DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, and 17-24 are pending and under consideration.
Preliminary Amendments
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 06/06/2024 is acknowledged. The specification was amended to (a) include a cross-reference to related application and incorporation by reference of material submitted electronically, and (b) correct a typographical error in [0020]. The claims were amended to (c) remove multiple claim dependencies, (d) amend claim 12, and (e) add claims 17-24.
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 12/19/2024 is acknowledged. The specification was amended to (f) update the size, file name, and date of the SEQ listing. The sequencing listing was amended to address the CRFD mailed 06/07/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that this application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/036699 filed 09/30/2022 and claims priority based on foreign application filed as JP2021-198890 on 12/07/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the information disclosure statement(s) on 06/07/2024 and 12/10/2025 are acknowledged. The signed and initialed PTO-1449 form(s) has/have been mailed with this action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Tables are illegible in Fig. 8 (a possible remedy could be to lessen or remove the shading);
Cannot tell the difference in the conditions for either “body weight” or “ALT” graph in Fig. 9;
Cannot tell the difference in the conditions for either “Remaining mRNA” (all three graphs) or “Gene expression” graph in Fig. 15;
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Figure 14 has panels “a” through “d”;
Figure 16 has panel “a” through “e”.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c).
See top of page 45, sequences corresponding to primers;
See page 48, lines 14-16, sequences corresponding to primers;
See top of page 53, sequences corresponding to primers;
Top sequence listed in table 8 on page 59;
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
Trademarks and/or Tradenames
The use of the following terms, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Lipofectin [0069];
Lipofectamine [0069];
Transfectam [0069];
Quickgene [0115], [0151];
Qubit [0152];
NovaSeq [0152];
Bioanalyzer [0152];
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: PNA is an acronym for “Peptide Nucleic Acid”, it would be remedial to amend the claim to recite “Peptide Nucleic Acid (PNA)” prior to introducing the acronym.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1 and 12
The recitation of “has nuclease resistance across its full length” is being interpreted in
light of the specification structurally as comprising three or fewer consecutive natural nucleotides. This interpretation is from [0040] of the instant specification, “the phrase "has nuclease resistance across the full length" may be interpreted as meaning "does not comprise a region with 4 or more consecutive natural nucleotides".
The recitation of “sequence complementary” is being interpreted in light of the
specification as having at least 80% of higher identity, to a sequence that is completely complementary to the target sequence. This is in light of para [0031] of the instant specification which recites “The term "complementary sequence" is therefore used in the sense which includes not only sequences that are completely complementary (hybridizing without mismatches) to the sequence of interest (such as the complementary sequence in the complementary strand or the sequence of the target region in target RNA), but also sequences containing one or more (such as 2, 3, 4, 5 or more) mismatches, so long as they can hybridize to the target sequence under stringent conditions or under physiological conditions of mammalian cells.”
Toehold is being interpreted as a strand that is “complementary to part of the target RNA at the 5'-end and/or 3'-end of the antisense strand”, (instant specification at [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – indefiniteness
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “having . . . reduced toxicity” in claim(s) 1, 12 and 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reduced toxicity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The specification defines “reduced toxicity” as meaning that the toxicity exhibited when a nucleic acid of interest (the nucleic acid selected in step (I)) is administered to cells or an organism is reduced or eliminated when the antisense oligonucleotide complex processed by the toxicity lowering method of the invention has been administered under the same conditions (para [0101]). However, the specification does not provide a baseline or degree of “toxicity” such that one of skill would ascertain the degree of “reduction”.
Accordingly, claim(s) 2-10 and 17-24 are rejected for being dependent upon the claims 1 and 12, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12-13, 17-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al (WO 2023/230465 A1; published November 30th, 2023; Filing date May 23rd, 2023).
