DETAILED ACTION
This action is FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11, and 15 are pending.
Priority
This application is filed 06/07/2024 and claims the benefit of domestic priority as below:
Information Disclosure Statement
Three IDS(s) are received on 06/07/2024, 04/04/2025, and 10/28/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough. Two additional IDS(s) is/are received on 07/08/2026, and 09/30/2026 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed on 8/19/2026, and in the amendments, claim 1 is amended and claims 12-14 are canceled. No new claims and new matter have been added.
With respect to the objection of Drawings, Applicant submits the replacement sheets addressing the objection, and Drawings are persuasive. Therefore, the previous objection of Drawings has been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection of 35 U.S.C 112(a), the Applicant's arguments and the amended claim 1 have been considered and are persuasive, because the amended claim 1 narrows to the scope of the invention with guidance and working examples provided in the specification, and the additional experimental evidence submitted with the response. Therefore, the previous the rejection of 35 U.S.C 112(a) has been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection of 35 U.S.C 112(b), the previous the rejection of 35 U.S.C 112(a) has been withdrawn, because the claim 12 is canceled in the amendment.
With respect to the rejection of 35 U.S.C 103, the Applicant's arguments for the rejection have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejections for the amended claims 1. The previous rejections of record are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
New Ground of Rejections
Claim interpretation
Claims are interpreted in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard
consistent with the specification (See MPEP 2111).
The paragraph [68] in the specification states that “the compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof may be used to treat neoplastic diseases by administration of the compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, e.g. to inhibit the protein kinase. In addition, in view of the observation that compounds of formula (I) additionally have PLK1 inhibitory activity the neoplastic disease may be one which is treatable by inhibition of PLK1 in addition to a treatment with a TTK inhibitor (e.g. the compound of Formula (I)).
Accordingly, with respect to claim 1, the phrase “the neoplastic disease is one which is treatable by inhibition of PLK1 in addition to a treatment with a TTK inhibitor” is interpreted as characterizing the neoplastic disease as one that is amenable to treatment through PLK1 inhibition in addition to treatment with a TTK inhibitor. The phrase does not, by itself, require any particular degree of PLK1 inhibition by the administered compound, simultaneous inhibition of TTK and PLK1, or a synergistic therapeutic effect. Rather, the claim language defines a characteristic of the nonelastic disease to be treated, without imposing additional limitations on the PLK1 inhibitory activity of the administered compound of requiring that both kinases be inhibited simultaneously during treatment.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-8, and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Man et. al. (US 2017/0096432 A1, pub’d 04/06/2017), in view of Jemaa et al. (Cell Death Differ., 20(11), 1532-45, pub'd 08/09/2013), and further in view of Maire et al (Cancer Res., 73(2), 813-23, pub'd 11/09/2012).
With respect to independent claim 1, the claim recites that a method for the treatment of a neoplastic disease in a subject, wherein the treatment comprises: administering the compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to the subject according to an intermittent dosing schedule, wherein the neoplastic disease is a cancer selected from breast cancer, liver cancer, gastric cancer, colorectal cancer, kidney cancer, bladder cancer, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer, endometrial cancer, lung cancer and leukemia, wherein the neoplastic disease is one which is treatable by inhibition of PLK1 in addition to a treatment with a TTK inhibitor, and wherein the intermittent schedule is once-weekly (QW) or twice-weekly (2QW) administration.
De Man teaches 1) the disclosed compound (example 17), the compound’s TTK inhibitory activity and useful for treating hyperproliferative disorders, particularly cancers associated with chromosomal instability or aneuploidy (claims 12-13, and paragraph [0012]); 2) use of the disclosed compounds in cancer treatment and identifies cancer related uses, including treatment of solid tumors, hematological tumors, including mammary and gynecological tumors, lung tumors, gastrointestinal tumors, renal, bladder and prostate tumors, and leukemias (paragraph [0059]); 3) TTK expression is increased in breast cancer with chromosomal instability and, in particular, in triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) (paragraph [0002]); 4) administering such compounds to a subject in pharmaceutical compositions and unit dosage forms (paragraph [0061], and [0065]); and 5) administration by appropriate route including oral, rectal, topical, inhaled, nasal, ocular, sublingual, subcutaneous, local or parenteral routes, including intravenous and intramuscular route (paragraph [0066]). Thus, De Man teaches the presently claimed Formula (I) compound, its TTK/MPS1 inhibitory activity, and use of the compound for treatment of cancer, including breast cancer and particular TNBC.
Instant compound in claim 1 De Man’s compound (example 17)
De Man fails to teach administering the Formula (I) compound according to an intermittent dosing schedule that is once-weekly (QW) or twice-weekly (2QW).
Jemaa teaches MPS1 inhibitors, including Mps-Bay2b, for anticancer treatment (abstract). In the xenograft study protocol, Jemaa describes an Mps-BAY2b treatment group “receiving 30 mg/kg … once a week p.o.” (in vivo study section). Jemaa further concludes that MPS1 inhibitors “may be used as monotherapeutic agents or in combination with MT-targeting compounds” (introduction). Thus, Jemaa teaches use of an MPS1/TTK inhibitor in an in vivo cancer model according to a once weekly administration schedule and further recognizes MPS1 inhibitors as potential standalone anticancer therapeutic agents.
The combination of De Man and Jemaa fail to teach the neoplastic disease is one which is treatable by inhibition of PLK1 in addition to a treatment with a TTK inhibitor.
