DETAILED ACTION
Claims 34-53 are pending.
Claims 1-33 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34-36, 39, 44-46, 48, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Svedman et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210352734 A1), hereinafter Svedman.
With respect to claim 34, Svedman teaches A method for determining a resource, performed by a communication system comprising a terminal and a network device, the method comprising (figures 5, 6, [0016, 0019, 0101], a method performs by a communication system comprising a UE and a BS):
sending, by the network device, first configuration information to the terminal (figure 6, [0016, 0019, 0101], BS transmits the first configuration information / RO_CBRA configuration to the UE), wherein the first configuration information indicates at least one contention-based random access (CBRA) configuration (figure 5, [0016, 0019, 0101], the first configuration information / RO_CBRA configuration indicates CBRA configuration); and
determining, by the terminal, a second available random access channel occasion (RO) set ([0096-0097, 0099], UE determines a second available random access channel occasion (RO) set / RO_CBRA set), and
determining, by the terminal, a target available RO set according to the second available RO set ([0096-0097, 0099], UE determines a target available RO set / RO_CFRA set according to the second available RO set / RO_CBRA set),
wherein the target available RO set is not configured in the CBRA configuration ([0096-0097, 0099], the target available RO set / RO_CFRA set is not configured in the CBRA configuration / RO_CBRA configuration).
With respect to claim 35, Svedman teaches further comprising at least one of: determining, by the terminal, the target available RO set according to a first shared RO resource and the second available RO set, wherein the first shared RO resource is configured in second configuration information from the network device (figures 3, 5, 6, [0013, 0066, 0075, 0096-0097, 0099], UE determines the target available RO set according to a first shared RO resource and the second available RO set, wherein the first shared RO resource is configured in second configuration information from the network device):
With respect to claim 36, Svedman teaches determining, by the terminal, a first available RO set configured in the CBRA configuration as the target available RO set, wherein the target available RO set is configured in the CBRA configuration (figures 3, 5, 6, [0013, 0066, 0075, 0096-0097, 0099]).
With respect to claim 39, Svedman teaches determining, by the terminal, at least one of a target shared RO resource or a target preamble set according to the first configuration information (figures 3, 5, 6, [0013, 0066, 0075, 0096-0097, 0099]).
With respect to claim 44, Svedman teaches A method for determining a resource, performed by a terminal, comprising (figure 5, [0016, 0019, 0101], a method performs by a UE):
receiving first configuration information from a network device (figure 5, [0096-0097, 0099], UE receives the first configuration information / RO_CBRA configuration from a network device / BS),
wherein the first configuration information indicates at least one contention-based random access (CBRA) configuration (figure 5, [0016, 0019, 0101], the first configuration information / RO_CBRA configuration indicates CBRA configuration); and
determining a second available random access channel occasion (RO) set ([0096-0097, 0099], UE determines a second available random access channel occasion (RO) set / RO_CBRA set), and
determining a target available RO set according to the second available RO set ([0096-0097, 0099], UE determines a target available RO set / RO_CFRA set according to the second available RO set / RO_CBRA set),
wherein the target available RO set is not configured in the CBRA configuration ([0096-0097, 0099], the target available RO set / RO_CFRA set is not configured in the CBRA configuration / RO_CBRA configuration).
With respect to claim 45, this claim recites the method of claim 35, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 46, this claim recites the method of claim 36, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 48, this claim recites the method of claim 39, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 53, Svedman teaches A terminal, comprising (figure 5, [0016, 0019, 0101], a UE):
a processor ([0007], processor); and
a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor ([0007-0008, 0105], memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor);
wherein the processor is configured to perform:
receiving first configuration information from a network device (figure 5, [0096-0097, 0099], UE receives first configuration information / RO_CBRA configuration from a network device / BS),
wherein the first configuration information indicates at least one contention-based random access (CBRA) configuration (figure 5, [0016, 0019, 0101], the RO_CBRA configuration indicates CBRA configuration); and
determining a second available random access channel occasion (RO) set ([0096-0097, 0099], UE determines a second available random access channel occasion (RO) set / RO_CBRA set), and
determining a target available RO set according to the second available RO set ([0096-0097, 0099], UE determines a target available RO set / RO_CFRA set according to the second available RO set / RO_CBRA set),
wherein the target available RO set is not configured in the CBRA configuration ([0096-0097, 0099], the target available RO set / RO_CFRA set is not configured in the CBRA configuration / RO_CBRA configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-38, 40-43, 47, and 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svedman, in view of Huawei, HiSilicon; "Common signalling for RACH indication and partitioning", 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #116-e, R2-2110597, hereinafter Huawei.
"Common signalling for RACH indication and partitioning” is Applicant information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2025.
With respect to claim 37, Svedman teaches wherein the CBRA configuration as set forth above.
Svedman does not explicitly teach a CBRA configuration in a first version comprising at least one of a 4-step CBRA configuration in the first version, wherein the first version is Release 17.
However, Huawei teaches a CBRA configuration in a first version comprising at least one of a 4-step CBRA configuration in the first version, wherein the first version is Release 17 (sections 1, 2, 2.3.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei, a CBRA configuration in a first version comprising at least one of a 4-step CBRA configuration in the first version, into the teachings of Svedman, in order to configure one or more separate RA configuration(s) for Rel-17 features and feature combinations for both 4-step RA and 2-step RA (Huawei, page 9).
With respect to claim 38, Svedman does not explicitly teach wherein the second available RO set is at least one of: an available RO set configured in the at least one CBRA configuration in a first version, or an available RO set configured in at least one CBRA configuration in a second version, wherein the first version is Release 17, and the second version is at least one of Release 15 or Release 16.