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Of note: regarding claim 1 and 12, the recitation of “has nuclease resistance across its full length” is being interpreted as “does not comprise a region with 4 or more consecutive natural nucleotides”; the recitation of “sequence complementary” is being interpreted as having at least 80% of higher identity, to a sequence that is completely complementary to the target sequence; and “toehold” is being interpreted as a strand that is complementary to part of the target RNA at the 5'-end and/or 3'-end of the antisense strand.
Regarding claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8, Han et al teaches an antisense oligonucleotide complex which comprises an antisense oligonucleotide and a complementary strand comprising a sequence complementary to the antisense oligonucleotide; a 8 nucleotide toehold on the antisense sequence, nuclease resistance across its full length via full non-natural modifications; a sense strand that is 60% the length of the antisense strand; and a functional group, i.e., a delivery ligand, bound to the complementary strand (see annotations of figure 3 example 1 below left).
Regarding claim 9, Han et al teaches a variation wherein the functional (i.e., palmitic acid) group is attached to the antisense strand with the toehold in Figure 2 (see above right).
Regarding claim(s) 12, 17-18, and 21-23, Han et al teaches “Disclosed herein also includes a method of treating a disease or a condition. The method comprises administering the stem-loop oligonucleotide disclosed herein to a subject in need thereof. The single- stranded overhang binds to a target nucleic acid to cause displacement of the first region from the second region and binding of the first region to the target nucleic acid, thereby modulating the activity of the target nucleic acid or protein expression from the target nucleic acid in the subject to treat the disease or condition.”, (para [0055]).
Wherein the stem loop oligonucleotide is an antisense oligonucleotide complex which comprises an antisense oligonucleotide and a complementary strand comprising a sequence complementary to the antisense oligonucleotide; a 8 nucleotide toehold on the antisense sequence, nuclease resistance across its full length via non-natural modification; a sense strand that is 60% the length of the antisense strand; and a functional group, i.e., a delivery ligand, bound to the complementary strand (see annotations of figure 3 example 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Han et al teaches, “Annealing was carried out to demonstrate that duplex ASO constructs can be readily assembled from the adapter strands and PMOs such as the FDA approved PMO drugs. Briefly, stock solutions were prepared for each oligos (10-20pM) in water. 1 pM solution for individual oligos were then prepared in water. Duplex (Ad-5P/ASO-M, Ad-3P/ASO-M & Target/ASO-M) were made at 1 uM for each component in 1XPBS. AD/ASO-M duplex were prepared under the following thermal profile: 95/90/80/70/65/60/55/50/45/40/35/30/25 (10 min)/4 °C O.N. 0.1 degree/S with ramp speed at 5 degree/50 S for a duration of 3 min at each step. Adapter strands and PMOs were annealed on thermocycler for about 40 mins from 95 °C to 25 °C and then analyzed on 20% TBE gel. As shown in FIG. 25, the Casimersen adapter strands and Casimersen PMOs were properly assembled to form duplex ASO constructs.”, (para [0271]).
Wherein Table 12 on page 76 teaches a 5’ toehold on the antisense stand.
Accordingly, claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12-13, 17-18, and 21-23 are anticipated by Han et al.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 12-13, 17-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (Conditional Antisense Oligonucleotides Triggered by miRNA, ACS Chem Bio, vol 16, pages 2255-2267, published October 19th, 2021).
Of note: regarding claim 1 and 12, the recitation of “has nuclease resistance across its full length” is being interpreted as “does not comprise a region with 4 or more consecutive natural nucleotides”; the recitation of “sequence complementary” is being interpreted as having at least 80% of higher identity, to a sequence that is completely complementary to the target sequence; and “toehold” is being interpreted as a strand that is complementary to part of the target RNA at the 5'-end and/or 3'-end of the antisense strand.
Regarding claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8, Zhang et al teaches antisense oligonucleotide complexes with a 7 to 10 nucleotide toe hold, nuclease resistance across the whole complementary strand, wherein all complementary strand nucleotides are non-natural nucleotides; melting temperatures between 46.5°C and 72.6°C; wherein the complementary strand is 31 nucleotides and the antisense is 35 nucleotides, making the sense strand 88.7% of the length; and wherein the antisense strand has a quencher moiety (reading on functional) and the sense strand has a Cy5 moiety (see figure 4a below).
