DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 114034264 A; see machine translation; hereinafter Liu)
With regards to claim 1, Liu discloses a tire tread detection device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a main body (left assembly I and right assembly II; [n0054]), mounted to a fixed surface (floor surface where left assembly I and right assembly II are placed onto), wherein the main body (I, II) is provided with a cavity (space within I and II having the components shown in FIG. 2-4), a first opening (opening on top surface on right side being covered by 22 as in FIG. 3), a second opening (opening on top surface on the left side as in FIG. 3), upper covers (upper covers of 1-6; FIG. 1), and lower covers (lower covers of 1-6; FIG. 1); one of the upper covers (upper covers of 1-3 or 4-6) and one of the lower covers (lower covers of 1-3 or 4-6) are interlocked to form one of the two cavities (space within 1-3 or 4-6), the second opening (opening on top surface on the left side as in FIG. 3) and the first opening (opening on top surface on right side being covered by 22 as in FIG. 3) are spaced along a first direction (diagonally along features 1-3) and are respectively in communication with the cavity ([n0067]; FIG. 1 and 3-4);
a detection assembly (including 21), arranged inside the cavity (FIG. 3-4), wherein the detection assembly (including 21) comprises a first camera module (213) and a laser module (211; [n0085]); the first camera module (213) is configured to capture a tire tread area of a tire to be measured through the first opening to obtain a tire tread image, and a laser line of the laser module (211) passes through the second opening to reach the tire tread area of the tire to be measured to obtain depth data of the tire tread ([n0084-n0088]);
a control assembly (6), wherein the first camera module (20) and the laser module (21) are electrically connected to the control assembly ([n0087-n0089]), respectively; and
a license plate recognition assembly (license plate information online acquisition device III), wherein an end of the license plate recognition assembly (III) is connected to one of the lower covers (left assembly I lower covers of 2-3; FIG. 1), and an other end of the license plate recognition assembly (III) is connected to another one of the lower covers (right assembly II lower covers of 5-6; FIG. 1); the license plate recognition assembly (III) comprises a second camera module (7; [n0065]) configured to identify and record a license plate of the vehicle corresponding to the tire to be measured ([n0092-n0094]); and the second camera module (7) is electrically connected to the control assembly ([n0094-n0095]);
wherein the first direction (diagonal direction along 1-3 in FIG. 1) is a forward direction of the tire to be measured corresponding to the vehicle ([n0083]).
With regards to claim 2, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 1, wherein the tire tread detection device further comprises a reflective plate (212) located within the cavity (FIG. 3-4), the reflective plate (212) is configured to reflect the laser line emitted by the laser module (211) to illuminate the tire tread area of the tire to be measured ([n0085]).
With regards to claim 3, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 2, wherein the reflective plate (212) is located on a side of the laser module (211) away from or adjacent to the first camera module (213; FIG. 4).
With regards to claim 4, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 3, wherein two detection assemblies (left assembly I and right assembly II) are provided, and two cavities (space within I and II; FIG. 1) are provided correspondingly; the two detection assemblies (left assembly I and right assembly II) and the two cavities (space within I and II; FIG. 1) are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, and the two cavities (10) are symmetrically arranged relative to a vertical line of the first direction (FIG. 1).
With regards to claim 7, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 1, wherein a lens of the second camera module (7) is oriented in an opposite direction of the first direction (feature 7 is directed in the opposite direction compared to the diagonal direction along features 1-3 in FIG. 1) and is located in a spatial area above a horizontal plane (7 is located above the horizontal plane in which assemblies I-III are mounted upon).
With regards to claim 8, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 7, wherein the tire tread detection device comprises triggering mechanisms (11-14), and each of the triggering mechanisms (11-14) comprises a switch module (11) located within one of the cavities (FIG. 2), and the main body is provided with a fifth opening (opening in 15; FIG. 2) in communication with the one of the cavities (FIG. 2); the fifth opening (opening in 15; FIG. 2), the first opening (left opening in 2 as in FIG. 1), and the second opening (right opening in 2 as in FIG. 1) are arranged in intervals along the first direction, and a triggering end of the switch module (11) extends out of the fifth opening (FIG. 1-2; [n0058-n0059]).
With regards to claim 9, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 8, wherein the tire tread detection device further comprises slope frames (slope of 1, 3, 4, and 6; FIG. 1), two ends of each of the lower covers is respectively provided with one slope frame (FIG. 1), and a cross-sectional shape of a structure formed by two slope frames and the main body is an isosceles trapezoid (see left and right assemblies I and II; FIG. 1).