However, Huawei teaches a CBRA wherein the second available RO set is at least one of: an available RO set configured in the at least one CBRA configuration in a first version (pages 4-5), wherein the first version is Release 17, and the second version is at least one of Release 15 or Release 16 (page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei, a CBRA wherein the second available RO set is at least one of: an available RO set configured in the at least one CBRA configuration in a first version, wherein the first version is Release 17, and the second version is at least one of Release 15 or Release 16, into the teachings of Svedman, in order to configure one or more separate RA configuration(s) for Rel-17 features and feature combinations for both 4-step RA and 2-step RA (Huawei, page 9).
With respect to claim 40, Svedman does not explicitly teach wherein determining the target shared RO resource comprises at least one of: determining that a third available RO set is configured in the CBRA configuration, and determining the target shared RO resource according to the target available RO set and the third available RO set.
However, Huawei teaches wherein determining the target shared RO resource comprises at least one of: determining that a third available RO set is configured in the CBRA configuration, and determining the target shared RO resource according to the target available RO set and the third available RO set (section 2.3.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei, wherein determining the target shared RO resource comprises at least one of: determining that a third available RO set is configured in the CBRA configuration, and determining the target shared RO resource according to the target available RO set and the third available RO set, into the teachings of Svedman, in order to configure one or more separate RA configuration(s) for Rel-17 features and feature combinations for both 4-step RA and 2-step RA (Huawei, page 9).
With respect to claim 41, Svedman does not explicitly teach wherein the CBRA configuration is a CBRA configuration in a first version, the CBRA configuration in the first version is a common CBRA configuration of a plurality of different features or combinations of features in the first version or a specific CBRA configuration of a plurality of different features or combinations of features in the first version, and wherein the common CBRA configuration comprises at least one of a configuration of the target shared RO resource or a configuration of the target available RO set.
However, Huawei teaches wherein the CBRA configuration is a CBRA configuration in a first version, the CBRA configuration in the first version is a common CBRA configuration of a plurality of different features or combinations of features in the first version or a specific CBRA configuration of a plurality of different features or combinations of features in the first version, and wherein the common CBRA configuration comprises at least one of a configuration of the target shared RO resource or a configuration of the target available RO set (sections 2.3.1, 2.3.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei, wherein the CBRA configuration is a CBRA configuration in a first version, the CBRA configuration in the first version is a common CBRA configuration of a plurality of different features or combinations of features in the first version or a specific CBRA configuration of a plurality of different features or combinations of features in the first version, and wherein the common CBRA configuration comprises at least one of a configuration of the target shared RO resource or a configuration of the target available RO set, into the teachings of Svedman, in order to configure one or more separate RA configuration(s) for Rel-17 features and feature combinations for both 4-step RA and 2-step RA (Huawei, page 9).
With respect to claim 42, Svedman does not explicitly teach determining a target available RO set corresponding to the features or the combinations of features according to a third available RO set corresponding to the features or the combinations of features, wherein the CBRA configuration in the first version is the common CBRA configuration.
However, Huawei teaches determining a target available RO set corresponding to the features or the combinations of features according to a third available RO set corresponding to the features or the combinations of features, wherein the CBRA configuration in the first version is the common CBRA configuration (sections 2.3.1, 2.3.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei, determining a target available RO set corresponding to the features or the combinations of features according to a third available RO set corresponding to the features or the combinations of features, wherein the CBRA configuration in the first version is the common CBRA configuration, into the teachings of Svedman, in order to configure one or more separate RA configuration(s) for Rel-17 features and feature combinations for both 4-step RA and 2-step RA (Huawei, page 9).
With respect to claim 43, Svedman does not explicitly teach wherein determining the target preamble set comprises: determining that, in the CBRA configuration in a first version, a number of preambles of a CBRA configuration having a shared RO resource with the CBRA configuration in the first version is configured, wherein the number of preambles in the CBRA configuration having the shared RO resource comprises at least one of: a number of preambles of a 4-step CBRA configuration in the first version; and determining the target preamble set in the target shared RO resource according to the number of preambles in the CBRA configuration.
However, Huawei teaches teach wherein determining the target preamble set comprises: determining that, in the CBRA configuration in a first version, a number of preambles of a CBRA configuration having a shared RO resource with the CBRA configuration in the first version is configured, wherein the number of preambles in the CBRA configuration having the shared RO resource comprises at least one of: a number of preambles of a 4-step CBRA configuration in the first version (sections 2.3.1, 2.3.2); and determining the target preamble set in the target shared RO resource according to the number of preambles in the CBRA configuration (sections 2.3.1, 2.3.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei, teach wherein determining the target preamble set comprises: determining that, in the CBRA configuration in a first version, a number of preambles of a CBRA configuration having a shared RO resource with the CBRA configuration in the first version is configured, wherein the number of preambles in the CBRA configuration having the shared RO resource comprises at least one of: a number of preambles of a 4-step CBRA configuration in the first version; and determining the target preamble set in the target shared RO resource according to the number of preambles in the CBRA configuration, into the teachings of Svedman, in order to configure one or more separate RA configuration(s) for Rel-17 features and feature combinations for both 4-step RA and 2-step RA (Huawei, page 9).
With respect to claim 47, this claim recites the method of claim 37, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 49, this claim recites the method of claim 40, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 50, this claim recites the method of claim 41, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 51, this claim recites the method of claim 42, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 52, this claim recites the method of claim 43, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20230199856 A1; “GUO”, ([0133])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469