DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by CHEN, Yu-gui et al. CN 113741273 A.
Regarding claim 1. Chen teaches A multi-gateway networking system, comprising: a first class gateway; and at least one second class gateway connected to the first class gateway, (page 3/18, S1 … the gateway comprises a main gateway and multiple slave gateways;)
wherein the first class gateway is configured to: schedule the second class gateway (10/18 In a feasible embodiment, because each gateway has the capability of executing scene, in order to avoid the scene is repeatedly executed, it is necessary to select one as the main gateway between the plurality of gateways, the main gateway is responsible for execution of the scene.) and
receive, through the second class gateway, first information sent by a first sub-device; (Page 3/18 S2: the mobile terminal sends the second instruction of configuration scene automation to the intelligent home platform; the intelligent home platform stores the second instruction and issues the second instruction through the message middleware; the gateway subscribes the second instruction issued by the message middleware and stores; the scene automation comprises a timing task and an event task;) and
generate a control instruction (page 3/18, if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by the main gateway, executing the timing task by the main gateway;
if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by different gateways, sending the timing task to the gateway executing the timing task by the main gateway through the local area network; the gateway executing the timing task executes the timing task;) in response to determining that the first information satisfies a linkage rule, (page 8/18 In the above scheme, the zigbee device … satisfying the requirement of completely covering the zigbee signal … when the cross-gateway linkage is needed, each gateway is communicated through the local area network; ) and
send the control instruction to a second sub-device through the second class gateway, (page 3/18 if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by different gateways, sending the timing task to the gateway executing the timing task by the main gateway through the local area network; the gateway executing the timing task executes the timing task;)
wherein the second sub-device and the first sub-device are connected to different second class gateways respectively. (page 3/18 S2: the mobile terminal sends the second instruction of configuration scene automation. Examiner notes that the mobile terminal being the first sub-device.
…
Bottom of 3/18 if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by different gateways, sending the timing task to the gateway executing the timing task by the main gateway through the local area network
Examiner notes that the device controlled by different gateway being the second sub-device)
Regarding claim 8. Chen teaches A multi-gateway networking method performed by a first class gateway, (page 3/18, S1 … the gateway comprises a main gateway and multiple slave gateways;) comprising:
receiving, via a second class gateway, first information sent by a first sub-device; (Page 3/18 S2: the mobile terminal sends the second instruction of configuration scene automation to the intelligent home platform; the intelligent home platform stores the second instruction and issues the second instruction through the message middleware; the gateway subscribes the second instruction issued by the message middleware and stores; the scene automation comprises a timing task and an event task;)
generating control signaling in response to determining that the first information satisfies a linkage rule; (page 3/18, if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by the main gateway, executing the timing task by the main gateway;
if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by different gateways, sending the timing task to the gateway executing the timing task by the main gateway through the local area network; the gateway executing the timing task executes the timing task;) in response to determining that the first information satisfies a linkage rule, (page 8/18 In the above scheme, the zigbee device … satisfying the requirement of completely covering the zigbee signal … when the cross-gateway linkage is needed, each gateway is communicated through the local area network; )
and sending the control signaling to a second sub-device through the second class gateway, (page 3/18 if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by different gateways, sending the timing task to the gateway executing the timing task by the main gateway through the local area network; the gateway executing the timing task executes the timing task;)
wherein the second sub-device and the first sub-device are connected to different second class gateways respectively. (page 3/18 S2: the mobile terminal sends the second instruction of configuration scene automation. Examiner notes that the mobile terminal being the first sub-device.
…
Bottom of 3/18 if the device executing the timing task is the device controlled by different gateways, sending the timing task to the gateway executing the timing task by the main gateway through the local area network
Examiner notes that the device controlled by different gateway being the second sub-device)
Regarding claim 13. Chen teaches A multi-gateway networking method performed by a third class gateway, comprising: establishing a connection with a first class gateway in response to having scanned the first class gateway; (10/18 In a feasible embodiment, because each gateway has the capability of executing scene, in order to avoid the scene is repeatedly executed, it is necessary to select one as the main gateway between the plurality of gateways, the main gateway is responsible for execution of the scene.) and
obtaining control data of the first class gateway from the first class gateway, wherein the control data comprises at least a linkage rule, the linkage rule is configured for the first class gateway to generate a control instruction in response to determining that first information satisfies the linkage rule, (page 8/18 In the above scheme, the zigbee device … satisfying the requirement of completely covering the zigbee signal … when the cross-gateway linkage is needed, each gateway is communicated through the local area network; )
the control instruction is configured to be sent by the first class gateway to a second sub-device, the first information is obtained by the first class gateway from a first sub-device, and the second sub-device and the first sub-device are connected to different second class gateways respectively. (Page 3/18 S2: the mobile terminal sends the second instruction of configuration scene automation to the intelligent home platform; the intelligent home platform stores the second instruction and issues the second instruction through the message middleware; the gateway subscribes the second instruction issued by the message middleware and stores; the scene automation comprises a timing task and an event task;)
Regarding claim 26. Chen teaches A gateway device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing executable instructions by the processor, wherein the processor is configured (page 16 It will be understood by those skilled in the art that all or part of the steps of the above embodiments can be implemented by hardware, and may be implemented by a program instructing related hardware, and the program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, and the mentioned storage medium may be a read-only memory; magnetic disk or optical disk and so on.) to perform the multi-gateway networking method according to claim 8. They are rejected as Chen applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 27. Chen teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having an executable program stored thereon that, when being executed by a processor, causes the processor (page 16, It will be understood by those skilled in the art that all or part of the steps of the above embodiments can be implemented by hardware, and may be implemented by a program instructing related hardware, and the program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, and the mentioned storage medium may be a read-only memory; magnetic disk or optical disk and so on.) to perform the multi-gateway networking method according to claim 8. They are rejected as Chen applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim Chen teaches 28. A gateway device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing executable instructions by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to (page 16 It will be understood by those skilled in the art that all or part of the steps of the above embodiments can be implemented by hardware, and may be implemented by a program instructing related hardware, and the program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, and the mentioned storage medium may be a read-only memory; magnetic disk or optical disk and so on.) perform the multi-gateway networking method according to claim 13. They are rejected as Chen applied to claim 13.
