Detailed Action
Status of Claims
In response to the communication filed 01/27/2026. Claims 1-23 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799) in view of Richards (US Pub No 20160290063) and Mallawany (US Pub No 20240280002)
Grecci discloses in claim 13. A method, comprising:
assembling an electric completion system (Grecci Abstract, electric completion system) having all fluid flows into and out of the electric completion system controlled entirely by electrically powered devices (Grecci Abstract Fluid flow in the completion system controlled by electronic flow control nodes [0034]-[0035] electrically powered devices such as control module Fig 1; 112 managing the flow from the wellbore into/out of the completion system and including Flow control nodes 120, 122, 124), the electrically powered devices including a plurality of electric flow control valves (Grecci Abstract Fluid flow in the completion system controlled by electronic flow control nodes [0034]-[0035] electronic flow control nodes managing the flow from the wellbore into/out of the completion system controlled by electrical harvesting equipment), wherein the electric completion system comprises a lower completion coupled with an upper completion (Grecci Fig 1; 82 lower completion assembly connected to upper completion assembly 104 see [0031]) below a production packer (Grecci Fig 1; 106) of the upper completion;
deploying the electric completion system in a borehole (Grecci Abstract Fig 1; Electric Completion system deployed in a wellbore);
utilizing a wireless system of the upper completion to provide communication of data between the electric completion system and a surface facility (Grecci [0022] [0067] wireless transmitter positioned with the upper completion system used to communicate from the surface to the completion system):
utilizing an electric line system (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed in the completion system) deployed along the upper completion (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed along the upper completion system) and along the lower completion (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed along at least a portion of the lower completion system) to provide electric power to the electrically powered devices (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed along at least a portion of the completion system to control the upper completion assembly).
Grecci discloses a wellbore system with an upper and lower connection and control lines but does not disclose the structure of the connections.
However, Richards teaches: a coupling system that includes an inductive coupler (Richards [0042] control line connection via inductive coupling [0175] Fig 9b element 920 contains an inductive connection between 1806/1802 shown in fig 18b) and a hydraulic wet mate connection (Richards Fig 9b; 936 [0105] wet mate connection) in order to connect tubing string and control line together.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control lines of Grecci to add the inductive and hydraulic wet mate connections as taught by Richards for the purpose of connecting tubing string sections and control lines together while making and breaking connections.
Grecci discloses a wired system to communicate with the surface and a wireless relay to communicate with the lower completion, however, Grecci does not disclose use of a wireless transmitter positioned above the production packer.
However, Mallawany discloses a wireless system: disposed above the production packer (Mallawany [0021] Fig 1; Telemetry unit 34 can communicate with the surface wirelessly or wired and is positioned above production packer 26)
As both Grecci et al. and Mallawany both disclose a communication system to a downhole location, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the wired connection of Grecci et al for the wireless telemetry unit of Mallwany as Mallawany discloses they are equivalent and interchangeable (Mallawany [0021] the telemetry device may communicate along one or more of the control lines routed along the completion string or wirelessly) and to achieve the predictable result of maintaining communication between the downhole equipment and the surface via wireless communication.
Grecci et al discloses in claim 14. The method as recited in claim 13, further comprising providing electric power to the electric line system from a downhole source (Grecci Fig 2; 210 Power harvesting Mechanism).
Grecci et al discloses in claim 15. The method as recited in claim 13, further comprising obtaining sensor data along a plurality of well zones (Grecci Fig 1; 120, 122, 124 each denote a well zone) via sensors disposed along the electric completion system (Grecci Fig 2; 220 [0035] sensor allows conditions to be monitored around each flow control node 200).
