DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 29 recites that “the firs shell member further comprises a closure member extending longitudinally from the first cover for closing the tubular enclosure” however, there is no disclosure of such “closure member” in the originally filed specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “closure member extending longitudinally from the first cover” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the end of the pipe" in line 1 and “the threaded end of the pipe” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 29 is indefinite in that it is unclear what is meant by the “closure member” in line 2 since the specification does not disclose a “closure member” as recited in the claim. For examination purposes, the “closure member) will be interpreted as any longitudinally extending part of the cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 11-13, 16-19, 25, 26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtois et al. (US Patent 8,375,995) in view of Drouin et al. (US Patent 8,985,156).
With regards to claim 1, Courtois et al. discloses a protector assembly D for protecting a thread formed at an end of a pipe (abstract), the protector assembly comprising at least a first shell member CP1 and a second shell member CP2, wherein the first shell member comprises a first longitudinally extending wall (fig. 2A), the second shell member comprises a second longitudinally extending wall (fig. 2A), and the shell members are configured to cooperate in an assembled configuration to form a tubular enclosure having an open end, the tubular enclosure arranged for enclosing a threaded end of the pipe (fig. 2B). Courtois et al. discloses that the protector assembly includes an inward radial projection flange intended to cover the transverse annular surface at the end of the free terminal portion P1 to ensure a continuous local seal over the entire circumference at that position (col. 12, lines 22-33). Although Courtois et al does not clearly illustrate such a sealing flange such that in an assembled configuration, the shell members form a tubular enclosure having an open end and an opposing closed end, Drouin et al. teaches providing a cover 17 to a protector assembly 1 of a tubular member 2 (abstract) such that the protector assembly forms a tubular enclosure having an open end and an opposing closed second end (col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 4 and figs. 1 and 2).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a first cover to the first shell member of Courtois et al. such that the protector assembly, in the assembled configuration, forms a tubular enclosure having an open end and an opposing closed second end (col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 4 and figs. 1 and 2)., in light of the teachings of Drouin et al., in order to provide fluid-tightness for the protector assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Applicant should note that forming the first cover integrally with the first longitudinal wall is an obvious matter of design choice as it has been held that “the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the [prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965,968, 144 USPQ 374, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant should note that providing a second cover to the second shell member amounts to mere duplication of parts and as it has been held, “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant should note that it is obvious that when providing multiple covers, the covers would be located at different longitudinal positions and there would inherently be compartments formed between two of the covers.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant should note that the spacing between the covers is an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 11-13, see col. 3, lines 54-56 of Drouin et al. As taught by Drouin et al. the threads of the protector assembly are designed to be complementary to the threads of the pipe.
Regarding claim 16, see figures 2A and 2B of Courtois et al. with unnumbered flange and shoulder.
Regarding claims 17-19, see figures 2A and 2B of Courtois et al.
Regarding claim 25, see figure 1 of Drouin et al.
With regards to claim 26, Courtois et al. discloses a protector assembly D for protecting a thread formed at an end of a pipe (abstract), the protector assembly comprising at least a first shell member CP1 and a second shell member CP2, wherein the first shell member comprises a first longitudinally extending wall (fig. 2A), the second shell member comprises a second longitudinally extending wall (fig. 2A), and the shell members are configured to cooperate in an assembled configuration to form a tubular enclosure having an open end, the tubular enclosure arranged for enclosing a threaded end of the pipe (fig. 2B). Courtois et al. discloses that the protector assembly includes an inward radial projection flange intended to cover the transverse annular surface at the end of the free terminal portion P1 to ensure a continuous local seal over the entire circumference at that position (col. 12, lines 22-33). Although Courtois et al does not clearly illustrate such a sealing flange such that in an assembled configuration, the shell members form a tubular enclosure having an open end and an opposing closed end, Drouin et al. teaches providing a cover 17 to a protector assembly 1 of a tubular member 2 (abstract) such that the protector assembly forms a tubular enclosure having an open end and an opposing closed second end (col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 4 and figs. 1 and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have designed the flange of Courtois as a first cover attached to the first shell member such that, in the assembled configuration, the protector assembly forms a tubular enclosure having an open end and an opposing closed second end (col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 4 and figs. 1 and 2)., in light of the teachings of Drouin et al., in order to provide fluid-tightness for the protector assembly. Regarding the recitation of the second shell member comprising a second cover, Applicant should note that providing a second cover to the second shell member amounts to mere duplication of parts and as it has been held, “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Applicant should note that such covers would overlap since they would all be extending radially from the shell members.
