DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The present application is drawn from PCT/JP2021/046786, filed 12/17/2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a humanized anti-DANM-1 antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof comprising a heavy chain variable region containing an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 as HCDR1, an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 as HCDR2 and an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 as HCDR3; and a light chain variable region containing an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4 as LCDR1, an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5 as LCDR2 and an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6 as LCDR3.
Use of the terminology “an amino acid sequence” reads on as little as 1-3 amino acids (i.e. a sub-sequence) of any of the claimed sequences. That is, the claims do not require the full length sequence identifiers, it is not close-ended and defined by the recited SEQ ID NOs; rather, that any 1-3 consecutive amino acid residues constitute “an amino acid sequence of”. Thus, for example in claim 1, where the claim recites an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 as HCDR3, it is unclear which amino acid residues of SEQ ID NO: 3 are required, as all that is claimed is an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3. This is repeated for the HCDRs 1-3 and LCDRs 1-3 of claim 1; such that it is unclear what amino acid residues are required from the listed SEQ ID NOs. Similarly, claims 2-3 and 6 each recite “an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:” 9-11 or 13-15. Thus, it is unclear what sub-sequence of amino acids are required from the listed SEQ ID NOs. As the structure of the CDRs or the VH/VL of the antibody is unclear with regard to how the required amino acid sequences are defined, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. Further, regarding claims 1-3, 5, and 6, the use of “containing an amino acid sequence” presents indefiniteness issues. The claimed domains must either “comprise” the recited amino acid sequence, whereby it may also have additional amino acids, or “consist of”, or “consist essentially of”, whereby the claimed sequences cannot have additional amino acids. That is, “comprising” is open-ended and “consisting of” is closed-ended and definite (see MPEP section 2111.03). Using the term “containing” does not make clear whether the domains may comprise, or must consist of, the relative amino acid sequences. Thus, claims 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected for indefiniteness. As claims 4-5 and 7-10 depend from rejected claim 1, but fail to rectify the indefiniteness issues, claims 4-5 and 7-10 are also rejected. It is suggested that applicants use definitive language such as “comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO”, when referencing the required amino acid sequences that encode the domains of the claimed product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibuya et al., (from IDS of 8/20/2024; US 2019/0127462; published 5/2/2019).
The Shibuya reference names a common inventor with the instant application. However, as the reference disclosure was published 5/2/2019, more than one year before the effective filing date of the instant application, the Shibuya reference qualifies as both 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) prior art.
Shibuya et al. teaches the generation of anti-DNAM-1 antibodies, nucleic acids and vectors for activation of regulatory T cells (pg. 1, para. 0001). Specifically, Shibuya teaches mAb No. 1, which comprises the heavy chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 7 and the light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 8 (pg. 9, para. 0156, Table 1). Heavy chain SEQ ID NO: 7 (pg. 17) comprises the HCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, respectively, with 100% sequence identity; light chain SEQ ID NO: 8 (pg. 17) comprises the LCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 4-6, respectively, with 100% sequence identity. Shibuya also teaches that the anti-DNAM-1 mAbs of the invention may be humanized (pg. 5, para. 0087). Shibuya teaches nucleic acids encoding the antibody, vectors comprising the nucleic acid and a transformant comprising the vector (pg. 24, claims 20-22). Shibuya also teaches the anti-DNAM-1 construct can act as an immunosuppressant, whereby it is capable of inhibiting the proliferation of CD8+ T cells (pg. 8, para. 0138).
Regarding claim 1, Shibuya teaches anti-DNAM-1 antibody constructs which comprise the HCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, respectively, and the LCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 4-6, respectively, and teaches the anti-DNAM-1 antibody may be humanized. Thus, Shibuya anticipates instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 7-9; Shibuya teaches nucleic acids encoding the anti-DNAM-1 antibody, as well as vectors comprising the nucleic acids, and transformant host cells expressing the vectors. Thus, Shibuya anticipates instant claims 7-9.
