Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEHAS et al. US 20230291365.
CLAIM 1
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 1. (Original) A method for transferring a wireless power in a wireless power transfer system, the method performed by a wireless power transmitter and comprising: entering a power transfer phase related to transferring the wireless power;
MEHAS et al. [0002] Wireless power system can include a transmitter having a transmission coil and a receiver having a receiver coil. In an aspect, the transmitter may be connected to a structure including a wireless charging region. In response to a device including the receiver being placed on the charging region, or in proximity to the charging region, the transmission coil and the receiver coil can be inductively coupled with one another to form a transformer that can facilitate inductive transfer of alternating current (AC) power. The transfer of AC power, from the transmitter to the receiver, can facilitate charging of a battery of the device including the receiver.
MEHAS et al. discloses receiving a first application message from a wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase; and transmitting a second application message in response to the first application message to the wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase,
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124. For example, before transmitter 110 begins transferring power to receiver 120, a power contract may be agreed upon and created between receiver 120 and transmitter 110. For example, receiver 120 may send communication packets 136 or other data to transmitter 110 that indicate power transfer information such as, e.g., an amount of power to be transferred to receiver 120, commands to increase, decrease, or maintain a power level of AC power 130, commands to stop a power transfer, or other power transfer information.
MEHAS et al. discloses wherein the wireless power transmitter initiates transmitting the second application message within a specific time interval, and
MEHAS et al. FIGS. 5A,5B indicate specific time intervals for transmitting and wait intervals wherein [0049] normal operation mode and calibration mode, controller 112 may be configured to wait for lapses of predetermined times before sending control signals 206 to switch on and switch off switches in circuit 210 (see FIG. 2 and FIG. 3). The predetermined time can allow controller 112 to have time to determine whether AFE 118 can switch into normal operation or calibration mode, allow controller 112 to verify previous data packet receive at transmitter 110, and/or allow the entire system 100 to stabilize before switching modes.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein a start point of the specific time interval is an end point of the first application message (meaning there is no wait time).
MEHAS et al. [0053] the predetermined time 520 can be a time constant defined by a filter (e.g., filter 322 in FIG. 3) connected between controller 112 and AFE 118.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the communication system such that there were no circuit time constants that required delaying the response to a signal sent to the transmitter wherein a start point of the specific time interval was to be an end point of the first application message (meaning there is no wait time required).
CLAIM 2
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 2. (Original) The method of claim 1.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein the end point of the first application message is a point at which reception of an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to closing the first application message begins.
MEHAS et al. discloses [0053] the predetermined time 520 can be a time constant defined by a filter (e.g., filter 322 in FIG. 3) connected between controller 112 and AFE 118.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the communication system to meet the requirement, wherein the end point of the first application message is a point at which reception of an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to closing the first application message begins, by having no circuit time constants requiring a wait time.
CLAIM 3
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 3. (Original) The method of claim 2, wherein the ADC packet related to the closing is an ADC/end packet (Fig. 5A, 516).
CLAIM 4
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 4. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless power transmitter starts transmitting an Attention (ATN) response pattern to the wireless power receiver within the specific time interval.
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124 and Fig.5A t power, discloses power transmission time between RPP! And RPP2.
CLAIM 5
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 5. (Original) The method of claim 4, wherein the ATN response pattern requests permission to transmit a data packet.
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124. For example, before transmitter 110 begins transferring power to receiver 120, a power contract may be agreed upon and created between receiver 120 and transmitter 110. For example, receiver 120 may send communication packets 136 or other data to transmitter 110 that indicate power transfer information such as, e.g., an amount of power to be transferred to receiver 120, commands to increase, decrease, or maintain a power level of AC power 130, commands to stop a power transfer, or other power transfer information. In another example, in response to receiver 120 being brought in proximity to transmitter 110, e.g., close enough such that a transformer may be formed by coil TX and coil RX to allow power transfer, receiver 120 may be configured to initiate communication by sending a signal to transmitter 110 that requests a power transfer. In such a case, transmitter 110 may respond to the request by receiver 120 by establishing the power contract or beginning power transfer to receiver 120, e.g., if the power contract is already in place. Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 may transmit and receive communication packets, data or other information via the inductive coupling of coil TX and coil RX. In some embodiments, communication between transmitter 110 and receiver 120 can occur before power transfer stage using various protocols such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, etc.
