DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed 06/06/2024, is the national stage entry of PCT/US2022/052261, filed 12/08/2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/287,517, filed on 12/08/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR § 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The eight Information Disclosure Statements of record are acknowledged and found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered.
Application History
Applicant’s preliminary amendments to the claims received on 04/08/2025 were entered. Applicant stated that the preliminary amendments affected the following changes:
Amendments received 04/08/2025, at 28.
Claims 1, 7, 24, 29, 38, 40, 43, 44, 49, 72, 73, 79, 87, 89-91, 93, 94, and 96 were pending and subject to a Restriction/Election requirement mailed 07/01/2026. Applicant’s reply was received 08/26/2026.
Election/Restriction
Claims 1, 7, 24, 29, 38, 40, 43, 44, 49, 72, 73, 79, 87, 89-91, 93, 94, and 96 are subject to the Restriction/Election requirement mailed 07/01/2026. Applicant’s election in the reply received 08/26/2026 of the compound designated compound 136 at page 140 of the Specification is acknowledged. Applicant’s election was made without traverse.
The elected compound has the following chemical structure:
Compound 136, or the elected compound
Applicant states the elected compound is a compound of Formula 10 recited in claim 72:
Applicant states:
If the elected species is not anticipated by or obvious over the prior art, the examiner will extend the search and examination to a non-elected species or group of species that falls within the scope of a proper Markush grouping that includes the elected species.
The restriction and election of species requirements are deemed proper and are therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 7, 24, 29, 38, 40, 43, 44, 49, 72, 73, 79, 87, 89-91, 93, 94, and 96 are pending. Claims 1, 7, 24, 29, 38, 40, 43, 44, 49, 89-91, 93, 94, and 96 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species. Therefore, claims 72, 73, 79, and 87 read on an elected invention and species and are therefore under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 72, 73, 79 and 87 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 72 recites:
Regarding claims 72, 73, and 79, one of skill in the art would not reasonably understand the metes and the bounds of the claimed invention because the endless optional substitution leads to conflicting interpretations of what compounds are encompassed by the claims. See MPEP 2173.04.
First, it is unclear if an “optionally substituted C6-C10 aryl” includes heteroaryl. Substituting a carbon of an aryl group with a heteroatom results in a heteroaryl group. It is unclear if Applicant intends for this interpretation.
Second, it is unclear what degree of saturation is required for an optionally substituted heteroaryl or aryl because substituting pyridinyl and phenyl with hydrogen results in piperidinyl and cyclohexyl. One of skill in the art would not reasonably interpret piperidinyl and cyclohexyl as optionally substituted heteroaryl or aryl. It is unclear if Applicant intends for this interpretation.
Third, it is unclear what compounds are claimed when R7 is “optionally substituted C2-C9 heteroaryl C1-C6 alkyl” because the claim does not specify whether the optionally substituted C2-C9 heteroaryl is attached to the oxygen in O-R7, or if the optionally substituted C1-C6 alkyl is attached to oxygen in O-R7.
Claim 73 depends on claim 72 and fails to clarify the metes and bounds of claim. Claim 79 exemplifies these problems. It recites various options for the RA variable, one of which is “7-aza-5,6,7,8-tetrahydroindolizin-1-yl”, which has the following structure:
The above 8-aza-5,6,7,8-tetrahydroindolizin-1-yl moiety is not a standard C6-C10 aryl nor a standard C2-C9 heteroaryl. One of skill in the art would not reasonably interpret the above 8-aza-5,6,7,8-tetrahydroindolizin-1-yl as being a permitted option in the claimed compounds. It would warrant a 112(d) rejection but for the other reasonable interpretation of the claims possibly permitting endless optional substitution to destroy aromaticity and redefine standard chemical terms like aryl and heteroaryl to mean any cyclic ring structure of any size.
Therefore, it is unclear which compounds are presently claimed, and claims 72, 73, and 79 are rejected as indefinite.
In amending the claims to improve their clarity, Applicant should fix the clear typographical error in claim 79 which recites pyrazol-4-yl twice. The examiner interprets this as a typographical error because Applicant intends the claim to encompass compound 141 in claim 87, and therefore the second pyrazol-4-yl is instead “pyrazol-5-yl”.
