Prosecution History Summary
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-17 and 20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-17 and 20) in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/05/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rijken et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287502).
As per claim 2, Rijken teaches a marine vessel (Rijken: figure 5; A four column TLP, 200) comprising:
-a hull configured to be at least partially submerged in water (Rijken: 203, 204; Hull comprising columns 203 and pontoons 204 to be partially submerged in water; para. 53, surface piercing columns 203 are interconnected by subsea pontoons 204.); and
-a vent pipe disposed within the hull (Rijken: figure 5, 12, 252, 330; Vent pipe structure comprising shaft 252 with instrumentation line 330, said pipe disposed within a column and pontoon portion of the hull; para. 55), wherein the vent pipe has a first end and a second end (Rijken: figure 12, 252/330), wherein the first end of the vent pipe extends above the water (Rijken: figure 12, see how the first end extends above the water and is located at the top of column 203), wherein the second end of the vent pipe is disposed in a tank in the hull (Rijken: figure 12, see how the second end is disposed within tank 250 in the hull), and wherein the vent pipe is sized along its length between the first end and the second end to allow an inspection apparatus to pass therethrough (Rijken: figure 5, 12, see how the pipe 252/330 is sized along its length between the first and second ends to allow an inspection apparatus to pass therethrough; para. 56, A hatch or similar opening in upper surface 254 provides access to the interior of the shaft 252. Shaft 252 may house…instrumentation line 330.).
As per claim 2, the vessel of claim 1 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the hull comprises a column that extends upward above the water (Rijken: figure 5, 12, 203, see how the hull comprises a column 203 that extends upward above the water; para. 53, para. 53, surface piercing columns 203 are interconnected by subsea pontoons 204.), wherein the vent pipe is disposed within the column and extends above a top end of the column (Rijken: figure 5, 1, 12 – see how the vent pipe 252/330 is further disposed within the column 203).
As per claim 3, the vessel of claim 2 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the hull further comprises a pontoon disposed below the column in the water (Rijkin: figure 5, 10, 12, 204 – see how the hull further comprises a pontoon formed by pontoon sections 204 and how the pontoon is disposed below the column 203 in the water), wherein the vent pipe is further disposed inside the pontoon (Rijken: figure 5, 1, 12 – see how the vent pipe 252/330 is further disposed inside the pontoon 204).
As per claim 4, the vessel of claim 3 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the pontoon comprises four quadrants (Rijken: figure 5, 10, 12, see how there are four sections 204 interconnecting the columns 203; para. 53), wherein the second end of the vent pipe is disposed in one quadrant of the pontoon (Rijken: figure 5, 12, see how the second/bottom end of the vent pipe 252/330 is disposed in one quadrant of the pontoon 204, said quadrant comprising the tank 262).
As per claim 5, the vessel of claim 2 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the column comprises multiple compartments that are stacked atop each other (Rijken: figure 1-4, 112, 113, 114, 116, see how the column comprises multiple compartments 112, 113, 114, 116 stacked atop each other; para. 32, lower inboard column tang 112, upper inboard column tank 113, outboard column tank 114 and lower outboard column tank 116).
As per claim 72, the vessel of claim 1 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the first end of the vent pipe further extends above a deck of the hull (Rijken: figure 5, 10, 12, see how the vent pipe 252/330 extends to a deck 260 of the hull; para. 57).
As per claim 8, the vessel of claim 1 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the hull comprises a plurality of tanks (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, 220, 230, 240, 250; para. 54, see how the hull comprises plurality of tanks 220, 230, 240, 250), wherein the vent pipe is among a plurality of vent pipes (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, see how there are multiple vent pipes 222, 232, 242, 252, 330), and wherein each of the plurality of tanks has one of the plurality of vent pipes disposed therein (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, see how each of the tanks 22, 230, 240, 250 has plurality of vent pipes 222/330, 232/330, 252/330; para. 54).
As per claim 9, the vessel of claim 8 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein each of the plurality of tanks is physically separated from a remainder of the plurality of tanks (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, see how each tank is an individual isolated tank such that they are physically separated from the remainder of the tanks), and wherein the each of the plurality of vent pipes is physically separated from a remainder of the plurality of vent pipes (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, see how each vent pipe is an individual pipe such that each of the vent pipes are physically separated from the remainder of the pipes.).
As per claim 10, the vessel of claim 8 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein one of the plurality of tanks is at least partially filled with water (Rijken: para. 8; para. 58; A ballast tank can be filled or emptied in order to adjust the amount of ballast force.).
As per claim 11, the vessel of claim 8 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein one of the plurality of tanks is void of water (Rijken: para. 8-9; para. 58; figures 5, 10, 12, Any one of the tanks 220, 230, 240, 250 can be partially filled with water in order to adjust the buoyancy of the vessel.).
As per claim 12, the vessel of claim 1 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the hull comprises a plurality of compartments (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, see how the hull comprises four compartments and each compartment comprising a column 203 and four tanks 220, 230, 240, 250 with one of the compartments shown in figure 11; para. 54), and wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments is physically isolated from a remainder of the plurality of compartments (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 12, see how each compartment is physically isolated from the remainder of the compartments.).