CLAIM 6
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 6. (Original) The method of claim 5, wherein the wireless power transmitter transmits an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to opening the second application message based on transmitting the ATN response pattern.
MEHAS et al. [0027] in response to receiver 120 being brought in proximity to transmitter 110, e.g., close enough such that a transformer may be formed by coil TX and coil RX to allow power transfer, receiver 120 may be configured to initiate communication by sending a signal to transmitter 110 that requests a power transfer. In such a case, transmitter 110 may respond to the request by receiver 120 by establishing the power contract or beginning power transfer to receiver 120, e.g., if the power contract is already in place. Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 may transmit and receive communication packets, data or other information via the inductive coupling of coil TX and coil RX. In some embodiments, communication between transmitter 110 and receiver 120 can occur before power transfer stage using various protocols such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, etc.
CLAIM 7
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 7. (Original) The method of claim 6.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein the ADC packet related to the opening is an ADC/auth packet.
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124. For example, before transmitter 110 begins transferring power to receiver 120, a power contract may be agreed upon and created between receiver 120 and transmitter 110. For example, receiver 120 may send communication packets 136 or other data to transmitter 110 that indicate power transfer information such as, e.g., an amount of power to be transferred to receiver 120, commands to increase, decrease, or maintain a power level of AC power 130, commands to stop a power transfer, or other power transfer information. In another example, in response to receiver 120 being brought in proximity to transmitter 110, e.g., close enough such that a transformer may be formed by coil TX and coil RX to allow power transfer, receiver 120 may be configured to initiate communication by sending a signal to transmitter 110 that requests a power transfer. In such a case, transmitter 110 may respond to the request by receiver 120 by establishing the power contract or beginning power transfer to receiver 120, e.g., if the power contract is already in place. Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 may transmit and receive communication packets, data or other information via the inductive coupling of coil TX and coil RX. In some embodiments, communication between transmitter 110 and receiver 120 can occur before power transfer stage using various protocols such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the ADC packet related to the closing is an ADC/end packet.
CLAIM 8
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 8. (Original) The method of claim 1.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein the first application message is GET_DIGEST, and wherein the second application message is DIGEST.
MEHAS et al. discloses messages and contract verification.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set up the memory and the communications link to store and access documents to control the transfer of wireless power.
CLAIM 9
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 8.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein the specific time interval is tDigestReady.
MEHAS et al. discloses Figs. 5A,5B.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set up a specific time interval for tDigestReady to communicate with the digest documents.
CLAIM 10
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 10. (Original) A wireless power transmitter, comprising: a converter related to transferring wireless power to a wireless power receiver; and a communicator/controller related to controlling the transfer of the wireless power, wherein the wireless power transmitter: enters a power transfer phase related to transferring the wireless power; receives a first application message from the wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase; and transmits a second application message in response to the first application message to the wireless power receiver in the power transfer phase, wherein the wireless power transmitter initiates transmitting the second application message within a specific time interval.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein a start point of the specific time interval is an end point of the first application message (meaning there is no wait time).
MEHAS et al. [0053] the predetermined time 520 can be a time constant defined by a filter (e.g., filter 322 in FIG. 3) connected between controller 112 and AFE 118.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the communication system such that there were no circuit time constants that required delaying the response to a signal sent to the transmitter wherein a start point of the specific time interval was to be an end point of the first application message (meaning there is no wait time required).
