DETAILED ACTION
This office action replaces the previous office action mailed 14 April 2026, which mistakenly indicated a non-final status.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 41 and 42 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: they are drawn to combinations restrictable in view of the originally filed subcombination (i.e. the new claims include additional components while not requiring the details of the subcombination previously examined).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 41 and 42 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 24 March 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. They have been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has been considered only as noted in the attached copies (that is, while Appilcant has provided several of the cited foreign documents, no copy of the 13 July 2023 publication to Squires is present).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the linear actuator and solenoid (of claims 8 and 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gandhi et al. (US Patent Number 6390560).
Regarding claim 1, Gandhi discloses a system for mounting a child seat or another removable item in a vehicle, the child seat or removable item comprising a first hook and a second hook (even if not explicitly described, the system is intended for a child seat, which would inherently include such hooks), the system comprising: an anchor (20) configured and arranged to connect to the first hook and being movable between a retracted position and an extended position (this is the general arrangement; see figures and at least the second full paragraph of the “Detailed Description…”). While Gandhi is at least inherently viewed as providing a second anchor as claimed (and thus anticipating claim 1) in conjunction with the first shown (as any typical vehicle seat anchor system includes at least two anchors), this may not be explicit. Even in this case, duplication of components requires only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a second lower anchor as claimed based on normal variation to improve safety and convenience for various users.
Regarding claim 2, Gandhi further discloses a seat and a seatback of the vehicle, wherein the first lower anchor and the second lower anchor are at least partially disposed between the seat and seatback when in the extended and retracted positions (see at least Figure 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Gandhi further discloses a switch configured to be activated by a user, wherein activation of the switch moves at least one of the first lower anchor or the second lower anchor between the extended and retracted positions and/or a controller, the controller being configured to move at least one of the first lower anchor or the second lower anchor between the extended and retracted positions (see at least the fourth full paragraph of column 3; the control described would be viewed as a “controller” and/or a “switch” as claimed as a control for selectively driving the anchor would necessarily function as such). Note that even in the case that this were not considered sufficient to meet the claimed limitations, switches and controllers are old and well-known in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a controller or switch as claimed to allow a user to operate the device as intended and ensure safety and convenience.
Regarding claim 5, Gandhi further discloses a tether anchor, the tether anchor being configured to secure a strap extending from the removable item (as above, multiple anchors are inherent and/or obvious, and any typical child seat includes a strap extending and secured as claimed; note that even typical lower hooks/anchors would be viewed as such). Note that even in the case that this were not considered sufficient to meet the claimed limitations, tether anchors and straps are old and well-known in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an arrangement as claimed to allow a user to operate the device as intended and ensure safety and convenience.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 10, Gandhi further discloses an actuator (including 64) configured to move at least one of the first lower anchor or the second lower anchor between the retracted position and the extended position, the actuator is a gear drive actuator (64 includes gear reduction), wherein the actuator is a linear actuator (the arrangement at 62 functions as such), and wherein a seat and a seatback of the vehicle are provided, wherein at least a portion of the actuator is disposed below the seat (see at least Figure 1 showing the actuator below a seat at least in part).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Gandhi further discloses each of the first lower anchor and the second lower anchor comprises a wire having a curved shape about an axis, wherein the axis is perpendicular to a direction of travel for the first and second lower anchors when moving between the retracted and extended positions (see at least Figures 1 and 2 showing a shape with a curve about an axis perpendicular to “A”).
Claim(s) 9, 13-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gandhi.
Regarding claim 9, Gandhi discloses a system as explained above, but may not disclose a solenoid. Electromechanical solenoids are old and well-known in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a solenoid as claimed to improve manufacture or operation for various users.
Regarding claims 13-19 and 21, Gandhi discloses a system as explained above, but may not specifically disclose controller sequencing, triggering or associated signal providers, or processing details of the removable item. These claim limitations (including all controller sequencing, triggering and associated signal providers, and processing details of removable items) are old and well-known in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide details as claimed to improve user comfort, convenience, and safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, filed 20 March 2026 has been fully considered. The 35 USC 112 rejections and drawing objection related to clarity have been withdrawn. Note that the drawing objection related to the details of claims 8 and 9 has not been addressed and this objection has been maintained
Applicant's arguments filed 20 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Gandhi does not disclose or render obvious a second lower anchor. While it is acknowledged that Gandhi’s figures may show only a single anchor, as explained in the rejection, any typical vehicle seat anchor system in common use includes pairs of anchors for each seat (see any standard for LATCH, ISOFIX, etc.). Moreover, Gandhi appears to disclose paired anchors in the description of the preferred embodiment (see the third full paragraph of column 2 describing anchors provided “at the left and right edges of the seat” (emphasis added). Even ignoring this, Applicant’s assertion that the additional 35 USC 103 rejection fails to provide an explanation of how the Gandhi device could be modified to include two anchors is not persuasive. As set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second lower anchor to improve safety and convenience for various users, and such an anchor would be provided much as Gandhi suggests (i.e. at left and right edges of the seat). The rejections have accordingly been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636