Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 08/25/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 08/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable primarily in view of Kuwahara US 20150112482 A1 (“Kuwahara”) and Hashimoto et al. US 20210323151 A1 (“Hashimoto”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Swaminathan et al. US 20200033943 A1 (“Swaminathan”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara US 20150112482 A1 (“Kuwahara”) in combination with Hashimoto et al. US 20210323151 A1 (“Hashimoto”) and Swaminathan et al. US 20200033943 A1 (“Swaminathan”).
Regarding Claim 1. Kuwahara teaches a teaching system comprising:
an operator that is operated by a user;
one or more processors configured to:
generate a plurality of teaching points of a robot (A “teaching point” is information indicating a target position through which each joint of the robot is caused to pass to reproductively operate the robot. FIG. 6F shows a dialog box that reads “generate teaching point on projection plane”, where an operator can select whether or not to generate a teaching point on the designated plane [paragraph 96], and the system is meant to work with a plurality of teaching points [paragraph 29]), the robot including a tool that:
performs a treatment on a workpiece in a non-contact manner (FIG. 1 shows the robot 30 and a workpiece W, where the workpiece is a door handle. The primary example in Kuwahara of work to be done by the robot is a coating robot that is applying a coating to a workpiece [paragraph 21]), and
injects a predetermined injection object toward the workpiece in the treatment (the paint coating robot of paragraph 21); and
generate a virtual image in which a virtual tool corresponding to the tool and a virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece are placed in a virtual space (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]); and
a display that displays the virtual image (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]), wherein
the one or more processors are further configured to:
generate the virtual image in which the virtual tool moves in accordance with an operation to the operator and performs a treatment on the virtual workpiece (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]. The teaching controller 11 generates a job program for operating the robot 30 from the virtual image based on an operation performed by the operator with the operating unit 13 and registers the job program in the job information DB 14 [paragraph 26]. Furthermore, the teaching system 10 can read the teaching points and the job program registered in the job information DB 14 based on the instruction operation performed by the operator. Thus, the teaching system 10 can display the virtual image of the robot 30 whose tip of the end effector 35 reaches a specific teaching point and reproduce a series of operation of the robot 30 performed by the job program on the display unit 12 [paragraph 70]);
generate each of the plurality of teaching points corresponding to a position of the virtual tool generated by the image generator in the virtual space when the operator is operated by the user (FIGS. 6A-6H, paragraphs 29 and 96);
display, in the virtual image, virtual teaching points corresponding to the plurality of teaching points (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]),
Kuwahara does not teach:
the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism;
display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image (while Kuwahara talks about a range for the painting tool, it does not explicitly display a virtual range for the painting tool);
set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points.
However, Hashimoto teaches:
the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism (paragraph 95]);
display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image (FIG. 3 illustrates a state where three-dimensional model data of the spraying device 120, the robot 110, and the workpiece W1 is displayed on a display section 60 [paragraph 26]);
set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points (FIG. 7A is a view illustrating an operation path based on automatic operation information of a hand part according to a modification of this embodiment. FIG. 7B is a view illustrating an example of the operation path after the change in the reference position illustrated in FIG. 7A. In this modification, a painting process in which the slave arm 1 is used to paint a surface of a workpiece 64 having a curved surface is described. In this modification, a nozzle (not illustrated) which injects paint is attached to the hand part 12 of the slave arm 1 [paragraph 95]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the invention of Kuwahara with the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism; display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image; set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points as taught by Hashimoto so as to allow the operator to see the working range of the injection/injector tool.
Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto do not teach:
switch the virtual injection range in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop.
However, Swaminathan teaches:
switch the virtual depiction in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop (FIG. 11 i s a process flow diagram, illustrating an exemplary process for showing augmentation objects based on an eye gaze location for an augmented reality device, wherein at 1108, the system determines if an area of interest lingers on an object tag, and if it does not, at 1112, it hides the object tag).