CLAIM 11
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 11. (Original) A method for receiving wireless power from a wireless power
transmitter in a wireless power transfer system, the method performed by a wireless power
receiver and comprising:
entering a power transfer phase related to receiving wireless power;
transmitting a first application message to a wireless power transmitter in the power
transfer phase; and
receiving a second application message in response to the first application message
from the wireless power transmitter in the power transfer phase;
wherein the wireless power receiver initiates receiving the second application message
within a specific time interval.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein a start point of the specific time interval is an end point of the first application message.
MEHAS et al. [0053] the predetermined time 520 can be a time constant defined by a filter (e.g., filter 322 in FIG. 3) connected between controller 112 and AFE 118.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the communication system such that there were no circuit time constants that required delaying the response to a signal sent to the transmitter wherein a start point of the specific time interval was to be an end point of the first application message (meaning there is no wait time required).
CLAIM 12
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 12. (Original) The method of claim 11.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein the end point of the first application message is a point at which transmission of an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to closing the first application message begins.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design a communication link with that could support a no wait period transmission time so that the end point of the first application message is a point at which transmission of an Auxiliary Data Control (ADC) packet related to closing the first application message begins.
CLAIM 13
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 13. (Original) The method of claim 12.
MEHAS et al. does not disclose wherein the ADC packet related to the closing is an ADC/end packet.
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124. For example, before transmitter 110 begins transferring power to receiver 120, a power contract may be agreed upon and created between receiver 120 and transmitter 110. For example, receiver 120 may send communication packets 136 or other data to transmitter 110 that indicate power transfer information such as, e.g., an amount of power to be transferred to receiver 120, commands to increase, decrease, or maintain a power level of AC power 130, commands to stop a power transfer, or other power transfer information. In another example, in response to receiver 120 being brought in proximity to transmitter 110, e.g., close enough such that a transformer may be formed by coil TX and coil RX to allow power transfer, receiver 120 may be configured to initiate communication by sending a signal to transmitter 110 that requests a power transfer. In such a case, transmitter 110 may respond to the request by receiver 120 by establishing the power contract or beginning power transfer to receiver 120, e.g., if the power contract is already in place. Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 may transmit and receive communication packets, data or other information via the inductive coupling of coil TX and coil RX. In some embodiments, communication between transmitter 110 and receiver 120 can occur before power transfer stage using various protocols such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the ADC packet related to the closing is an ADC/end packet.
CLAIM 14
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 14. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the wireless power receiver starts receiving an Attention (ATN) response pattern from the wireless power transmitter within the specific time interval.
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124 and Fig.5A t power, discloses power transmission time between RPP! And RPP2.
CLAIM 15
MEHAS et al. discloses claim 15. (Original) The method of claim 14, wherein the ATN response pattern requests permission to transmit a data packet.
MEHAS et al. [0027] Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 are also configured to exchange information or data, e.g., messages, via the inductive coupling of power driver 114 and power rectifier 124. For example, before transmitter 110 begins transferring power to receiver 120, a power contract may be agreed upon and created between receiver 120 and transmitter 110. For example, receiver 120 may send communication packets 136 or other data to transmitter 110 that indicate power transfer information such as, e.g., an amount of power to be transferred to receiver 120, commands to increase, decrease, or maintain a power level of AC power 130, commands to stop a power transfer, or other power transfer information. In another example, in response to receiver 120 being brought in proximity to transmitter 110, e.g., close enough such that a transformer may be formed by coil TX and coil RX to allow power transfer, receiver 120 may be configured to initiate communication by sending a signal to transmitter 110 that requests a power transfer. In such a case, transmitter 110 may respond to the request by receiver 120 by establishing the power contract or beginning power transfer to receiver 120, e.g., if the power contract is already in place. Transmitter 110 and receiver 120 may transmit and receive communication packets, data or other information via the inductive coupling of coil TX and coil RX. In some embodiments, communication between transmitter 110 and receiver 120 can occur before power transfer stage using various protocols such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, etc.
May 20, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836