DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 was filed with the instant application for consideration. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-24, 26, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ly et al. (US 2018/0109976 A1), hereinafter, “Ly”.
Regarding claim 1, Ly discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Ly: fig 13, wireless device 1305, para [0065], where, an apparatus for wireless communication is described, and para [0168]), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Ly: fig 13, wireless device 1305, para [0066], where, “The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory” and para [0168])), configured to: transmit, to a network entity, multiple physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions based at least in part on a PRACH slot frequency hopping (Ly: fig 9, First PRACH transmission 935the UE and 11, par [0161]-[0162], where, “a resource structure 1100 for RACH procedures using multiple PRACH transmissions in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. For example, the resource structure 1100 may be configured to send PRACH transmissions using frequency hopping in the same slot”), and
receive, from the network entity, a response based at least in part on the multiple PRACH transmissions associated with the PRACH slot frequency hopping (Ly: fig 11, para [0148], where, the UE115-b, receive the RACH response message 945, further fig 11 and par [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the wireless communication apparatus at a network entity, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 16, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the wireless communication method for user equipment, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 28, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding the wireless communication method for a network entity, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Ly discloses: 3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the network entity, capability signaling indicating that the UE is capable of performing the multiple PRACH transmissions with the PRACH slot frequency hopping (Ly: fig 15-16, para [0194], where, “Software 1530 may include code to implement aspects of the present disclosure, including code to support RACH procedures using multiple PRACH transmissions….[0196], the wireless device may include a single antenna 1540. However, in some cases the device may have more than one antenna 1540, which may be capable of concurrently transmitting or receiving multiple wireless transmissions”); and transmit the multiple PRACH transmissions based at least in part on the capability signaling (Ly: fig 15-16, para [0196], the wireless device may include a single antenna 1540. However, in some cases the device may have more than one antenna 1540, which may be capable of concurrently transmitting or receiving multiple wireless transmissions”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Ly discloses: wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the multiple PRACH transmissions based at least in part on using same spatial domain filters or same transmit beams (Ly: fig 11, para [0161], where, “the resource structure 1100 may be configured to send PRACH transmissions using frequency hopping in the same slot”).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Ly discloses: wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the multiple PRACH transmissions based at least in part on using different spatial domain filters or different transmit beams (Ly: fig 11, para [0161], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot, but the frequency resources used may be different”).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Ly discloses: wherein the multiple PRACH transmissions are associated with a common PRACH slot frequency hopping flag indicating that PRACH slot frequency hopping is enabled (Ly: fig 11, para [0161], where, “the resource structure 1100 may be configured to send PRACH transmissions using frequency hopping in the same slot”).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Ly discloses: wherein the multiple PRACH transmissions are each associated with a separate PRACH slot frequency hopping flag that indicates whether PRACH slot frequency hopping is enabled of (Ly: fig 9, para [0143], where, “multiple time-separate slots may be used to transmit the multiple PRACH transmissions or multiple frequency sub-bands may be used to transmit the multiple PRACH transmissions).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Ly discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network entity, a PRACH slot frequency hopping configuration of (Ly: fig 11, para [0162], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot”); and transmit the multiple PRACH transmissions based at least in part on the PRACH slot frequency hopping configuration of (Ly: fig 11, para [0162], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot”).
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Ly discloses: The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the PRACH slot frequency hopping configuration indicates one or more of (Ly: fig 11, para [0162], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot”): a frequency hop offset in terms of a quantity of resource blocks in a PRACH occasion or a quantity of PRACH occasions in a PRACH slot (Ly: fig 11, para [0162], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot”). [[; and a quantity of hops based at least in part on a quantity of synchronization signal blocks associated with the PRACH occasion and a quantity of frequency division multiplexed PRACH occasions. ]]
Regarding claims 11, 26 and 29, Ly discloses: wherein the PRACH slot frequency hopping is an inter-PRACH slot frequency hopping (Ly: fig 11, para [0162], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot”).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Ly discloses: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the UE, one or more of capability signaling or a PRACH slot frequency hopping configuration (Ly: fig 11, para [0161]-[0162], where, “the resource structure 1100 may be configured to send PRACH transmissions using frequency hopping in the same slot”); and receive the multiple PRACH transmissions based at least in part on the one or more of the capability signaling or the PRACH slot frequency hopping configuration (Ly: fig 15, para [0196], where, “antenna 1540, which may be capable of concurrently transmitting or receiving multiple wireless transmissions”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10,12, 14, 17, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 2018/0109976 A1), hereinafter, “Ly” in view of Rune et al (US 2023/0292371 A1), hereinafter, “Rune”.
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 17, Ly discloses: wherein the PRACH slot frequency hopping (Ly: fig 11, para [0161], where, “the resource structure 1100 may be configured to send PRACH transmissions using frequency hopping in the same slot”),
However, Ly does not explicitly teach: the PRACH slot frequency hopping is an intra-PRACH slot frequency hopping.
Rune teach: the PRACH slot frequency hopping is an intra-PRACH slot frequency hopping (Rune: TABLE-US-0025: where, “See Table 8.3-1 in 38.213 [13]. msgA-IntraSlotFrequencyHopping Intra-slot frequency hopping per PUSCH occasion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “the PRACH slot frequency hopping is an intra-PRACH slot frequency hopping” as taught by Rune into Ly in order to be able to detect and demodulate the PUSCH transmission (Rune: para [0022]).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Ly modified by Rune disclose: wherein the PRACH slot frequency hopping configuration is: common for multiple PRACH transmissions using same spatial domain filters (Ly: fig 11, para [0162], where, “multiple PRACH transmissions may be sent in the first slot using certain frequency resources and the same multiple PRACH transmissions may also be sent in the second slot”); separate for multiple PRACH transmissions using same spatial domain filters (Rune: para [0164], where, “the common TA, which refers to the common component of propagation delay shared by all UEs within the coverage of same satellite beam/cell, is broadcasted by the network per satellite beam/cell”); common for multiple PRACH transmissions using different spatial domain filters; or separate for multiple PRACH transmissions using different spatial domain filters.
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Ly modified by Rune disclose: wherein the PRACH slot frequency hopping is based at least in part on one or more of (Ly: fig 11, para [0161]-[0162], where, “the resource structure 1100 may be configured to send PRACH transmissions using frequency hopping in the same slot”): a system frame number (Rune: par a[0027], where, “The values in the column “subframe number” indicate which subframes are configured with PRACH occasion”), a slot number, or an association period associated with the multiple PRACH transmissions.
Conclusion
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461