DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues allowability based on the amendment to claim 1. Specifically, applicant argues none of the references disclose measuring the density of oxygen vacancies using a thermally stimulated depolarization current method.
While the examiner agrees that the references do not disclose such a method, the claims are drawn to a product and thus said limitation is considered to be a product by process limitation since the claim language is directed to the step required to measure the density of oxygen vacancies (which are a property of the material). Therefore, this step has been given no patentable weight since it has been held that the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. Kawamoto discloses an overlapping range of the density of oxygen vacancies (which is a property of the material) and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP03119608A hereafter referred to as Kawamoto.
In regards to claim 1,
Kawamoto discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic component, comprising:
a stack including dielectric layers and internal electrode layers alternately stacked on one another (field of invention & problem to be solved by the invention),
wherein the dielectric layers includes oxygen vacancies (problem to be solved by the invention), and a density of the oxygen vacancies is 1.1 x 1014 to 6.1 x 1014 oxygen vacancies/mm3 inclusive (problem to be solved by the invention – teaches vacancies at 1014 to 1015). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990). The reference(s) as applied above discloses/disclose all the limitations of claim 1 except as measured by a thermally stimulated depolarization current method. However, this claim is considered to be a product by process claim since the claim language is directed to the step required to measure the density of oxygen vacancies. Therefore, this step has been given no patentable weight since it has been held that the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art.
In regards to claim 4,
Kawamoto discloses wherein each of the dielectric layers includes Ba and Ti, and each of the internal electrode layers includes Ni (problem to be solved by the invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 2011/0075318) in view of Kawamoto.
In regards to claim 1,
Suzuki ‘318 discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic component, comprising:
a stack including dielectric layers (3 – fig. 1; [0005]) and internal electrode layers (4-5 – fig. 1; [0005]) alternately stacked on one another. Suzuki ‘318 fails to disclose wherein the dielectric layers include 1.1 x 1014 to 6.1 x 1014 oxygen vacancies/mm3 inclusive.
Kawamoto discloses that the oxygen vacancies/mm3 is a result effective variable, particularly for improving DC bias characteristics (problem to be solved by the invention).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Suzuki ‘318 such that the dielectric layers include 1.1 x 1014 to 6.1 x 1014 oxygen vacancies/mm3 inclusive to obtain a capacitor with improved DC bias characteristics, as taught by Kawamoto. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The reference(s) as applied above discloses/disclose all the limitations of claim 1 except as measured by a thermally stimulated depolarization current method. However, this claim is considered to be a product by process claim since the claim language is directed to the step required to measure the density of oxygen vacancies. Therefore, this step has been given no patentable weight since it has been held that the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art.
In regards to claim 2,
Suzuki ‘318 as modified by Kawamoto further discloses further comprising: an oxide phase in an interface between each of the dielectric layers and an adjacent internal electrode layer of the internal electrode layers, the oxide phase being an oxidized surface portion of the adjacent internal electrode layer (fig. 2; [0023] of Suzuki ‘318).
In regards to claim 3,
Suzuki ‘318 as modified by Kawamoto further discloses wherein each of the dielectric layers has a thickness of 0.5 to 5.0 µm inclusive ([0062] of Suzuki ‘318).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848