DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112(f) or PRE-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Sixth Paragraph
Use of the word ("means" or "step") in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. (f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is invoked is rebuttable when the function is recited with sufficient structure, material, or acts with the claim itself to entirely perform the recited function.
Absence of the word ("means" or "step) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claims element is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is not invoked is rebutted when the claim element recites function but fails to recite sufficiently definite structure, material, or acts to perform that function.
Claim(s) (1, 15, 18) elements in the "instant application" that use the word ("means" or "step") are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office Action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word ("means" or "step") are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in and Office Action.
In claim(s) (1, 15, 18) the claim limitation "mounting means" has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder "means" coupled with functional language "mounting" without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The generic placeholder is not recognized as the name of a structure but is merely a substitute for the term "means".
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims (1, 15, 18) has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the Specification and Drawings show "mounting means" as "A Housing Adapted to Mount the Module” in Figure 1A, Figure 1B, & Figure 8 as the corresponding structures described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112 (f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 18, lines 7, the phrase “controlling the to initiate mounting” is vague and confusing. Should the phrase read, “controlling the UAV to initiate mounting” to acquire claim consistency and claim clarity. For examining purpose, the phrase will be treated as “controlling the UAV to initiate mounting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trott et al (US2021/0219383A1) in view of McSchooler et al (US2021/0190847A1).
12. As to claim 1, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) a non-live wire (non-current carrying ground line or neutral line) mounted sensor module (110) including: a mounting means (102) adapted to mount the module (110) to a non-live power line wire (non-current carrying ground or neutral lines 105) paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0047]) defines non-live power line wire (105); a power supply (158), (paragraph [0044]); a physical sensor unit (110) supported by the transmission tower, wherein the physical sensor unit (110) includes at least one of the group including: a conductor temperature sensor (154), (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]); and a communications unit (112) for facilitating external communication of output (sensor data) of the at least one physical sensor unit (110), (paragraphs [0025]-[0027]). Trott et al fail to disclose a housing. McSchooler et al disclose (fig. 2) a housing (122) enclosing various communication and sensor components, (paragraph [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Trott et al to include a housing adaptably used to mount and/or enclosed sensor components as taught by McSchooler et al in order to establish communication over the non-live powerlines.
13. As to claim 2, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the physical sensor unit (110) includes a plurality of the group including: the conductor temperature sensor (154); the weather station (152, 155); the line sag detection sensor (110); the object proximity sensor (infrared sensor); and the line movement sensor (156), (paragraphs [0040]-[0043]).
14. As to claim 3, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the power supply (138) includes a solar panel (113) mounted externally on the housing (transmission tower), (paragraph [0026]).
15. As to claim 4, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the power supply (138) includes at least one battery (138) disposed within the housing (transmission tower), (paragraph [0044]).
16. As to claim 5, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the at least one battery (182) is rechargeable (rechargeable) by the solar panel (113), (paragraphs [0020], [0054]).
17. As to claim 6, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the weather station (152, 155) includes one or more of: a temperature sensor (154), (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]).
18. As to claim 7, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the conductor temperature sensor (154) includes an infrared sensor (infrared sensor), (paragraph [0042]).
19. As to claim 8, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the line sag detection sensor (110) includes a LiDAR sensor (LiDAR sensor), (paragraph [0006]).
20. As to claim 9, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the object proximity sensor (infrared sensor) includes a LiDAR sensor (LiDAR sensor), (paragraph [0006]).
21. As to claim 10, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the line movement sensor (156) includes one or more of: an accelerometer (accelerometer), (paragraph [0040]).
22. As to claim 11, Trott et al disclose (fig. 3) the sensor module (110) wherein the physical sensor unit (110) includes an integrated sensor (144, 146, 148) including the functionality of both the line sag detection sensor and the object proximity sensor (infrared sensor), (paragraphs [0039], [0042]).
23. As to claim 12, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the physical sensor unit (110) is mounted externally to the housing (transmission tower), (paragraph [0047]).
24. As to claim 13, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the physical sensor unit (110) is mounted on the transmission tower (102), (paragraph [0047]). Trott et al fail to disclose wherein the physical sensor unit is mounted within the housing. McSchooler et al disclose (fig. 2) a housing (122) enclosing various communication and sensor components, (paragraph [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Trott et al to include a housing adaptably used to enclose sensor components within the housing and/or external to the housing as taught by McSchooler et al in order to establish communication over the non-live powerlines.
25. As to claim 14, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110) wherein the physical sensor unit (110) is mounted externally on the transmission tower (102), (paragraph [0047]). Trott et al fail to disclose wherein the physical sensor unit is mounted both externally and within the housing. McSchooler et al disclose (fig. 2) a housing (122) enclosing various communication and sensor components, (paragraph [0016]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Trott et al to include a housing adaptably used to enclose sensor components within the housing as taught by McSchooler et al in order to establish communication over the non-live powerlines.
26. As to claim 15, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110), (paragraph [0026]). Trott et al fail to disclose wherein the mounting means includes at least one clamp mechanism. McSchooler et al disclose (fig. 2) the sensor module (120) wherein the mounting means (102) includes at least one clamp mechanism (104), (paragraphs [0014], [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Trott et al to include wherein the mounting means includes at least one clamp mechanism as taught by McSchooler et al in order to secure the sensor module.
27. As to claim 16, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110), (paragraph [0026]). Trott et al fail to disclose wherein the mounting means includes a pair of clamp mechanisms. McSchooler et al disclose (fig. 2) the sensor module (120) wherein the mounting means (122) includes a pair of clamp mechanisms (104, 112, 116), (paragraphs [0014], [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Trott et al to include wherein the mounting means includes a pair of clamp mechanisms as taught by McSchooler et al in order to secure the sensor modules.
28. As to claim 17, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) the sensor module (110), (paragraph [0026]). Trott et al fail to disclose wherein the clamp mechanism includes a raptor clamp. McSchooler et al disclose (fig. 2) wherein the clamp mechanism (104) includes a raptor clamp (102), (paragraphs [0014], [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Trott et al to include wherein the mounting means includes a raptor clamp as taught by McSchooler et al in order to secure the sensor modules.
29. As to claim 19, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) a system (100) for sensing one or more physical measurements (temperature of power transmission lines 104, environmental temperature, temperature fluctuations), (paragraph [0042]); the system (100) including: at least one non-live wire mounted sensor module (110), (paragraphs [0025]-[0026]); a communications arrangement (112, 126, 130, 133) for facilitating digital communications (communication links) with a server (134); and a communications gateway node (112, gateway server) for facilitating digital communications (communications links) between the at least one sensor module (110) and the communications arrangement (112, 126, 130, 133), (paragraphs [0028]-[0031]).
30. As to claim 20, Trott et al disclose (fig. 1) a system (100) wherein the system (100) for sensing one or more physical measurements (temperature of power transmission lines 104, environmental temperature, temperature fluctuations) includes a plurality of sensor modules (110) and the respective communications units (112, 126, 130, 133) of the plurality of sensor modules (110) create a mesh network (134) for communicating (communicates) the plurality of sensor modules (110) with the communications gateway node (112, gateway server), (paragraphs [0028]-[0031]).
Response to Arguments
33. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Conclusion
/DON J WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2878