Regarding claim 10, Shibuya teaches the anti-DNAM-1 antibody constructs are capable of inhibiting innate CD8+ T cell proliferation and may be used as an immunosuppressant to preventing or treating GVHD. Thus, Shibuya anticipates the activation inhibitor of instant claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al., (from IDS of 8/20/2024; US 2019/0127462; published 5/2/2019) in view of Du et al. (from IDS of 2/11/2025; US 2024/0150455; priority to 3/5/2021) and Lacy et al. (from IDS of 2/11/2025; US 7,700,739; issued 4/20/2010).
Shibuya et al. teaches the generation of anti-DNAM-1 antibodies, nucleic acids and vectors for activation of regulatory T cells (pg. 1, para. 0001). Specifically, Shibuya teaches mAb No. 1, which comprises the heavy chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 7 and the light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 8 (pg. 9, para. 0156, Table 1). Heavy chain SEQ ID NO: 7 (pg. 17) comprises the HCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, respectively, with 100% sequence identity; light chain SEQ ID NO: 8 (pg. 17) comprises the LCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 4-6, respectively, with 100% sequence identity. Shibuya also teaches that the anti-DNAM-1 mAbs of the invention may be humanized (pg. 5, para. 0087).
Thus, Shibuya teaches anti-DNAM-1 antibodies comprising the identical CDRs of instant claim 1, and wherein the antibodies may be humanized. However, Shibuya does not teach humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibodies having the corresponding framework regions of the humanized VH of instant SEQ ID NOs: 9 or 10 and the humanized VL of instant SEQ ID NO: 11.
Du et al. teaches anti-CLDN6 antibodies for treating tumors (abstract). In certain embodiments, the antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof is humanized (pg. 7, para. 0174); wherein the VH of the antibody comprises a heavy chain variable region framework region derived from human immunoglobulin (pg. 7, para. 0175). Du teaches that to humanize the antibody means a genetically engineered non-human antibody whereby the amino acid sequence has been modified to increase homology to the sequence of a human antibody; typically all or part of the CDRs of a humanized antibody are derived from a non-human (donor) antibody, and all or part of the non-CDR regions are derived from a human immunoglobulin (receptor) antibody (pg. 16, para. 0312). Du teaches that in order to prepare the humanized antibody, murine CDRs can be inserted into human framework sequences using methods known in the art (pg. 16, para. 0316). Du teaches the humanized antibody of the present invention allows for safe administration to human subjects without causing immunogenic reactions (pg. 19, para. 0333). Du teaches one such humanized heavy chain variable region, of [AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Instant VH amino acid sequence vs US 2024/0150455 (Du et al.).
VH CDR regions 1-3 are highlighted by red box; HCDR2 carries over from line 1 to line 2.
[img-media_image1.png])]antibody 7008-01, of SEQ ID NO: 19 (pg. 20). Du teaches the inventors prepared a series of humanized antibodies of murine antibody 15H2 and 9H3; one such humanized antibody is named 7008-01 and comprises the VH of SEQ ID NO: 19 (pg. 24, para. 0355).
As can be seen from Fig. 1 above, US ‘455 (Du et al.) teaches a humanized VH sequence whereby the CDRs of a murine antibody may be grafted into the corresponding FRs 1-4. Outside of the graft-able CDR regions (highlighted by red box), the FR1-4 sequences of the humanized VL domain comprise amino acid sequences with only 2 residue mismatches, S30T and T116L. Note that the only difference between instant SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 10 is the S30T substitution. A construct comprising the instant CDRs grafted into the FRs of US ‘455 SEQ ID NO: 19 would comprise 119/121 residues, or 98.3% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 10, and 120/121 residues, or 99.2% sequence identity, to instant SEQ ID NO: 9.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to humanize the murine anti-DNAM-1 antibody VH of Shibuya et al. by grafting the CDRs into the human acceptor framework region of the VH of Du et al. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce immunogenicity as taught by Du et al., and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to select framework regions that had been successfully used in constructing humanized antibodies. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success given that the CDRs of a murine CLDN6 antibody were successfully grafted into a human variable domain, including the human framework regions, to generate a humanized VH domain as taught by Du et al. As Shibuya et al teaches the CDRs 1-3 with 100% sequence identity, and Du teaches the FRs 1-4 with only 1 or 2 alternate residue, by grafting the CDRs of Shibuya into the acceptor FRs of Du, one would arrive at the VH of instant SEQ ID NO: 10 with 98.3% sequence identity or the VH of instant SEQ ID NO: 9 with 99.2% sequence identity.
