DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 06/06/2024.
The claims 16-20 have been canceled by the applicant.
The claims 21-25 have been newly added by the applicant.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The number on claim 25 is not correct, it seems that it should be claim 1 and all the other subsequent claims 2-13 appear to be directly or indirectly dependent of claim 1. For purpose of examination and to expedite the process of examination of the application, the Examiner has considered the error a typo and has examined the claims as such. Appropriate correction is required for the next set of claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230292395) in view of LG Electronics, "Discussion on resource allocation for power saving," R1-2109860, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1, Meeting #106bis-e, e-Meeting, hereafter “LGElec”.
Regarding claim 1 Han disclose, a method for performing wireless communication by a first device, the method comprising:
obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to an active time para. 5, “receiving a first signaling, which indicates a first SL DRX configuration… the DRX configuration including parameters such as on-duration, off-duration, and wake-up time”;
obtaining a first reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for resource selection within the active time para. 60, “The BS may further use the RRC parameter to control the UEs to transmit the SL DRX configuration by threshold. More specifically, the BS can configure a threshold which is broadcasted together with other system information, for channel condition, reference signal receiving power (RSRP)”;
obtaining a second RSRP threshold for resource selection para. 5, “to a receiving UE, a second signaling which indicates a second SL DRX configuration, wherein the second SL DRX configuration is determined based on the first SL DRX configuration”.
Han does not specifically disclose, triggering resource selection in a slot; determining, based on the resource selection being triggered, a selection window; determining, based on the first RSRP threshold, at least one first candidate resource within the active time within the selection window; determining, based on the second RSRP threshold, at least one second candidate resource within the selection window; and selecting a transmission resource among the at least one first candidate resource and the at least one second candidate resource, based on that (i) a number of the at least one first candidate resource is greater than or equal to a first threshold and (ii) a number of the at least one second candidate resource is greater than or equal to a second threshold.
However, LGElec teach, triggering resource selection in a slot “the resource (re)selection is triggered at slot n”; see page 4,
determining, based on the resource selection being triggered, a selection window page 2, “For a resource (re)selection procedure triggered by periodic transmission (Prsvp_TX≠0) in slot n. A set of candidate resource (SA) is initialized to the set of selected Y candidate slots of PBPS”;
determining, based on the first RSRP threshold, at least one first candidate resource within the active time within the selection window page 8, “The remaining number of candidate slots can be selected from the SL DRX inactive time. For this, the target resource ratio, the RSRP threshold and the RSRP offset related to the idle resource identification in the resource (re)selection procedure can be commonly or separately (pre-)configured to the SL DRX”;
determining, based on the second RSRP threshold, at least one second candidate resource within the selection window page 8, “The remaining number of candidate slots can be selected from the SL DRX inactive time. For this, the target resource ratio, the RSRP threshold and the RSRP offset related to the idle resource identification in the resource (re)selection procedure can be commonly or separately (pre-)configured to the SL DRX”; and
selecting a transmission resource among the at least one first candidate resource and the at least one second candidate resource page 8, “For example, in selecting min. Y candidate resources, a (pre-)configured number of candidate resources can be selected from the SL DRX ON duration or active time within a resource selection window”, based on that (i) a number of the at least one first candidate resource is greater than or equal to a first threshold page. 5, “For aperiodic transmission, when the resource (re)selection is triggered at slot n, the contiguous partial sensing on [n+TA, n+TB] is determined as follows” read as:
T
A
=
t
y
0
-
W
C
P
S
>
0
and (ii) a number of the at least one second candidate resource is greater than or equal to a second threshold “for the second number is determined as follows” read as: “
T
B
=
t
y
0
-
T
p
r
o
c
,
0
-
T
p
r
o
c
,
1
≥
T
A
+
W
C
P
S
m
i
n
”.
Han and LGElec are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LGElec in the system of Han so the system can accurately schedule the best resource selection based on the current medium conditions. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the system is efficiently configuring and selecting the parameters to avoid delays.
Claim 14 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15 the limitations of claim 15 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230292395) in view of LG Electronics, "Discussion on resource allocation for power saving," R1-2109860, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1, Meeting #106bis-e, e-Meeting, hereafter “LGElec”, further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220217655).
Regarding claim 2, Han and LGElec, do not specifically disclose further comprising:
obtaining a first offset for increasing the first RSRP threshold and a second offset for increasing the second RSRP threshold. However, Lee teach, obtaining a first offset for increasing the first RSRP threshold para. 168, “the RSRP may be determined by adding the first offset to a RSRP measurement value of the DM-RS” and a second offset for increasing the second RSRP threshold para. 169, “the RSRP may be determined by adding a second offset determined based on the first offset to a RSRP measurement value of the DM-RS”.
Han, LGElec and Lee are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in the system of LGElec and Han to be able to prevent unnecessary back and forth handovers and frequent radio measurement reports. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the system can maintain a stable load balancing and reduce congestion during transmission windows.
Regarding claim 21 the limitations of claim 21 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 and 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471