As per claim 13, the vessel of claim 12 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein the vent pipe is among a plurality of vent pipes (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 11, 12, 222, 232, 242, 252, 330, see how the vent pipes are arranged in each column 203; para. 54), and wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments has disposed therein at least one vent pipe of the plurality of vent pipes (Rijken: figures 5, 10, 11, 12, see how the vent pipes 222/232/242/252 for each compartment is disposed in the tanks 220, 230, 240, 250 with the bottom of the vent pipe having ends disposed within each tank and extending upward form a single vent pipe structure.).
As per claim 14, the vessel of claim 13 is as described. Rijken teaches wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments comprises a plurality of tanks (Rijken: figures 5, 10-12, see how each compartment comprises plurality of tanks 220, 230, 240, 250; para. 54), and wherein the at least one vent pipe for each compartment is disposed in the plurality of tanks (Rijken: figures 5, 10-12, see how each vent pipe 222, 232, 242, 252 for each compartment is disposed in the tanks 220, 230, 240, 250; para. 54; para. 56).
As per claim 15, the vessel of claim 13 is as described. Rijken wherein each compartment of the plurality of compartments further comprises a void, and wherein the at least one vent pipe for each compartment is further disposed in the void (Rijken: figures 5, 9-12, see how each compartment comprises a void formed in the column 203, wherein the one vent pipe 222, 232, 242, 252 for each compartment is disposed within the void.).
As per claim 16, the vessel of claim 1 is as described. Rijken teaches further comprising: a second vent pipe (Rijken: 252, 330, Fig. 5, 9,10, 11, 12 see how the vessel further comprises a second vent pipe structure comprising shaft 252 with instrumentation line 330 located in the second column 203', said pipe disposed within a second column and pontoon portion of the hull; para[0055], 'FIG. 12 is a schematic side view of a hull having columns 203 and 203' interconnected by pontoon 204 Lower left pontoon tank 250 comprises horizontal portion 262 substantially contained within pontoon 204 and vertical shaft 252 substantially within column 203 and terminating at upper surface 254 of column 203'; para[0056], 'shaft 252 may house instrumentation line 330'; para[0046]-[0047], 'Another aspect of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 5 through 12, wherein a ballast system according to the invention comprises a shaft or caisson that connects an associated tank to an area on or near the top of the hull of the vessel), wherein the hull comprises a first tank (Rijken: Fig. 5, 10, 11, 12 see Fig. 12 showing the first tank 250 in the hull, said tank attached to the first column 203) and a second tank that are physically isolated from each other (Rijken: Fig. 5, 10, 11, 12 see how a second tank 250 extends from the second column 203', with the first and second tanks being physically isolated from each other), wherein the second end of the vent pipe is disposed within the first tank (Rijken: Fig. 12 see how the second/bottom end of the vent pipe 252/330 is disposed within first tank 250 in the hull), wherein the second vent pipe has a first end and a second end (Rijken: Fig. 12 see first/top end of pipe 252/330,
and see second/bottom end of pipe 252/330, and see how the second vent pipe has the same structure as the first vent pipe), wherein the first end of the second vent pipe extends above the water (Rijken: Fig. 12 see how the first end extends above the water and is located at the top of column 203'), wherein the second end of the second vent pipe is disposed in the second tank (Rijken: Fig. 12 see how the second/bottom end is disposed within the second tank 250 in the hull), and wherein the second vent pipe is sized along its length between the first end and the second end to allow the inspection apparatus to pass therein (Rijken: Fig. 5, 12 see how the pipe 252/330 is sized along its length between the first and second ends to allow an inspection apparatus to pass therethrough; para[0056], 'A hatch or similar opening in upper surface 254 provides access to the interior of shaft 252. Shaft 252 may house ballast line 300, sounding line 310, temporary ballast or bilge line 320 (which may connect to submersible pump 325 or the like) and, instrumentation line 330'; para[0058], 'The tank shafts may be an integral part of the hull structure. The shaft may be big enough that a back-up ballast pump can always be placed in the tank to evacuate any water. Similarly, a new sounding tube may be easily retrofitted. Monitoring equipment, e.g., level switches and tank level sensors, can be easily replaced or retrofitted without the need for hull entry or tank entry'; para[0052], Temporary activities such as ventilation for inspection').
As per claim 17, the vessel of claim 16 is as described. Rijken teaches further comprising: a second column that extends upward from the second tank above the water (Rijken: 203', Fig. 5, 12 see second column 203' extending upward from the second tank 250 above the water; para[0055], 'FIG. 12 is a schematic side view of a hull having columns 203 and 203' interconnected by pontoon 204'), wherein the second vent pipe is disposed inside of the second column, and wherein the first end of the second vent pipe extends through a top of the second column (Rijken: Fig. 5, 10, 12 see how the second vent pipe 252/330 is disposed within the column 203', and see how the instrumentation line 330 extends above the top end of the column 203, as shown in Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rijken et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287502) in view of Estes et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,145,539).