Regarding claim 87, it recites 151 independent species. This number of independent species exceeds a reasonable number. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(2) and 37 CFR 1.141:
1.141 Different inventions in one national application.
(a) Two or more independent and distinct inventions may not be claimed in one national application, except that more than one species of an invention, not to exceed a reasonable number, may be specifically claimed in different claims in one national application, provided the application also includes an allowable claim generic to all the claimed species and all the claims to species in excess of one are written in dependent form (§ 1.75 ) or otherwise include all the limitations of the generic claim.
37 CFR 1.141.
Therefore, claim 87 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which Applicant regards as the invention. Accordingly, claim 87 is rejected as indefinite.
Applicant may rewrite the claim as a dependent claim or in a series of independent claims that contain no more than a reasonable number of species as permitted by the rule.
Improper Markush Grouping
Claims 72, 73, 79 and 87 rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush groupings of a compound of claims 72 and 87 is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush groupings do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
First, formula 10 (claim 72) and claim 87 (mixed formulas I, 1a, 1a’, 1b, 1c, 1d, 1e, and 2-13) represent compounds of multiple distinct chemical scaffolds that share only the common structure of a fused pyrimidine:
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
Even if the permitted, completely unbounded optional substitution is set aside, these fixed fused pyrimidine portions represent just a small portion of the chemical structures of the many, if not infinite number of compounds embraced by the claims. Under the first prong of the analysis, for these compounds to have “single structural similarity”, all alternative members must be of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class.
MPEP 2117 gives a simple example where single structural similarity is established with analogy to a fastener mechanism, which may include a buckle, or a loop. In that case, “a review of the prior art would establish that it was well known that each member could be substituted for each other with the expectation that the intended result (repositionable and refastenable) would occur.”
In this case, a review of the prior art did not establish that all members of these expansive Markush groupings were “well known” to be interchangeable. For example, while certain formula I compounds were known, such as the following compound of US’2051 at col. 441,
, the prior art did not establish that all alternative members expressly permitted by the claimed inventions were well known to be interchangeable.
Moreover, “single structural similarity” under the first prong requires that all alternatives are disclosed in the Specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Here, neither the art nor Specification establishes common use for all the alternatives. Claim 87 recites compounds like
and
, which are disclosed in the Specification as being inactive:
.
Therefore, a review of the prior art fails to establish “single structural similarity”, and the Specification itself fails to establish a common use for all of the alternatives.
For the second prong of the analysis, “single structural similarity” and a common use can be established from a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature.
As discussed above, for the multiple distinct chemical scaffolds, the only fixed portion embraced by all the alternatives is a fused pyrimidine ring. Even if the permitted optional substitution is set aside, these fixed portions represent just a small portion of the chemical structures of the many, if not infinite number of compounds embraced by the claims. For this prong to be satisfied, the examiner has to find that this small, fixed portion shared by all the alternatives is “substantial”, and that common use flows from that feature.
As shown above, the fixed portion of a fused pyrimidine was known and therefore is not “substantial” over the prior art. Also shown above, common use does not flow from this small, fixed portion shared by all the alternatives.
Further looking at the data applicant proffered, the claim 72 scaffold, which includes four distinct chemical scaffolds, appears to encompass Applicant’s embodiments 133-150. Applicant fails to disclose data for many of these compounds, as indicated by the NA in the assays below. See Specification at the Table beginning on page 150. Compounds like 133 and 134 are critical for understanding Formula 13 activity (encompassed by claim 72), yet there appears to be no data:
Therefore, nowhere in the record has it been established that the variety of compounds included within the explicit scope of the claims are recognized by the art as being functionally equivalent, nor that common use flows from the relatively small, fixed portion of a fused pyrimidine shared by all the alternatives.
Accordingly, the Markush grouping instantly recited lacks a “single structural similarity” and a common use.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
The examiner recommends amending the claims and basing the Markush grouping upon the structure of the elected species compound with alternatives that share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Compound 136, or the elected compound
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 87 Anticipated by US’205
Claim 87 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US’205.2
Claim 87 recites the following compounds:
US’205 at cols. 91 and 67 teaches the following compounds:
US’205 at cols. 91 and 67.