While Swaminathan does not teach that the virtual depiction is a virtual injection range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the inventions of Kuwahara and Hashimoto with switch the virtual depiction in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop and apply it to the virtual injection range
It would have been obvious to hide the range of the range when the injection function is stopped because the range would be obstructing the view of the user of the target object, and a virtual image of the object after the injection function is completed without the range displayed would allow the user to examine the predicted final outcome of the execution.
Regarding Claim 2. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply a display to a portion of the virtual workpiece subjected to the treatment by the tool to indicate that the portion has been subjected to the treatment (FIG. 4 shows the virtual image displayed on the display unit with a robot and a workpiece [paragraph 64]. FIG. 5A shows the virtual image after a partial application of the coating of surface P [paragraph 73]).
Regarding Claim 3. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to display an image indicating a degree of a distance from the virtual tool in the virtual image (The work line generating unit 111e generates the work line WC such that the group of target points is arranged not on the actual coating surface P of the workpiece W but on the projection plane PP as illustrated in FIG. 6G. At this time, the projection plane PP is generated at a position away from the point P1 in the normal direction by the distance "d" [paragraph 97, FIG. 6]).
Regarding Claim 4. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to display an image indicating a posture of the virtual tool in the virtual image (FIG. 4 shows an example of the image generator displaying an image of a posture of the tool in the virtual image. The image generating unit generates a virtual image including a robot and a workpiece having a processed surface to be processed by the robot. The projecting unit generates a projection plane orthogonal to a normal direction of a desired point on the processed surface selected on the virtual image and projects the processed surface onto the projection plane [paragraph 106]. The work line generating unit generates a work line serving as a group of target points for the robot based on setting contents received via the projection plane. The arithmetic unit calculates a teaching value including a position and a posture of the robot at each point of the target points [paragraph 107]).
Regarding Claim 5. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display a virtual injection object corresponding to the predetermined injection object (FIG. 5A, which is specifically an image of a surface being coated with pain, an injection object as described in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 6. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the treatment is coating, welding, cleaning, or shot blasting (paragraph 21).
Regarding Claim 8. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the robot further includes a robot arm to which the tool is coupled, and
the one or more processors are configured to display a virtual arm corresponding to the robot arm in the virtual image (FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 9. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 8.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to switch display of the virtual arm in the virtual image between display and non-display (Based on the explanation of what is meant by “display” and “non-display” in paragraph [0117] of the present application, FIGS. 6A-6F show an example of the display with a dialogue box in FIG. 6C that switches on and off the generation of teaching points on a projection plane. FIG. 6E shows the virtual image with a group of target points arranged on the coating surface, while FIG. 4 shows the display with no visible teaching points).
Regarding Claim 10. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches a robot system comprising:
the teaching system according to claim 1; and
a robot that moves in accordance with the plurality of teaching points generated by the one or more processors (the robot in FIGS. 6A-6H, shown to follow the teaching points generated by the system).
Regarding Claim 11. Kuwahara teaches a teaching method for a robot including a tool that performs a treatment on a workpiece in a non-contact manner (FIG. 1 shows the robot 30 and a workpiece W, where the workpiece is a door handle. The primary example in Kuwahara of work to be done by the robot is a coating robot that is applying a coating to a workpiece [paragraph 21]) and injects a predetermined injection object toward the workpiece in the treatment (the paint coating robot of paragraph 21), the method comprising:
generating a virtual image in which a virtual tool corresponding to the tool and a virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece are placed in a virtual space (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]);
displaying the virtual image (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]);
moving the virtual tool in the virtual image in accordance with an operation from a user to an operator for moving the virtual tool and causing the virtual tool to perform a treatment on the virtual workpiece (the robot in FIGS. 6A-6H, shown to follow the teaching points generated by the system); and
generating a plurality of teaching points corresponding to a position of the virtual tool in the virtual space when the operator is operated by the user (FIGS. 6A-6H).
