DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misao et al. (JP 2005-170813), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1 and 3; Misao et al. teaches a dental curable composition comprising (A) a polymerizable monomer, (B) an inorganic filler, and (C) a chemical polymerization initiator composed of a tertiary amine and an organic peroxide [018]. Misao et al. teaches the (A) polymerizable monomer, in a preferred embodiment is BisGMA (2,2-bis[4-(2-hydroxy-3-methacryloyloxypropoxy)phenyl] propane) and is employed in an amount of 60 parts by mass [092; Ex1]. Misao et al. teaches the (B) inorganic filler includes (B-1) irregular inorganic particles having an average particle diameter of 1 micron or more and 6 microns or less (instant B-2), (B-2) a spherical inorganic particle having an average particle diameter of 0.05 microns or more and 1 micron or less (instant B-1), and (B-3) an amorphous (i.e. irregular) inorganic particle having a particle size of less than 0.05 microns (instant B-3); blended in a range of (B-1) 40-90% by mass (instant B-2), (B-2) 10-60% by mass (instant B-1), and (B-3) 0-10% by mass [028]. Misao et al. teaches the particles (B-1) and (B-2) have a hydrophobic surface for the purpose of improving dispersibility in the polymerizable monomer, achieved via hydrophobizing treatment [039]. Misao et al. teaches the (C) chemical polymerization initiator is a photoinitiators [057].
Misao et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Misao et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing the polymerizable monomer (A), fillers (B-1), (B-2), and (B-3), and photoinitiator (C). However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a composition containing polymerizable monomer (A), fillers (B-1), (B-2), and (B-3), and photoinitiator (C), based on the invention of Misao et al., and would have been motivated to do so since MIsao et al. suggests that the composition can contain polymerizable monomer (A), fillers (B-1), (B-2), and (B-3), and photoinitiator (C).
The Examiner makes note that monomer (A-1a) and filler (B-3) are merely optional components as set forth by the claim language.
Regarding claim 2; the limitations of the claim merely further define an optional component, thus not explicitly required by the claim language.
Regarding claims 4-7; Misao et al. teaches the hydrophobizing agent is, for example, gamma-methacryloyloxyalkyltrimethoxysilane or gamma-methyltrimethoxysilzne [040].
Regarding claim 8; Misao et al. teaches the composition may comprise monomers, such as (meth)acrylic acid [020].
Regarding claim 9; Misao et al. teaches the composition may further comprise chemical polymerization initiators [073].
Regarding claim 10; Misao et al. teaches a first paste and a second paste; wherein paste (I) comprises a polymerizable monomer, filler, and tertiary amine accelerator, and paste (II) comprises a polymerizable monomer, filler, and CQ photoinitiator [Ex].
Regarding claim 11; Misao et al. teaches the composition may further comprise a polymerization accelerator, such as sodium benzenesulfinate or lithium benzenesulfinate [073].
Regarding claims 12-13; Misao et al. teaches the composition is suitable for use in a dental abutment and/or dental adhesive (i.e. cement) [03, 027].
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767