DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 05th, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on January 06th 2026 have been entered. Claims 8, 10-17 and 19-22 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on October 09th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12-15, 17, 19, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okado et al. (US 7190320 B2) in view of Kelley et al. (US 11158937 B2).
Regarding Claim 8, Okado et al. further discloses an antenna (Antenna structure disposed on a board to serve as an antenna module; Paragraph 87 and figure 18 of Okado et al.) comprising:
a semicircular plate portion (Planar conductive element 1201 is shaped like a semi-circle and thus serves as a semicircular plate portion; Paragraph 86-91 and figure 18 of Okado et al.); a plurality of adjustment pattern portions extending from ends of the semicircular plate portion (Arm portions 1201c extend from ends of the straight line portion of the semi-circle 1201 and serve as adjustment portions since they secure current paths for lower frequencies such that the antenna can operate at these frequencies due to the length added by them; Paragraph 34-37 and 86-91 as well as figure 18 of Okado et al.); and a waveguide line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion (Feed portion 1208 serves as a feed line that connects to a extending portion 1201a of the semicircular plate; Paragraph 86-91 and figure 18 of Okado et al.)
Okado et al. fails to explicitly disclose a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions.
However, Kelley et al. does disclose a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions (A semicircular plate of antenna element 100 is fed by a transmission line which may be a co-planar waveguide line instead and extends perpendicular to the straight line portion of the semi-circular plate and co-planar waveguide line is disposed between two adjustment portions 106a-b or 306a-b wherein the CPW line and the arm adjustment portions are partially parallel; Paragraph 20-36 and figure 4 of Kelley et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Okado et al. to have a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions as taught by Kelley et al. to provide an ultra-wideband respond for a low cost (Paragraph 20 of Kelley et al.) and since the type of feed line and its location can improve the antenna performance.
Regarding Claim 10, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of adjustment pattern portions extend from both ends of a straight line of the semicircular plate portion with a constant width and the same length (Two Arm portions 1201c extend from both ends of the straight line portion of the semi-circle 1201 and have the same length and width; Paragraph 86-91 as well as figure 18 of Okado et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of adjustment pattern portions extend perpendicular to the straight line of the semicircular plate portion (A semicircular plate of antenna element 100 is fed by a transmission line which may be a co-planar waveguide line instead and extends perpendicular to the straight line portion of the semi-circular plate; Paragraph 20 and 30-32 as figure 4 of Kelley et al.).
Okado et al. fails to explicitly disclose the CPW line is at least partly arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions, and at least parts of the plurality of adjustment pattern portions and the CPW line are parallel.
However, Kelley et al. does disclose the CPW line is at least partly arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions, and at least parts of the plurality of adjustment pattern portions and the CPW line are parallel (Transmission line which may be a co-planar waveguide is disposed between two adjustment portions 106a-b or 306a-b wherein the CPW line and the arm adjustment portions are partially parallel; Paragraph 20-36 and figure 1-4 of Kelley et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Okado et al. to have the CPW line be at least partly arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions, and at least parts of the plurality of adjustment pattern portions and the CPW line are parallel as taught by Kelley et al. to provide an ultra-wideband respond for a low cost (Paragraph 20 of Kelley et al.) and since the location of the feed line would impact the antenna performance.
Regarding Claim 13, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of adjustment pattern portions are formed in the shapes of wings extending from the semicircular plate portion (Adjustment portions 1201c from wings that extend from the semi-circular plate portion 1201 as seen in figure 18 of Okado et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of adjustment pattern portions comprise a first adjustment pattern portion and a second adjustment pattern portion that are symmetrically arranged and identical in length and width (Two adjustment portions 1201c that are symmetrical and have equal length and width as seen in figure 18 of Okado et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the semicircular plate portion and the plurality of the adjustment pattern portions are arranged on the same plane (Adjustment portions 1201c and semicircular plate 1201 all share the same plate on dielectric board 1206; Paragraph 34-37 and 86-91).
Regarding Claim 17, Okado et al. further discloses an antenna module (Antenna structure disposed on a board to serve as an antenna module; Paragraph 87 and figure 18 of Okado et al.) comprising: a semicircular plate portion (Planar conductive element 1201 is shaped like a semi-circle and thus serves as a semicircular plate portion; Paragraph 86-91 and figure 18 of Okado et al.); and a plurality of adjustment pattern portions extending from ends of the semicircular plate portion (Arm portions 1201c extend from ends of the straight line portion of the semi-circle 1201 and serve as adjustment portions since they secure current paths for lower frequencies such that the antenna can operate at these frequencies due to the length added by them; Paragraph 34-37 and 86-91 as well as figure 18 of Okado et al.); and a waveguide line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion (Feed portion 1208 serves as a feed line that connects to a extending portion 1201a of the semicircular plate; Paragraph 86-91 and figure 18 of Okado et al.)
Okado et al. fails to explicitly disclose a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions.
