CTNF 18/717,240 CTNF 82681 DETAILED ACTION 1. Claims 1-20 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The IDS filed 6/7/2024 and 6/3/2026 are considered. Specification 07-29 AIA 4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed . Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “receiving module, configured to…” and “display module, configured to…” in claims 13 and 17-20. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 6. Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretations of the recited computer-readable storage medium in claim 15 and the recited computer program product in claim 16 include transitory mediums. Transitory mediums are not patent eligible. Computer-readable storage medium is defined in the specification (see at least Paragraph 0088) to include at least one transitory medium, e.g. infrared. The computer program product can be interpreted to be the computer-readable signal mediums defined in in the specification (see at least Paragraph 0088). The claim can be amended to recite “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” in order to overcome this rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 7. Claims 13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-23 In regard to claims 13 and 17-20, claim limitations “receiving module, configured to…” and “display module, configured to…” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA 8. Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo (CN 113392342 A) . Note: The below text citation with respect to CN 113392342 A are directed towards the machine translation of CN 113392342 A provided with this office action (see PTO-892 NPL). In regard to claim 1, Luo discloses a content display method, comprising: receiving a display operation for a target multimedia content, wherein the target multimedia content is a content associated with a preset keyword (Pg. 5 “…obtaining the target keyword to be searched in the search input control displayed by the search input interface of the target client…”) ; and in response to the display operation, displaying the target multimedia content in a target content display region of a display page (Pg. 5 “…in response to the confirmation operation of searching the target keyword, displaying the search result interface matched with the target keyword…”) , and presenting an associated effect for the preset keyword in a first effect display region associated with the target content display region (Pg. 5 “…at the same time, superimposing and displaying each corresponding display animation of each candidate keyword associated with the target keyword on the search result interface, wherein the display animation is used for indicating the process animation of the candidate keyword to move according to the target track in the search result interface”) , wherein at least two content display regions are provided in a main display region of the display page, the at least two content display regions comprise the target content display region, and a content display region comprised in the at least two content display regions other than the target content display region is located outside the first effect display region (Fig. 3 and Pg. 5 “…wherein the search interface can be but not limited to interface displayed in the search client, such as search input interface and search result interface and so on. For example, community-shared space client as an example, searching input control (such as search box) displayed by the search input interface of the community sharing client obtains the target keyword to be searched for the user input, such as “ranking”. displaying the display animation corresponding to the other candidate keyword associated with the “ranking” while displaying the search result interface matched with the target keyword. if the candidate keyword comprises: “cloud top ranking”; “ranking”; “black technology”; the display animation of each of the candidate keyword can be the process animation obtained by moving the moving track according to the dashed line shown in FIG. 3; the display effect can be shown in FIG. 3…”: the interface includes two display regions, one display region displays search input interface and the other display region displays the search result interface with the superimposed display animations) . In regard to claim 2, Luo discloses wherein presenting the associated effect for the preset keyword in the first effect display region associated with the target content display region comprises: presenting a first associated effect for the preset keyword in the first effect display region associated with the target content display region (Fig. 3 and Pg. 5 “…at the same time, superimposing and displaying each corresponding display animation of each candidate keyword associated with the target keyword on the search result interface, wherein the display animation is used for indicating the process animation of the candidate keyword to move according to the target track in the search result interface”) . In regard to claim 9, Luo discloses wherein the target content display region is located below the first effect display region (Fig. 3 and Pg. 5 “…at the same time, superimposing and displaying each corresponding display animation of each candidate keyword associated with the target keyword on the search result interface, wherein the display animation is used for indicating the process animation of the candidate keyword to move according to the target track in the search result interface…”) . In regard to claim 11, Luo discloses wherein the target multimedia content is a content complying with a preset condition among contents associated with the preset keyword (Pg. 5 “…displaying the search result interface matched with the target keyword…”) . In regard to claim 12, Luo discloses wherein the display operation is configured to comprise at least one of a search operation or a viewing operation, a search result of the search operation comprises the target multimedia content, and the viewing operation is an operation for viewing the target multimedia content (Pg. 5 “…obtaining the target keyword to be searched in the search input control displayed by the search input interface of the target client…in response to the confirmation operation of searching the target keyword, displaying the search result interface matched with the target keyword…”) . In regard to claim 13, apparatus claim 13 corresponds generally to method claim 1 and recites similar features in apparatus form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale. In regard to claim 14, Luo discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured to store a program, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to implement the content display method (Pg. 14 “…the electronic device comprises a memory 1702 and a processor 1704, the memory 1702 is stored with a computer program, the processor 1704 is set to execute the steps in any one of the above method embodiments by a computer program…”) according to claim 1 (The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein in its entirety) . In regard to claim 15, medium claim 15 corresponds generally to method claim 1 and recites similar features in medium form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale. In regard to claim 16, Luo discloses a computer program product, wherein the computer program product, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to implement the content display method (Pg. 15 “…According to one aspect of the present application, there is provided a computer program product or a computer program, the computer program product or computer program comprises a computer instruction, the computer instruction is stored in the computer readable storage medium. The processor of the computer device reads the computer instructions from the computer readable storage medium, the processor executes the computer instructions, so that the computer device executes the search interface display method. wherein the computer program is set to run, executing the steps of any one of the above method embodiments…”) according to claim 1 (The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein in its entirety) . In regard to claim 17, Luo discloses wherein the display module is further configured to present a first associated effect for the preset keyword in the first effect display region associated with the target content display region (Fig. 3 and Pg. 5 “…at the same time, superimposing and displaying each corresponding display animation of each candidate keyword associated with the target keyword on the search result interface, wherein the display animation is used for indicating the process animation of the candidate keyword to move according to the target track in the search result interface”) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 9. Claim s 3-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In regard to claims 3-8, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein presenting the associated effect for the preset keyword in the first effect display region associated with the target content display region comprises: presenting a second associated effect for the preset keyword in a second effect display region within the first effect display region, wherein the second effect display region is located above the target content display region” in combination with the other elements recited. In regard to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “in response to a sliding operation along a preset direction, controlling the target multimedia content to move in synchronization with the associated effect along the preset direction” in combination with the other elements recited. Claims NOT Rejected Over the Prior Art 10. Prior art rejections have not been provided for claims 18-20, as these claims recite subject matter not disclosed by the prior art of record. However, these claims stand rejected over 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and would not be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, unless the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is overcome. In regard to claims 18-20, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein the display module is further configured to present a second associated effect for the preset keyword in a second effect display region within the first effect display region, wherein the second effect display region is located above the target content display region” in combination with the other elements recited. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 2023/0093621 A1), see at least the abstract. Zheng et al. (US 2022/0351454 A1), see at least the abstract. Hyun et al. (US 10937390 B2), see at least the abstract. Hammersley et al. (US 2019/0189019 A1), see at least Paragraph 0026. Mellor et al. (US 2019/0033970 A1), see at least the abstract. Kim et al. (US 2016/0063748 A1), see at least Figs. 5A-5C and Paragraphs 0126-0128. Xie et al. (US 2015/0033160 A1), see at least Figs. 5A-5C and Paragraph 0095. 12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICHOLAS S ULRICH whose telephone number is (571)270-1397. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fred Ehichioya can be reached at (571)272-4034. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. 13. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 2 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 3 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 4 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 5 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 6 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 7 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 8 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 9 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/717,240 Page 10 Art Unit: 2179