DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments filed in the reply on June 4, 2026 were received and fully considered. Claims 1, 7, 12, 15, 17, and 19 were amended. Claim 2 and 11 was cancelled. Please see below for more detail.
Claim Objections
The Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, lines 7-9, the term “configured to interpret the test results to determine a CLART digital biomarker (dBM)” should be replaced with -- configured to interpret the test results to determine an animal recognition test (CLART) digital biomarker (dBM) -- to clarify user-specific terminology. Mirrored changes should be made in Claim 12, lines 5-7 and Claim 19, lines 7-9.
Appropriate correction is required and applicant should carefully review the Claims for any other informalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 10, 12-13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raber et al (US 2008/0280276) (“Raber”) in view of Dagum (US 2020/0245949) and further in view of Macallister et al (US 2023/0321114) (“Macallister”) and further in view of Lee et al (US 2017/0181685) (Lee”) and further in view of Scharschmidt et al (US 2015/0094278) (“Scharschmidt”)
Regarding Claim 1, while Raber teaches a system for assessing hepatic encephalopathy of at least one patient (Abstract, [0064], [0080] where the broad category of evaluating cognitive decline due to a pathological process including a neurological diseases and vascular disorder would be understood to encompass hepatic encephalopathy as evidenced by Dagum [0012]: “Many other diseases are known to affect brain health and cognitive function. These include neurovascular disorders including multi-infract dementia, hepatic failure with encephalopathy, renal failure, congestive heart failure, and various infectious disease and viral illness to name a few. Individuals with any of these disorders are at risk for cognitive impairment.” Broadly tracking cognitive function would yield data relevant to hepatic encephalopathy), the system comprising:
Patient application modules for patient devices, the patient application modules being to be used to take at least one animal recognition test for assessing hepatic encephalopathy, and to determine test results ([0051]-[0053] software for cognitive ability/cognitive impairment assessment including, [0059]-[0061] software used to administer cognitive ability testing through virtual reality, [0062], [0070] determined test results, Fig. 4, [0091]-[0096] where one test is Novel Image, Novel Location where a user must recognize images and whether they are novel or in a new position and may include an animal as shown by Fig. 4’s image including a bird, [0098]-[0100] where a second test is Memory Island where a user must search for targets, which includes recognition in a virtual space of the target and the target includes animals such a seal and a seagull);
at least one interpretation module receiving the test results and configured to interpret the test results to determine an animal recognition test metrics ([0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067] software tool evaluates results of testing and acts as interpretation module, [0062], [0065], [0070] test results of measured performance used to classify cognitive ability) by determining
a time taken to complete the test compared to a baseline mean ([0098] a time to reach the target is tracked per test trial, [0100] where the performance was based on mean values, [0202] and changes in these metrics can be identified in relation to a patient baseline)
a metric that reflects a failure count calculated based on failed and completed tests ([0100] a metric of percentage of successful tests in the Memory Island test were captured, the metric representing a failure count in tests as the percentage is calculated by identifying a success count of trials in relation to the total count of trials attempted. This percentage of successful trials inherently also represents a percentage of failed trials if you were to subtract the metric from 100%);
at least one practitioner application module for at least one practitioner device, the at least one practitioner module being configured to receive at least the parameters of hepatic encephalopathy to provide a diagnosis aid ([0077] testing can be evaluated remotely from user, [0056], [0058] communication of testing data may be provided another computing entity in a distributed computing environment, another computing entity can be a practitioner device with the distributed analysis aiding the diagnosis at the practitioner device);
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images ([0062], [0065], [0070]);
Raber fails to teach interpreting the results by determining a failure count calculated based on failed and completed tests.
However Raber further teaches that performance signifier scores can be percentages of successful trials or numbers of successful trials ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a score using percentage of successful trials as taught by Raber can equivalently be shown by a number of successful trials, indicating the number of successful trials is contextualized by the total number of trials. And as noted above, a metric such as number of successful trials in view of total trials, equivalently shows the number of failed trials as the difference between these two values. Thus, a score applied as a success number count based on succeeded and completed tests is also a failure number count based on failed and completed tests.