Accordingly, claim 87 is anticipated by US’205.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 72 and 79 Obvious over US’488 in view of US’932 and Patani 1996
Claim(s) 72 and 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’4883 in view of US’932,4 and Patani 1996.5
US’488 at col. 7 discloses the following compound:
, hereinafter “US’488 compound A”.
The above compound is a 3-methylmorphlinyl variant of a compound of Formula 10 as recited in the instant claim 72. The above compound would anticipate the instant claims 72 and 79 but for the methyl group attached to the morpholinyl functional group.6 It represents a simple bioisostere that Applicant’s broad claims encompass.
The compounds of US’488 are kinase inhibitors, ATR exemplified. See US’488 at col. 75, Table 1.
US’488 exemplifies the use of its compounds with their classical bioisostere variants (CH-N exchange), see, e.g., Compound 3 at col. 5,
, and some of its biological data at cols. 75-77, e.g.,
Compounds 3 and compound A of US’488 are non-classical bioisosteres of the active pharmaceutical ingredient (“API”) elimusertib (BAY-1895344), which is a well known ATR inhibitor that was disclosed in WO2016020320. WO2016020320 is cited in US’488 at col. 1, line 60. US’932 cited herein was the first U.S. Patent granted from the international application that published as WO2016020320.
US’488 itself suggests that unsubstituted morpholinyl would work through the well known bioisosteric equivalence of methyl and hydrogen.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have a reasonable expectation of success in instead utilizing unsubstituted morpholinyl because methyl and hydrogen are well known classical bioisosteric exchanges, and by making the exchange from 3-methylmorphlinyl to unsubstituted morpholinyl, one would reasonably expect the resulting bioisostere to affect the same pharmacological targets in the same way. See US’932 and Patani 1996.
US’932
US’932 at col. 226 discloses its example 111 compound, which is the well known API elimusertib:
US’932 compound 111, or elimusertib
US’932 at col. 425 teaches its compound 348, which is the unsubstituted morpholinyl classical bioisostere of elimusertib:
US’932 Table 7, beginning at col. 474, explains that both compounds are bioisosteres.
See also, US’932 Table 9, beginning at col. 484, teaching the same:
As shown in US’932, methyl and hydrogen are bioisosteric exchanges. By replacing one for the other, one has a reasonable expectation that the bioisosteric compounds will affect the same pharmacological targets in the same way. See Patani 1996.
Patani 1996
The exchange of the methyl group with hydrogen represents a classical bioisosteric exchange “according to Grimm”. See Patani 1996 at 3148, right column, Table 2, discussed below.
Patani 1996 has been cited thousands of times by numerous authors for its review of “Bioisosterism: A Rational Approach in Drug Design”. See Patani 1996 at Title. On the first page, it explains that “Bioisosterism represents one approach used by the medicinal chemist for the rational modification of lead compounds into safer and more clinically effective agents.” Patani 1996 at 3147. The approach was considered “intuitive”, id., and had its roots back to 1919, id. at 3148. Bioisosteres are “Compounds or groups that possess near-equal molecular shapes and volumes, approximately the same distribution of electrons, and which exhibit similar physical properties...”. Id. “The critical component for bioisosterism is that bioisosteres affect the same pharmacological target as agonists or antagonists and, thereby, have biological properties which are related to each other.” Id.
“Bioisosteres have been classified as either classical or nonclassical.” Id. One such group of classical bioisosteres were those “according to Grimm”, see Patani 1996 at 3148, Table 2 and surrounding text (fourth column shows the H and CH3 exchange; see also the second column, teaching the classical bioisosteric exchange of N with CH utilized in the ring atoms of Compounds 3 and compound A of US’488):
Patani 1996 at 3148, Table 2.
See also, Patani 1996 at 3149 (“(4) fluorine, hydroxyl, amino, and methyl group interchanges (Grimm's Hydride Displacement Law);”), id. at 3152-3154 (“4. Fluorine and Hydroxyl, Amino, or Methyl Groups as Replacements for Hydrogen (Grimm's Hydride Displacement Law)”). “This monovalent group of isosteres is a result of the direct adaptation of Grimm’s Hydride Displacement Law.” Id. at 3152.
