DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s current amendment (dated 30 DECEMBER 2025), has been entered. The status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 5-8, 10-21, 26, and 28 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) and/or citations being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al., US 2018/0332371 in view of Sasaki et al., US 2018/0288875.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a display device (sink device with LCD/display, and including at least a television; Fig. 1, elements 40 and 52, and pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23 and 28-29), comprising
a signal source end (source end; Fig. 1, element 10, and pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23),
a display end (again, including at least an LCD/display; Fig. 1, element 52, and page 2, paragraphs 28-29) and
a transmission part (signal transmission part/cable; Fig. 1, element 60, and pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23),
wherein the signal source end is separately arranged from the display end and the signal source end and the display end are connected through the transmission part (separate source end and sink end, which are connected via the transmission part/cable; Fig. 1, elements 10, 40, and 60, and pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23);
wherein, the signal source end comprises: a first control circuit for outputting a V BY ONE data signal (supplied/output signal format; page 2, paragraphs 25-26, and wherein with VbyOne signal/interface instead of described HDMI; pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23, and page 10, paragraph 116); and
a first converter connected to the first control circuit (signal transmitter/selector; Fig. 1, elements 12 and 62, and page 2, paragraphs 25-27, and with VCSEL; page 4, paragraph 48),
wherein the first converter is configured to obtain the V BY ONE data signal and convert the V BY ONE data signal into an optical signal for transmission (obtained signal can be converted for optical transmission; page 3, paragraphs 34-35, and again with VbyOne signal/interface instead of HDMI; pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23, and page 10, paragraph 116);
wherein the transmission part comprises an optical fiber (includes at least an optical fiber; page 3, paragraph 34, and page 4, paragraph 48); and
wherein the display end comprises: a second converter connected to the first converter through the optical fiber (display end connected via the cable; Fig. 1, elements 10, 40, and 60, and pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23, and with at least second transmission receiver/selector; Fig. 1, elements 42 and 64, and page 2, paragraphs 27-30, and again including optical fiber; page 3, paragraph 34, and page 4, paragraph 48, and with photodiode; page 4, paragraph 49),
wherein the second converter is configured to convert the received optical signal into a corresponding V BY ONE data signal (converting the received optical signal back into corresponding electric signal; page 3, paragraph 34, and page 4, paragraph 49); and
a display module connected to the second converter (again, with at least connected LCD/display; Fig. 1, element 52, and page 2, paragraphs 28-29),
wherein the display module is configured to obtain the V BY ONE data signal for image display (displaying the obtained video/signal; page 2, paragraph 28-29, and again with VbyOne signal/interface instead of HDMI; pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23, and page 10, paragraph 116).
While Suzuki also discloses wherein the signal source end further comprises: a first power source module (can include at least a power supply; Fig. 1, element 16, and page 2, paragraph 29), the transmission part further comprises a power line (transmission part/cable includes a plurality of power related lines, i.e. including at least a first; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36), and the first power source module is configured to supply power to a module through the power line (power can be supplied via at least a connected power line; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”), Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a photoelectric converter, and supplying power to a display module through a power line.
In a related art, Sasaki does disclose a photoelectric converter (photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56), and supplying power to a display module through a power line (power line portion of cable can be used to provide power from a power source/supply to the display unit of a flat panel display; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 4, paragraphs 49 and 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Suzuki and Sasaki by allowing the particular cable arrangement with the power lines of Sasaki to be utilized with the already present cable and power lines disclosed in Suzuki, in order to provide an improved system and method for a composite cable that feeds power to a flat panel-shaped electrical equipment, and simultaneously outputs electrical signals (Sasaki; page 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki in view of Sasaki discloses the display module further comprises a second control circuit (Suzuki; Fig. 1, elements 44 and 48, and page 2, paragraph 28);
the second control circuit is configured to output a first display control signal, the first display control signal is configured to instruct the first control circuit to output the V BY ONE data signal (Suzuki; can use specific line, i.e. CEC, and/or other communication lines for outputting and receiving commands, i.e. selection switching/output commands; page 3, paragraph 42, and page 8, paragraph 91, and again for VbyOne signal/interface instead of HDMI; pages 1-2, paragraphs 22-23, and page 10, paragraph 116);
the second photoelectric converter is further configured to obtain the first display control signal and convert the first display control signal into an optical signal for transmission (Suzuki; system can again convert for optical transmission; page 3, paragraphs 34-35, and Sasaki; photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56);
the first photoelectric converter is further configured to receive an optical signal corresponding to the first display control signal and convert the optical signal corresponding to the first display control signal into an electrical signal for output (Suzuki; converting the received optical signal back into corresponding electric signal; page 3, paragraph 34, and page 4, paragraph 49, and Sasaki; photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56);
and/or, the first control circuit is further configured to output a second display control signal, the second display control signal is configured for the first control circuit to communicate with the second control circuit and/or the backlight unit to adjust a preset parameter in the second control circuit and/or the backlight unit (Suzuki; communication of control signals, which can correspond to particular settings; page 3, paragraphs 40-41);
the first photoelectric converter is further configured to obtain the second display control signal and convert the second display control signal into an optical signal for transmission (Suzuki; system can again convert for optical transmission; page 3, paragraphs 34-35, and Sasaki; photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56);
the second photoelectric converter is further configured to receive an optical signal corresponding to the second display control signal and convert the optical signal corresponding to the second display control signal into an electrical signal for output (Suzuki; converting the received optical signal back into corresponding electric signal; page 3, paragraph 34, and page 4, paragraph 49, and Sasaki; photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56).
