Claim Objections
Claims 7 & 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 7 & 15, the phrase “conductors are used as copper conductors” should be –copper is used as the conductor--.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear how “the at least two electrical conductors are sheathed with the electrical insulator in a central region” and can remain “free at the respective longitudinal ends”. For examining purposes, the limitation will be construed as being taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boul (DE 102018213759).
1. Boul teaches:
A method for manufacturing an electric motor (title), comprising:
Extruding (for extrusion of the insulation on the conductor, paras 0010 and 0011) at least two electrical conductors 11 with an electrical insulator 12 wherein the electrical insulator holds at least two electrical conductors (figs 1-8) at a distance from one another and has at least one positioning contour/slot lock 14, wherein the electric motor has a stator 2 with stator slots/groove 3 and the electrical conductors are sheathed (by the insulator 12, figs 1-8); and
inserting the at least two electrical conductors together with the electrical insulator (since the conductor are extruded with the insulator, this limitation is met) into an associated stator slot (figs 1-8); and
fixing/holding the at least two electrical conductors in the associated stator slot via the at least one positioning contour (since the slot lock is labeled as such, the conductors and insulator are fixed to/held on the slot, figs 1-8).
5. Boul teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: enveloping each electrical conductor with the electrical insulator, wherein the at least two electrical conductors have a rectangular cross-sectional shape (figs 1-8).
6. Boul teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least two electrical conductors are sheathed with the electrical insulator in a central region, but remain free at the respective longitudinal ends (see 112 rejection above).
7. Boul teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the electrical conductors are used as copper conductors.
9. Boul teaches:
An electric motor (title), comprising:
a stator 2 with stator slots 3 and electrical conductors 11 arranged therein,
wherein the at least two electrical conductors are sheathed in an extrusion (since the slot lock is labeled as such, the conductors and insulator are fixed to/held on the slot, figs 1-8) process with an electrical insulator 12 holding the at least two electrical conductors at a distance (figs 1-8) from one another and having at least one positioning contour/slot lock 14, and
the at least two electrical conductors together with the electrical insulator are inserted into an associated stator slot (figs 1-8) and fixed/held therein via the at least one positioning contour (figs 1-8).
13. Boul teaches:
The electric motor according to claim 9, wherein the at least two electrical conductors are sheathed with the electrical insulator in a central region (figs 1-8).
15. Boul teaches:
The electric motor according to claim 9, wherein the electrical conductors are used as copper conductors.
16. Boul teaches:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the electrical insulator has an H-shaped, diamond-shaped, or triangular outer contour (figs 1-8).
17. Boul teaches:
The electric motor according to claim 9, wherein the electrical insulator has an H-shaped, diamond-shaped, or triangular outer contour (figs 1-8).
18. Boul teaches:
An electric motor (title), comprising:
at least two electrical conductors 11, wherein the electrical conductors are inserted into a stator slot 3;
a positioning contour/slot lock 14, wherein the electrical conductors are fixed within the stator slot via the positioning contour (figs 1-8); and
an electrical insulator 12, wherein the electrical insulator holds the electrical conductors at a distance from one another (figs 1-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boul in view of Parmeter et al. (US 20170372813).
2. Boul has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach the step of coating during the extruding the at least two electrical conductors with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
Parmeter et al. teaches the step of coating during the extruding the at least two electrical conductors with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (for the addition of PEEK, see para 0030 last sentence) for improved toughness of the conductor which would prolong the service life of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify it with the step of coating during the extruding the at least two electrical conductors with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK), as taught by Parmeter et al. so as to prolong the service life of the motor.
10. Boul has been discussed above, re claim 9; but does not teach that the at least two electrical conductors are coated with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
Parmeter et al. teaches the step of coating during the extruding the at least two electrical conductors with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (for the addition of PEEK, see para 0030 last sentence) for improved toughness of the conductor which would prolong the service life of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify it such that the at least two electrical conductors are coated with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK), as taught by Parmeter et al. so as to prolong the service life of the motor.
14. Boul has been discussed above, re claim 9; but does not teach that the at least two electrical conductors are coated with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
Parmeter et al. teaches the step of coating during the extruding the at least two electrical conductors with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (for the addition of PEEK, see para 0030 last sentence) for improved toughness of the conductor which would prolong the service life of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify it such that the at least two electrical conductors are coated with a polyamideimide (PAI) or a polyether ether ketone (PEEK), as taught by Parmeter et al. so as to prolong the service life of the motor.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8, 11, 12, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boul in view of Takasaki et al. (JP 2012100433).
3. Boul teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least two electrical conductors have a rectangular cross-sectional shape and the electrical insulator envelops each electrical conductor (figs 1-8); but does not teach that each conductor has a positioning lug as a positioning contour on each side of each electrical.
Takasaki et al. teach that each conductor 72 has a positioning lug 74 (see figs 4-8) as a positioning contour on each side of each electrical (see figs 4-8) to allow cooling of the conductors (via hole 76) which also prolongs the serviced life of the motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Boul being effectively filed to modify it such that each conductor has a positioning lug as a positioning contour on each side of each electrical, as taught by Takasaki et al., so as to prolong the service life of the motor.
4. Boul in view of Takasaki et al. teach:
The method according to claim 3, further comprising: connecting two adjacent electrical conductors (of Takasaki et al.) via two positioning lugs (of Takasaki et al.) 99arranged between them (see Takasaki et al. figs 4-8).
8. Boul in view of Takasaki et al. teach:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: lining the stator slot (of Takasaki et al.) with an insulating paper/insulating sheet 40 (of Takasaki et al.) before the electrical conductors (of Takasaki et al.) are inserted with the insulator enclosing them.
11. Boul in view of Takasaki et al. teach:
The electric motor according to claim 9, wherein the at least two electrical conductors (of both Boul and Takasaki et al.) have a rectangular cross-sectional shape and the electrical insulator (of both Boul and Takasaki et al.) envelops each electrical conductor (of Takasaki et al.) and has a positioning lug (of Takasaki et al.) as a positioning contour on each side of each electrical conductor (see Takasaki et al. figs 4-8).
12. Boul in view of Takasaki et al. teach:
The electric motor according to claim 11, wherein the two adjacent electrical conductors (of Takasaki et al.) are connected to one another via two positioning lugs (of Takasaki et al.) arranged between them (see Takasaki et al. figs 4-8).
19. Boul in view of Takasaki et al. teach:
The electric motor according to claim 18, further comprising: a positioning lug (of Takasaki et al.) as the positioning contour (of Takasaki et al.) on each side of each electrical conductors (see Takasaki et al. figs 4-8), wherein the at least two electrical conductors (of both Boul and Takasaki et al.) have a rectangular cross-sectional shape and the electrical insulator (of both Boul and Takasaki et al.) envelops each electrical conductor (of both Boul and Takasaki et al.).
20. Boul in view of Takasaki et al. teach:
The electric motor according to claim 19, wherein the electrical conductors (of Takasaki et al.) are connected via positioning lugs (of Takasaki et al.) arranged between them (see Takasaki et al. figs 4-8).
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834