Yet Raber fails to teach interpreting the tests results to determine a CLART digital biomarker (dBM) from the identified metrics.
However Dagum teaches a cognitive assessment (Abstract) where identified metrics may yield a digital biomarker by function mapping the results of the assessment (Abstract, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the metrics of Raber into a single biomarker as taught by Dagum as a singular value with which to make a judgement of a patient in a standardized way that can be applied across applications of the invention.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions, the text descriptions being names of animals to be selected; and
wherein the animal recognition test is made without colour shades parameters to ensure intervention-free completion for colour-blind patients.
However Macallister teaches an evaluation of cognitive decline (Abstract) may include an animal recognition test that tests working memory, wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions, the text descriptions being names of animals to be selected ([0106], Table 2, list sorting test provides pictures, written names, and audio names of food and animals, has subject recite the animals in order from smallest to largest as a single task, and then has subject recite the foods, then animals in order from smallest to largest as a single task. This test requires recognition of animals to identify relative sizes between different animals, where the written names of the animals are corresponding text descriptions of animals selected in the sorting) and Scharschmidt teaches an evaluation of hepatic encephalopathy (Abstract) that specifically involves testing a subject with information that is likely to be recognized.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a cognitive task based on impaired memory as taught by Macallister would be useful for Raber as an additional potential test of memory to judge cognitive decline. Further, Applicant defines a test made without colour shades parameters as “a test in which a clear distinction and understanding of different colours and/or different colour shades is not a parameter which intervene in the understanding and/or the completion of the test.” As the test described by Macallister is accompanied by written names and audio names of the animals, a colour of the visualized animal will not intervene in the understanding and/or completion of the test and the limitation is met. Finally, a memory test using familiar images may be considered as a more specific test for hepatic encephalopathy (Scharschmidt: [0040], [0129] test a subject by asking them what family members are present, these questions relying on the recognition of people that should be simple for a neurologically healthy person).
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach
interpreting the results by determining a percentage difference in time taken to complete the test compared to a baseline mean; and
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions from a junior school repertoire.
However Lee teaches a cognitive impairment analysis comprising an animal-based cognitive task (Abstract, [0011]) and further teaches that animal-based cognitive tasks can be applied in a manner that is minimally influenced by level of education ([0016], [0073] animal recognition may be considered a universally shared semantic representation) and teaches that proportional changes in performance of a cognitive task can be used to track performance ([0076]-[0078] changes in recall and intrusion-based recall performance can be tracked as a proportion to identify changes in impairment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the testing of Raber and Macallister be applied in a form independent of level of education as taught by Lee as this makes the tests easier to administer. And one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that animal-related cognitive testing that is independent of education reflects animals recognized at a very early age, indicating animals recognized from a junior school repertoire. Further, Lee states testing judgement is also reflective of working memory ([0005]), confirming an applicability of the details of a judgement-based animal recognition tests of Lee to the judgement-based animal recognition tests of Macallister. Further still, it would be obvious that the changes in latency of Raber can be monitored by a proportion, i.e. a percentage, as a clear metric for reflecting changes in the user’s performance. Finally, animal recognition reflects a similar characteristic to Scharschmidt’s hepatic encephalopathy-oriented question on a patient’s present family members, information that should be accessible to a person regardless of education level.
Regarding Claim 3, Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, and Raber teaches that user input in relation to performed tests may involve a keyboard or touchpad ([0068]), allowing the animal recognition test answers to be provided by typing the right animal image or the right text description a tactile (e.g. touchpad) screen (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 6, Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, and Raber teaches the outlined invention of screening tests can be used to make a diagnosis ([0012]), and if the combination as a whole is applied in this manner, the output parameters of hepatic encephalopathy would comprise a positive/negative diagnosis, or a positive/negative probability (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 10, Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, and Raber teaches the system further comprising at least one patient device comprising a corresponding patient module; and at least one server comprising the interpretation module ([0077]) and teaches that processing may be performed in a distributed computing environment (See Claim 1 Rejection) and Lee teaches a system further comprising at least one patient device comprising a corresponding patient module; at least one practitioner device comprising a corresponding practitioner module; and at least one server comprising the interpretation module. ([0034]-[0036] programs may be distributed across a network, with corresponding devices for the user and for the clinician, components of the assessment can be provided at a server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize devices distributed across a network as taught by Lee for the delivery and processing of the cognitive testing of Raber and Macallister as this provides greater convenience to all parties by enabling the user to take a test at home, a clinician to review the results at the clinic at a convenient time, and a remote server to house necessary computation components outside of the user’s home and clinician’s clinic.