Grecci et al discloses in claim 16. The method as recited in claim 15, further comprising isolating the well zones of the plurality of well zones via isolation packers (Grecci Fig 9a-c; 634a and b isolation packers) disposed along the electric completion system (Grecci [0052] that one of ordinary skill in the art would know sealing mechanisms 634 can be placed anywhere along the string 612 for zonal sealing).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799) in view of Richards (US Pub No 20160290063)
Grecci discloses in claim 17. A system for use in a borehole, comprising:
a well system (Grecci Fig 1; Well system) utilizing at least one electric power source (Grecci Fig 2; 210 Power harvesting Mechanism) to provide power for actuating (Grecci Fig 2; 214 electric actuator) each of a plurality of electronically controlled devices (Grecci Fig 1; 120, 122, 124 shown in further detail in Fig 2; 200) (Grecci [0035] Electric actuator, 214, powered by power harvesting mechanism, 210, controls electronic flow control node), the well system comprising:
an electric completion system located in a wellbore (Grecci see abstract and Fig 1; electric completion system deployed in a wellbore), the electric completion system having:
a lower completion coupled with an upper completion (Grecci Fig 1; 82 lower completion assembly connected to upper completion assembly 104 see [0031]); a plurality of electric valves (Grecci Fig 1; 120, 122, 124 [0034]-[0035] multiple electronic flow control nodes) positioned to control inflow of fluid from the wellbore and outflow of fluid to the wellbore (Grecci [0035] flow control nodes control inflow and outflow of the fluid from the well along the well path);
a plurality of pressure and temperature sensors (Grecci Fig 2; 220 [0035] sensors (Pressure and temperature) allows conditions to be monitored around each flow control node 200) disposed along the electric completion system;
and a wireless system located along the electric completion system to provide wireless transmission of at least one of communication data and power with respect to at least one of the plurality of pressure and temperature sensors or the plurality of electric valves (Grecci [0034] wireless communication with the flow control nodes 120, 122, 124 communicated via wireless transmitter shown in fig 2; 218 and disclosed further in [0035] for wireless communication of operation and sensor data at the flow control nodes).
Grecci discloses a wellbore system with an upper and lower connection and control lines but does not disclose the structure of the connections.
However, Richards teaches: a coupling system that includes an inductive coupler (Richards [0042] control line connection via inductive coupling [0175] Fig 9b element 920 contains an inductive connection between 1806/1802 shown in fig 18b) and a hydraulic wet mate connection, (Richards Fig 9b; 936 [0105] wet mate connection) wherein a portion of the inductive coupler is mounted to a running tool (Richards Fig 9b; 924 [0099] inductive coupler run on a running tool with an isolation packer used in upper completion positioning) extending through a packer (Richards Fig 9b; 926 [0099] inductive coupler run on a running tool with an isolation packer used in upper completion positioning).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control lines of Grecci to add the inductive and hydraulic wet mate connections as taught by Richards for the purpose of connecting tubing string sections and control lines together while making and breaking connections.
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 18. The system as recited in claim 17, the lower completion being substantially disposed within a horizontal section of the wellbore (Grecci Fig 1; lower completion is substantially horizontal in the wellbore).
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 19. The system as recited in claim 17, further comprising an electric line system (Grecci Fig 1; 116 electric line system [0035] electric line system is disposed along a portion of the electric completion system that enables wireless communication with electronic flow control nodes) disposed along at least a portion of the electric completion system to carry both communication data and power (Grecci Fig 1; 116 electric line system [0035] electric line system is disposed along a portion of the electric completion system that enables wireless communication with electronic flow control nodes).
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 20. The system as recited in claim 18, wherein the lower completion comprises a plurality of isolation packers (Grecci Fig 9a-c; 634a and b isolation packers) positioned along the lower completion to isolate a plurality of corresponding well zones. (Grecci [0052] that one of ordinary skill in the art would know sealing mechanisms 634 can be placed anywhere along the string 612 for zonal sealing).
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 21. The system as recited in claim 17, wherein the lower completion is coupled with an upper completion (Grecci Fig 1; 82 lower completion assembly connected to upper completion assembly 104 see [0031]) below a production packer (Grecci Fig 1; 106)of the upper completion.
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 22. The system as recited in claim 21, wherein the plurality of electric valves is disposed in the lower completion (Grecci Fig 1; 120, 122, 124 [0032] flow control nodes along the lower completion further details shown in Fig 9a; 220 valves are positioned along the lower completion).
