DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/6/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for rotating” in line 4 of claim 1.
As to the “means for rotating”, and as best understood, the specification describes that the rotary drive means may be manual or motorized (page 5 of the instant specification) and the examiner will interpret the means as any structure that supports the rotation of the filter, whereby the portion that helps support rotation could be turned in any manner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim. Claim 5 refers back to “claim 1 to 3” where it does not refer to the claims in the alternative. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 5 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, it is unclear what “said means” is referring to in line 4 because “a means” and “rotary drive means” have each been discussed in claim 1 and 2, respectively. The examiner believes that the means for rotating of claim 1 is the same as the rotary drive means and will interpret the claims as such for purposes of examination. However, the examiner does request that applicants use consistent terminology when describing the same features. Claim 3 is rejected based on further claim dependency.
Claims 6 and 7 each recite “the rotary drive means” which has not been previously mentioned. Therefore, this limitation is unclear and has insufficient antecedent basis. The examiner believes that the means for rotating of claim 1 is the same as the rotary drive means and will interpret the claims as such for purposes of examination. However, the examiner does request that applicants use consistent terminology when describing the same features.
As to claim 8, it is unclear whether the filter is actually rotating or not. The filter delimits a centrifugation chamber (second clause) and the collector plate (last clause) is then recited as moving along an axis of rotation of the filter. The issue is that the filter has not been previously recited as rotating. The examiner believes that the filter is rotating and requests clarification. Similarly, claims 13 and 14 are unclear as to how the filter is driven. Because the filter is not recited as rotating then it is unclear what or why the filter would be driven without clearly reciting how the filter can be moved.
Claims 9-14 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach et al (US 20100317099; hereinafter “Leach”) in view of Ricordi et al (US 20230160791; hereinafter “Ricordi).
As to claim 1, Leach teaches a device for purifying adipose tissue (Leach; Title), comprising at least one sealed enclosure (Leach teaches that cap on 72 seals the container 40; Fig. 1; [34]), a filter present in the sealed enclosure, said filter delimiting a centrifugation chamber for centrifuging adipose tissue, and a means for rotating the filter, the filter having a pore size configured to allow a liquid medium to pass and to retain adipose tissue (Leach teaches filter 60 in the centrifugation chamber, where the filter has a pore size to retain adipose tissue; [29, 33]. Leach teaches that the filter is rotated via gear/connecting member 112 and shaft 110; [38], Fig. 1).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Leach does not specifically teach a collector plate present in the separation chamber, the collector plate being able to move in translation along the vertical axis of the chamber. However, Ricordi teaches the analogous art of a device for processing and separating tissue through a filter (Ricordi; Title, [27, 47-50]) with a collector plate present in the separation chamber, the collector plate being able to move in translation along the vertical axis of the chamber (Ricordi teaches that plate 106 rotates along a vertical shaft and also moves up and down to adjust the position and surpass blockages to help process large tissue chucks; [39-41], Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the centrifugation chamber for separating tissue through a filter as in Leach to have included a collector plate that translated along the vertical axis of the chamber of Ricordi, the resulting combination being that the collector plate of Ricordi translated along the vertical axis of the centrifugation chamber of Leach, because Ricordi teaches that a rotating and vertically translating plate can assist in processing large tissue chucks (Ricordi; [41]).
As to claim 4, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a stiffening element present between the sealed enclosure and the filter (Leach teaches a stiffening element as the outside wall 50, or as supporting wall 46; Fig. 1, [26-33]. The examiner is interpreting any supporting structure as the stiffening element).
As to claim 6, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the rotary drive means of the filter is manual (The examiner notes that the drive means has been interpreted as the component that turns the filter; see 112(f) above. Leach teaches a rotator for the motor; see above. There are controls for the motor provided such that a user can manually control the power which would mean that the filter rotation is driven manually; [37], Fig. 1).
As to claim 7, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the rotary drive means of the filter comprises an electric motor (Leach; [37]).
As to claim 8, Leach teaches a device for purifying adipose tissue (Leach; Title), comprising: at least one sealed enclosure (Leach teaches that cap on 72 seals the container 40; Fig. 1; [34]); a filter present in the sealed enclosure, said filter delimiting a centrifugation chamber for centrifuging adipose tissue, wherein the filter has a pore size configured to allow a liquid medium to pass and to retain adipose tissue (Leach teaches filter 60 in the centrifugation chamber, where the filter has a pore size to retain adipose tissue; [29, 33]. Leach teaches that the filter is rotated via gear/connecting member 112 and shaft 110; [38], Fig. 1).
Leach does not specifically teach a collector plate present in the separation chamber, the collector plate being able to move in translation along the vertical axis of the chamber. However, Ricordi teaches the analogous art of a device for processing and separating tissue through a filter (Ricordi; Title, [27, 47-50]) with a collector plate present in the separation chamber, the collector plate being able to move in translation along the vertical axis of the chamber (Ricordi teaches that plate 106 rotates along a vertical shaft and also moves up and down to adjust the position and surpass blockages to help process large tissue chucks; [39-41], Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the centrifugation chamber for separating tissue through a filter as in Leach to have included a collector plate that translated along the vertical axis of the chamber of Ricordi, the resulting combination being that the collector plate of Ricordi translated along the vertical axis of the centrifugation chamber of Leach, because Ricordi teaches that a rotating and vertically translating plate can assist in processing large tissue chucks (Ricordi; [41]).
As to claim 11, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 8, further comprising a stiffening element present between the sealed enclosure and the filter (Leach teaches a stiffening element as the outside wall 50, or as supporting wall 46; Fig. 1, [26-33]. The examiner is interpreting any supporting structure as the stiffening element).
As to claim 12, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the filter is made of a rigid self-supporting material (Leach teaches that the filter supports itself where this material supports itself while also maintaining and supporting its structure to allow fluids to pass through the pores/holes; [29-32], Fig. 1).
As to claim 13, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the filter is driven manually (The examiner notes that the drive means has been interpreted as the component that turns the filter; see 112(f) above. Leach teaches a rotator for the motor; see above. There are controls for the motor provided such that a user can manually control the power which would mean that the filter rotation is driven manually; [37], Fig. 1).
As to claim 14, modified Leach teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the filter is driven with an electric motor (Leach; [37]).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18717120 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘120 teaches a device with a sealed enclosure, a filter that delimits a centrifuge chamber, and a rotary plate connected to the filter to rotate, and claim 4 of ‘120 discloses a collector plate translating along the axis of rotation of the filter. Thus, all of the elements of the invention recited in the instant claims are encompassed by the claims of copending Application No. 18717120 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not teach or suggest the limitations of claim 1 with a threaded rod extending in the centrifugation chamber and cooperating with a tapped portion of the collector plate, the threaded rod being connected to rotary drive means of the filter, said means being configured to drive the threaded rod in rotation, in a direction of rotation opposite to the direction of rotation of the filter.
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798