DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 29 July 2026. Claims 1-33 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, 21, 22, 24, 26, 28, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045).
For Claims 1 and 28, Cha teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see paragraphs 13 and 20), and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a channel state information (CSI) report setting associated with at least one resource setting that indicates a first group of one or more CSI reference signal (CSI- RS) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources and a second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources, wherein the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources has a different periodicity than the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract, paragraphs 229-230: from abstract: “receiving information relating to an integrated channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set including a plurality of CSI-RS resource groups; receiving information relating to CSI reporting setting associated with the integrated CSI-RS resource set … wherein each of the plurality of CSI-RS resource groups can includes a plurality of CSI-RS resources”); and
report CSI associated with the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources, the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources, or the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract).
For Claims 15 and 30, Cha teaches a method and an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see paragraphs 257-259), and configured to cause the network entity to:
send, to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information (CSI) report setting associated with at least one resource setting that indicates a first group of one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources and a second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources for measuring CSI, wherein the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources has a different periodicity than the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract, paragraphs 220, 229-230);
send one or more signals associated with the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources, the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources, or the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract, paragraphs 218, 221); and
obtain, from the UE, CSI associated with at least one of the one or more signals (see abstract, paragraphs 218, 221).
For Claims 3, 17, and 31-32, Cha teaches the apparatus, wherein:
the CSI report setting indicates to report a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources in at least one of the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources or the second group of one or more CSI- RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 9, 10, 127: RSRP; paragraphs 186, 196: CSI report setting); and
the CSI indicates the RSRP associated with the one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 133, 150).
For Claims 5 and 19, Cha teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signaling that indicates the CSI report setting identifies the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract).
For Claims 7 and 21, Cha teaches the apparatus, wherein the CSI report setting identifies a CSI resource set that indicates the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 6-7, 217, abstract).
For Claims 8 and 22, Cha teaches the apparatus, wherein the CSI report setting identifies: a first CSI resource set that indicates the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources; and a second CSI resource set that indicates the second group of one or more CSI- RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 186, 212-213, 226, 229).
For Claims 10 and 24, Cha teaches the apparatus, wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signaling that indicates one or more quasi co-location (QCL) relationships associated with the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraph 134: QCL, paragraphs 161-166, 190); and
each resource in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources is associated with a plurality of resources in the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources based at least in part on the one or more QCL relationships (see paragraph 190: QCL of resources of different groups).
For Claims 12 and 26, Cha teaches the apparatus, wherein the CSI comprises one or more measurements associated with one or more resources in at least one of the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources or the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraph 127: measure, paragraphs 176-180).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 16, 18, 29, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045) as applied to claims 1, 15, and 28 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0239358).
For Claims 2, 16, and 29, Cha further teaches the apparatus, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the one or more processors, wherein: the transceiver is configured to cause the UE to receive the CSI report setting and report the CSI (see abstract, paragraph 20).
Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but Kim teaches that the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources has a different number of resources than the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract, paragraphs 386, 715, 717).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have varying numbers of resources in the groups as in Kim when implementing the method of Cha. The motivation would be to allow for flexibility when measuring channel properties and interference.
For Claims 4, 18, and 33, Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but Kim teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit an indication that the UE has a capability to report measurements associated with the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources having that have the different periodicities (see paragraphs 373, 379, 520, 526: UE capable of reporting on multiple reference signals, different groups).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have the UE signaling its capabilities to the BS as in Kim when implementing the method of Cha. The motivation would be to allow for more complete measuring channel properties and interference.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2023/0361837).
For Claims 6 and 20, Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but Wang teaches the apparatus, wherein each resource in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources is associated with a plurality of resources in the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 50-51, 66-69).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to manage the association among resources in different groups as in Wang when implementing the method of Cha. The motivation would be to manage channel measurements in accord with the arrangement of TRPs.
Claim(s) 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Hindy et al. (US 2023/0396300).
For Claims 9 and 23, Cha further teaches the apparatus, wherein:
the CSI report setting includes: a first CSI report setting that indicates the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources; and a second CSI report setting that indicates the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 206, 217, 226).
Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but Hindy teaches that the second CSI report setting identifies that the first CSI report setting is associated with the second CSI report setting (see paragraph 59).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide signaling as in Hindy when implementing the method of Cha. The motivation would be to enable a reduction in overhead by conserving signaling resources.
Claim(s) 11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2018/0262313).
For Claims 11 and 25, Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but Nam teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive signaling that includes:
a first indication that indicates properties for a plurality of resources in the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources are based on one or more measurements for at least one resource in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraphs 252-253);
a second indication that indicates at least one resource in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources corresponds to a linear combination of the plurality of resources in the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources;
a third indication that indicates at least one resource in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources corresponds to a non-linear combination of the plurality of resources in the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources;
a fourth indication that indicates offset values for the plurality of resources in the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources are in terms of an angular metric relative to at least one resource in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources; or
a combination thereof.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to indicate a relationship among resources as in Nam when implementing the method of Cha. The motivation would be to conserve resources while ensuring the UE has updated information.
Claim(s) 13 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2012/0281567).
For Claims 13 and 27, Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but in a similar field of endeavor Gao teaches the apparatus, wherein:
the CSI comprises one or more measurements associated with one or more resources only in the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraph 132); and the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources has a shorter periodicity than the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see paragraph 132).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to consider periodicity when providing feedback as in Cha. the motivation would have been to accommodate the different transmission point needs.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0366998).
For Claim 14, Cha as applied above is not explicit as to, but Lee teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to process the CSI in compliance with a threshold for simultaneous CSI calculations (see abstract, paragraph 159); and
a number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting is based at least in part on:
a number of resources in at least one of the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources or the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources;
a periodicity for at least one of the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources or the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (see abstract, paragraph 159); or
a number of measurements to be reported for at least one of the first group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources or the second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to process CSI in view of periodicity as in Lee when implementing the method of Cha.one of ordinary skill would have been able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of handling calculations in accord with priorities.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 29 July 2026 has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections over prior art have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The claims remain rejected under 35 USC 102 and 103.
Regarding teachings of Cha, please see the abstract
“More particularly, the method is characterized by: receiving information relating to an integrated channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set including a plurality of CSI-RS resource groups; receiving information relating to CSI reporting setting associated with the integrated CSI-RS resource set; and reporting CSI for the integrated CSI-RS resource set based on the CSI reporting setting, wherein each of the plurality of CSI-RS resource groups can includes a plurality of CSI-RS resources.”
Clearly there is one CSI report setting associated with at least one resource setting (“information relating to CSI reporting setting associated with the integrated CSI-RS set”) that indicates a first group of one or more CSI reference signal (CSI- RS) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources and a second group of one or more CSI-RS or SSB resources (“the integrated CSI-RS resource set including a plurality of CSI-RS resource groups”). Other cited portions of Cha teach the integrated CSI-RS resource set comprising a plurality of CSI-RS resource groups with different periodicities. Accordingly, Cha does teach the matter for which it is relied upon.
Secondary references are not relied on for teaching matter found in Cha.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Khan Beigi et al. (US 2023/0403058) teaches a report configuration and periodicities. Muruganathan et al. (US 2022/0407576) teaches multiple resources in a CSI-RS resource set.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 8/13/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466