DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 6/07/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al (US2019/0141754 A1) in view of Manolakos et al (US 2020/0229016 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Bai teaches a method/mobile device of performing RF sensing (Abstract), the method comprising:
a transceiver; a memory; and one or more processing units communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, the one or more processing units configured to (Para. 0011):
receiving, at a User Equipment (UE) from a network node, information indicative of a predetermined time delay to be utilized in connection with an RF sensing procedure utilizing uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) signals (Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; Each scheduled entity 704 a and 704 b may be configured to transmit its respective RACH signal 706 a and 706 b after a predetermined time (delay) from receiving the SS block 702, which may be set based upon a maximum round-trip time (RTT) within the cell);
receiving, at the UE, an RF sensing reference signal (RS) transmitted by a base station (Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; In the example shown in FIG. 7, the RACH signals 706 a and 706 b may be transmitted in response to receiving a synchronization signal (SS) block 702 broadcast by the scheduling entity 700 within the cell. The SS block 702 may include, for example, a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), Secondary Synchronization Signal (SS) and/or a Physical Broadcast Control Channel (PBCH) that conveys minimum system information; Other REs 306 within the RB 308 may also carry pilots or reference signals, including but not limited to a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) a control reference signal (CRS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS). These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB); and
responsive to the predetermined time delay elapsing, transmitting a corresponding uplink signal at a time corresponding to the predetermined time delay after a time at which the RF sensing RS was received, wherein a time at which the corresponding RF sensing RS is received and the predetermined time delay are usable to determine positioning information of the UE (Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; In a network configured for UL-based mobility, UL reference signals from each UE may be utilized by the network to select a serving cell for each UE. In some examples, the base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, and 232 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal; i.e. these cited sections suggest that a reference signal is transmitted a predetermined time after the receipt of SS blocks 702 but Fig. 7 only shows a RACH being sent on the uplink and does not explicitly state that a reference signal is included in this. Furthermore, “the predetermined time delay are usable to determine positioning information of the UE is intended use and is not given patentable weight).
However, while Bai teaches a UE may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal (Fig. 7; Para. 0056), which strongly suggests that the RACH includes a reference signal, which is transmitted a predetermined time delay after the SS block is received, he does not specifically disclose transmitting a corresponding RF sensing RS at a time corresponding to the predetermined time delay after a time at which the RF sensing RS was received.
Manolakos teaches techniques for addressing relation round trip time (RTT) positioning and timing advance (TA) command with user equipment (UE) receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) measurement reporting (Abstract). He further teaches transmitting a corresponding RF sensing RS at a time corresponding to the predetermined time delay after a time at which the RF sensing RS was received (Para. 0090; After some UE processing time, the UE 504 transmits an RTT response signal 520 (e.g., an SRS, UL-PRS) at time T3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Manolakos with the teachings as in Bai. The motivation for doing so would have been to support position estimations in terrestrial wireless networks (Manolakos at para. 0006).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches wherein the corresponding RF sensing RS has a same waveform as the RF sensing RS (Para. 0045; the uplink and/or downlink control information and/or traffic information may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. As used herein, a symbol may refer to a unit of time that, in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) waveform, carries one resource element (RE) per sub-carrier. A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols; i.e. an OFDM waveform is used for both uplink and downlink).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches wherein the corresponding RF sensing RS comprises a phase-shifted version of the received RF sensing RS (Paras. 0047 and 0073; The transmitter 354 handles mapping to signal constellations based on various modulation schemes (e.g., binary phase-shift keying (BPSK), quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK), M-phase-shift keying (M-PSK), M-quadrature amplitude modulation (M-QAM))).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches further comprising responsive to receiving configuration information indicating that the RF sensing procedure utilizes a monostatic configuration, determining characteristics of the corresponding RF sensing RS based at least in part on path loss information determined based on transmissions from the base station (Paras. 0098 and 0105; the timing advance value 910 may be estimated utilizing the SS block 902. For example, the scheduled entity 904 b may measure a path loss of the SS block 902 and utilize the measured path loss to estimate the timing advance value. In this example, the SS block 902 may further include one or more path loss parameters that may be used for path loss measurement and/or mapping information for mapping the measured path loss to an estimated timing advance value) and Manolakos further teaches the RF sensing procedure utilizes a monostatic configuration, determining power characteristics of the corresponding RF sensing RS (Fig. 4; Paras. 0049 and 0098; Thus, when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction; i.e. Fig. 4 shows one or more base stations to determine transmission characteristics and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if there is path loss, transmission power would need to be adjusted for acceptable RSRP/RSRQ).