Regarding Claim 12, while Raber teaches a computer-implemented method for assessing hepatic encephalopathy of at least one patient (Abstract, [0064], [0080] where the broad category of evaluating cognitive decline due to a pathological process including a neurological diseases and vascular disorder would be understood to encompass hepatic encephalopathy as evidenced by Dagum [0012]: “Many other diseases are known to affect brain health and cognitive function. These include neurovascular disorders including multi-infract dementia, hepatic failure with encephalopathy, renal failure, congestive heart failure, and various infectious disease and viral illness to name a few. Individuals with any of these disorders are at risk for cognitive impairment.” Broadly tracking cognitive function would yield data relevant to hepatic encephalopathy), the method comprising:
a step for taking at least one test to assess hepatic encephalopathy, and to determine test results ([0051]-[0053], [0059]-[0061] software used for cognitive ability/cognitive impairment assessment by administering cognitive ability testing through virtual reality, [0062], [0070] determined test results, Fig. 4, [0091]-[0096] where one test is Novel Image, Novel Location where a user must recognize images and whether they are novel or in a new position and may include an animal as shown by Fig. 4’s image including a bird, [0098]-[0100] where a second test is Memory Island where a user must search for targets, which includes recognition in a virtual space of the target and the target includes animals such a seal and a seagull);
a step for interpreting the test results to determine metrics ([0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067] software tool evaluates results of testing and acts as interpretation module, [0062], [0065], [0070] test results of measured performance used to classify cognitive ability) by determining
a time taken to complete the test compared to a baseline mean ([0098] a time to reach the target is tracked per test trial, [0100] where the performance was based on mean values, [0202] and changes in these metrics can be identified in relation to a patient baseline)
a metric that reflects a failure count calculated based on failed and completed tests ([0100] a metric of percentage of successful tests in the Memory Island test were captured, the metric representing a failure count in tests as the percentage is calculated by identifying a success count of trials in relation to the total count of trials attempted. This percentage of successful trials inherently also represents a percentage of failed trials if you were to subtract the metric from 100%);
a step for providing a diagnosis aid based on the parameters of hepatic encephalopathy ([0077] testing can be evaluated remotely from user, [0056], [0058] communication of testing data may be provided another computing entity in a distributed computing environment, another computing entity can be a practitioner device with the distributed analysis aiding the diagnosis at the practitioner device);
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images ([0062], [0065], [0070]);
Raber fails to teach interpreting the results by determining a failure count calculated based on failed and completed tests.
However Raber further teaches that performance signifier scores can be percentages of successful trials or numbers of successful trials ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a score using percentage of successful trials as taught by Raber can equivalently be shown by a number of successful trials, indicating the number of successful trials is contextualized by the total number of trials. And as noted above, a metric such as number of successful trials in view of total trials, equivalently shows the number of failed trials as the difference between these two values. Thus, a score applied as a success number count based on succeeded and completed tests is also a failure number count based on failed and completed tests.
Yet Raber fails to teach interpreting the tests results to determine a CLART digital biomarker (dBM) from the identified metrics.
However Dagum teaches a cognitive assessment (Abstract) where identified metrics may yield a digital biomarker by function mapping the results of the assessment (Abstract, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the metrics of Raber into a single biomarker as taught by Dagum as a singular value with which to make a judgement of a patient in a standardized way that can be applied across applications of the invention.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions, the text descriptions being names of animals to be selected; and
wherein the animal recognition test is made without colour shades parameters to ensure intervention-free completion for colour-blind patients.