Moreover, the classical bioisosteric exchange of N and CH was well known. See, e.g., Patani 1996 at 3158, Ring Equivalents section.
Accordingly, the exchange of methyl with hydrogen results in classical bioisosteres, that by definition, affect the same pharmacological target as agonists or antagonists and, thereby, have biological properties which are related to each other.
Further, as noted above, elimusertib, and Compounds 3 and A of US’488 are non-classical bioisosteres. See Patani 1996 at 3149, discussing nonclassical bioisosteres.
Nonclassical isosteres do not obey the steric and electronic definition of classical isosteres. A second notable characteristic of nonclassical bioisosteres is that they do not have the same number of atoms as the substituent or moiety for which they are used as a replacement. Nonclassical bioisosteres can be further divided into groups: (A) rings vs noncyclic structures; and (B) exchangeable groups.
Patani 1996 at 3149.
Claims 72 and 79 Obvious
Accordingly, the chemist of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have a reasonable expectation of success in utilizing unsubstituted morpholinyl to prepare the classical bioisostere of compound A of US’488. By preparing the bioisostere, he had the reasonable expectation that the resulting compound would be an effective ATR kinase inhibitor like compounds 3 and A of US’488, elimusertib, and compound 348 of US’488.
Obvious bioisostere of US’488 compound A encompassed by claims 72 and 79
US’488 compound A
Accordingly, claims 72 and 79 were obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 72, 73, 79 and 87 Obvious over US’205 in view of US’458, Poulsen 2014 and Patani 1996
Claim(s) 72, 73, 79 and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’2057 in view of US’458,8 Poulsen 20149 and Patani 1996.
US’205 and Patani 1996 are the same references discussed above.
Claim 72 recites:
Applicant elected the following compound as the embodiment of its invention:
Compound 136, or the elected compound
As discussed, US’205 teaches compounds like its B-29 compound:
Many other compounds are taught in a similar configuration. See, e.g., US’205 at col 67, teaching compounds like:
US’205 at col. 67.
The central scaffold in the compounds of US’205 is a 5H,6H,7H-pyrrolo[2,3-d]pyrimidine. Applicant’s elected compound is built upon a 5-pyrrolo[3,2-d] pyrimidine scaffold. Both scaffolds are known bioisosteres of purine and have widespread use in medicinal chemistry. Ergo, Applicant’s elected compound and B-29 from US’205 are simple bioisosteres.
The compounds of US’205 are kinase inhibitors, with PI3K exemplified. See, e.g., US’205 at col. 1. US’205 teaches a structural activity relationship study (a “SAR study” or just a “SAR”) about compounds built in its configuration. See, e.g., the Table of US’205 at cols. 852-853. By modifying the various rings attached to the purine-isostere scaffold, one can tune activity towards different cancers.
While US’205 does not exemplify the use of the bioisosteric 5-pyrrolo[3,2-d] pyrimidine scaffold, a chemist of ordinary skill at the time of filing would recognize that it suggests that the scaffold would work towards the same pharmacological targets through the simple principles of bioisosterism. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have a reasonable expectation of success in scaffold hopping to the bioisosteric 5-pyrrolo[3,2-d] pyrimidine scaffold because US’458 teaches scaffold hopping to the same bioisosteric scaffold, and Poulsen 2014 teaches the preferential location of the morpholinyl substituent. Patani 1996 provides definitions.
US’458
See US’458 at Abstract, teaching the bioisosteric 5-pyrrolo[3,2-d] pyrimidine scaffold.
Simple compounds constructed in this manner are also highly potent PI3K inhibitors. See US’458 at 34, Table 2. They were also known to inhibit mTOR kinase depending upon the substituent chosen.
The compound names appear in Table 1 at page 32. For example, see compounds 2, 4, and 5.
