DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0263243 A1~hereinafter “Nakagawa”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) a light emitting device comprising: a light emitting diode (LED) die (10) in a reflector cup (45); a first light-scattering layer (20; [0026]-[0027]) contacting a side surface of the LED die (10), and a bottom wall and a sidewall of the reflector cup (45), the first light-scattering layer (20) comprising light-scattering particles (23) and a first binder material ([0026]); and a second light-scattering layer (30) contacting at least a top surface of the LED die (10) and the first light-scattering layer (20) at an interface, the second light-scattering layer (30) comprising phosphor particles (31) and a second binder material ([0020]; [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) a combination of the first light-scattering layer (20) and the second light-scattering layer (30) fills the reflector cup around the LED die (10).
Regarding claim 3, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the first light-scattering layer (20) and the second light-scattering layer (30) differ with respect to one or more of the following characteristics: kinematic viscosity at 25° C.; refractive index; type of particles; the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer (20) and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer (30) are different material ([0026]-[0028]; [0030]); type of binder material: the first binder of the first light-scattering layer and the second binder material of the second light-scattering layer are different materials; and particles loading: a first weight or volume ratio of the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer to the first binder material differs from a second weight or volume ratio of the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer to the second binder material.
Regarding claim 6, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the second light-scattering layer (30) contacts the side surface of the LED die (10).
Regarding claim 7, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the first and second binder materials are the same material ([0026]; [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the first and second binder materials independently comprises a silicone polymer ([0026]; [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer are different materials ([0027]; [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer (20) comprise one or more of: silica, titania, sapphire, and alumina ([0027]); and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer (30) comprise yellow-emitting wavelength converting material, or green and red emitting wavelength converting materials ([0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the LED die (10) emits blue light ([0018]) and wherein the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering composition emits a light that, combined with the blue light, creates a white light ([0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0263243 A1~hereinafter “Nakagawa”) of record in view of (JP-6934712 B2~ hereinafter “JP”) of record.
Regarding claims 12 and 4, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) a light source comprising: one or more light emitting diode (LED) dies (10) in a reflector cup (45); a first light-scattering layer (20) contacting side surfaces of the one or more LED dies (10), and a bottom wall and a sidewall of the reflector cup (45), the first light-scattering layer (20) comprising light-scattering particles ([0027]) and a first binder material ([0026]); and a second light-scattering layer (30) spanning a width of the reflector cup (45), and the first light-scattering layer (20) at an interface, the second light-scattering layer (30) comprising phosphor particles and a second binder material ([0028]); wherein a combination of the first light-scattering layer (20) and the second light-scattering layer (30) fills the reflector cup around the one or more LED dies (10).
Nakagawa does not expressly disclose the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer are the same material, and a first concentration of the particles of the first light-scattering layer is less than a concentration of the particles of the second light-scattering layer.
JP in the same field of endeavor discloses (in at least fig. 1) “a first phosphor layer 12 containing a phosphor and directly or indirectly covering the upper surface of the light emitting element 10. A second phosphor layer 13, which contains a phosphor having a concentration lower than that of the first phosphor layer 12 and covers at least the side surface of the light emitting element 10, and a first phosphor layer 12 and a second phosphor” for the benefit of having a light source with improved front luminance (see background text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light source device of Nakagawa with the phosphor teachings of JP for the benefit of having a light source with improved front luminance.
Regarding claims 13 and 5, Nakagawa as modified by JP does not expressly disclose the reflector cup has an aspect ratio (width to height) of in a range of 2.5:1 to 60:1.
However, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0023]) the cup reflector (45) is provided on the base (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light source of Nakagawa as modified by JP such that the reflector cup has an aspect ratio (width to height) of in a range of 2.5:1 to 60:1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) a mount (40) to which the reflector cup (45) is affixed; but is silent about a drive circuit in communication with the mount, the drive circuit configured to provide current to the mount to illuminate the LED dies.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a light source device comprised of, in part, a drive circuit in communication with the mount, wherein the drive circuit is configured to provide current to the mount to illuminate the LED dies as evident by Matsumura et al. (US. Pat: 9,117,979 B2~hereinafter “Matsumura”) of record.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light source of Nakagawa as modified by JP with the circuit board of Matsumura in order to provide current to the mount to illuminate the LED.