Kuwahara does not teach:
the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism;
display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image (while Kuwahara talks about a range for the painting tool, it does not explicitly display a virtual range for the painting tool);
set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points.
However, Hashimoto teaches:
the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism (paragraph 95]);
display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image (FIG. 3 illustrates a state where three-dimensional model data of the spraying device 120, the robot 110, and the workpiece W1 is displayed on a display section 60 [paragraph 26]);
set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points (FIG. 7A is a view illustrating an operation path based on automatic operation information of a hand part according to a modification of this embodiment. FIG. 7B is a view illustrating an example of the operation path after the change in the reference position illustrated in FIG. 7A. In this modification, a painting process in which the slave arm 1 is used to paint a surface of a workpiece 64 having a curved surface is described. In this modification, a nozzle (not illustrated) which injects paint is attached to the hand part 12 of the slave arm 1 [paragraph 95]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the invention of Kuwahara with the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism; display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image; set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points as taught by Hashimoto so as to allow the operator to see the working range of the injection/injector tool.
Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto do not teach:
switch the virtual injection range in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop.
However, Swaminathan teaches:
switch the virtual depiction in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop (FIG. 11 i s a process flow diagram, illustrating an exemplary process for showing augmentation objects based on an eye gaze location for an augmented reality device, wherein at 1108, the system determines if an area of interest lingers on an object tag, and if it does not, at 1112, it hides the object tag).
While Swaminathan does not teach that the virtual depiction is a virtual injection range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the inventions of Kuwahara and Hashimoto with switch the virtual depiction in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop and apply it to the virtual injection range
It would have been obvious to hide the range of the range when the injection function is stopped because the range would be obstructing the view of the user of the target object, and a virtual image of the object after the injection function is completed without the range displayed would allow the user to examine the predicted final outcome of the execution.
Regarding Claim 12. Kuwahara teaches a non-transitory storage medium (The storage unit at 112 of FIG. 2 is a storage device, such as a hard disk drive and a non-volatile memory [paragraph 103]) storing teaching program for a robot including a tool that performs a treatment on a workpiece in a non-contact manner (FIG. 1 shows the robot 30 and a workpiece W, where the workpiece is a door handle. The primary example in Kuwahara of work to be done by the robot is a coating robot that is applying a coating to a workpiece [paragraph 21]) and injects a predetermined injection object toward the workpiece in the treatment (the paint coating robot of paragraph 21), the program causing a computer to perform the functions of:
generating a virtual image in which a virtual tool corresponding to the tool and a virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece are placed in a virtual space (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]);
moving the virtual tool in the virtual image in accordance with an operation from a user to an operator for moving the virtual tool (The teaching controller 11 outputs a virtual image including the robot 30 whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit 12 based on an operation performed by an operator with the operating unit 13. The virtual image further includes a workpiece W having a processed surface to be processed by the robot 30 [paragraph 25]. The teaching controller 11 generates a job program for operating the robot 30 from the virtual image based on an operation performed by the operator with the operating unit 13 and registers the job program in the job information DB 14 [paragraph 26]. Furthermore, the teaching system 10 can read the teaching points and the job program registered in the job information DB 14 based on the instruction operation performed by the operator. Thus, the teaching system 10 can display the virtual image of the robot 30 whose tip of the end effector 35 reaches a specific teaching point and reproduce a series of operation of the robot 30 performed by the job program on the display unit 12 [paragraph 70]); and
generating a plurality of teaching points corresponding to a position of the virtual tool in the virtual space when the operator is operated by the user (FIGS. 6A-6H).
Kuwahara does not teach:
the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism;
display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image (while Kuwahara talks about a range for the painting tool, it does not explicitly display a virtual range for the painting tool);
set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points.