US’458 compound 2
US’458 compound 4
US’458 compound 5
They differ from the compounds of US’205 by the location the morpholinyl group is attached. For example, below shows US’205 compound B-29 and US’458 compound 2 together. This helps show the different location of the morpholinyl group. US’205 places the morpholinyl group at the 2-position of the purine isostere scaffold, whereas US’458 places it at the 4-position:
US’205 compound B-29
US’458 compound 2
Poulsen 2014
Poulsen 2014 teaches that the 2-position of the purine isostere scaffold is the preferred location for a morpholinyl group when preparing a PI3K inhibitor, rather than the 4-position. Computations were performed using the purine core. See Poulsen 2014 at 3240, showing the different scaffolds explored. The compounds of US’205 were based upon Scaffold A, whereas the compounds of US’458 were based upon Scaffold B.
US’205 compound B-29, rotated to show Scaffold A
US’458 compound 2, rotated to show Scaffold B
See Poulsen 2014 at 3248 (“With our aim of making dual mTOR and PI3Kα as well as selective mTOR inhibitors, picking scaffold A proved to be the right choice.”) (emphasis added).
Patani 1996
Patani 1996 was discussed in the preceding rejection under 103. Bioisosteres are “Compounds or groups that possess near-equal molecular shapes and volumes, approximately the same distribution of electrons, and which exhibit similar physical properties...”. Id. at 3148. “The critical component for bioisosterism is that bioisosteres affect the same pharmacological target as agonists or antagonists and, thereby, have biological properties which are related to each other.” Id.
The elected species compound was obvious
US’205 taught a potent family of PI3K inhibitors based upon a purine isostere scaffold. When the inventors of US’458 prepared their early PI3K inhibitors based upon the bioisosteric 5-pyrrolo[3,2-d] pyrimidine scaffold, they made the wrong choice in the selection of the location for the morpholinyl group according to Poulsen 2014. Therefore, at the time of filing, it was quite clear to the ordinary chemist seeking to improve the design of the PI3K inhibitors taught in US’205 and US’458, that he could take an exemplary compound of US’205, scaffold hop to the bioisosteric 5-pyrrolo[3,2-d] pyrimidine scaffold as shown in US’458, but retain the morpholinyl group at the 2-position of the purine isostere. There was a reasonable expectation of success in making the scaffold hop because the compound would be a bioisosteric equivalent of the compounds of US’205, and therefore could be used for the same purposes in oncology.
The compound obtained from making the immediate scaffold hop from US’205 compound B-29 alone renders claims 72, 73, and 79 obvious at the time of filing. The only difference between that compound and Applicant’s elected compound is a 2-pyridinyl and a 3-pyridinyl group. Both are bioisosteres. Further, US’205 teaches multiple examples of a 2-pyridinyl, e.g.:
, at col. 63,
at col. 147, or
at 211.
It was known from the SAR of US’205 that changing the substituent slightly tweaks the activity of the resulting compound. Accordingly, there was a reasonable expectation of success in selecting 2-pyridinyl instead of 3-pyridiyl as shown in the US’205 compound B-29.
Accordingly, the elected species compound, and claim 87, were obvious at the time of filing.
Secondary considerations
Applicant may argue that it was unexpected that its compounds would inhibit PIKfyve. Such an argument would not be persuasive because the elected compound is not a stellar PIKfyve inhibitor and the instant claims are not drawn towards its use for that purpose. Further, WO’00310 suggests that the family of formula 10 compounds Applicant claims are expected to inhibit PIKfyve, see, e.g., WO’003 at 141, claim 1, which encompasses Applicant’s purported invention.
WO’003 exemplifies variants wherein the morpholinyl group is at the 4-position of the purine isostere. See, e.g., claim 18 at 149. Other purine scaffold isosteres exemplified throughout.
Many of the compounds of WO’003 also perform well in such configurations. See WO’003 at 134-137, where the biological data is reported, e.g.,
While WO’003 does not exemplify the configuration Applicant selected, it nevertheless suggests through its general formulas that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would reasonably expect the PI3K inhibitors disclosed in US’205 and US’458, and bioisosteric derivatives thereof, to also inhibit PIKfyve. The kinase inhibitors built in these configurations had broad activity.
Therefore, if there is some feature other than PIKfyve inhibition relevant to the elected compound, Applicant should identify that in its response.