However Macallister teaches an evaluation of cognitive decline (Abstract) may include an animal recognition test that tests working memory, wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions, the text descriptions being names of animals to be selected ([0106], Table 2, list sorting test provides pictures, written names, and audio names of food and animals, has subject recite the animals in order from smallest to largest as a single task, and then has subject recite the foods, then animals in order from smallest to largest as a single task. This test requires recognition of animals to identify relative sizes between different animals, where the written names of the animals are corresponding text descriptions of animals selected in the sorting) and Scharschmidt teaches an evaluation of hepatic encephalopathy (Abstract) that specifically involves testing a subject with information that is likely to be recognized (
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a cognitive task based on impaired memory as taught by Macallister would be useful for Raber as an additional potential test of memory to judge cognitive decline. Further, Applicant defines a test made without colour shades parameters as “a test in which a clear distinction and understanding of different colours and/or different colour shades is not a parameter which intervene in the understanding and/or the completion of the test.” As the test described by Macallister is accompanied by written names and audio names of the animals, a colour of the visualized animal will not intervene in the understanding and/or completion of the test and the limitation is met. Finally, a memory test using familiar images may be considered as a more specific test for hepatic encephalopathy (Scharschmidt: [0040], [0129] test a subject by asking them what family members are present, these questions relying on the recognition of people that should be simple for a neurologically healthy person).
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach
interpreting the results by determining a percentage difference in time taken to complete the test compared to a baseline mean; and
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions from a junior school repertoire.
However Lee teaches a cognitive impairment analysis comprising an animal-based cognitive task (Abstract, [0011]) and further teaches that animal-based cognitive tasks can be applied in a manner that is minimally influenced by level of education ([0016], [0073] animal recognition may be considered a universally shared semantic representation) and teaches that proportional changes in performance of a cognitive task can be used to track performance ([0076]-[0078] changes in recall and intrusion-based recall performance can be tracked as a proportion to identify changes in impairment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the testing of Raber and Macallister be applied in a form independent of level of education as taught by Lee as this makes the tests easier to administer. And one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that animal-related cognitive testing that is independent of education reflects animals recognized at a very early age, indicating animals recognized from a junior school repertoire. Further, Lee states testing judgement is also reflective of working memory ([0005]), confirming an applicability of the details of a judgement-based animal recognition tests of Lee to the judgement-based animal recognition tests of Macallister. Further still, it would be obvious that the changes in latency of Raber can be monitored by a proportion, i.e. a percentage, as a clear metric for reflecting changes in the user’s performance. Finally, animal recognition reflects a similar characteristic to Scharschmidt’s hepatic encephalopathy-oriented question on a patient’s present family members, information that should be accessible to a person regardless of education level.
Regarding Claim 13, Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teaches the method according to claim 12, and Raber teaches that user input in relation to performed tests may involve a keyboard or touchpad ([0068]), allowing the animal recognition test answers to be provided by typing the right animal image or the right text description on a tactile (e.g. touchpad) screen (See Claim 12 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 18, Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the method according to claim 12, and Raber teaches a step for taking a test is made through at least one patient device; a step for interpreting is made through at least one server ([0077]) and teaches that processing may be performed in a distributed computing environment (See Claim 1 Rejection) and Lee teaches a step for taking a test is made through at least one patient device;
A step for providing is made through at least one practitioner device; and
a step for interpreting is made through at least one server ([0034]-[0036] steps may be distributed across a network, with corresponding devices for the user and for the clinician, components of the assessment can be provided at a server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize devices distributed across a network as taught by Lee for the delivery and processing of the cognitive testing of Raber and Macallister as this provides greater convenience to all parties by enabling the user to take a test at home, a clinician to review the results at the clinic at a convenient time, and a remote server to house necessary computation components outside of the user’s home and clinician’s clinic.