Lacy et al. teaches antibodies directed against IL-12p40, including humanized antibodies (abstract). Lacy teaches construction of CDR grafted anti-human antibodies (col. 46); CDR-grafted antibodies of the invention comprise heavy and light chain variable region sequences from a human antibody wherein one or more of the CDR regions of VL are replaced with CDR sequences of the murine antibodies of the invention. Lacy teaches humanizing an antibody can be used to reduce immunogenicity or reduce, enhance or modify binding, affinity, on-rate, off-rate, avidity, specificity, half-life, or any other suitable characteristics, as known in the art (col. 50, lines 38-43). Lacy teaches various light chain acceptor framework regions for additional humanized antibodies (col. 95, Table 20). Specifically, Lacy teaches the humanization of the antibody 1A6.11 variable regions (col. 96, Example 2.4.3). Lacy teaches that the human VL segment III-3R and the J segment JK4 were used (col. 96, lines 40-44); and light chain back mutations occurred at residues 36 and 67 for 1A6.11 (col. 96, lines 54-56), as well as substituting a human consensus amino acid at position 62 (col. 96, lines 60-62). The resulting humanized VL amino acid sequence for antibody 1A6.11 is presented in SEQ ID NO: 101 (col. 185; col. 203, claims 30-31).
As can be seen from Fig. 2 above, US ‘739 (Lacy et al.) teaches a humanized VL sequence whereby the CDRs of a murine antibody may be grafted into the corresponding FRs 1-4. Outside of the graft-able CDR regions (highlighted by red box), the FR1-4 sequences of the humanized VL domain comprise amino acid sequences with 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 11.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to humanize the murine anti-DNAM-1 antibodies of Shibuya et al. by grafting the CDRs into a human acceptor framework region as taught by Lacy et al. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce immunogenicity as taught by Lacy et al., and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to select framework regions that had been successfully used in constructing humanized antibodies. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success given that the CDRs of a murine IL-12p40 antibody were successfully grafted into a human variable domain, including the human framework regions, to generate a humanized VL domain as taught by Lacy et al. As Shibuya et al teaches the CDRs 1-3 with 100% sequence identity, and Lacy teaches the FRs 1-4 with 100% sequence identity, by grafting the CDRs of Shibuya into the acceptor FRs of Lacy, one would arrive at the VL of instant SEQ ID NO: 11 with 100% sequence identity.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 10, the combination of Shibuya, Du and Lacy makes obvious an antibody construct comprising a VH with the CDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 1-3 of Shibuya (of SEQ ID NO: 7) and the FRs 1-4 of Du, and therefore comprises an amino acid sequence with 98% identity to the VH of SEQ ID NO: 10; and a VL with the CDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 4-6 of Shibuya (of SEQ ID NO: 8) and the FRs 1-4 of Lacy, and therefore comprises an amino acid sequence with 100% identity to the VH of SEQ ID NO: 11. Thus the combination antibody construct of Shibuya, Du and Lacy makes obvious the humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibody of claim 1 and the activation inhibitor of instant claim 10. Further, as both the VH and VL are greater than 95% similar to SEQ ID NOs: 10 and 11, respectively, the humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibody of claim 2 is also made obvious. Further regarding claim 10, Shibuya teaches an embodiment of the present invention provides an immunosuppressant that includes the anti-DNAM-1 antibody, whereby the immunosuppressant is capable of inhibiting the proliferation of the CD8+ T cells in a mixed lymphocyte reaction assay (pg. 8, para. 0138; pg. 12, Test Example 8, para. 0202). Shibuya provides an example whereby the anti-DNAM-1 antibody is administered, as an immunosuppressant, in a mouse model of graft-versus-host disease, whereby the immunosuppressant was effective in preventing and treating graft-versus-host disease (pg. 8, para. 0138; pg. 13, Test Example 10, paras. 0210-0211). Thus, Shibuya teaches the anti-DNAM-1 antibody of claim 1 is an activation inhibitor for an innate lymphoid cell, and make obvious instant claim 10.
