Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are granted the benefit of the earlier filing date of PCT/JP 2021/045610, filed December 10th, 2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 6th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 (and by dependency, claims 12-13) is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the "voice signal processing method according to claim 7," while claim 7 is directed to a "voice signal processing device." Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite an "emphasized signal". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: "acquisition unit" and "determination unit" in claim 7, and "switching model unit" in claim 20.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "determine an input signal to be used for the voice recognition." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a mental process that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because a computer is invoked merely as a tool to execute an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because an abstract idea is merely applied on a generic computer.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “A voice signal processing method comprising:acquiring an output value indicating whether to perform voice enhancement on an observation signal in which a voice or noise of another speaker overlaps with a voice of a target speaker, or indicating a degree of necessity of performing the voice enhancement; anddeciding, under a predetermined condition, a ratio between the observation signal and an enhancement signal generated by the voice enhancement using the output value that has been acquired, to determine an input signal to be used for voice recognition.”
The limitations of “acquiring an output value indicating whether to perform voice enhancement,” and “deciding… a ratio… to determine an input signal,” as drafted cover mental activities which can be performed in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper. Taken individually, or as a whole, these limitations describe acts which are equivalent to human mental work of listening and decision making.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be performed mentally, and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the claim depends from claim 1, and thus recites the limitations of claim 1, “wherein the predetermined condition is defined by the following expression when the output value is ^k, the enhancement signal is ^S, the observation signal is Y, the input signal is ~S, and λ is a preset value in a range of 0 < λ < 1.
”
Taken individually, or as a whole with claim 1, these limitations describe acts which are equivalent to human mental work defined by mathematical concepts. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3, the claim depends from claim 1, and thus recites the limitations of claim 1, “wherein the predetermined condition is defined by the following expressing when the output value is ^k, the enhancement signal is ^S, the observation signal is Y, and the input signal is ~S.
”
Taken individually, or as a whole with claim 1, these limitations describe acts which are equivalent to human mental work defined by mathematical concepts. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4, the claim depends from claim 1, and thus recites the limitations of claim 1, “wherein the output value is an output value output by a learned model, and the learned model receives, as an input, at least one of the observation signal and the enhancement signal, and output whether to perform the voice enhancement from a viewpoint of voice recognition performance or the degree of necessity of performing the voice enhancement.”
The limitation of “output whether to perform the voice enhancement from a viewpoint of voice recognition performance or the degree of necessity of performing the voice enhancement,” as drafted covers mental activities which can be performed in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper. Taken individually, or as a whole with claim 1, these limitations describe acts which are equivalent to human mental work of decision making. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 5, the claim depends from claim 4, and thus recites the limitations of claims 1 and 4, “wherein the learned model is learned to minimize L, which is a calculation result defined by the following expression, when a loss coefficient is L and a training label used to generate the learned model is k.
”
The recited loss function is well-understood and readily available to a person having ordinary skill in the art of machine learning, as described in specification paragraph [0028], “As the loss function, for example, a known cross entropy loss define by the following expression can be used.
”
Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 6, the claim depends from claim 5, and thus recites the limitations of claims 1 and 4-5, “wherein, in the observation signal, when a true value of a ratio between the voice of the target speaker and the voice of the another speaker is SIR, a true value of a ratio between the voice of the target speaker and the noise is SNR, an output value of the learned model when the SIR is input is ^SIR, and an output value of the learned model when the SNR is input is ^SNR, Lmulti that is a calculation result defined by the following expression is used as the loss coefficient by using parameters α and β.
”
The recited multitask loss function is well-understood and readily available to a person having ordinary skill in the art of machine learning. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 20, the claim depends from claim 1, and thus recites the limitations of claim 1, “further comprising a switching model unit, in which the switching model unit performs speech recognition by using emphasized signal and observed signal, wherein degradation due to speech enhancement is prevented.”
The limitation of “performs speech recognition by using emphasized signal and observed signal,” as drafted covers mental activities which can be performed in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper. Taken individually, or as a whole with claim 1, these limitations describe acts which are equivalent to human mental work of decision making, or choosing a desirable audio track. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 21, the claim depends from claim 20, and thus recites the limitations of claims 1 and 20, “wherein the emphasized signal and the observed signal are switched based on determining whether the speech enhancement is required.”