Regarding Claim 19, while Raber teaches a computer program product comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by one or more computerised unit, causes the said computerised unit to carry out steps of a computer-implemented method for assessing hepatic encephalopathy of at least one patient (Abstract, [0052], [0064], [0080] where the broad category of evaluating cognitive decline due to a pathological process including a neurological diseases and vascular disorder would be understood to encompass hepatic encephalopathy as evidenced by Dagum [0012]: “Many other diseases are known to affect brain health and cognitive function. These include neurovascular disorders including multi-infract dementia, hepatic failure with encephalopathy, renal failure, congestive heart failure, and various infectious disease and viral illness to name a few. Individuals with any of these disorders are at risk for cognitive impairment.” Broadly tracking cognitive function would yield data relevant to hepatic encephalopathy), the method comprising:
a step for taking at least one test to assess hepatic encephalopathy, and to determine test results ([0051]-[0053], [0059]-[0061] software used for cognitive ability/cognitive impairment assessment by administering cognitive ability testing through virtual reality, [0062], [0070] determined test results, Fig. 4, [0091]-[0096] where one test is Novel Image, Novel Location where a user must recognize images and whether they are novel or in a new position and may include an animal as shown by Fig. 4’s image including a bird, [0098]-[0100] where a second test is Memory Island where a user must search for targets, which includes recognition in a virtual space of the target and the target includes animals such a seal and a seagull);
a step for interpreting the test results to determine metrics ([0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067] software tool evaluates results of testing and acts as interpretation module, [0062], [0065], [0070] test results of measured performance used to classify cognitive ability) by determining
a time taken to complete the test compared to a baseline mean ([0098] a time to reach the target is tracked per test trial, [0100] where the performance was based on mean values, [0202] and changes in these metrics can be identified in relation to a patient baseline)
a metric that reflects a failure count calculated based on failed and completed tests ([0100] a metric of percentage of successful tests in the Memory Island test were captured, the metric representing a failure count in tests as the percentage is calculated by identifying a success count of trials in relation to the total count of trials attempted. This percentage of successful trials inherently also represents a percentage of failed trials if you were to subtract the metric from 100%);
a step for providing a diagnosis aid based on the parameters of hepatic encephalopathy ([0077] testing can be evaluated remotely from user, [0056], [0058] communication of testing data may be provided another computing entity in a distributed computing environment, another computing entity can be a practitioner device with the distributed analysis aiding the diagnosis at the practitioner device);
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images ([0062], [0065], [0070]);
Raber fails to teach interpreting the results by determining a failure count calculated based on failed and completed tests.
However Raber further teaches that performance signifier scores can be percentages of successful trials or numbers of successful trials ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a score using percentage of successful trials as taught by Raber can equivalently be shown by a number of successful trials, indicating the number of successful trials is contextualized by the total number of trials. And as noted above, a metric such as number of successful trials in view of total trials, equivalently shows the number of failed trials as the difference between these two values. Thus, a score applied as a success number count based on succeeded and completed tests is also a failure number count based on failed and completed tests.
Yet Raber fails to teach interpreting the tests results to determine a CLART digital biomarker (dBM) from the identified metrics.
However Dagum teaches a cognitive assessment (Abstract) where identified metrics may yield a digital biomarker by function mapping the results of the assessment (Abstract, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the metrics of Raber into a single biomarker as taught by Dagum as a singular value with which to make a judgement of a patient in a standardized way that can be applied across applications of the invention.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions, the text descriptions being names of animals to be selected; and
wherein the animal recognition test is made without colour shades parameters to ensure intervention-free completion for colour-blind patients.
However Macallister teaches an evaluation of cognitive decline (Abstract) may include an animal recognition test that tests working memory, wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions, the text descriptions being names of animals to be selected ([0106], Table 2, list sorting test provides pictures, written names, and audio names of food and animals, has subject recite the animals in order from smallest to largest as a single task, and then has subject recite the foods, then animals in order from smallest to largest as a single task. This test requires recognition of animals to identify relative sizes between different animals, where the written names of the animals are corresponding text descriptions of animals selected in the sorting) and Scharschmidt teaches an evaluation of hepatic encephalopathy (Abstract) that specifically involves testing a subject with information that is likely to be recognized (
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a cognitive task based on impaired memory as taught by Macallister would be useful for Raber as an additional potential test of memory to judge cognitive decline. Further, Applicant defines a test made without colour shades parameters as “a test in which a clear distinction and understanding of different colours and/or different colour shades is not a parameter which intervene in the understanding and/or the completion of the test.” As the test described by Macallister is accompanied by written names and audio names of the animals, a colour of the visualized animal will not intervene in the understanding and/or completion of the test and the limitation is met. Finally, a memory test using familiar images may be considered as a more specific test for hepatic encephalopathy (Scharschmidt: [0040], [0129] test a subject by asking them what family members are present, these questions relying on the recognition of people that should be simple for a neurologically healthy person).