Maire teaches that 1) PLK1 is significantly overexpressed in TNBC (results); 2) inhibition of PLK1 with BI-2536 included G2-M arrest and apoptosis in TNBC cells (Fig 2, and discussion); and 3) BI-2536 administered as a single agent “BI-2536, administrated alone, induced a dramatic tumor growth inhibition (TGI) in both models (P < 0.0001) with a TGI of 99% (Fig. 5A) and 85% (Fig. 5B)” (BI-2536–mediated PLK1 inhibition impairs tumor growth in human triple-negative breast cancer xenograft models section). Thus, Maire teaches that TNBC is a neoplastic disease that is therapeutically responsive to inhibition of PLK1.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to administer De Man’s Example 17 compound according to the once weekly dosing schedule taught by Jemaa for treating TNBC, which is also responsive to PLK1 inhibition as taught by Maire. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to apply Jemaa’s QW dosing schedule to De Man’s compound because both references concern anticancer treatment through TTK/MPS1 inhibition, and Jemaa discloses QW administration as a known dosing approach for an MPS1 inhibitor in an in vivo cancer model. Maire further establishes that TNBC, identified in De Man as a target for TTK inhibition, is also treatable by PLK1 inhibition. A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully making the combination because De Man teaches the anticancer utility of its TTK/MPS1 inhibitor, Jemaa discloses QW administration of an MPS1 inhibitor in an in vivo cancer model, and Maire shows the therapeutic responsiveness of TNBC to PLK1 inhibition. In addition, as stated in the claim interpretation above, claim 1 does not require any particular PLK1 inhibitory potency, target residence duration, or degree of synergistic activity. Thus, these teachings would have provided a reasonable basis for expecting anticancer activity from the proposed treatment. See MPEP 2143 and 2143.02; In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413 (C.C.P.A. 1981); In Re Merck & Co., Inc, 800 F.2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to claim 2, the claim recites that the compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered to the subject intravenously.
De Man teaches the compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (example 17, and claim 14), and De Man further teaches “may be adapted for administration by any appropriate route … parenteral (including intravenous and intramuscular) route” administration. (paragraph [0066]). Thus, claim 2 would have been obvious for the reason stated above with respect to claim 1.
With respect to claims 3-4, the claims recite that the dosing schedule comprises an interval of at least 2 days during which no compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered to the subject, and there is an interval of at least 7 days between each consecutive scheduled dose.
Jemaa teaches administration of the MPS1 inhibitor once weekly. A once weekly administration necessarily provides an interval exceeding two days during which the MPS1 inhibitor is not administered, and an interval of seven days between consecutive scheduled doses. Thus, claims 3 and 4 would have been obvious for the reason stated above with respect to claim 1.
With respect to claim 15, the claim recites that the neoplastic disease is triple negative breast cancer.
De Man teaches that TTK expression is increased in breast cancer associated with chromosomal instability, particular triple negative breast cancer (TNBC, paragraph [0002]). Maire further teaches that PLK1 is significantly overexpressed in TNBC and that inhibition of PLK1 with BI-2536 including G2-M arrest and apoptosis and significantly inhibits tumor growth in TNBC xenograft models (Fig 2, discussion, and result section). Thus, De Man identifies TNBC as a cancer suitable for TTK inhibitor treatment, while Marie establishes that TNBC is also therapeutically responsive to PLK1 inhibition. Accordingly, selecting TNBC as the neoplastic disease would have been obvious to a PHOSITA in view of the combined teachings of De Man and Maire as the reasons stated above with respect to claim 1.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Man et. al. (US 2017/0096432 A1, pub’d 04/06/2017), Jemaa et al. (Cell Death Differ., 20(11), 1532-45, pub'd 08/09/2013), and Maire et. al. (Cancer Res., 73(2), 813-23, pub'd 11/09/2012) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cantero et. al. (WO 2019/002542 A1, pub’d 01/03/2019).
With respect to claim 9, the claims recite that the method according to claim 1, wherein the compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered according to a four week treatment cycle, and wherein the compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered in each week during the first three weeks of the treatment cycle followed by a rest week.
The combination of De Man, Jemaa, and Maire fails to teach the specific four-week treatment cycle recited in claim 9, wherein the Formula (I) compound is administered during each of the first three weeks of the treatment cycle followed by a rest week.
Centro teaches a combination comprising an MPS1 inhibitor and a taxane compound for treatment of cancer. Cantero teaches that the “MPS1 inhibitor is administered once a week on Day 1, Day 8 and Day 15 of a 28 days cycle” (E6 in page 8). Centro further teaches that a useful dosage regimen may vary accordingly to factors including the patient, administration route, nature of cancer, and associated treatments (page 13). Thus, Centro teaches an MPS1 inhibitor administered during weeks one, two, and three of a four week treatment cycle, followed by a fourth week in which no MPS1 inhibitor dose is scheduled, corresponding to the treatment/rest pattern recited in claim 9.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to employ the three weeks on/one week off MPS1 inhibitor schedule taught by Cantero when selecting a cyclic intermittent regimen for De Man’s TTK/MPS1 inhibitor. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to apply Cantero’s 28 days dosing cycle, because Cantero teaches MPS1 inhibitor administration on Days 1, 8, and 15, while Jemaa independently establishes QW administration as a known dosing approach for MPS1 inhibitors in an in vivo cancer model. Thus, Cantero provides a specific cyclic arrangement of the weekly dosing schedule taught by Jemaa. A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully making the combination because De Man establishes the anticancer utility of TTK/MPS1 inhibition, Jemaa teaches QW administration of an MPS1 inhibitor, and Cantero discloses the claimed three weeks on/one week off schedule for the same therapeutic target. These teachings would have provided a reasonable basis for expecting anticancer activity using the proposed cyclic regimen. See MPEP 2143; In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413 (C.C.P.A. 1981); In Re Merck & Co., Inc, 800 F.2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 9 and 15 are rejected.
Claims 5-8, 10 and 11 are objected to.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEONG JONG KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621