Regarding claim 28, Applicant should note that it is obvious that where multiple covers are provided, the covers would be extending proximal to both the first and second shell members.
Regarding claim 29, as best understood, see tabs 18 and 19 of cover 17 of Drouin et al.
Regarding claim 30, see figure 2A and 2B of Courtois et al.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtois et al./Drouin et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rosen (US Patent 8,680,984).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Courtois et al/Drouin et al. discloses a protector assembly as outlined above but does not explicitly disclose that the second longitudinally extending wall comprises a first groove for receiving the first cover however, it is known to provide an internal groove in the inner wall of a protector assembly to seat a cover thereof as attested by Rosen, see cover20 of Rosen that is captured in an internal groove in figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a first groove for receiving the first cover in the second longitudinally extending wall, in light of the teachings of Rosen, in order to ensure a good seal of the cover. Applicant should note that it is obvious that a similar groove would be provided in the first longitudinally extending wall if a cover were anchored on the second shell member.
Regarding claim 6, Applicant should note that forming the second cover integrally with the second longitudinal wall is an obvious matter of design choice as it has been held that “the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the [prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965,968, 144 USPQ 374, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, see figure 1 of Rosen where cover 20 interferes with the groove in which the cover is inserted.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Applicant should note that it is obvious that the grooves will be arc-shaped since the shell members are arc-shaped.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtois et al./Drouin et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US Patent 6968864).
Courtois et al./Drouin et al. discloses a protector assembly as shown above but does not explicitly disclose that the first shell member and the second shell member comprise complementary projections and recesses wherein in the assembled configuration, the projections engage the recesses however, Miyamoto et al. teaches such assembling of two shell members 9, see figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shell members of Courtois et al//Drouin et al. such that they include complementary projections and recesses, in light of the teachings of Miyamoto et al., as a known alternative way of assembling shell members.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtois et al./Drouin et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US Patent 6,968,864).
Courtois et al./Drouin et al. discloses a protector assembly as shown above. Although Courtois et al./Drouin et al. does not specifically disclose that each shell member comprises an external groove in an outer surface opposite the tubular enclosure however, Miyamoto et al. teaches such external grooves formed on similar shell members, see figure 1. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed external grooves on an outer surface of the shell members of Courtois et al./Drouin et al., in light of the teachings of Miyamoto et al., as is known in the art. Applicant should note that grooves are capable of receiving cable ties.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtois et al./Drouin et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Skjevik (US Patent 12,000,520).
Courtois et al./Drouin et al. discloses a protector assembly as shown above but do not disclose a wireless readable memory located between the first and the second covers in the assembled configuration however, Skjevik teaches providing such a wireless readable memory embedded in a cover 135 of a protector assembly, see co. 20, lines 19-48 and figure 13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a wireless readable memory located in the cover of Courtois et al./Drouin et al., in light of the teachings of Skjevik, in order to store information related the protector assembly. Applicant should note that it is within the general skill level of a worker in the art to place the wireless readable memory in a place where it will be shielded from damage whether between covers of embedded in a cover.
Claim(s) 24 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtois et al./Drouin et al. as applied to claims 1 and 26 above, and further in view of Nommensen (US Patent 11,480,287).
Regarding claim 24, Courtois et al./Drouin et al. discloses a protector as shown above but does not disclose a visual indicia as claimed however, Nommensen teaches such visual indicia on such a protector assembly, see figures 1 and 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a visual indicia on the cover of Courtois et al./Drouin et al. such that the visual indicia is exposed to the environment, in light of the teachings of Nommensen, so as to display pertinent information of the protector assembly that is readily visible.
Regarding claim 27, the wireless readable memory of Nommensen is a RFID chip. Applicant should note that it is obvious that when providing multiple covers, the covers would be located at different longitudinal positions and there would inherently be compartments formed between two of the covers that could house the RFID chip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746