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach
interpreting the results by determining a percentage difference in time taken to complete the test compared to a baseline mean; and
wherein the animal recognition test is based on animal images and corresponding text descriptions from a junior school repertoire.
However Lee teaches a cognitive impairment analysis comprising an animal-based cognitive task (Abstract, [0011]) and further teaches that animal-based cognitive tasks can be applied in a manner that is minimally influenced by level of education ([0016], [0073] animal recognition may be considered a universally shared semantic representation) and teaches that proportional changes in performance of a cognitive task can be used to track performance ([0076]-[0078] changes in recall and intrusion-based recall performance can be tracked as a proportion to identify changes in impairment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the testing of Raber and Macallister be applied in a form independent of level of education as taught by Lee as this makes the tests easier to administer. And one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that animal-related cognitive testing that is independent of education reflects animals recognized at a very early age, indicating animals recognized from a junior school repertoire. Further, Lee states testing judgement is also reflective of working memory ([0005]), confirming an applicability of the details of a judgement-based animal recognition tests of Lee to the judgement-based animal recognition tests of Macallister. Further still, it would be obvious that the changes in latency of Raber can be monitored by a proportion, i.e. a percentage, as a clear metric for reflecting changes in the user’s performance. Finally, animal recognition reflects a similar characteristic to Scharschmidt’s hepatic encephalopathy-oriented question on a patient’s present family members, information that should be accessible to a person regardless of education level.
Claim(s) 4-5, 7, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raber as evidenced by Dagum in view of Macallister and further in view of Lee and further in view of Scharschmidt and further in view of Smith et al (US 2009/0313047) (“Smith”) as noted in Applicant IDS dated 6/06/2024.
Regarding Claim 4, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, and Raber teaches the test results comprise at least:
- a time to perform the test compared to a time baseline or median or mean;
- a number of failed or successfully completed tests (See Claim 1 Rejection, test performance can be judged by metrics of latency and percentage of successful trials, where the failure count and the number of failed tests are considered to be the same metrics), their combined efforts fail to teach the test results comprise at least a number of test attempts.
However Smith teaches a brain condition assessment system (Abstract) that comprises recall tests with a varying number of trials for training and testing a patient ([0039]) and further teaches that recall of answers will be specific to the number of trials and should be analyzed accordingly ([0039]-[0045] scoring element specific t number of trials, posterior probabilities of responses are specific to number of trials).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to judge the one or more timed tests of Singer by number of attempts as taught by Smith as this influences the probabilities of certain scores in the brain condition assessment (e.g. accounting for expected improvement across multiple trials of the test).
Regarding Claim 5, Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, Scharschmidt, and Smith teach the system according to claim 4, wherein the test results comprise the time to perform, the number of failed or successfully completed tests, and the number of attempts (See Claim 4 Rejection), and Raber teaches combining scores of tests ([0108]), and Dagum teaches wherein the test results comprise a score scaling a combination of parameters ([0069] various features of a test result may be combined into a single metric, i.e. digital biomarker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the measured parameters of Raber and Smith as a scaled combination score taught by Dagum to provide a standardized method to judge the disparate parameters, ensuring consistency across applications of the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, and Scharschmidt teaches judging a patient for hepatic encephalopathy against a grading system’s parameters, wherein the grading parameters correspond to
- "Low"
- "Medium"
- "High" meaning "detection of a HE event at the time of patient taking the test". ([0014], [0022], [0024]-[0026] where a low risk would be reflected by the patient exhibiting no changes in mental state or neuropsychological abnormalities, a medium risk would be reflected by the patient exhibiting no changes in mental state, but exhibiting neuropsychological abnormalities, indicating covert hepatic encephalopathy, i.e. covert/grade 1, and a high risk would be reflected by the patient exhibiting overt hepatic encephalopathy signs, i.e. a grade 2 or higher), their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the parameters of hepatic encephalopathy comprise a Low or Medium risk with:
- "Low" meaning "low probability of developing a HE event";
- "Medium" meaning a "high probability of developing a HE event";
However Smith teaches a brain condition assessment system (Abstract) that comprises recall tests with a varying number of trials for training and testing a patient ([0039]) and further teaches that an identification of a brain condition from response parameters can be optimized for a high probability of the brain condition being present ([0048]-[0051] evaluation of a condition can be optimized for a high specificity, ensuring there is a high risk / high probability the identification of hepatic encephalopathy of the patient is accurate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the analysis and diagnosing of hepatic encephalopathy of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt for a high specificity and thus a high risk the patient is experiencing hepatic encephalopathy as taught by Smith as a way to achieve a desired accuracy.
