DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 06/07/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filled on 06/07/2024 is recognized.
Priority or Provisional
Priority to 12/21/2021 is recognized.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/07/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recite “Damper arrangement for a railway coupler, the damper arrangement (1) comprising a shell (2) … for mounting on a rear part of a coupler, …..a draw bracket (3) for mounting in connection with a pivot pin of a forward part of a coupler, …”, is not clear if a coupler, is the same as “a railway coupler” mentioned in preamble or it is a different coupler.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “ …. The damper head (43) is able to move a first stroke length (S1) in the rear direction (RD) towards the first disc …”, which lacks antecedent basis and therefore makes the claims indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Sommerfeld (US 2005/0167385) in view of Ziegler (EP 1738985B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
Damper arrangement for a railway coupler, the damper arrangement (1) comprising a shell (2) with a mounting bracket (21) for mounting on a rear part of a coupler, (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0012], [0026], [0041]-[0042], and Figs. 1-2, teaches a railway car draft gear assembly with housing 20 (i.e., shell) disposed in draft gear/yoke assembly (i.e., with a mounting bracket for mounting)).
a draw bracket (3) for mounting in connection with a pivot pin of a forward part of a coupler, (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0012], [0037], [0041]-[0042], and Figs. 1-2, yoke 52, coupler follower 56, rear follower 58).
a damper (4) having a damper body (41) connected to the shell (2) and a piston (42) mounted on a damper head (43), (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0012], [0030], [0041]-[0042], and Figs. 1-2, and claim 1, “A force transmitting means 40” axially movable within elastomeric force absorbing means 32).
the piston (42) being axially received in the damper body (41) and biased to extend in a forward direction (FD), (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0012], [0030], [0039]-[0044], and Figs. 1-2, and claim 1, “A force transmitting means 40” disposed within aperture of force absorbing means and movable axially. Rear/front resilient members and elastomeric spring pads exert restoring forces (i.e., forward direction)).
a plurality of elastomeric elements (5) arranged around the damper body (41) between a first disc (53) and a second disc (52), (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0038]-[0044], and Figs. 1-2, Rear elastomeric spring pads 68 includes elastomer pads 70 surrounding center rod 60, elastomer pads bonded to central steel ring plate 72).
wherein the second disc (52) is slidable to a first axial stop (32) arranged on or connected to the draw bracket (3) at a rear part of the damper body (41), (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0027]-[0030], and Figs. 1-2, closure members 24, 28 and threaded retaining arrangement).
and the first disc (53) is slidable to a second axial stop (44) arranged on or connected to a forward part of the damper body (41), (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0027]-[0031], and Figs. 1-2, Axially movable force transmitting means 40 interacting with compressible means 32).
such that a movement of the draw bracket (3) in the forward direction (FD) in relation to the shell (2) causes a compression of the elastomeric elements (5) against the first disc (53). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0039]-[0043], and Figs. 1-2, Buff impact operation compresses resilient members and elastomer damper).
Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose:
a damper (4) having a damper body (41)….. and a piston (42) mounted on a damper head (43),
the piston (42) being axially received in the damper body (41),
a plurality of elastomeric elements (5) …….. between a first disc (53) and a second disc (52),
However, Ziegler teaches:
a damper (4) having a damper body (41) ….. and a piston (42) mounted on a damper head (43), (Ziegler, Paras. [0002]-[0017], Cylinder element , gas-hydraulic damping device 5, and piston 7 disposed within cylinder (pressure chamber)).
the piston (42) being axially received in the damper body (41), (Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0017], pressure chamber 9 receives piston axially. Elastomeric spring assembly 4 supports or restores piston position).
a plurality of elastomeric elements (5) …… between a first disc (53) and a second disc (52). (Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0017], Elastomeric elements 4a, separated by discs 4b).
Sommerfeld and Ziegler are combinable, because both are from the same field of railway coupler or buffer assemblies. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize the hydraulic damping arrangement as taught by Ziegler, in order to improve damping control in railway coupler applications.
Regarding claim 10, Sommerfeld and Ziegler teach the limitations of claim 1. Sommerfeld discloses:
Coupler for a railway vehicle, the coupler comprising at least one damper arrangement according to claim 1. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0026]-[0031], [0033]-[0043], and claim 14, teaches a railway car draft gear assembly which cushions buff and draft shocks …)
Claims 2-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Sommerfeld (US 2005/0167385) in view of Ziegler (EP 1738985B1), and further in view of Monaco (US 6,357,612).