Regarding claim 29. Chen teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having an executable program stored thereon that, when being executed by a processor, causes the processor (page 16 It will be understood by those skilled in the art that all or part of the steps of the above embodiments can be implemented by hardware, and may be implemented by a program instructing related hardware, and the program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, and the mentioned storage medium may be a read-only memory; magnetic disk or optical disk and so on.) to perform the multi-gateway networking method according to claim 13. They are rejected as Chen applied to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Du; Kai Hong et al. US PGPUB 20170126436 A1.
Regarding claim 2. Chen teaches The networking system according to claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the networking system further comprises at least one third class gateway, the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway, and the third class gateway is connected to the first class gateway and configured to switch to be the first class gateway in response to determining that failure of the first class gateway occurs.
However, Du teaches
wherein the networking system further comprises at least one third class gateway, the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway, (Fig. 5, backup gateway 530) and the third class gateway is connected to the first class gateway and configured to switch to be the first class gateway in response to determining that failure of the first class gateway occurs. ([0085] When the master gateway 520 does not function properly, the backup gateway 530 takes over and becomes a new master of the GS 510, and a new backup is elected.)
in order to provide system redundancy ([0166])
Chen and DU are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system in Chen with the technique of backup gateway in Du in order to improve system redundancy.
Regarding claim 3. Chen and Du teach The networking system according to claim 2, Chen does not teach wherein the first class gateway is configured to synchronize control data from the first class gateway to the third class gateway, the control data comprising the linkage rule, and the third class gateway is configured to switch to be the first class gateway based on the control data.
However, Du teaches wherein the first class gateway is configured to synchronize control data from the first class gateway to the third class gateway, the control data comprising the linkage rule, and the third class gateway is configured to switch to be the first class gateway based on the control data. ([0129] The master synchronizes registration and/or configuration information of the GS 510 as necessary throughout the GS operations. Then the master proceeds with block 830.
Claim 14 said synchronizing, performed by the backup and said at least one slave, comprising: responsive to said synchronizing by the master, updating the respective configuration files of respective node of the backup and said at least one slave;)
in order to provide system redundancy ([0166])
Chen and DU are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system in Chen with the technique of backup gateway in Du in order to improve system redundancy.
Regarding claim 11. Chen teaches The method according to claim 8, but it does not teach comprising: sending updated control data to a third class gateway in response to determining that the first class gateway has updated control data, wherein the control data comprises the linkage rule, and the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway.
However, DU teaches
comprising: sending updated control data to a third class gateway in response to determining that the first class gateway has updated control data, wherein the control data comprises the linkage rule, ([0085] When the master gateway 520 does not function properly, the backup gateway 530 takes over and becomes a new master of the GS 510, and a new backup is elected.)
and the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway. (Fig. 5, backup gateway 530)
in order to provide system redundancy ([0166])
Chen and DU are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system in Chen with the technique of backup gateway in Du in order to improve system redundancy.
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Du as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kompella; Vachaspati P. et al. US PGPUB 20120236823 A1.
Regarding claim 4. Chen and Du teach The networking system according to claim 2, but they don’t teach wherein the third class gateway is configured to, in response to having scanned the first class gateway, determine whether the third class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the third class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on a network performance parameter broadcasted by the third class gateway and a network perform parameter broadcasted by the first class gateway within a predetermined window, and the third class gateway is configured to, in response to determining that the third class gateway satisfies the predetermined condition, determine to become the first class gateway and establish a connection with at least one third class gateway and/or the at least one second class gateway.