However, Hashimoto teaches:
the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism (paragraph 95]);
display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image (FIG. 3 illustrates a state where three-dimensional model data of the spraying device 120, the robot 110, and the workpiece W1 is displayed on a display section 60 [paragraph 26]);
set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points (FIG. 7A is a view illustrating an operation path based on automatic operation information of a hand part according to a modification of this embodiment. FIG. 7B is a view illustrating an example of the operation path after the change in the reference position illustrated in FIG. 7A. In this modification, a painting process in which the slave arm 1 is used to paint a surface of a workpiece 64 having a curved surface is described. In this modification, a nozzle (not illustrated) which injects paint is attached to the hand part 12 of the slave arm 1 [paragraph 95]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the invention of Kuwahara with the predetermined injection object being at least one of paint, ink, a cleaning solution, water, a filler metal, a polishing agent, a sealing material, a laser, flame ultrasonic waves, and electromagnetism; display a virtual injection range corresponding to an injection range of the predetermined injection, in the virtual image; set, in accordance with an operation to the operator, execution or stop of injection of the predetermined injection object in association with each of the plurality of teaching points as taught by Hashimoto so as to allow the operator to see the working range of the injection/injector tool.
Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto do not teach:
switch the virtual injection range in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop.
However, Swaminathan teaches:
switch the virtual depiction in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop (FIG. 11 i s a process flow diagram, illustrating an exemplary process for showing augmentation objects based on an eye gaze location for an augmented reality device, wherein at 1108, the system determines if an area of interest lingers on an object tag, and if it does not, at 1112, it hides the object tag).
While Swaminathan does not teach that the virtual depiction is a virtual injection range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the inventions of Kuwahara and Hashimoto with switch the virtual depiction in the virtual image between display and non-display in accordance with the set execution or stop and apply it to the virtual injection range
It would have been obvious to hide the range of the range when the injection function is stopped because the range would be obstructing the view of the user of the target object, and a virtual image of the object after the injection function is completed without the range displayed would allow the user to examine the predicted final outcome of the execution.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara US 20150112482 A1 (“Kuwahara”) in combination with Hashimoto et al. US 20210323151 A1 (“Hashimoto”) and Swaminathan et al. US 20200033943 A1 (“Swaminathan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Adams et al. US 20120276281 A1 (“Adams”).
Regarding Claim 7. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara also teaches:
wherein the image generator displays, in the virtual image, an image indicating that a portion of the virtual workpiece subjected to the treatment has been subjected to the treatment (FIG. 5A shows the painting robot covering a plurality of surfaces to be selected in the virtual image and coated by the robot).
Kuwahara does not teach:
and being determinable for a portion where the treatment overlaps (Kuwahara is silent about overlaps, although this is implicit due to the nature of any application of paint through a sprayer tool, as the sprayed paint will randomly overlap areas already treated).
However, Adams teaches:
and being determinable for a portion where the treatment overlaps (FIG. 2 shows a method of applying multiple layers of paint to a workpiece [paragraph 19]. This would necessarily involve overlapping portions of the workpiece to apply the treatment, as the entire workpiece becomes the portion where the treatment is applied multiple times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Kuwahara with and being determinable for a portion where the treatment overlaps as taught by Adams, so that the robot can be used to apply multiple coats of treatment when necessary.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara US 20150112482 A1 (“Kuwahara”) in combination with Hashimoto et al. US 20210323151 A1 (“Hashimoto”) and Swaminathan et al. US 20200033943 A1 (“Swaminathan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoneyama US 20210170593 A1 (“Yoneyama”).
Regarding Claim 13. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto and Swaminathan teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara does not teach:
wherein the virtual injection range has a conical outer shape about an injection axis of the virtual tool.
However, Yoneyama teaches:
wherein the virtual injection range has a conical outer shape about an injection axis of the virtual tool (FIG. 5 shows this exact type of range, wherein a conical outer shape is built around an injection axis of the tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the invention of Kuwahara with wherein the virtual injection range has a conical outer shape about an injection axis of the virtual tool as taught by Yoneyama because this is an incredibly common range for a tool that applies a coating such as paint, which will spread out from a directed axis the further the target is from the tool.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara US 20150112482 A1 (“Kuwahara”) in combination with Hashimoto et al. US 20210323151 A1 (“Hashimoto”) and Swaminathan et al. US 20200033943 A1 (“Swaminathan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. US 20190321983 A1 (“Chen”).