Examiners Note: the use of “and/or” in the claim language indicates that only one of the listed limitations needs to be covered in order for the claim to be met.
Claims 5-8, 10-11, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al., US 2018/0332371 in view of Sasaki et al., US 2018/0288875 and further in view of Ryoo et al., US 2018/0373094.
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki in view of Sasaki discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as the display module comprises a display (Suzuki; includes at least LCD/display; Fig. 1, element 52, and page 2, paragraphs 28-29);
the first power source module comprises a first voltage output terminal (Suzuki; can include at least a power supply; Fig. 1, element 16, and page 2, paragraph 29, and wherein with output(s) to power related lines, i.e. including at least a first; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36);
the power line comprises a first power line (Suzuki; with plurality of power related lines/outputs; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, i.e. including at least a first, and page 3, paragraph 36, and Sasaki; power line portion of cable can be used to provide power; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 4, paragraphs 49 and 52); and
the first power source module is configured to output a first power supply signal through the first voltage output terminal, and transmit the first power supply signal through the first power line (Suzuki; at least power from source can be output and supplied via one of the plurality of lines, which can include at least a first; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36, and Sasaki; power line portion of cable can be used to provide power from a power source/supply; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 4, paragraphs 49 and 52) .
Suzuki in view of Sasaki does not explicitly disclose the display module comprises a backlight unit; and
a power line to supply power to the backlight unit.
In a related art, Ryoo does disclose the display module comprises a backlight unit (can include at least a backlight unit; page 1, paragraph 15, and page 2, paragraph 26); and
a power line to supply power to the backlight unit (with voltage line supplying power for the backlight; page 3, paragraph 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Suzuki, Sasaki, and Ryoo by allowing backlight elements to be present with the already disclosed display/LCD components of Suzuki in view of Sasaki, in order to provide an improved system and method for power dissipation in a backlight unit (Ryoo; page 1, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki in view of Sasaki and Ryoo discloses the display module further comprises: a display unit (Suzuki; includes at least LCD/display; Fig. 1, element 52, and page 2, paragraphs 28-29);
a step-down unit connected between a power output terminal of the backlight unit and a power input terminal of the display unit (Ryoo; can have a buck/down convertor between power input/output; Fig. 3, and page 3, paragraph 28), wherein the step-down unit is configured to output a fifth power supply signal according to an output voltage of the backlight unit to supply power to the display unit (Ryoo; supplying particular power signal, i.e. such as a fifth, from the buck/down convertor; page 3, paragraphs 28-29).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki in view of Sasaki and Ryoo discloses the display module further comprises: a display unit (Suzuki; includes at least LCD/display; Fig. 1, element 52, and page 2, paragraphs 28-29);
a step-down unit connected between a power input terminal of the display unit and the second photoelectric converter (Suzuki; module(s)/elements between power input(s) and transmission module(s); Fig. 1, and Sasaki; photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56, and Ryoo; buck/down convertor between power input/output; Fig. 3, and page 3, paragraph 28), wherein the step-down unit is configured to receive the first power supply signal and output a fifth power supply signal according to the first power supply signal to power the display unit (Ryoo; supplying particular power signal, i.e. such as a fifth, from the buck/down convertor; page 3, paragraphs 28-29).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki in view of Sasaki and Ryoo discloses the display module further comprises a display unit (Suzuki; includes at least LCD/display; Fig. 1, element 52, and page 2, paragraphs 28-29), and the first power source module is connected to the first control circuit (Suzuki; power supply connected to control/transmission unit; Fig. 1, elements 16 and 12);
the first control circuit comprises a third voltage output terminal (Suzuki; with plurality of power related lines/outputs; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36);
the power line further comprises a third power line (Suzuki; with plurality of power related lines/outputs; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, i.e. including at least a third, and page 3, paragraph 36);