Regarding claims 4-5, the combination antibody of Shibuya, Du and Lacy is described above. Further, Lacy teaches the binding protein may also comprise a heavy chain constant domain selected from IgG or IgM, and whereby the constant domain may be IgG1 (col. 8, lines 44-50; col. 17, lines 60-62). Further, Lacy teaches that replacement of amino acid residues in the Fc portion to alter antibody function are known in the art; and in some cases are made in order to alter the effector functions of the antibody (col. 52, lines 9-10 and 23-26). In Example 2.2.2 (col. 85), Lacy teaches construction of CDR-Grafted Antibodies; such antibodies include a human IgG1 constant region containing 2 hinge-region amino acid mutations, whereby the leucine at positions 234-235 (EU numbering) are changed to alanine (col. 86, lines 10-16). Lacy teaches these mutations are embodied in the mutated IgG1 constant region amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3. The two substituted alanine residues of Lacy SEQ ID NO: 3 (col. 19, Table 2) correspond exactly with the alanine at positions 238 and 239 of instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (re. claims 4-5). Thus, the mutated Fc domains of Lacy make obvious the a mutated IgG1 constant domain, wherein the mutations comprise an alanine at positions 238 and 239 of SEQ ID NO: 14 (re. claims 4-6). Further, Lacy teaches the antibody can comprise a kappa light chain constant region (col. 52, lines 2-4), and that the kappa light chain constant region has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4 (col. 19, Table 2). As the amino acid sequence of the VH of Shibuya, Du and Lacy has 98% shared sequence identity, and the mutated IgG1 Fc region of Lacy (SEQ ID NO: 3) has 99% shared sequence identity, the full heavy chain (VH + Fc) of Shibuya, Du and Lacy has > 95% shared sequence identity to the heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 14; and as the VL of Shibuya, Du and Lacy has 100% shared sequence identity and the kappa constant region of Lacy (SEQ ID NO: 4) has 100% shared sequence identity, the full light chain (VL + Kappa constant) of Shibuya, Du and Lacy has 100% shared sequence identity to the light chain of SEQ ID NO: 15. Thus, the combination antibody of Shibuya, Du and Lacy makes obvious instant claims 4-5.
Regarding claims 7-9, the combination antibody of Shibuya, Du and Lacy is described above. Further, Shibuya teaches nucleic acids encoding the anti-human DNAM-1 antibody (pg. 7, paras. 0117-0118); recombinant vectors comprising the nucleic acids (pg. 7, paras. 0124-0125); and transformants, which include host cells into which the recombinant vector has been introduced (pg. 8, paras. 0132 and 0134). Thus, claims 7-9 are made obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,059,888 in view of Du et al. (US 2024/0150455; priority to 3/5/2021) and Lacy et al. (US 7,700,739; issued 4/20/2010).
US ‘888 claims an anti-DNAM-1 antibody which comprises the heavy chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 7 and the light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 8 (claim 1), and whereby the anti-DNAM-1 antibody is a humanized antibody (claim 2). Heavy chain SEQ ID NO: 7 comprises the HCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, respectively, with 100% sequence identity; light chain SEQ ID NO: 8 comprises the LCDRs 1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs: 4-6, respectively, with 100% sequence identity. Thus, US ‘888 claims humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibodies comprising the identical CDR amino acid sequences of instant claim 1; however, US ‘888 does not claim wherein the humanized antibody FR regions comprise the amino acid sequences such that the full VH and VL domains are at least 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 10 and 11, respectively.