Regarding Claim 14. Kuwahara in combination with Hashimoto teaches the teaching system according to claim 1.
Kuwahara does not teach:
wherein
the virtual workpiece is a first virtual workpiece,
the one or more processors are configured to generate, in the virtual image, a virtual operator corresponding to the operator and a second virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece,
the virtual tool is located at a position offset from the virtual operator,
the second virtual workpiece is located at a position offset from the first virtual workpiece, and
a relative positional relationship between the virtual operator and the second virtual workpiece coincides with a relative positional relationship between the virtual tool and the first virtual workpiece.
However, Chen teaches:
wherein
the virtual workpiece is a first virtual workpiece,
the one or more processors are configured to generate, in the virtual image, a virtual operator corresponding to the operator and a second virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece (The movement teaching apparatus 10 includes a first camera (first visual sensor) 11 that captures time-varying images of a first workpiece W1 and fingers F of a human H when the human H works on the first workpiece W1, a second camera (second visual sensor) 12 that captures images of a second workpiece W2 worked on by the robot 2, and an image processing unit 13 that is connected to the first camera 11 and the second camera 12 [paragraph 11]),
the virtual tool is located at a position offset from the virtual operator (FIG. 1),
the second virtual workpiece is located at a position offset from the first virtual workpiece (FIG. 1), and
a relative positional relationship between the virtual operator and the second virtual workpiece coincides with a relative positional relationship between the virtual tool and the first virtual workpiece (paragraph 37 describes how the system can extract multiple feature points of a second workpiece at predetermined intervals, and a position/posture calculation unit may update the equation of motion of each feature point at the same intervals based on the extracted positions of the feature points, and calculate the position or posture of the second workpiece W2 based on the position of each feature point calculated from the corresponding updated equation of motion. The robot 2 may be controlled based on the calculated position or posture of the second workpiece W2, and the movement path A’ is the movement of the robot with the second workpiece. This advantageously enables the robot 2 to accurately follow the second workpiece W2 moving at random, by visual servoing. Meanwhile, paragraphs 23-24 describe how the relationship between the human H and the first workpiece W1 with movement path A. All of this is for a known motion capture technique used to extract the motion trail of markers from time-varying images obtained by the first camera, with the nuance that the human H may work on the first workpiece W1 within a virtual reality (VR) space. This allows the movement path A of the fingers F of the human H to be extracted without providing a real work environment for the first workpiece W1 and the human H [paragraph 39]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the invention of Kuwahara with wherein the virtual workpiece is a first virtual workpiece, the one or more processors are configured to generate, in the virtual image, a virtual operator corresponding to the operator and a second virtual workpiece corresponding to the workpiece, the virtual tool is located at a position offset from the virtual operator, the second virtual workpiece is located at a position offset from the first virtual workpiece, and a relative positional relationship between the virtual operator and the second virtual workpiece coincides with a relative positional relationship between the virtual tool and the first virtual workpiece as taught by Chen so as to allow the system to work with more than one workpiece, and to allow the operator to set teaching points directly. Kuwahara already teaches that the teaching controller outputs a virtual image including the robot whose operation is subjected to a simulation operation to the display unit based on an operation performed by the operator. Having the workpiece observe the operator perform the operation on a separate workpiece allows the robot to see the operation on a separate workpiece is a known method in the art for achieving a predictable result with a high chance of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Specifically, it is the element “display the virtual injection range while the virtual tool moves from a teaching point, among the plurality of teaching points, for which execution of injection is set to a teaching point, among the plurality of teaching points, for which stop of injection is set” that is distinct from the prior art. In other words, the entirety of the claim provides language that, when taken together, is distinct from the prior art references.
Conclusion
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656