DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 79-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (2017/0073280) in view of Danforth (2019/0002362).
Regarding claim 79 and 86-94, Jones discloses a fuel grain for a hybrid rocket engine (abstract), the fuel grain comprising: multiple, concentric layers of fuel grain material defining a combustion port extending through a body of the fuel grain (para [0032], [0082]: An exemplary solid fuel grain suitable for use in a hybrid rocket engine and made in accordance with the present invention has a generally cylindrical shape and defines a center port that runs linearly through its length. The solid fuel grain is formed as a fused stack of layers with each layer comprising a plurality of abutting, fused concentric generally circular, disposed beads of material suitable as a hybrid rocket fuel maintain combustion along the exposed surface area of the center port 46 wall), in which each layer comprises multiple beads of fuel grain material, in which the multiple beads in a given layer are disposed adjacent to one another and bonded together, in which adjacent concentric layers are bonded together (para [0058], [0072]: layer formed as a series of abutting fused concentric ring-shaped beads additive manufacturing process has commenced form small diameter concentric ring-shaped beads of material; para [0074]: As each ring-shaped beaded structure cools and solidifies, a fusion bond develops between the concentric ring-shaped beaded structure, and as each plurality of such ring-shaped beaded structures forming layers cool and solidify, likewise a fusion bond develops between the layers), in which each bead of fuel grain material comprises a polymer based rocket fuel material para [0034]: a thermoplastic fuel formulation such as 95% by mass Acrynotrile Butadiene Styrene (ABS) and 5% NmX-01 nanocomposite aluminum). Jones does not specifically disclose in which a composition of the fuel grain material varies along a radius of the fuel grain. However, Danforth discloses a fuel grain for a hybrid rocket engine (para [0003], [0009], [0012]: the fuel includes a first thermoplastic continuous material, with a metal additive oxidizer additive includes droplets of oxidizer material (it is noted that in a hybrid rocket engine oxidizer is typically in liquid or vapor state and fuel is in solid or semi-solid state per Applicant's current specification at para [002])) in which a composition of the fuel grain material varies along a radius of the fuel grain (para [0044]: variations in the regions 12 and 14 throughout the element 10. The relative amounts of fuel and oxidizer may be varied at different locations within the element 10 by varying the size, composition, and/or placement of the regions 12 and 14. For example, at different longitudinal (axial) and/or radial locations within the element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of the fuel grain material that varies along a radius of the fuel grain of Danforth in the fuel grain of Jones to produce desired burn characteristics at different times during the burning, or at different locations in the combustible element (see Danforth, para [0033]).
Regarding claim 80, Jones in view of Danforth discloses the fuel grain of claim 49. Jones further discloses in which at least some of the beads comprise a metallic or polymer additive material (para [0034], [0064]: 5% NmX-01 nanocomposite aluminum nanocomposite aluminum additive).
Regarding claim 81, Jones in view of Danforth discloses the fuel grain of claim 80. Jones further discloses in which the metallic or polymer additive material comprises nanoscale or microscale metal or polymer particles (para [0034], [0064]: 5% NmX-01 nanocomposite aluminum nanocomposite aluminum additive).
Regarding claim 82, Jones in view of Danforth discloses the fuel grain of claim 81. Jones further discloses in which the metallic or polymer additive material comprises nanoscale aluminum particles (para [0034]: 5% NmX-01 nanocomposite aluminum).
Regarding claim 83, Jones in view of Danforth discloses the fuel grain of claim 82. Jones further discloses in which the nanoscale aluminum particles are passivated with a polymer (para [0069], [0084]: Ultra-high energetic nano particle size aluminum, especially aluminum powder produced without an aluminum oxide shell and passivated (by encapsulating or 'capping' the particle in a polymer shell)).
Regarding claim 84 and 85, Jones in view of Danforth discloses the fuel grain of claim 82 or 83. Jones further discloses in which the nanoscale aluminum particles have an average diameter of between 5 nm and 20 nm (para [0084]: the size of which measures 100 nanometers (nm) or less).
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734