Du et al. teaches humanizing anti-CLDN6 antibodies, as described above. Du teaches the humanized antibody of the present invention allows for safe administration to human subjects without causing immunogenic reactions (pg. 19, para. 0333). Du teaches one such humanized heavy chain variable region, of antibody 7008-01, of SEQ ID NO: 19 (pg. 20). Du teaches the inventors prepared a series of humanized antibodies of murine antibody 15H2 and 9H3; one such humanized antibody is named 7008-01 and comprises the VH of SEQ ID NO: 19 (pg. 24, para. 0355).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to humanize the murine anti-DNAM-1 antibody VH of US ‘888 by grafting the CDRs into the human acceptor framework region of the VH of Du et al. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce immunogenicity as taught by Du et al., and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to select framework regions that had been successfully used in constructing humanized antibodies. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success given that the CDRs of a murine CLDN6 antibody were successfully grafted into the human framework regions, to generate a humanized VH domain as taught by Du et al. As US ‘888 teaches the CDRs 1-3 with 100% sequence identity, and Du teaches the FRs 1-4 with only 2 alternate residues, by grafting the CDRs of US ‘888 into the acceptor FRs of Du, one would arrive at the VH of instant SEQ ID NO: 10 with 98.3% sequence identity (see Fig. 1, above).
Lacy et al. teaches humanizing antibodies directed against IL-12p40, as described above. Lacy teaches humanizing an antibody can be used to reduce immunogenicity or reduce, enhance or modify binding, affinity, on-rate, off-rate, avidity, specificity, half-life, or any other suitable characteristics, as known in the art (col. 50, lines 38-43). Lacy teaches that the human VL segment III-3R and the J segment JK4 were used (col. 96, lines 40-44), and the resulting humanized VL amino acid sequence for antibody 1A6.11 is presented in SEQ ID NO: 101 (col. 185; col. 203, claims 30-31).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to humanize the murine anti-DNAM-1 antibodies of US ‘888 by grafting the CDRs into a human acceptor framework region as taught by Lacy et al. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce immunogenicity as taught by Lacy et al., and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to select framework regions that had been successfully used in constructing humanized antibodies. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success given that the CDRs of a murine IL-12p40 antibody were successfully grafted into the human framework regions, to generate a humanized VL domain as taught by Lacy et al. As US ‘888 teaches the CDRs 1-3 with 100% sequence identity, and Lacy teaches the FRs 1-4 with 100% sequence identity, by grafting the CDRs of US ‘888 into the acceptor FRs of Lacy, one would arrive at the VL of instant SEQ ID NO: 11 with 100% sequence identity (see Fig. 2, above).
The combination of US ‘888, Du and Lacy makes obvious an antibody construct comprising a VH with the CDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 1-3 of US ‘888 (SEQ ID NO: 7) and the FRs 1-4 of Du, and therefore comprises an amino acid sequence with 98% identity to the VH of SEQ ID NO: 10; and a VL with the CDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 4-6 of US ‘888 (SEQ ID NO: 8) and the FRs 1-4 of Lacy, and therefore comprises an amino acid sequence with 100% identity to the VH of SEQ ID NO: 11. Thus, the combination antibody construct of US ‘888, Du and Lacy makes obvious the humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibody of claim 1 and the humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibody of claim 2 with > 95% sequence identity, and the activation inhibitor of instant claim 10.