Regarding Claim 14, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the method according to claim 12, and Raber teaches the test results comprise at least:
- a time to perform the test compared to a time baseline or median or mean;
- a number of failed or successfully completed tests (See Claim 12 Rejection, test performance can be judged by metrics of latency and percentage of successful trials, where the failure count and the number of failed tests are considered to be the same metrics), their combined efforts fail to teach the test results comprise at least a number of test attempts.
However Smith teaches a brain condition assessment system (Abstract) that comprises recall tests with a varying number of trials for training and testing a patient ([0039]) and further teaches that recall of answers will be specific to the number of trials and should be analyzed accordingly ([0039]-[0045] scoring element specific t number of trials, posterior probabilities of responses are specific to number of trials).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to judge the one or more timed tests of Singer by number of attempts as taught by Smith as this influences the probabilities of certain scores in the brain condition assessment (e.g. accounting for expected improvement across multiple trials of the test).
Regarding Claim 15, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the method according to claim 14, and Scharschmidt teaches judging a patient for hepatic encephalopathy against a grading system’s parameters, wherein the grading parameters correspond to
- "Low"
- "Medium"
- "High" meaning "detection of a HE event at the time of patient taking the test". ([0014], [0022], [0024]-[0026] where a low risk would be reflected by the patient exhibiting no changes in mental state or neuropsychological abnormalities, a medium risk would be reflected by the patient exhibiting no changes in mental state, but exhibiting neuropsychological abnormalities, indicating covert hepatic encephalopathy, i.e. covert/grade 1, and a high risk would be reflected by the patient exhibiting overt hepatic encephalopathy signs, i.e. a grade 2 or higher), their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the parameters of hepatic encephalopathy comprise a Low or Medium risk with:
- "Low" meaning "low probability of developing a HE event";
- "Medium" meaning a "high probability of developing a HE event";
However Smith teaches a brain condition assessment system (Abstract) that comprises recall tests with a varying number of trials for training and testing a patient ([0039]) and further teaches that an identification of a brain condition from response parameters can be optimized for a high probability of the brain condition being present ([0048]-[0051] evaluation of a condition can be optimized for a high specificity, ensuring there is a high risk / high probability the identification of hepatic encephalopathy of the patient is accurate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the analysis and diagnosing of hepatic encephalopathy of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt for a high specificity and thus a high risk the patient is experiencing hepatic encephalopathy as taught by Smith as a way to achieve a desired accuracy.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raber as evidenced by Dagum in view of Macallister and further in view of Lee and further in view of Scharschmidt and further in view of Ramachandran et al (US 2015/0359477) (“Ramachandran”) as noted in Applicant IDS dated 6/06/2024.
Regarding Claim 8, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, their combined efforts fail to teach the system further comprising a prescription module to prescribe at least one new animal recognition test to be performed through the patient module of a patient.
However Ramachandran teaches a system for assessing cognitive impairment (Abstract) where the system comprises an assessment request function ([0055], [0057] communication processor requests an assessment task from a user device, [0016] where the assessments are done to identify cognitive impairment in relation to previous baseline tasks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a request/prescription of an assessment for the purpose of identifying cognitive impairment as taught by Ramachandran applied to the hepatic encephalopathy testing of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt enables a practitioner to quickly and conveniently test the subject, regardless of whether the subject is in a clinical setting, if hepatic encephalopathy becomes a concern.
Regarding Claim 9, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the system according to claim 1, their combined efforts fail to teach the system further comprising a reminder module configured to signal or remind the patient that a new animal recognition test is to be performed.
