DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-10, 12, 15-18 and 20-24 are pending. Claims 11, 13-14 and 19 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12, 15-18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (herein referred to as “Kimura”, US Pat Pub. 2018/0142077; found in IDS filed 02/12/2025).
Regarding instant Claim 1, Kimura discloses a method of precipitating and collecting a support material dissolved in an aqueous solution after production of an additively manufactured part (Abstract; Paragraph [0090]; see creation of three-dimensional printing model that is manufactured in solution; see also polyester resin precipitation step), the method comprising:
adding a divalent metal to the aqueous solution (Paragraph [0090]; see calcium salt); and
removing a precipitate formed from the support material with a filtering agent (Paragraph [0079]; Paragraph [0152]; solution is filtered out using filter paper to recover the resin),
wherein the divalent metal is selected from calcium (Paragraph [0090]; see calcium salt).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the divalent salt is calcium dissolved in water or as a salt (Paragraph [0090]; see calcium salt).
Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 2, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the salt is selected from at least calcium chloride (Paragraph [0059]; calcium chloride).
Regarding instant Claim 4, Claim 1, upon which Claim 4 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the filtering agent comprises cellulose (Paragraph [0079]; filter paper, wherein the paper comprises cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 5, Claim 4, upon which Claim 5 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the filtering agent comprises cellulose (Paragraph [0079]; filter paper, wherein the paper comprises cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 7, Claim 1, upon which Claim 7 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses comprising agitating the aqueous solution after adding the divalent metal and prior to removing the precipitate (Paragraph [0077]; see mixing/stirring).
Regarding instant Claim 8, Claim 1, upon which Claim 8 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein a base has been applied to the aqueous solution to facilitate dissolution of the support material (Paragraph [0056]; see alkali is added to neutral water) and the method further comprises adding an acid to the aqueous solution to facilitate precipitation of the support material (Abstract; Paragraph [0022]; Paragraph [0023]; see various viable acid monomers used in the solution as precipitant agents).
Regarding instant Claim 10, Claim 1, upon which Claim 10 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the support material is used during Fused Deposition Modeling (FDM) printing (Abstract; fused deposition modeling method).
Regarding instant Claim 12, Claim 1, upon which Claim 12 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses comprising:
providing the precipitate as a growth substrate for plants, algae, bacteria or fungi (Paragraph [0014]; resin is drained to sewerage, providing growth for certain bacteria or fungi).
Regarding instant Claim 15, Kimura discloses an apparatus for precipitating and collecting a support material dissolved in an aqueous solution after production of an additively manufactured part (Abstract; Paragraph [0081]; Paragraph [0090]; see creation of three-dimensional printing model that is manufactured in solution and associated system; see also polyester resin precipitation step), the apparatus comprising:
a chamber for containing a support material dissolved in an aqueous solution after production of an additively manufactured part (Paragraph [0081]; Paragraph [0090]; chamber is location in system of the support material);
a divalent metal dissolved in water or as a solid salt to be added to the aqueous solution (Paragraph [0090]; see calcium salt); and
a filtering agent for removing a precipitate formed from the support material with a filtering agent (Paragraph [0079]; Paragraph [0152]; solution is filtered out using filter paper to recover the resin),
wherein the divalent metal is selected from calcium (Paragraph [0090]; see calcium salt).
Regarding instant Claim 16, Claim 15, upon which Claim 16 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the divalent salt is calcium dissolved in water or as a salt (Paragraph [0090]; see calcium salt).
Regarding instant Claim 17, Claim 16, upon which Claim 17 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the salt is selected from at least calcium chloride (Paragraph [0059]; calcium chloride).
Regarding instant Claim 18, Claim 15, upon which Claim 18 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the filtering agent comprises cellulose (Paragraph [0079]; filter paper, wherein the paper comprises cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 22, Claim 15, upon which Claim 22 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses comprising an agitator for shaking the aqueous solution after adding the divalent metal and prior to removing the precipitate (Paragraph [0077]; see mixing/stirring).
Regarding instant Claim 23, Claim 15, upon which Claim 23 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses wherein the support material is used during Fused Deposition Modeling (FDM) printing (Abstract; fused deposition modeling method).