Regarding claims 4-5, the combination antibody of US ‘888, Du and Lacy is described above. Further, Lacy teaches the binding protein may also comprise a heavy chain constant domain selected from IgG or IgM, and whereby the constant domain may be IgG1 (col. 8, lines 44-50; col. 17, lines 60-62). Further, Lacy teaches that replacement of amino acid residues in the Fc portion to alter antibody function are known in the art; and in some cases are made in order to alter the effector functions of the antibody (col. 52, lines 9-10 and 23-26). In Example 2.2.2 (col. 85), Lacy teaches construction of CDR-Grafted Antibodies; such antibodies include a human IgG1 constant region containing 2 hinge-region amino acid mutations, whereby the leucine at positions 234-235 (EU numbering) are changed to alanine (col. 86, lines 10-16). Lacy teaches these mutations are embodied in the mutated IgG1 constant region amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3. The two substituted alanine residues of Lacy SEQ ID NO: 3 (col. 19, Table 2) correspond exactly with the alanine at positions 238 and 239 of instant SEQ ID NO: 14. Thus, the mutated Fc domains of Lacy make obvious the a mutated IgG1 constant domain (re. claim 4), wherein the mutations comprise an alanine at positions 238 and 239 of SEQ ID NO: 14 (re. claim 5). Further, Lacy teaches the antibody can comprise a kappa light chain constant region (col. 52, lines 2-4), and that the kappa light chain constant region has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4 (col. 19, Table 2). As the amino acid sequence of the VH of US ‘888, Du and Lacy has 98% shared sequence identity, and the mutated IgG1 Fc region of Lacy (SEQ ID NO: 3) has 99% shared sequence identity, the full heavy chain (VH + Fc) of US ‘888, Du and Lacy has > 95% shared sequence identity to the heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 14; and as the VL of US ‘888, Du and Lacy has 100% shared sequence identity and the kappa constant region of Lacy (SEQ ID NO: 4) has 100% shared sequence identity, the full light chain (VL + Kappa constant) of US ‘888, Du and Lacy has 100% shared sequence identity to the light chain of SEQ ID NO: 15. Thus, the combination antibody of US ‘888, Du and Lacy makes obvious instant claims 4-5.
Regarding claims 7-9, the combination antibody of US ‘888, Du and Lacy is described above. Lacy also teaches nucleic acids encoding the antibody (col. 10, lines 1-3), recombinant vectors comprising the nucleic acids (col. 10, lines 3-6), and host cells transformed with the vectors (col. 10, lines 11-12). Thus, claims 7-9 are made obvious.
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,495. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of US ‘495 anticipate or make obvious that of the instant claims.
US Patent ‘495 claims a humanized anti-DNAM-1 antibody comprising the HCDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, respectively, and the LCDRs 1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 4-6, respectively (claim 1); wherein the VH is SEQ ID NO: 10 (claim 3) and the VL is SEQ ID NO: 11 (claim 2); wherein the VH is SEQ ID NO: 10 and the VL is SEQ ID NO: 11 or the VH is SEQ ID NO: 9 and the VL is SEQ ID NO: 11 (claim 4); whereby the antibody comprises a constant region of IgG1 (claims 5-6) and the 238th and 239th amino acid residues of the heavy chain are A (claims 7-9); whereby the heavy chain is 95% or more identical to SEQ ID NO: 14 and the light chain is 95% or more identical to SEQ ID NO: 15 (claim 10); wherein the antibody comprises a HC of SEQ ID NO: 14 and a LC of SEQ ID NO: 15, or a HC of SEQ ID NO: 13 and a LC of SEQ ID NO: 15 (claim 11); as well as nucleic acids encoding the antibody (claim 12); a vector comprising the nucleic acid (claim 13); and a transformant comprising the vector (claim 14). US ‘495 also claims methods of producing the antibody (claim 15), methods of inhibiting activation of an innate lymphoid cells (claim 16) and methods of treating comprising administering the antibody (claims 17-21).
Specifically, the SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, 4-6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 15 of the antibody of US Patent ‘495 are each 100% identical in amino acid sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-3, 4-6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 15, respectively. Thus, US Patent ‘495 claims the identical anti-DNAM-1 antibodies of the instant application.
US Patent ‘495 claims 1-11, as well as the methods of claims 15-21, anticipate instant claims 1-6 and 10; ‘495 claims 12-14 anticipate instant claims 7-9; and ‘495 claim 16 makes obvious instant claims 10.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JAMES RYLAND MELCHIOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642