As per claim 6, the vessel of claim 8 is as described. Rijken does not explicitly teach the following, however, Estes teaches wherein the vent pipe has a bend along its length (Estes: Fig. 1, 3 see how the vent pipe 43/61 comprises multiple bends along its length in order to reach the central tank 11; col 2, In 70 to col 3, In 39, 'the displaced air from said central compartments 11 and 12 passing up through oil lines 43 and 44 respectively in column 13 and out through vents 61').
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Estes to Rijkin because of the complex structure involved in a marine vessel and to provide a system that can perform inspections that can be dangerous.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rijken et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287502) in view of Constantinis (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0137413).
As per claim 20, Rijkin teaches a method for manufacturing a marine vessel, the method comprising:
-installing a vent pipe (Rijkin: 252, 330, Fig. 5, 12 see vent pipe structure comprising shaft 252 with instrumentation line 330, said pipe disposed within a column and pontoon portion of the hull; para[0055], 'Lower left pontoon tank 250 comprises horizontal portion 262 substantially contained within pontoon 204 and vertical shaft 252 substantially within column 203 and terminating at upper surface 254 of column 203'; para[0056], 'shaft 252 may house instrumentation line 330'; para[0046]-[0047], 'Another aspect of the present invention is illustrated in FIGS. 5 through 12, wherein a ballast system according to the invention comprises a shaft or caisson that connects an associated tank to an area on or near the top of the hull of the vessel: a. The shaft may function as a vent line'), wherein the vent pipe has a first end and a second end (Rijkin: Fig. 12 - see first/top end of pipe 252/330, and see second/bottom end of pipe 252/330), wherein the second end of the vent pipe is configured to be disposed within a tank inside a hull of the marine vessel (Rijkin: 203, 204, Fig. 5, 10, 12 see hull comprising columns 203 and pontoons 204 configured to be at least partially submerged in water; para[0053], 'Surface-piercing columns 203 are interconnected by subsea pontoons 204') of the marine vessel (Fig. 12 - see how the second/bottom end is disposed within tank 250 in the hull), wherein the hull is configured to be disposed under water (Rijken: 203, 204, Fig. 5, 10, 12 - see hull comprising columns 203 and pontoons 204 configured to be at least partially submerged in water; para[0053], 'Surface-piercing columns 203 are interconnected by subsea pontoons 204'), wherein the first end of the vent pipe is configured to be disposed above a top of the hull (Rijken: Fig. 5, 10, 12 see how the vent pipe 252/330 is disposed within the column- 203, and see how the instrumentation line 330 extends above the top end of the column 203, as shown in Fig. 12), wherein the first end of the vent pipe is accessible without entering a structural component of the marine vessel (Rijken: Fig. 5, 9, 10, 11, 12 see how the first/top end of the vent pipe 252/330 is accessible without entering a structural component of the vessel), wherein the vent pipe has a size along its length that is configured to receive an apparatus, and wherein the apparatus is configured to pass through and between the first end and the second end of the vent pipe (Rijken: Fig. 5, 9, 10, 11, 12 see how the vent pipe 252/330 is sized along its length to receive an instrument, wherein the instrument is configured to pass through and between the first and second ends of the pipe; para[0056], 'A hatch or similar opening in upper surface 254 provides access to the interior of shaft 252. Shaft 252 may house ballast line 300, sounding line 310, temporary ballast or bilge line 320 (which may connect to submersible pump 325 or the like) and, instrumentation line 330'; para[0058], 'The tank shafts may be an integral part of the hull structure. The shaft may be big enough that a back-up ballast pump can always be placed in the tank to evacuate any water. Similarly, a new sounding tube may be easily retrofitted. Monitoring equipment, e.g., level switches and tank level sensors, can be easily replaced or retrofitted without the need for hull entry or tank entry'; para[0052], 'Temporary activities such as ventilation for inspection').
Rijken does not explicitly teach an inspection apparatus. However, Constantinis teaches a method for inspecting a marine vessel configured to receive an inspection apparatus (Constantinis: 12, Fig. 1 see how an access point of the vessel 10 is configured to receive an inspection apparatus 12; para[0062], 'The camera 12 is being used to obtain a General Visual Inspection (GVI) and a Close Visual Inspection (CVI) of the inside of the vessel 10'; para[0016], 'The method may include the step of positioning and/or locating the camera at different levels inside and/or from a particular access point and/or from different access points into the vessel').
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Rijkin’s inspection method by employing the inspection apparatus as taught by Constantinis, in order to have allowed for a detailed inspection of the tank to be done using the vent pipe within the hull. Further, while Rijkin in view of Constantinis do not explicitly disclose the positive recitation of a method, Rijkin in view of Constantinis’s device is implicitly used to perform the claimed method - Rijkin in view of Constantinis teach how the marine vessel and inspection apparatus function and how to operate them. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the system and teachings of Rijkin in view of Constantinis as a whole, effectively providing a method of use through enabling a user to operate the vessel and inspection apparatus so as to properly inspect the internal tanks using the inspection apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Donovan et al. – U.S. Publication No. 2014/0261137 – Teaches a system for remote inspection of liquid filled structures.
/SHEETAL R PAULSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615