Regarding claim 2, Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose the limitations of claim1. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 1, wherein the damper head (43) is arranged with a clearance in relation to the first disc (53) such that the damper head (43) is able to move a first stroke length (S1) in the rear direction (RD) towards the first disc (53) without contacting the first disc (53). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0011]-[0012], [0026]-[0031], [0033]-[0043], and claim 14, force transmitting means 40 moves axially during buff or draft loading. Axial/stroke movement during compression where force transmitting means 40 moves toward elastomeric structures during compression).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0017], piston 7 moves within pressure chamber 9 and spaced relatively to elastomeric/disc structures, and moves axially within cylinder 6 during compression stroke. Teaches piston travel with hydraulic damping and elastomeric supported structure).
Sommerfeld and Ziegler do not explicitly disclose:
First stroke, second stroke operation,
However, Monaco teaches:
First stroke, second stroke operation, (Monaco, Col. 3, ll. 54-65, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During initial 8 inches of buff stroke, elastomer spring 118 is moved inwardly with the yoke assembly 24 but is not compressed”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to the hydraulic cylinder 22 so that during the final two inches of buff stroke the elastomer spring and hydraulic spring are coupled together ….. “).
Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco are combinable, because all are from the same field of railway coupler or buffer assemblies. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teaching of initial movement before elastomeric engagement as taught by Monaco to Sommerfeld and Ziegler, in order to improve railway coupler impact absorption, and enhance energy dissipation during buff and draft impacts.
Regarding claim 3, Sommerfeld-Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claim 2. Sommerfeld and Ziegler discloses:
The damper arrangement of claim 2, wherein the first stroke length (S1) is at least 20 mm, preferably at least 55 mm, more preferably at least 90 mm. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0043], teaches axial travel (compression movement) of force transmitting 40 within elastomeric damping assembly, and movement over a compression range).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0017], piston 7 moves within pressure chamber 9 during compression, and pressure chamber configured to maintain damping over a wide stroke range, “the pressure chamber 9 decreases in size due to the piston 7 plunging into it”).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Sommerfeld-Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claim 2. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper of claim 2, wherein the first stroke length (S1) is selected such that the damper (4) is configured to absorb at least 100 kJ, preferably at least 120 kJ and more preferably at least 140 kJ, during the first stroke length (S1). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0042]-[0045], teaches compression and expansion curves during buff impact loads. Approximately the impact energy is absorbed and dissipated. Damper cooperates with resilient members to absorb impact energy. “in FIG. 4, the energy dissipating elastomer damper 10 enables the draft gear assembly 100 to sustain a higher dynamic buff impact load”).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], pressure chamber maintains damping effect over a wide stroke range. Hydraulic medium displaced during compression).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Sommerfeld-Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claim 2. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 2, wherein the damper head (43) is configured to move a second stroke length (S2) together with the first disc (53) after the first stroke length (S1) by pushing against the first disc (53) for compressing the elastomeric elements (5). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches force transmitting means 40 movable axially within elastomeric damping assembly. Force absorbing means 32 compresses around force transmitting means 40 during movement. Front and rear resilient members operate during buff compression).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0018], piston 7 continues plunging into pressure chamber during buffer compression. Elastomeric 4a and discs 4b are arranged around piston).
Sommerfeld and Ziegler do not explicitly disclose:
second stroke together with disc for compression elastomer,
However, Monaco teaches:
second stroke together with disc for compression elastomer, (Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Sommerfeld-Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2 and 5. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper arrangement according to claim 5, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is at least 10 mm, preferably at least 30 mm, more preferably at least 50 mm. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0042]-[0045], teaches continued axial movement of force transmitting means 40 during buff loads, and resilient member compression during impact loads. Compression curves over movement range).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], piston 7 plunges into pressure chamber 9 during buffer compression).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
Sommerfeld and Ziegler do not explicitly disclose:
second stroke length,
However, Monaco teaches:
second stroke length, (Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Sommerfeld-Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2 and 5. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper arrangement according to claim 5, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is selected such that an end force on the damper (4) and the elastomeric elements combined is at least 1500 kN, preferably at least 2000 kN. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches elastomeric force absorbing means 32 cooperates with resilient members to absorb buff impact loads, and they operate collectively during impact loading).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], gas hydraulic device 5 generates hydraulic resistance during piston compression. Pressure chamber resistance increases as piston plunges into chamber).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
Sommerfeld and Ziegler do not explicitly disclose:
Combined end force,
However, Monaco teaches:
Combined end force, (Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 46-67, Col. 6, ll.1-15, “When the unit 10 has been moved 8 inches from the neutral position along the buff stroke the static compression force is increased from 75,000 pounds to 90,000 pounds because of …..”, “This force increases very rapidly to 250,000 pounds at a full 10 inch stroke. “).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Sommerfeld-Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 2, wherein the clearance of the damper head (43) in relation to the first disc (53) is adjustable by selecting a length of a contact portion (45) of the damper head (43) to be shorter than a distance from the damper head (43) to the second axial stop (44) by the first stroke length (S1). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches force transmitting means 40 movable within damping assembly, and compresses elastomeric force absorbing means during operation).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], teaches gap arrangement surrounding piston 7 within damping structure, and relative piston spacing within pressure chamber and elastomeric assembly determines interaction timing. Hydraulic damping depend on piston immersion and chamber configuration).