Double Patenting
Provisional NSDP to US’797
Claim 87 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 81 of copending Application No. 18/007,797 (reference application, or “US’797”, which published as US 20230271965 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 81 of the reference application presently claims the same compounds or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof the same compounds claimed in the instant claim 87.
See, e.g., claim 81 of the reference application:
See, e.g., claim 87 of the instant application:
At least compound 17 of the reference application and compound 3 of the instant application are the same. Others are obvious variants. E.g., compound 4 of instant claim 87.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art Cited but not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Jorda, Radek, Kamil Paruch, and Vladimir Krystof. "Cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitors inspired by roscovitine: purine bioisosteres." Current pharmaceutical design 18.20 (2012): 2974-2980.
See, e.g., Fig. 2 at 2975.
De Coen, Laurens M., et al. "Synthetic entries to and biological activity of pyrrolopyrimidines." Chemical Reviews 116.1 (2016): 80-139.
Teaches numerous examples of purine bioisosteres. E.g., page 113.
CN 112142744 A:
Teaches the following compound encompassed by certain claims. The compound is also a bioisostere of elimusertib and compounds of US’932.
Chen, Dizhong, et al. "Synthesis and biological evaluation of 6-phenylpurine linked hydroxamates as novel histone deacetylase inhibitors." Bioorganic Chemistry 98 (2020): 103724.
See also the graphical abstract available online at https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bioorg.2020.103724 :
Gilbert, Adam M., et al. "Novel purine and pyrazolo [3, 4-d] pyrimidine inhibitors of PI3 kinase-α: Hit to lead studies." Bioorganic & medicinal chemistry letters 20.2 (2010): 636-639.
Pyrazolo[3,4-d]pyrimidine bioisostere scaffold of purines used in the same targets.
US 20240150358 A1, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/007,983.
Presently unclear whether this application is a double patent due to the nature of the instant claims.
US 20250353851 A1, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/717,174.
Presently unclear whether this application is a double patent due to the nature of the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/C.E.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1 Shimma; Nobuo, et al., “Pyrimidine Derivatives As PI3K Inhibitor And Use Thereof”, U.S. Patent No. US 8022205 B2, published 2011-09-20, hereinafter “US’205”.
2 Cited in the section regarding improper Markush grouping. Shimma; Nobuo, et al., “Pyrimidine Derivatives As PI3K Inhibitor And Use Thereof”, U.S. Patent No. US 8022205 B2, published 2011-09-20, hereinafter “US’205”.
3 Li; Xin, et al., “Substituted Morpholines As ATR Kinase Inhibitors”, U.S. Patent No. US 12559488 B2, published 2026-02-24, priority to 2019-11-21, hereinafter “US’488”.
4 Wortmann; Lars, et al., “2-(morpholin-4-yl)-1,7-naphthyridines”, U.S. Patent No. US 9549932 B2, published 2017-01-24, hereinafter “US’932”.
5 Patani, George A., and Edmond J. LaVoie. "Bioisosterism: a rational approach in drug design." Chemical reviews 96.8 (1996): 3147-3176, hereinafter “Patani 1996”.
6 As discussed in the 112(b) section, the examiner interprets the second pyrazol-4-yl in claim 79 as pyrazol-5-yl .
7 Same reference used in the 102 section regarding claim 87.
8 CHEN; Zecheng, et al., “PYRROLO[3,2-d]PYRIMIDINE COMPOUNDS AND THEIR USE AS PI3 KINASE AND MTOR KINASE INHIBITORS”, U.S. Patent Publication No. US 20090149458 A1, published 2009-06-11, hereinafter “US’458”.
9 Poulsen, Anders, et al. "Structure and ligand-based design of mTOR and PI3-kinase inhibitors leading to the clinical candidates VS-5584 (SB2343) and SB2602." Journal of chemical information and modeling 54.11 (2014): 3238-3250, hereinafter “Poulsen 2014”.
10 PATEL VINOD F, “NOVEL INHIBITORS OF PIKFYVE AND METHODS USING SAME”, International Publication No. WO 2023058003 A1, published 2023-04-13, priority to 2021-10-07, TME THERAPEUTICS LLC Applicant, hereinafter “WO’003”.