With regards to claim 10, Liu discloses a tire tread detection system, comprising a tire tread detection device (FIG. 1); wherein the ire tread detection device comprises:
a main body (left assembly I and right assembly II; [n0054]), mounted to a fixed surface (floor surface where left assembly I and right assembly II are placed onto), wherein the main body (I, II) is provided with a cavity (space within I and II having the components shown in FIG. 2-4), a first opening (opening on top surface on right side being covered by 22 as in FIG. 3), a second opening (opening on top surface on the left side as in FIG. 3), upper covers (upper covers of 1-6; FIG. 1), and lower covers (lower covers of 1-6; FIG. 1); one of the upper covers (upper covers of 1-3 or 4-6) and one of the lower covers (lower covers of 1-3 or 4-6) are interlocked to form one of the two cavities (space within 1-3 or 4-6), the second opening (opening on top surface on the left side as in FIG. 3) and the first opening (opening on top surface on right side being covered by 22 as in FIG. 3) are spaced along a first direction (diagonally along features 1-3) and are respectively in communication with the cavity ([n0067]; FIG. 1 and 3-4);
a detection assembly (including 21), arranged inside the cavity (FIG. 3-4), wherein the detection assembly (including 21) comprises a first camera module (213) and a laser module (211; [n0085]); the first camera module (213) is configured to capture a tire tread area of a tire to be measured through the first opening to obtain a tire tread image, and a laser line of the laser module (211) passes through the second opening to reach the tire tread area of the tire to be measured to obtain depth data of the tire tread ([n0084-n0088]);
a control assembly (6), wherein the first camera module (20) and the laser module (21) are electrically connected to the control assembly ([n0087-n0089]), respectively; and
a license plate recognition assembly (license plate information online acquisition device III), wherein an end of the license plate recognition assembly (III) is connected to one of the lower covers (left assembly I lower covers of 2-3; FIG. 1), and an other end of the license plate recognition assembly (III) is connected to another one of the lower covers (right assembly II lower covers of 5-6; FIG. 1); the license plate recognition assembly (III) comprises a second camera module (7; [n0065]) configured to identify and record a license plate of the vehicle corresponding to the tire to be measured ([n0092-n0094]); and the second camera module (7) is electrically connected to the control assembly ([n0094-n0095]);
wherein the first direction (diagonal direction along 1-3 in FIG. 1) is a forward direction of the tire to be measured corresponding to the vehicle ([n0083]); and
wherein the tire detection system comprises a display terminal electrically connected to the control assembly ([n0027], “host computer” inherently includes a display terminal so that the data can be given to the owner, see also [n0094]).
With regards to claim 11, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 10, wherein the tire tread detection device further comprises a reflective plate (212) located within the cavity (FIG. 3-4), the reflective plate (212) is configured to reflect the laser line emitted by the laser module (211) to illuminate the tire tread area of the tire to be measured ([n0085]).
With regards to claim 12, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 10, wherein the reflective plate (212) is located on a side of the laser module (211) away from or adjacent to the first camera module (213; FIG. 4).
With regards to claim 13, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 12, wherein two detection assemblies (left assembly I and right assembly II) are provided, and two cavities (space within I and II; FIG. 1) are provided correspondingly; the two detection assemblies (left assembly I and right assembly II) and the two cavities (space within I and II; FIG. 1) are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, and the two cavities (10) are symmetrically arranged relative to a vertical line of the first direction (FIG. 1).
With regards to claim 16, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 10, wherein a lens of the second camera module (7) is oriented in an opposite direction of the first direction (feature 7 is directed in the opposite direction compared to the diagonal direction along features 1-3 in FIG. 1) and is located in a spatial area above a horizontal plane (7 is located above the horizontal plane in which assemblies I-III are mounted upon).
With regards to claim 17, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 16, wherein the tire tread detection device comprises triggering mechanisms (11-14), and each of the triggering mechanisms (11-14) comprises a switch module (11) located within one of the cavities (FIG. 2), and the main body is provided with a fifth opening (opening in 15; FIG. 2) in communication with the one of the cavities (FIG. 2); the fifth opening (opening in 15; FIG. 2), the first opening (left opening in 2 as in FIG. 1), and the second opening (right opening in 2 as in FIG. 1) are arranged in intervals along the first direction, and a triggering end of the switch module (11) extends out of the fifth opening (FIG. 1-2; [n0058-n0059]).
With regards to claim 18, Liu discloses the tire tread detection device according to claim 17, wherein the tire tread detection device further comprises slope frames (slope of 1, 3, 4, and 6; FIG. 1), two ends of each of the lower covers is respectively provided with one slope frame (FIG. 1), and a cross-sectional shape of a structure formed by two slope frames and the main body is an isosceles trapezoid (see left and right assemblies I and II; FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114034264 A; see machine translation; hereinafter Liu) in view of Carroll et al. (US Patent 9,046,445; Third-Party IDS Submission Dated 07/28/2025 Cite No. 1; hereinafter Carroll).
With regards to claims 5 and 14, Liu teaches the tire tread detection device according to claims 4 and 13, respectively. However, Liu is silent regarding wherein the main body comprises first brackets (110) and second brackets (111); each of the upper covers (11) is provided with the first opening (101) and the second opening (102), the first brackets (110) and the second brackets (111) are mounted inside the two cavities (10), each of the first brackets (110) is provided with a first transparent window (112) arranged corresponding to the first opening (101) of each of the upper covers (11), and each of the second brackets (111) is provided with a second transparent window (113) arranged corresponding to the second opening (102) of each of the upper covers (11).
Carroll teaches a tire tread detection device wherein the main body (100) comprises upper covers (upper part of 102; FIG. 5), lower covers (lower part of 102; FIG. 5), first brackets (a part of 106), and second brackets (another part of 106); one of the upper covers (upper part of 102; FIG. 5) and one of the lower covers (lower part of 102; FIG. 5) are interlocked to form one of the two cavities (FIG. 1-2 and 5), each of the upper covers (upper part of 102; FIG. 5) is provided with the first opening (110) and the second opening (110; FIG. 1), the first brackets (a part of 106) and the second brackets (another part of 106) are mounted inside the two cavities (space within 102; FIG. 5; col. 4, lines 7-17), each of the first brackets (a part of 106) is provided with a first transparent window (108a-b) arranged corresponding to the first opening (110) of each of the upper covers (upper part of 102; FIG. 5), and each of the second brackets (another part of 106) is provided with a second transparent window (108c-d) arranged corresponding to the second opening (110) of each of the upper covers (upper part of 102; FIG. 1 and 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first and second brackets for the first and second transparent windows as taught by Carroll to the tire read detection device as taught Liu to allow measurement of the tread through the optical components (col. 4, lines 18-40; Carroll).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QXN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853