The limitation of “determining whether the speech enhancement is required,” as drafted covers mental activities which can be performed in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper. Taken individually, or as a whole with the preceding claims, these limitations describe acts which are equivalent to human mental work of decision making. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 7 and 9-13, system claims 7 and 9-13 and method claims 1-6 are related as a method and system of using the same, with each system element’s function corresponding to the method step. Accordingly, claims 7 and 9-13 are similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied to claims 1-6.
Regarding claims 14-19, computer-readable medium claims 14-19 and method claims 1-6 are related as method and computer-readable medium for performing the same, with each computer-readable medium element’s function corresponding to the method step. Accordingly, claims 14-19 are similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied to claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 14 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japan publication JP 2000082999 to Sasaki and Haneda (hereinafter, "Sasaki").
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 14, Sasaki teaches a method, system and computer-readable medium comprising: acquiring an output value indicating whether to perform voice enhancement on an observation signal in which a voice or noise of another speaker overlaps with a voice of a target speaker, or indicating a degree of necessity of performing the voice enhancement (page 2, "Next, for example, a determination of PX(n) < Pth is performed for a predetermined threshold value Pth, and if this conditional expression is satisfied, it is determined that the noise is present."); and
deciding, under a predetermined condition, a ratio between the observation signal and an enhancement signal generated by the voice enhancement using the output value that has been acquired, to determine an input signal to be used for voice recognition (page 2, "The S/N ratio, which is the ratio of the target speech signal to the noise signal, is estimated using PAV N,k(n).").
Regarding claim 20, Sasaki teaches the voice signal processing method according to claim 1, further comprising a switching model unit, in which the switching model unit performs speech recognition by using emphasized signal and observed signal, wherein degradation due to speech enhancement is prevented (page 4, "Measures the ratio of the long-term average audio signal to noise signal of each band, and adaptively adds the optimal amount of each band signal to prevent deterioration in sound quality and maximize the noise reduction effect at the same time It is possible to" and page 5, “Averaging is performed using the following equation to obtain SNRAVk(n), which is transferred to the optimum input signal addition rate determination unit 53.”).
Regarding claim 21, Sasaki teaches the voice signal processing method according to claim 20, wherein the emphasized signal and the observed signal are switched based on determining whether the speech enhancement is required (page 3, " Based on (n), the optimum input signal addition rate α of the input signal is determined… The optimum input signal addition rate α is transferred to the input signal addition unit 54.In the input signal adding section 54, the band signal X transferred from the frequency band dividing section 22, the gainfactor inserting section 28, and the optimum input signal adding rate determining section 53, respectively.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of China invention application 111179962 to Wang and Lin (hereinafter, "Wang").
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 17, Sasaki does not explicitly teach a method, system or computer-readable medium “wherein the output value is an output value output by a learned model, and the learned model receives, as an input, at least one of the observation signal and the enhancement signal, and output whether to perform the voice enhancement from a viewpoint of voice recognition performance or the degree of necessity of performing the voice enhancement,” and thus, Wang is introduced.
Wang teaches the output value is an output value output by a learned model, and the learned model receives, as an input, at least one of the observation signal and the enhancement signal, and output whether to perform the voice enhancement from a viewpoint of voice recognition performance or the degree of necessity of performing the voice enhancement (page 4, "In one possible implementation, the accuracy determining module, which is used for executing any one of the following steps:
the clean speech signal based on the student model output of the first clean voice signal and the marking in the mixed voice signal, determining the accuracy information of the iteration process;").
Sasaki and Wang are considered analogous because they are each concerned with audio signal separation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Sasaki with the teachings of Wang for the purpose of improving system performance with machine learning. Given that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Japan publication JP 2008-309856 to Hata et al.
Japan publication JP 2011-065128 to Tachioka.
Japan publication JP 2014-102318 to Teranishi.
Japan publication JP 2015-203813 to Yamamoto et al.
Japan publication JP 2018-205512 to Endo.
WIPO publication WO 2021/144934 to Koizumi.
China invention application 112201267 to Li et al.
China invention application 112700786 to Zhang et al.
China invention application 113593590 to Lan et al.
/SEAN THOMAS SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659