Regarding claim(s) 12, 17-18, and 21-23, Zhang et al teaches using the duplexes taught in Figure 4A for decreasing HIF1alpha mRNA in Figure 4B in Hela cells (see below).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al teaches, “To investigate the effect of chemical modification, bulge size, and toehold length on the efficacy of locking strands in terms of spontaneous leakage of HIF1α knockdown activity, we created a library of 12 conditional EZN2968s by annealing pM12-EZN or pM15-EZN with six different locking strands (B0, B3, B5, B0*, B3*, and B5*) at a 1:1 ratio in PBS.”, (p. 2261, col 2, para 2). Further, Zhang teaches that the oligonucleotides were prepared “All oligonucleotides (Tables S1–S3) and primers for quantitative real-time polymerase chain reaction (RT-qPCR) (Table S4) were custom synthesized by Integrated DNA Technologies.”, (p. 2256, col 1, para 4).
Accordingly, claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 12-13, 17-18, and 21-23 are anticipated by Zhang et al.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-13, and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokota et al (US 2014/0302603 A1; published October 9th, 2014; cited on IDS filed 06/7/2024).
Of note: regarding claim 1 and 12, the recitation of “has nuclease resistance across its full length” is being interpreted as “does not comprise a region with 4 or more consecutive natural nucleotides”; the recitation of “sequence complementary” is being interpreted as having at least 80% of higher identity, to a sequence that is completely complementary to the target sequence; and “toehold” is being interpreted as a strand that is complementary to part of the target RNA at the 5'-end and/or 3'-end of the antisense strand.
Regarding claim 1-7 and 10,Yokota et al teaches using ASO/complementary PNA (cPNA) as a 10-mer (a 2 nt toe-hold on the antisense strand; wherein the sense strand is 83.3% of the antisense strand length), or 8-mer (a 4 nucleotide toe-hold on the antisense strand; wherein the sense strand is 66.7% of the antisense strand length) for targeting mApoB mRNA (see Example 9, para [0228] to [0233]; and image below).
Yokota et al further teaches, “In addition, the inventors also found that the antisense effect of a LNA/DNA gapmer produced by annealing with a complementary strand comprising PNA (peptide nucleic acid) instead of RNA is at least similar to or better than that of a single-stranded LNA/DNA gapmer, and furthermore the PNA provides a way to indirectly associate the ASO with a peptide, protein, or antibody that can direct delivery of the ASO to a particular site.”, (para [0014]).
Regarding claim 8, ‘Yokota et al teaches, “That is, it is contemplated that a PNA strand can be used as the complementary strand, instead of RNA, as illustrated in FIG. 3B. This arrangement also provides an embodiment of a double-stranded nucleic acid complex in which a functional moiety such as a targeting peptide is not directly bound to the antisense strand (e.g., LNA/DNA gapmer) but is indirectly associated with it.”, (see para [0229]).
Regarding claim(s) 12, 17-22, and 24 Yokota et al teaches using ASO/complementary PNA (cPNA) as a 10-mer (a 2 nt toe-hold on the antisense strand; wherein the sense strand is 83.3% of the antisense strand length), or 8-mer (a 4 nucleotide toe-hold on the antisense strand; wherein the sense strand is 66.7% of the antisense strand length) for knocking down mApoB mRNA levels (see image below).