Sommerfeld and Ziegler do not explicitly disclose:
Adjustable contact relationship,
However, Monaco teaches:
Adjustable contact relationship, (Monaco, Col. 3, ll. 54-65, Col. 5, ll. 39-46, teaches that engagement depends on relative positioning of plates/stops, “piston 46 … in a neutral position …“, “piston moves … during a draft stroke of 2 inches without engaging the front head …”, “during a buff stroke of 10 inches without engaging the rear head …).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose the limitations of claim 1. Sommerfeld, and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 1,wherein the damper (4) is pre-tensioned in the forward direction (FD). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0012]-[0015], [0037]-[0043], teaches railway draft gear assembly with elastomer structure. Resilient members provide compression forces during buffer/draft operation).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 1-15, Col. 5, ll. 46-56, “The elastomer spring is preloaded in pocket 94 and …“, “… 15,000 pound preload compression force …”, “during a buff stroke of 10 inches without engaging the rear head …).
Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco are combinable, because all are from the same field of railway coupler or buffer assemblies. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teaching of initial movement before elastomeric engagement as taught by Monaco to Sommerfeld and Ziegler, in order to improve railway coupler impact absorption, and enhance energy dissipation during buff and draft impacts.
Regarding claim 11, Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
Coupler according to claim 10, wherein the coupler comprises a coupler shank (120) mounted on a pivot pin (110), and the coupler shank (120) further comprises a side contact portion (121) for pushing the damper head (43) of the damper arrangement (1) in a rear direction (RD) when the coupler shank (120) is in a pivoted position. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0030]-[0033], [0036]-[0043], and claim 14, teaches railway draft gear assembly with elastomer structure. Drawbar 28 and coupler follower arrangement within draft gear assembly. Buff impact loading compresses the damping assembly rearwardly).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0018], teaches piston 7 arrangement within hydraulic damping device, and relative piston spacing within pressure chamber during buffer compression. Rail vehicle impact forces into hydraulic damping assembly).
(Monaco, Col. 3, ll. 54-65, Col. 5, ll. 33-67, teaches coupler stroke movement causing progressive compression of hydraulic and elastomeric structures).
Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco are combinable, because all are from the same field of railway coupler or buffer assemblies. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teaching of initial movement before elastomeric engagement as taught by Monaco to Sommerfeld and Ziegler, in order to improve railway coupler impact absorption, and enhance energy dissipation during buff and draft impacts.