However, Kompella teaches
wherein the third class gateway is configured to, in response to having scanned the first class gateway, determine whether the third class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the third class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on a network performance parameter broadcasted by the third class gateway and a network perform parameter broadcasted by the first class gateway within a predetermined window, ([0110] At step 530, the protect node and working node are synchronized such that both nodes store session state information associated with mobile devices supported by the protect node. That is, while the protect node continues to act as the active node supporting the various UE sessions,) and
the third class gateway is configured to, in response to determining that the third class gateway satisfies the predetermined condition, ([0113] Referring to box 545, the revertive action may be manually triggered, automatically triggered based on system stability, automatically triggered based on some other criteria, such as congestion conditions proximate one or both of the working and protect nodes, error rates, policy preferences and the like.)
determine to become the first class gateway and establish a connection with at least one third class gateway and/or the at least one second class gateway. ([0113] Once the protect node and working node are synchronized with respect to session state information and, optionally, other information, a revertive action may be triggered.)
in order to improve or accelerate the session restoration process. ([0126])
Chen and Kompella are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system in Chen with the technique of backup gateway configuration in Kompella in order to improve or accelerate the session restoration process.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kompella; Vachaspati P. et al. US PGPUB 20120236823 A1.
Regarding claim 9. Chen The method according to claim 8, but it does not teach comprising:
within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the first class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of a third class gateway broadcasted by the third class gateway;
determining whether the first class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the first class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the first class gateway and the network performance parameter of the third class gateway; and in response to determining that the first class gateway does not satisfy the predetermined condition, disconnecting from at least one second class gateway and/or at least one third class gateway, wherein the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway.
within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the first class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of a third class gateway broadcasted by the third class gateway;
determining whether the first class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the first class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the first class gateway and the network performance parameter of the third class gateway; and in response to determining that the first class gateway does not satisfy the predetermined condition, disconnecting from at least one second class gateway and/or at least one third class gateway, wherein the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway.
However, Kompella teaches
within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the first class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of a third class gateway broadcasted by the third class gateway;
determining whether the first class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the first class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the first class gateway and the network performance parameter of the third class gateway; and in response to determining that the first class gateway does not satisfy the predetermined condition, disconnecting from at least one second class gateway and/or at least one third class gateway, wherein the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway. ([0110] At step 530, the protect node and working node are synchronized such that both nodes store session state information associated with mobile devices supported by the protect node. That is, while the protect node continues to act as the active node supporting the various UE sessions,)
within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the first class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of a third class gateway broadcasted by the third class gateway; ([0113] Referring to box 545, the revertive action may be manually triggered, automatically triggered based on system stability, automatically triggered based on some other criteria, such as congestion conditions proximate one or both of the working and protect nodes, error rates, policy preferences and the like.)
determining whether the first class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the first class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the first class gateway and the network performance parameter of the third class gateway; and in response to determining that the first class gateway does not satisfy the predetermined condition, disconnecting from at least one second class gateway and/or at least one third class gateway, wherein the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway. ([0113] Once the protect node and working node are synchronized with respect to session state information and, optionally, other information, a revertive action may be triggered.)
in order to improve or accelerate the session restoration process. ([0126])
Chen and Kompella are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system in Chen with the technique of backup gateway configuration in Kompella in order to improve or accelerate the session restoration process.
Regarding claim 14. Chen teaches The method according to claim 13, but it does not teach comprising: within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the third class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of the first class gateway broadcasted by the first class gateway; determining whether the third class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the third class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the third class gateway and the network performance parameter of the first class gateway; and in response to determining that the third class gateway satisfies the predetermined condition, determining to become the first class gateway and establishing a connection with at least one third class gateway and/or at least one second class gateway.
However, Kompella teaches
within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the first class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of a third class gateway broadcasted by the third class gateway;
determining whether the first class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the first class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the first class gateway and the network performance parameter of the third class gateway; and in response to determining that the first class gateway does not satisfy the predetermined condition, disconnecting from at least one second class gateway and/or at least one third class gateway, wherein the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway. ([0110] At step 530, the protect node and working node are synchronized such that both nodes store session state information associated with mobile devices supported by the protect node. That is, while the protect node continues to act as the active node supporting the various UE sessions,)
within a predetermined window, broadcasting a network performance parameter of the first class gateway and receiving a network performance parameter of a third class gateway broadcasted by the third class gateway; ([0113] Referring to box 545, the revertive action may be manually triggered, automatically triggered based on system stability, automatically triggered based on some other criteria, such as congestion conditions proximate one or both of the working and protect nodes, error rates, policy preferences and the like.)
determining whether the first class gateway satisfies a predetermined condition under which the first class gateway is most qualified to serve as the first class gateway based on the network performance parameter of the first class gateway and the network performance parameter of the third class gateway; and in response to determining that the first class gateway does not satisfy the predetermined condition, disconnecting from at least one second class gateway and/or at least one third class gateway, wherein the third class gateway is a backup gateway for the first class gateway. ([0113] Once the protect node and working node are synchronized with respect to session state information and, optionally, other information, a revertive action may be triggered.)
in order to improve or accelerate the session restoration process. ([0126])
Chen and Kompella are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system in Chen with the technique of backup gateway configuration in Kompella in order to improve or accelerate the session restoration process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468