Regarding instant Claim 24, Claim 15, upon which Claim 24 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura further discloses comprising:
providing the precipitate as a growth substrate for plants, algae, bacteria or fungi (Paragraph [0014]; resin is drained to sewerage, providing growth for certain bacteria or fungi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura et al. (herein referred to as “Kimura”, US Pat Pub. 2018/0142077) in view of Boehringer et al. (herein referred to as “Boehringer”, US Pat Pub. 2016/0166970).
Regarding instant Claim 6, Claim 4, upon which Claim 6 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura discloses that the filtering agent comprises a fiber (Paragraph [0079]; filter paper, wherein the paper comprises cellulose).
However, the reference is silent on a synthetic fiber.
Boehringer discloses filtering material and use thereof in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a filters and filtration materials (Abstract; Paragraph [0138]). Boehringer further discloses a filtering agent comprising a synthetic fiber including polyethylene as Boehringer discloses such synthetic fibers can be used in place of natural fiber filters for filtration of fluids (Abstract; Paragraph [0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fibers of Kimura to comprise the synthetic fibers including polyethylene as taught by Boehringer because Boehringer discloses such synthetic fibers can be readily used in place of natural fibers for filtration of fluids (Boehringer, Paragraph [0138]).
Regarding instant Claim 20, Claim 18, upon which Claim 20 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura discloses that the filtering agent comprises a fiber (Paragraph [0079]; filter paper, wherein the paper comprises cellulose).
However, the reference is silent on a synthetic fiber.
Boehringer discloses filtering material and use thereof in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a filters and filtration materials (Abstract; Paragraph [0138]). Boehringer further discloses a filtering agent comprising a synthetic fiber including polyethyhlene as Boehringer discloses such synthetic fibers can be used in place of natural fiber filters for filtration of fluids (Abstract; Paragraph [0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fibers of Kimura to comprise the synthetic fibers including polyethylene as taught by Boehringer because Boehringer discloses such synthetic fibers can be readily used in place of natural fibers for filtration of fluids (Boehringer, Paragraph [0138]).
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura et al. (herein referred to as “Kimura”, US Pat Pub. 2018/0142077) in view of Caseres et al. (herein referred to as “Caseres”, US Pat Pub. 2014/0004619).
Regarding instant Claim 9, Claim 8, upon which Claim 9 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura discloses that pH of the aqueous solution is required to be within a range (Paragraph [0056]).
However, Kimura is silent on a pH indicator.
Caseres discloses systems, methods and apparatus for analysis of multiphase fluid mixture in pipelines in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of monitoring water qualities such as pH (Abstract). Caseres further discloses wherein an aqueous solution comprises a pH indicator consisting of Alizarine Yellow R (Paragraph [0055]); and the pH indicator precipitates a color that provides an indication of the pH of the water (Paragraph [0006]; Paragraph [0011] Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the aqueous solution of Kimura by further including Alizarine Yellow R as a pH indicator that precipitates with the support material thereby imparting a color to the precipitate as taught by Caseres because Caseres discloses such Alizarine Yellow will provide an indication of the pH of the aqueous solution (Caseres, Paragraph [0006]; Paragraph [0011] Paragraph [0055]).
Regarding instant Claim 21, Claim 15, upon which Claim 21 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kimura discloses that pH of the aqueous solution is required to be within a range (Paragraph [0056]).
However, Kimura is silent on a pH indicator.
Caseres discloses systems, methods and apparatus for analysis of multiphase fluid mixture in pipelines in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of monitoring water qualities such as pH (Abstract). Caseres further discloses wherein an aqueous solution comprises a pH indicator consisting of Alizarine Yellow R (Paragraph [0055]); and the pH indicator precipitates a color that provides an indication of the pH of the water (Paragraph [0006]; Paragraph [0011] Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the aqueous solution of Kimura by further including Alizarine Yellow R as a pH indicator that precipitates with the support material thereby imparting a color to the precipitate as taught by Caseres because Caseres discloses such Alizarine Yellow will provide an indication of the pH of the aqueous solution (Caseres, Paragraph [0006]; Paragraph [0011] Paragraph [0055]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Baker (US Pat Pub. 2004/0124152) provides HDPE as a filter material (Paragraph [0053]). Essandoh et al. (US Pat Pub. 2018/0222773) suggests the use of indigo carmine as a dye (Paragraph [0017]; Paragraph [0029]).
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 08/04/2026