the first power source module is configured to output a third power supply signal through the third voltage output terminal, and transmit the third power supply signal through the third power line (Suzuki; at least power from source can be output and supplied via one of the plurality of lines, which can include at least a third; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36), and the third power supply signal is configured to power the display unit (Suzuki; power can be supplied to connected display end/module via at least a connected power line; Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”),
wherein a voltage value of the third power supply signal is less than a voltage value of the first power supply signal (Suzuki; voltage(s) of the particular lines can be different, with one being amplified over others, and some being dedicated to +5V, i.e. one power supply line will be less than another; page 4, paragraphs 44-45, and Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36);
and/or, the first control circuit comprises a fourth voltage output terminal; the power line further comprises a fourth power line, the first power source module is configured to output a fourth power supply signal through the fourth voltage output terminal, and transmit the fourth power supply signal through the fourth power line, and the fourth power supply signal is configured to power the second photoelectric converter, wherein a voltage value of the fourth power supply signal is less than a voltage value of the first power supply signal (Suzuki; voltage(s) of the particular lines, i.e. including at least up to a fourth, can be different, with some being amplified over others, and some being dedicated to +5V, i.e. a certain power supply line will be less than another; page 4, paragraphs 44-45, and Fig. 1, see “+5V”, “Power line”, “HPD”, and page 3, paragraph 36, and Sasaki; photoelectric conversion; pages 4-5, paragraph 56).
Examiners Note: the use of “and/or” in the claim language indicates that only one of the listed limitations needs to be covered in order for the claim to be met.
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki in view of Sasaki and Ryoo discloses the first control circuit further comprises a detection level input terminal (Suzuki; input of at least HPD line; Fig. 1, see “HPD”, and page 4, paragraph 44), and the first control circuit is configured to receive a detection level signal through the detection level input terminal (Suzuki; can receive specific signal via the HPD line; page 4, paragraph 44, and page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraph 66);
the display module further comprises a detection level output terminal, and the display module is configured to output the detection level signal through the detection level output terminal (Suzuki; output of the signal, via the HPD line; Fig. 1, see “HPD”, and page 4, paragraph 44, and page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraph 66);
the power line further comprises a second power line, and the second power line is configured to transmit the detection level signal (Suzuki; HPD signal line, and wherein this can also be with power; page 4, paragraph 44, and page 6, paragraph 69);
wherein, the detection level signal is configured to control an output of the first voltage output terminal, and/or, to control an output of the third voltage output terminal, and/or an output of the fourth voltage output terminal (Suzuki; can control supply of power from a particular output to a specific module/element; page 4, paragraph 44, and page 5, paragraph 60, and page 6, paragraph 69).
Examiners Note: the use of “and/or” in the claim language indicates that only one of the listed limitations needs to be covered in order for the claim to be met.
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki in view of Sasaki and Ryoo discloses the signal source end further comprises a first connector (Suzuki; source end connector; Fig. 1, element 20, and page 2, paragraph 23), the display end further comprises a second connector (Suzuki; display end connector; Fig. 1, element 56, and page 2, paragraph 23), and the transmission part comprises a third connector and a fourth connector (Suzuki; with transmission part/cable connectors; Fig. 1, elements 66 and 68, and page 2, paragraph 23), the third connector is configured to connect the first connector, and the fourth connector is configured to connect the second connector (Suzuki; connectors on source and display ends are connected to corresponding connectors of the transmission part/cable; Fig. 1, elements 20, 56, 66, and 68, and page 2, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 26, Suzuki in view of Sasaki and Ryoo discloses the signal source end further comprises: a switch control circuit (Suzuki; can include a switching circuit; Fig. 2, elements 62 and 90, and page 4, paragraphs 48 and 50), wherein the switch control circuit controls an output of the first voltage output terminal, and/or controls an output of the third voltage output terminal, and/or controls an output of the fourth voltage output terminal in response to a signal of the first control circuit (Suzuki; switching circuit can make determinations which effects specific power output/supply; page 5, paragraphs 60-64, and page 7, paragraph 84).
Examiners Note: the use of “and/or” in the claim language indicates that only one of the listed limitations needs to be covered in order for the claim to be met.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17, 19-21, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424