DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected in the prior office action have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection via 35USDC112 does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 in an effort to clarify the function of the light beam adjusting apparatus. However, no structure is recited as to how the adjustment according to the focus position occurs. Therefore, the prior rejection applies because one having ordinary skill in the art would enable adjustment of a light beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “the light beam adjusting apparatus adjusts a light beam scanning angle according to the focus position adjusted by the phase adjusting apparatus” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because no structure is claimed as to how this adjustment occurs. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Remaining claims are rejected on the basis of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2023284399 to Zheng et al. in view of US 2021/0302737 to Calafiore et al.
Zheng discloses in figures 1-5, a light beam scanning system, comprising:
A beam splitting apparatus (11) receiving a laser light beam (page 5 of the translation) dividing the laser light beam into a plurality of sub-beams (page 5 of the translation) and emitting the sub-beams;
An optical waveguide array (12) arranged in an outputting direction of the beam splitting apparatus and configured to receive the plurality of sub-beams and transmit the plurality of sub-beams to a predetermined waveguide emergent end (right end of 1220), wherein the optical waveguide array comprises a convergence and transmission region (1220), and each of the sub-beams is focused on the waveguide emergent end (right of 1220) through the convergence and transmission region (1220);
A phase adjusting apparatus (121) connected to the optical waveguide array and adjusting a relative phase distribution of sub-waveguides in the optical waveguide array, so as to adjust a focus position of a combined light beam on the light beam emergent surface and carry out light beam scanning in a first direction (paragraph 5; page 6 of translation).
As to claim 2, a Rowland circle is shown in figures 1-3 and disclosed in paragraph 1 of page 5 of the translation.
As to claim 3, the spacing between the sub-waveguides at the emergent end is less than a wavelength of the laser light beam (paragraph 7; page 4 of translation).
As to claim 4, the beam splitter may be a star coupler is disclosed (paragraph 1; page 4 of attached translation).
As to claim 6, a phase shifter (121) is integrated on each waveguide (120).
As to claim 7, phase modulation is disclosed in page 7 of the translation.
As to claim 8, lithium niobate is used (paragraph 3; page 4 of translation).
As to claim 9, different wavelengths and scanning angles are adjusted (paragraph 5; page 5 of translation).
However, Zheng fails to explicitly disclose:
A light beam adjusting apparatus arranged in an emergent direction of the light beam emergent surface and configured to expand and collimate a light beam emitted from the light beam emergent surface to form a scanning light beam.
As to claim 5, the collimating assemble is not disclosed.
Calafiore discloses in paragraphs 77-82 and figures 10-11, a magnified and collimated beam (1136; figure 11) using a plurality of lenses instead of the shared optical grating emitter (3) configured to expand and collimate a light beam to optimize scanning of a region. Further, the collimating lens assembly is disclosed in figure 11.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add a light beam adjusting apparatus as taught by Calafiore in Zheng to optimize a n output light beam for scanning.
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Calafiore (hereinafter ZiC) as applied to claims above, and further in view of GB 2640690 to Yin et al.
ZiC discloses the invention as claimed except for a “moving platform” to move the beam apparatus to scan in a second direction. It is noted that no further structure is recited as to the definition of the moving platform. Examiner interprets the moving platform to be a typical LIDAR-based system that has moving parts.
Yin discloses such a moving portion in a beam scanner in paragraph 60 to expand available modes of scanning along a second direction to allow simultaneous independent scanning with additional reflectors that may be tilted (movable).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a secondary scanning direction as taught by Yin in ZiC to obtain larger scanning ranges and reduce sizing of the associated reflectors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874