DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the preliminary amendment dated 12/2/2024, claim 6 is amended and claims 9-12 are newly added.
Claims 1-9 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application of PCT/IN2022/050932, filed on 10/19/2022. The instant application claims foreign priority to IN 202111018036 filed on 10/19/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 6/6/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 6/6/2024 and 10/9/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112—Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 5, 8, 11 and 12 are rejected for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the compound cangrelor, then recite a cangrelor concentration. However, the claims are directed to cangrelor itself, not cangrelor as part of a composition. In the absence of other components making up a composition, a compound itself cannot have a concentration because a concentration by definition is a ratio of a part to a whole. Without knowing what the whole is, one cannot meaningfully express the concentration of cangrelor, as the part of said whole. Claims 11 and 12 are indefinite by depending on claims 4 and 5.
Claim 8 provides for the use of a compound, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diacovo et al. (US 2020/0054662A1, PTO-892).
Diacovo et al. discloses a topical composition comprising cangrelor and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. (¶0078, 0105)
With respect to claim limitations regarding antifungal properties or targets, it is noted that the combined prior art does not teach that the compound/composition can be used in the manner instantly claimed. However, the cited recitations are considered an “intended use” of the claimed composition. The “intended use” of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such disclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noe et al. (US 8,552,042; 2013, PTO-892), in view of Gretler et al. (US 2009/0048216A1, PTO-892).
Noe et al. discloses a method for treating a Candida fungal infection by administering a topical composition comprising a cell adhesion inhibitor selected from among ilaprost, cicaprost, ticlopidine and clopidogrel. (Claims 1, 6) Noe does not teach administering cangrelor.
Gretler et al. teaches that cangrelor, ticlopidine and clopidogrel are all in the same class of inhibitors, specifically P2Y12 receptor antagonists. (¶0070)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute either ticlopidine and clopidogrel with cangrelor, in the method of Noe, thereby arriving at the instant invention. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). Cangrelor, ticlopidine and clopidogrel are all functionally equivalent P2Y12 receptor antagonists, thus one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect any one of these compounds to behave similarly in the method of Noe.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693