures of other prior art references cited in the prior Office Action (see e.g. Kamon, Kim, Kawaguchi, Sanders, Tilden and Nagatsuka). Thirdly, there is no teaching or suggestion whatsoever in Linn that certain components of its robot deviate substantially from those of a human being. Applicant’s argument that the device of Linn “can” have wildly differing proportions is entirely speculative. Whether the prior art excludes the possibility of such differing proportions is not the standard for determining whether the claimed invention is obvious over the prior art under MPEP 2144. As a result, claims 1-7, 13, 16, 21, 27, 33-35 and 38 remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KURT FERNSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
August 26, 2026