More specifically, “Subsequently, ASO 12-mer (ss-ASO), a double-stranded nucleic acid comprising ASO 12-mer and cPNA 12-mer (ASO/cPNA 12-mer), a double-stranded nucleic acid comprising ASO 12-mer and cPNA 10-mer (ASO/cPNA 10-mer), or a double-stranded nucleic acid comprising ASO 12-mer and cPNA 8-mer (ASO/cPNA 8-mer) were intravenously injected to a mouse through the tail vein in an amount of 0.75 mg/kg. Furthermore, a mouse to which PBS only was administered was also prepared as a control. Three days after the intravenous injection, the mice were perfused with PBS, and then the livers were extracted. Subsequently, extraction of mRNA, synthesis of cDNA, and quantitative RT-PCR were carried out by the same methods as the methods described in Comparative Example 1, the amount of expression of mApoB/amount of expression of mGAPDH (internal standard gene) was calculated, and a comparison was made between the group administered with PBS only (PBS only) and the groups administered with nucleic acids. The results thus obtained are presented in FIG. 23.”, (para [0233].
Regarding claim 23, Yokota et al recites, “That is, it is contemplated that a PNA strand can be used as the complementary strand, instead of RNA, as illustrated in FIG. 3B. This arrangement also provides an embodiment of a double-stranded nucleic acid complex in which a functional moiety such as a targeting peptide is not directly bound to the antisense strand (e.g., LNA/DNA gapmer) but is indirectly associated with it.”, (see para [0229]).
Regarding claim 13, Yokota et al recites that the nucleic acids of the invention are prepared by the following: “Regarding the LNA/DNA gapmer, a product produced by commissioning Gene Design, Inc. was used. Regarding the complementary strand, a product produced by commissioning Fasmac Co., Ltd. was used.”, (para [0231]). Furthermore, “The LNA/DNA gapmer and each of the complementary strands were mixed in equimolar amounts, and the mixture as heated at 95.degree. C. for 5 minutes. Subsequently, the mixture was left to stand at a constant temperature of 37.degree. C. for one hour to anneal the strands. Also, if the strands were not to be used immediately, the strands were stored at 4.degree. C. thereafter.”, (para [0232]).
Accordingly, claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-13, and 17-24 are anticipated by Yokota et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota et al (supra) as applied to claim 1-8, 10, 12-13, and 17-24 above, and further in view of ‘614 (US 2016/0145614 A1, published May 26th, 2016).
Yokota et al does not teach adding a functional moiety to the antisense strand.
Regarding claim 9, ‘614 teaches in Figure 4 A-F adding Tocopherol to the antisense strand that contains a toehold, wherein the complementary strand has no naturally occurring nucleotides, and the complementary strand does not have a functional moiety on it (see image below).
Further, ‘614 teaches, “The moiety having a “targeted delivery function” may be, for example, a lipid, from the viewpoint of being capable of delivering the double-stranded agent of certain embodiments to the liver or the like with high specificity and high efficiency. Examples of such a lipid include lipids such as cholesterol and fatty acids (for example, vitamin E (tocopherols, tocotrienols), vitamin A, and vitamin D); lipid-soluble vitamins such as vitamin K (for example, acylcarnitine); intermediate metabolites such as acyl-CoA; glycolipids, glycerides, and derivatives thereof. However, among these, from the viewpoint of having higher safety, in certain embodiments, cholesterol and vitamin E (tocopherols and tocotrienols) are used.”, (para [0163]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ASO/cPNA 10mer of Yokota et al, with the teachings of ‘614, i.e., adding tocopherol to the antisense stand, to yield the predictable results of a functional molecule only bound to the antisense stand. One of skill in the art would be motivated to do so because the ASO/cPNA of Yokota is being utilized for intravenous injection to target ApoB mRNA and ‘614 teaches that by adding a functional moiety to the ASO, it aids in delivering the nucleic acid agent to the liver with high specificity and high efficiency. Moreover, ‘614 teaches that tocopherol is utilized because of its higher safety. Accordingly, one of skill in the art could look to the disclosure of Yokota et al and ‘614, and yield the claimed invention with a high likelihood of success by modifying the ASO/cPNA 10mer of Yokota et al with the tocopherol on the antisense stand as taught by ‘614 for higher liver specificity, efficiency, and safety.
Accordingly, claim 9 is unpatentable over Yokota et al in view of ‘614.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/L.M.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637