However, Kelley et al. does disclose a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions (A semicircular plate of antenna element 100 is fed by a transmission line which may be a co-planar waveguide line instead and extends perpendicular to the straight line portion of the semi-circular plate and co-planar waveguide line is disposed between two adjustment portions 106a-b or 306a-b wherein the CPW line and the arm adjustment portions are partially parallel; Paragraph 20-36 and figure 4 of Kelley et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Okado et al. to have a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portions as taught by Kelley et al. to provide an ultra-wideband respond for a low cost (Paragraph 20 of Kelley et al.) and since the type of feed line and its location can improve the antenna performance.
Regarding Claim 19, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of adjustment pattern portions are formed in the shapes of wings extending from the semicircular plate portion (Adjustment portions 1201c from wings that extend from the semi-circular plate portion 1201 as seen in figure 18 of Okado et al.).
Regarding Claim 20, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of adjustment pattern portions comprise a first adjustment pattern portion and a second adjustment pattern portion that are symmetrically arranged and identical in length and width (Two adjustment portions 1201c that are symmetrical and have equal length and width as seen in figure 18 of Okado et al.).
Regarding Claim 21, Okado et al. further discloses wherein the semicircular plate portion and the plurality of the adjustment pattern portions are arranged on the same plane (Adjustment portions 1201c and semicircular plate 1201 all share the same plate on dielectric board 1206; Paragraph 34-37 and 86-91).
Claim(s) 11, 16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okado et al. (US 7190320 B2) in view of Kelley et al. (US 11158937 B2) and Li et al. (CN 112216971 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Okado et al. and Kelley et al. fails to disclose wherein the semicircular plate portion comprises a groove extending from the center of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to the straight line of the semicircular plate portion.
Although, Li et al. fails to explicitly disclose a semicircular plate portion. Li et al. does disclose wherein the plate portion comprises a groove extending from the center of the plate portion, perpendicular to the straight line of portion (UWB antenna comprises a plate in the form of radiation patch 20 that has a rectangular groove 22 that extends from the center of the plate 20 and is perpendicular to a straight line portion defined by the top edges of plate 20 wherein this groove 22 lies on the same line as the feed line 30 that lies on the same plane and can serve as a coplanar waveguide; Pg. 4-6 and figure 1 of Li et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Okado et al., Kelley et al., and Li et al. to have a semicircular plate portion comprises a groove extending from the center of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to the straight line of the semicircular plate portion since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation would stem from wanting to expand the frequency band of operation of the antenna structures through placement of a groove (Pg. 3 of Li et al.) which can be done since both shapes of Li et al. and Kelley et al. comprise a top straight line portion, with a center point from which the groove would extend, and a CPW waveguide perpendicular too and opposite of this straight line portion.
Regarding Claim 16, Okado et al. and Kelley et al. fails to disclose wherein the groove is arranged on the same straight line as the CPW line.
However Li et al. does disclose wherein the groove is arranged on the same straight line as the CPW line (UWB antenna comprises a plate in the form of radiation patch 20 that has a rectangular groove 22 that extends from the center of the plate 20 and is perpendicular to a straight line portion defined by the top edges of plate 20 wherein this groove 22 lies on the same line as the feed line 30 that lies on the same plane and can serve as a coplanar waveguide; Pg. 4-6 and figure 1 of Li et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Okado et al., Kelley et al., and Li et al. wherein the groove is arranged on the same straight line as the CPW line since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation would stem from wanting to expand the frequency band of operation of the antenna structures through placement of a groove (Pg. 3 of Li et al.) which can be done since both shapes of Li et al. and Kelley et al. comprise a top straight line portion, with a center point from which the groove would extend, and a CPW waveguide perpendicular too and opposite of this straight line portion.
Regarding Claim 22, Okado et al. and Kelley et al. fails to disclose wherein the semicircular plate portion comprises a groove extending from the center of the semicircular plate portion, the groove extending perpendicular to the straight line of the semicircular plate portion and arranged on the same straight line as the CPW line.
However, Li et al. does disclose wherein the semicircular plate portion comprises a groove extending from the center of the semicircular plate portion, the groove extending perpendicular to the straight line of the semicircular plate portion and arranged on the same straight line as the CPW line (UWB antenna comprises a plate in the form of radiation patch 20 that has a rectangular groove 22 that extends from the center of the plate 20 and is perpendicular to a straight line portion defined by the top edges of plate 20 wherein this groove 22 lies on the same line as the feed line 30 that lies on the same plane and can serve as a coplanar waveguide; Pg. 4-6 and figure 1 of Li et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Okado et al., Kelley et al., and Li et al. to have the semicircular plate portion comprises a groove extending from the center of the semicircular plate portion, the groove extending perpendicular to the straight line of the semicircular plate portion and arranged on the same straight line as the CPW line. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation would stem from wanting to expand the frequency band of operation of the antenna structures through placement of a groove (Pg. 3 of Li et al.) which can be done since both shapes of Li et al. and Kelley et al. comprise a top straight line portion, with a center point from which the groove would extend, and a CPW waveguide perpendicular too and opposite of this straight line portion.