Regarding claim 12, Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose the limitations of claims 3. Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose:
The damper of claim 3, wherein the first stroke length (S1) is selected such that the damper (4) is configured to absorb at least 100 kJ, preferably at least 120 kJ and more preferably at least 140 kJ, during the first stroke length (S1). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0042]-[0045], teaches compression and expansion curves during buff impact loads. Approximately the impact energy is absorbed and dissipated. Damper cooperates with resilient members to absorb impact energy. “in FIG. 4, the energy dissipating elastomer damper 10 enables the draft gear assembly 100 to sustain a higher dynamic buff impact load”).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], pressure chamber maintains damping effect over a wide stroke range. Hydraulic medium displaced during compression).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 13, Sommerfeld and Ziegler disclose the limitations of claims 3 and 12. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 12, wherein the damper head (43) is configured to move a second stroke length (S2) together with the first disc (53) after the first stroke length (S1) by pushing against the first disc (53) for compressing the elastomeric elements (5). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches force transmitting means 40 movable axially within elastomeric damping assembly. Force absorbing means 32 compresses around force transmitting means 40 during movement. Front and rear resilient members operate during buff compression).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0018], piston 7 continues plunging into pressure chamber during buffer compression. Elastomeric 4a and discs 4b are arranged around piston).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2 and 4. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 4, wherein the damper head (43) is configured to move a second stroke length (S2) together with the first disc (53) after the first stroke length (S1) by pushing against the first disc (53) for compressing the elastomeric elements (5). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches force transmitting means 40 movable axially within elastomeric damping assembly. Force absorbing means 32 compresses around force transmitting means 40 during movement. Front and rear resilient members operate during buff compression).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0018], piston 7 continues plunging into pressure chamber during buffer compression. Elastomeric 4a and discs 4b are arranged around piston).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 15, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2 and 3. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement of claim 3, wherein the damper head (43) is configured to move a second stroke length (S2) together with the first disc (53) after the first stroke length (S1) by pushing against the first disc (53) for compressing the elastomeric elements (5). (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches force transmitting means 40 movable axially within elastomeric damping assembly. Force absorbing means 32 compresses around force transmitting means 40 during movement. Front and rear resilient members operate during buff compression).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0011]-[0018], piston 7 continues plunging into pressure chamber during buffer compression. Elastomeric 4a and discs 4b are arranged around piston).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2-3 and 15. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco discloses:
The damper arrangement according to claim 15, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is at least 10 mm, preferably at least 30 mm, more preferably at least 50 mm. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0042]-[0045], teaches continued axial movement of force transmitting means 40 during buff loads, and resilient member compression during impact loads. Compression curves over movement range).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], piston 7 plunges into pressure chamber 9 during buffer compression).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2, 4 and 14. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement according to claim 14, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is at least 10 mm, preferably at least 30 mm, more preferably at least 50 mm. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0042]-[0045], teaches continued axial movement of force transmitting means 40 during buff loads, and resilient member compression during impact loads. Compression curves over movement range).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], piston 7 plunges into pressure chamber 9 during buffer compression).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 18, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2-3 and 13. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement according to claim 13, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is at least 10 mm, preferably at least 30 mm, more preferably at least 50 mm. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0042]-[0045], teaches continued axial movement of force transmitting means 40 during buff loads, and resilient member compression during impact loads. Compression curves over movement range).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], piston 7 plunges into pressure chamber 9 during buffer compression).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 33-46, “During the final 2 inches of movement along the buff stroke …..”, “At 8 inches of stroke, plate 114 engages stops 36 to join the elastomer spring to ….. “).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 19, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2, 5 and 6. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement according to claim 6, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is selected such that an end force on the damper (4) and the elastomeric elements combined is at least 1500 kN, preferably at least 2000 kN. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches elastomeric force absorbing means 32 cooperates with resilient members to absorb buff impact loads, and they operate collectively during impact loading).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], gas hydraulic device 5 generates hydraulic resistance during piston compression. Pressure chamber resistance increases as piston plunges into chamber).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 46-67, Col. 6, ll.1-15, “When the unit 10 has been moved 8 inches from the neutral position along the buff stroke the static compression force is increased from 75,000 pounds to 90,000 pounds because of …..”, “This force increases very rapidly to 250,000 pounds at a full 10 inch stroke. “).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 20, Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose the limitations of claims 2, 12-13 and 18. Sommerfeld, Ziegler and Monaco disclose:
The damper arrangement according to claim 18, wherein the second stroke length (S2) is selected such that an end force on the damper (4) and the elastomeric elements combined is at least 1500 kN, preferably at least 2000 kN. (Sommerfeld, Paras. [0013]-[0015], [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0045], teaches elastomeric force absorbing means 32 cooperates with resilient members to absorb buff impact loads, and they operate collectively during impact loading).
(Ziegler, Paras. [0014]-[0018], gas hydraulic device 5 generates hydraulic resistance during piston compression. Pressure chamber resistance increases as piston plunges into chamber).
(Monaco, Col. 5, ll. 46-67, Col. 6, ll.1-15, “When the unit 10 has been moved 8 inches from the neutral position along the buff stroke the static compression force is increased from 75,000 pounds to 90,000 pounds because of …..”, “This force increases very rapidly to 250,000 pounds at a full 10 inch stroke. “).
Please note that: The claimed ranges, represents a result of variable performance depending on requirements of the system, and it would have been obvious matter of design choice.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Danielsson (US 2023/0365168) teaches an energy dissipation device comprises axially compressible, irreversibly deforming steel elements arranged in a housing and axially pre-tensioned between a compression means and a counter-pressure means.
Monaco (US 6,199,708) teaches a railcar cushioning device with a gas charged cylinder and a piston contained in the cylinder for cushioning buff and draft impacts.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615