DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-14 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025. The election is made final.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a transmission unit that transmits the first bit sequence or symbol sequence and the second bit sequence or symbol sequence in claim 1; a control unit that starts training of the AI/ML model constituting the encoder according to a training execution notification of the encoder in claim 5; a control unit that performs training of the AI/ML model constituting the encoder, wherein the control unit changes an encoding rate of the encoder in a course of the training in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saber et al hereinafter Saber (US 2023/0131694).
Referring to Claim 1. Saber discloses a transmission device comprising: an encoder configured by an AI/ML model (encoder model that configure the encoder, refer to par 0005, 0028, 0031 to encode a channel matrix, precoding matrix, representation/complex signals etc., refer to par 0031, 0036), and configured to encode a first bit sequence or symbol sequence to acquire a second bit sequence or symbol sequence (encode matrix, and/or bit stream/representation/complex signal refer to par 0005, 0031, 0036, 0060, 0078-0081); and a transmission unit that transmits the first bit sequence or symbol sequence and the second bit sequence or symbol sequence (transmit the representation, refer to par 0036, 0045-0046, 0049, 0078-0081, 0157, 0203).
Referring to Claim 2. Sabar disclosed the transmission device according to claim 1: Sabar discloses wherein the transmission unit transmits the first bit sequence or symbol sequence aperiodically or in a semi-persistent manner (parameters inside the performance metrics is part of the first bit sequence, refer to par 0203, the values/parameter of a model when requested/shared are to be send, refer to par 0157, 0078-0081)
Referring to Claim 3. Sabar disclosed the transmission device according to claim 2: Saber discloses wherein the transmission unit transmits the first bit sequence or symbol sequence aperiodically according to an aperiodic transmission execution notification of the first bit sequence or symbol sequence (parameters inside the performance metrics is in part of the first bit sequence, refer to par 0203, the values/parameter of a model when requested/shared are to be send, refer to par 0157, 0078-0081).
Referring to Claim 4. Sabar disclosed the transmission device according to claim 2: Saber discloses wherein the transmission unit transmits the first bit sequence or symbol sequence in a semipersistent manner according to a semi-persistent transmission execution notification of the first bit sequence or symbol sequence (parameters inside the performance metrics is in part of the first bit sequence, refer to par 0203, the values/parameter of a model when requested/shared are to be send, refer to par 0157, 0078-0081).
Referring to Claim 5. Sabar disclosed the transmission device according to claim 1: Saber discloses a control unit that starts training of the AI/ML model constituting the encoder according to a training execution notification of the encoder (autoencoder includes the AI/ML, refer to par 0080, 0081 receive instruction to be trained, refer to par 0078-0081, 0094).
Referring to Claim 6. Sabar disclosed the transmission device according to claim 5, Saber discloses wherein the transmission unit is configured to: transmit a training execution completion notification of the encoder in a case where training of the AI/ML model constituting the encoder has succeeded (track performance of the ML model is acceptable, refer to par 0197); and transmit a training execution failure notification of the encoder in a case where training of the AI/ML model constituting the encoder has failed (notification of the failure or performance which constitute the failure counter, refer to par 0199, 0200, 0203).
Referring to Claim 15. Claim is rejected under similar rational as claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saber et al hereinafter Saber (US 2023/0131694) in view of Wang et al hereinafter Wang (US 20240365137)
Referring to Claim 7. Sabar with Wang disclosed the transmission device according to claim 1, Saber discloses a control unit that performs training of the AI/ML model constituting the encoder wherein the control unit changes an encoding rate of the encoder in a course of the training (update the training data set across time, frequency/ and/or space, refer to par 0046 and update the performance included in KPI, where it is obvious the KPI includes the encoding rates, refer to par 0197).
Although Sabar, in analogous art, disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, Sabar did not explicitly disclose the AL/ML modify the encoder algorithms to incorporate the rate changes.
Wang, in analogous art, discloses it is well known to for the encoding rate to be modify by the AL/ML model (refer to par 0023, 0024, Machine learning algorithm DNN modify the input/output by also adjusting the rate during the model training refer to par 0023,0024)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sabar with Wang, because Wang’s teaching would allow the system of Sabar by improve data throughput in the wireless communication system.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAREN C TANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3116. The examiner can normally be reached on 5:30am - 2:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joon H Hwang can be reached on (571) 272-4036. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447