Response to Arguments
“As shown above, an antenna includes a semicircular plate portion 110, a plurality of adjustment pattern portions 121 and 122 extending from the end of the semi-circular plate portion 110, a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line 130 extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion and perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, and a UWB chip/component/circuit 140. As also shown above, the CPW line 130 is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of adjustment pattern portionsl21 and 122. Referring to paragraphs [0035] and [0043]-[0045] of the detailed description, the adjustment pattern portions 121 and 122 are used to adjust the resonance frequency of the antenna, and are characterized in that at least a part of the CPW line is arranged in at least part between a plurality of adjustment pattern portions.
However, the cited references, individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the adjustment pattern portion of the present application. Starting with the Okado reference, an excerpt of FIG. 18 of Okado is reproduced below for ease of comparison.
The Office Action equates conductive element 1201 to the recited "semicircular plate portion," and equates arm portions 1201c to the recited "adjustment pattern portions." However, there is no coplanar waveguide (CPW) line in Okado, which is admitted on page 6 of the Office Action. Further, the arm portions of Okado extend in the opposite direction to the adjustment pattern portion of the present application. In addition, the adjustment pattern portion of the present application is for adjusting a resonance frequency, while the arm portions of Okado are for securing a low-frequency current path, which is documented in col. 18, lines 49-57, of Okado (reproduced below).”
Applicant's arguments filed on January 06th 2026 in regards to claims 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that Okado et al. in view of Kelley et al. fails to disclose, “An antenna comprising: a semicircular plate portion; a plurality of adjustment pattern portions extending from ends of the semicircular plate portion; and a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line extending from at least part of the semicircular plate portion, perpendicular to a straight line of the semicircular plate portion, wherein the CPW line is at least partially arranged in at least part between the plurality of pattern portions.”
Regarding claim 8, the examiner notes that although the arm portions extend in opposite directions to the adjustment portions of the application, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (adjustable portions extension direction) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claim 1 only requires adjustment portions extending from ends of the semicircular plate with the applicants specifications noting that the arms extend form the end of the straight line of the semicircular plate (Paragraph 31) and the arms of Okado also extend from the ends of the straight line portion of the semicircular plate thus meeting the limitation. Furthermore, the arms of Okado do serve as adjustment portions for the antenna structure. When Okado recites that “arm portions secure paths for low frequencies”, this is done by extending the effective electrical length of the radiator by adding the arm portions with the change in frequency being based on the length of the arms. This allows the antenna to behave like a large antenna which in turns adjust the resonance frequency to a lower one. Thus the arm portions are serving as an adjustment portion similar to the applicants adjustment portions that also adjust the resonance frequency of the antenna based on their lengths with increased lengths providing lower frequencies. Thus we can see the arms of Okado and adjustment portions of applicant serve similar functions.
“The Office Action (pages 6 and 7) asserts that Kelly discloses a coplanar waveguide (CPW) line. However, Kelley's first and second legs 306a and 306b are formed from the substrate and do not extend from the radiating angular trace 304. Therefore, Kelley's leg cannot control the resonant frequency as in the present application. Since the cited references do not disclose or suggest a CPW line having the same shape as required by independent claim 8, claim 8 of the present application is both unanticipated and nonobvious by any combination of Okado and Kelly.
Li does not cure the deficiencies of Okado and Kelly, and the Office Action makes no assertion to the contrary. Thus, the references of record, individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest each and every limitation of independent claim 8. Claim 17 is allowable for the reasons outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted independent claims 8 and 17 and each of the claims depending therefrom are allowable.”
Regarding the applicants arguments above, the examiner notes that the main reference of Okado is relied upon to teach the plurality of adjustment portions that extend from the semicircular plate. Kelley is relied upon to teach a co-planar waveguide that can be located between two adjustment portions. As taught by Kelley, the arms 306a-b provide dielectric loading which makes the antenna behave as if it has a longer electrical length so it can resonate at a lower frequency. As such the arms 306a-b serve as adjustment members and the coplanar waveguide line extends form the plate and between the adjustment portions which meets the claim limitation and motivation to modify Okado was provided in the rejection. It is also noted that Okado teaches a line shaped feed in between the adjustment portions so replacing said feed with a co-planar waveguide feed would have been obvious in the view of the teaching of Kelley. Furthermore, it has been held that that rearranging parts of an invention (like moving a feed structure to a different location) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 6930647 B2 (Wako; Iichi et al.) discloses a semicircular radial plate with a groove that extends from a center portion of the antenna.
US 20080094285 A1 (Hansen; Thomas) discloses a semicircular antenna with a groove disposed within.
US 20100073258 A1(Koshiji; Fukuro) discloses a semicircular antenna disposed on a PCB and directly connected to a feed line.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845