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 23. The system as recited in claim 22, further comprising an electric line system (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed in the completion system) disposed along the upper completion (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed along the upper completion system) and along the lower completion to the plurality of electric valves (Grecci Fig 1; 116 [0034] electric line system deployed along at least a portion of the lower completion system).
Alternatively Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799), Richards (US Pub No 20160290063), Mallawany (US Pub No 20240280002) in further view of Coffin (US Pub No 20180266219).
Grecci et al. discloses in claim 16. The method as recited in claim 15, further comprising isolating the flow control nodes via isolation packers (Grecci Fig 9a-c 634 isolation packers) disposed along the electric completion system. Grecci does not specifically describe using the system in various well isolated wellzones along the wellbore but strongly suggests in [0052] that one of ordinary skill in the art would know sealing mechanisms 634 can be placed anywhere along the string 612 for zonal sealing.
However, Coffin teaches a completion system comprised of isolation packers and flow control components that divide the wellbore into a plurality of: well zones of the plurality of well zones (Coffin Fig 1; isolation packers 127 dividing the wellbore into multiple zones) for the purpose of isolating sections of the wellbore.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grecci to include isolate a plurality of wellzones as taught by Coffin for the purpose of isolating adjacent inflow and outflow control devices (Coffin [0027])
Alternatively Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799), Richards (US Pub No 20160290063) in further view of Coffin (US Pub No 20180266219).
Grecci in view of Richards discloses in claim 20. The system as recited in claim 18, wherein the lower completion comprises a plurality of isolation packers (Grecci Fig 9a-c 634a and b isolation packers) positioned along the lower completion to isolate a plurality of flow control nodes. Grecci does not specifically describe using the system in various well isolated wellzones along the wellbore but strongly suggests in [0052] that one of ordinary skill in the art would know sealing mechanisms 634 can be placed anywhere along the string 612 for zonal sealing.
However, Coffin teaches a completion system comprised of isolation packers and flow control components that divide the wellbore into a plurality of: corresponding well zones (Coffin Fig 1; isolation packers 127 dividing the wellbore into multiple zones) for the purpose of isolating sections of the wellbore.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grecci to include isolate a plurality of wellzones as taught by Coffin for the purpose of isolating adjacent inflow and outflow control devices (Coffin [0027])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Electric Completion Systems are well known in the art of wellbore exploration and operations. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799). This art, alone or in combination, discloses various structures related to controlling fluid flow in a completion string utilizing various recited features including but not limited to, such as upper and lower completions, wireless system of communication, production packer, isolation packer, electronic flow control valves, electric line systems, and electric subsurface safety valves. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically combined structure and steps regarding the specific positional relationships and operations between each recited structure in operation such as, the lower completion and upper completion having an electric line system that deploys along the upper completion and lower completion to the electric flow control valves. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known or easily conceived in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Furthermore, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner could find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable, for the same reasons as claim 1-13 above, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see Pg 6-7, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to claims 1-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see 8, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13-16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799), Richards (US Pub No 20160290063), Mallawany (US Pub No 20240280002).
In regards to independent claim 13 the language “utilizing an electric line system deployed along the upper completion and along the lower completion to provide electric power to the electronically powered devices” is a broader limitation than present in claim 1. Specifically Electronically powered devices includes the electric flow devices but further includes any other electronic devices down hole. For this reason Claim 13 is rejected in view of Grecci (US Pub No 20210355799), Richards (US Pub No 20160290063), Mallawany (US Pub No 20240280002).
Examiners note: Examiner suggests language similar to claim 1 and 23 as disclosed above as allowable.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 1/27/2026, regarding claims 17-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Richards shows in 9a-b a running tool, to make and set a connection downhole, the running tool is the string comprising hanger 924 and packer 926 in fig 9a continuing through to upper control line connect 936. Examiners position is that Applicants liner hanger (Fig 9; 110) is positioned similarly to liner hanger of Richards (Fig 9a; 924) as the liner hanger of Richards is “run-in” in the same manner to make the wet-mate connection with Richards connector (Fig 9b; 936). Therefore, Examiners does not find the arguments persuasive and maintains the rejection of independent claim 17.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672