However Ramachandran teaches a system for assessing cognitive impairment (Abstract) where the system comprises a test reminder process that requests a subject take an assessment to maintain a current baseline of the subject ([0066], [0076], [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a reminder module configured to signal or remind the patient that a new animal recognition test is to be performed as taught by Ramachandran for the hepatic encephalopathy testing of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt as this provides a rolling baseline of the subject as a comparison point with which to judge a decline in memory.
Regarding Claim 16, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the method according to claim 12, their combined efforts fail to teach the method further comprising a step for prescribing at least one new animal recognition test to be performed by a patient.
However Ramachandran teaches a system for assessing cognitive impairment (Abstract) where the system comprises an assessment request function ([0055], [0057] communication processor requests an assessment task from a user device, [0016] where the assessments are done to identify cognitive impairment in relation to previous baseline tasks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that a request/prescription of an assessment for the purpose of identifying cognitive impairment as taught by Ramachandran applied to the hepatic encephalopathy testing of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt enables a practitioner to quickly and conveniently test the subject, regardless of whether the subject is in a clinical setting, if hepatic encephalopathy becomes a concern.
Regarding Claim 17, while Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt teach the method according to claim 12, their combined efforts fail to teach the system further comprising a step for reminding the patient that a new animal recognition test is to be performed.
However Ramachandran teaches a system for assessing cognitive impairment (Abstract) where the system comprises a test reminder process that requests a subject take an assessment to maintain a current baseline of the subject ([0066], [0076], [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a reminder module configured to signal or remind the patient that a new animal recognition test is to be performed as taught by Ramachandran for the hepatic encephalopathy testing of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt as this provides a rolling baseline of the subject as a comparison point with which to judge a decline in memory.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 6/04/2026 with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection(s) is/are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 6/04/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections reliance on Macallister, Lee, and their combination with other references have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 13-14 of the Remarks that the test of Macallister is optimized for permanent cognitive deficits, not a diagnostic aid for episodic, toxin-driven neurotoxicity as reflected by a CLART digital biomarker which is determined by a time-based variance and failure/attempt ratio. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The functionality of the given metrics is not inherent and is the result of the specific test details of the invention. However the claimed animal recognition test is very broad any tests with animals and recognition judged by time to complete and given a failure condition, can meet the language. Examiner suggests amending the claims to more closely match the details of the test’s speed and simplicity (i.e. a single animal is shown at a time as a black outline, patient then chooses an answer before the next animal is shown).
Applicant argues on page 14 of the Remarks that the testing of Macallister will not be appropriately sensitive to the characteristics of a patient with hepatic encephalopathy (HE). Examiner notes that the claim language of the animal recognition test is broad and thus resulting sensitivity for specific cognitive dysfunction is immaterial as Macallister’s testing for cognitive function will have relevant results to a person experiencing cognitive dysfunction from hepatic encephalopathy.
Applicant argues on pages 14-15 of the Remarks that the testing of Macallister will likely struggle with the multi-step approach of Macallister’s test, making it unreliable for HE-related cognitive fluctuation. This is in contrast to Applicant;s CLART approach. Examiner respectfully disagrees. To begin, the amount of items to sort has not been given and can be broadly understood as potentially a simple of two animals and two food items. This would be a much a simpler task for a patient. Secondly, the struggling of a patient with the task would yield the desired diagnostic data. Finally, the CLART approach has been broadly defined and could theoretically be more complex than Macallister’s task.
Applicant argues on pages 17-18 of the Remarks against the application of Lee for similar reasons as Macallister, based on the specifics of the test of Lee and the specifics of the CLART approach. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons given above.
Applicant argues on pages 21-22 of the Remarks reiterate argument against the combination of Macallister and Lee, based on the specifics of their tests and the specifics of the CLART approach. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons given above and in view of the new rejection noted below.
Applicant’s remaining amendments and arguments filed 6/04/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of Claims 1, 12, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection(s) is/are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Raber, Dagum, Macallister, Lee, and Scharschmidt.
Consequently, claims 3-10 and 13-18 remain rejected due to their dependency on rejected independent claims 1 and 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAIRO H. PORTILLO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791