Regarding claim 15, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the second light-scattering layer (30) is in contact with at least a top surface of the one or more LED dies (10).
Regarding claim 16, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the first light-scattering layer (20) is in contact with at least a top surface of the one or more LED dies (10).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0263243 A1~hereinafter “Nakagawa”) of record.
Regarding claim 17, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) a method of manufacturing a light emitting device comprising: positioning one or more light emitting diode (LED) dies (10) in a reflector cup (45); dispensing a first light-scattering composition (20) into the reflector cup, contacting side surfaces of the one or more LED dies (10), and a bottom wall and a sidewall of the reflector cup (45), the first light-scattering layer (20) comprising light-scattering particles (23; [0027]) and a first binder material ([0026]); dispensing a second light-scattering composition (30) into the reflector cup (45), the second light-scattering composition (30) comprising phosphor particles and a second binder material ([0028]).
Nakagawa does not expressly disclose partially curing the first light-scattering composition to form an intermediate first light-scattering formation; and curing the intermediate first light-scattering formation and the second light-scattering composition to form a first light-scattering layer and a second light-scattering layer, respectively, and an interface therebetween.
However, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0026] and [0028]) the first light-scattering composition (20) is injected into the space between the light-emitting diode (LED) (10) and the reflector (45) using a dispenser, for example, fills the corresponding space; and the second scattering composition (30) may be formed by potting or other method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider using any suitable method such as partially curing the first light-scattering composition to form an intermediate first light-scattering formation of Nakagawa; and curing the intermediate first light-scattering formation and the second light-scattering composition to form a first light-scattering layer and a second light-scattering layer, respectively, and an interface therebetween in order to preserve the shape of the deposited phosphor silicone particles and to also help contain the phosphor silicone particles over the respective LEDs as disclosed by Soer et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0183824 A1~hereinafter “Soer”) at least paragraph ([0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Nakagawa does not expressly disclose the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering composition and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering composition are the same material, and a first concentration of the particles of the first light-scattering composition is less than a concentration of the particles of the second light-scattering composition.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a light source wherein the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering composition and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering composition are the same material, and a first concentration of the particles of the first light-scattering composition is less than a concentration of the particles of the second light-scattering composition as evident by (JP-6934712 B2~ hereinafter “JP”) of record which discloses (in at least fig. 1) “a first phosphor layer 12 containing a phosphor and directly or indirectly covering the upper surface of the light emitting element 10. A second phosphor layer 13, which contains a phosphor having a concentration lower than that of the first phosphor layer 12 and covers at least the side surface of the light emitting element 10, and a first phosphor layer 12 and a second phosphor” for the benefit of having a light source with improved front luminance (see background text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light source device of Nakagawa with the phosphor teachings of JP for the benefit of having a light source with improved front luminance.
Regarding claim 19, Nakagawa does not expressly disclose the reflector cup has an aspect ratio (width to height) of in a range of 2.5:1 to 60:1.
However, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0023]) the cup reflector (45) is provided on the base (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light source of Nakagawa such that the reflector cup has an aspect ratio (width to height) of in a range of 2.5:1 to 60:1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Nakagawa discloses (in at least fig. 1) the first light-scattering layer (20) and the second light-scattering layer (30) differ with respect to one or more of the following characteristics: kinematic viscosity at 25° C.; refractive index; type of particles ([0026]-[0028]; [0030]): the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer and the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer are the same material; type of binder material; and particles loading: a first weight or volume ratio of the light-scattering particles of the first light-scattering layer to the first binder material differs from a second weight or volume ratio of the phosphor particles of the second light-scattering layer to the second binder material.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875