Regarding claims 5 and 21, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches further comprising responsive to receiving configuration information indicating that the RF sensing procedure utilizes a monostatic configuration, determining characteristics of the corresponding RF sensing RS based at least in part on path loss information (Paras. 0098 and 0105; the timing advance value 910 may be estimated utilizing the SS block 902. For example, the scheduled entity 904 b may measure a path loss of the SS block 902 and utilize the measured path loss to estimate the timing advance value. In this example, the SS block 902 may further include one or more path loss parameters that may be used for path loss measurement and/or mapping information for mapping the measured path loss to an estimated timing advance value) and Manolakos further teaches the RF sensing procedure utilizes a monostatic configuration, determining power characteristics of the corresponding RF sensing RS determined based on transmissions from the base station (Fig. 4; Paras. 0049 and 0098; Thus, when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction; i.e. Fig. 4 shows one or more base stations to determine transmission characteristics and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if there is path loss, transmission power would need to be adjusted for acceptable RSRP/RSRQ).
Regarding claims 6 and 22, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches further comprising: receiving quasi-co-location (QCL) information indicating that the corresponding RF sensing RS is QCLed with a signal transmitted by the base station or a second base station; and configuring one or more characteristics of the corresponding RF sensing RS based on the QCL information (Para. 0048; In NR, there are four types of quasi-collocation (QCL) relations. Specifically, a QCL relation of a given type means that certain parameters about a second reference RF signal on a second beam can be derived from information about a source reference RF signal on a source beam).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the network node is a server (Para. 0056; Either gNB 222 or eNB 224 may communicate with UEs 204 (e.g., any of the UEs depicted in FIG. 1). Another optional aspect may include location server 230, which may be in communication with the NGC 210 to provide location assistance for UEs 204).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches wherein the network node is the base station (Fig. 7; Paras. 0042, 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity (e.g., a base station 108) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches wherein the corresponding RF sensing RS is transmitted outside of symbol boundaries subject to the predetermined time delay (Paras. 0045 and 0073; the uplink and/or downlink control information and/or traffic information may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. As used herein, a symbol may refer to a unit of time that, in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) waveform, carries one resource element (RE) per sub-carrier. A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols. A subframe may refer to a duration of lms. Multiple subframes or slots may be grouped together to form a single frame or radio frame).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches further comprising providing capability information indicating a capability of the UE to perform the RF sensing procedure utilizing uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) signals (Para. 0123; With such capability, the UE is able to handle a TA command arrival in between a PRS reception and an SRS transmission. The UE would include both the PRS1→SRS1 duration and the PRS2→SRS2 duration as UERx-Tx measurements).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Bai teaches a method/base station of performing RF sensing (Abstract), the method comprising:
a transceiver; a memory; and one or more processing units communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, the one or more processing units configured to (Para. 0013):
receiving, at a base station, configuration information indicating that an RF sensing procedure utilizing uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) signals is to occur (Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; Each scheduled entity 704 a and 704 b may be configured to transmit its respective RACH signal 706 a and 706 b after a predetermined time (delay) from receiving the SS block 702, which may be set based upon a maximum round-trip time (RTT) within the cell);
receiving, at the base station, a corresponding RS that was transmitted by a UE responsive to receiving an RF sensing RS and after a predetermined delay time elapsed, wherein the corresponding RS was transmitted in connection with the RF sensing procedure (Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; In the example shown in FIG. 7, the RACH signals 706 a and 706 b may be transmitted in response to receiving a synchronization signal (SS) block 702 broadcast by the scheduling entity 700 within the cell. The SS block 702 may include, for example, a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), Secondary Synchronization Signal (SS) and/or a Physical Broadcast Control Channel (PBCH) that conveys minimum system information; Other REs 306 within the RB 308 may also carry pilots or reference signals, including but not limited to a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) a control reference signal (CRS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS). These pilots or reference signals may provide for a receiving device to perform channel estimation of the corresponding channel, which may enable coherent demodulation/detection of the control and/or data channels within the RB; The UEs 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, and 232 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal; i.e. these cited sections suggest that a reference signal is transmitted a predetermined time after the receipt of SS blocks 702 but Fig. 7 only shows a RACH being sent on the uplink and does not explicitly state that a reference signal is included in this); and
(Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0135-0142, and 0149; The UEs 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, and 232 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal; i.e. these cited sections suggest that a reference signal is transmitted a predetermined time after the receipt of SS blocks 702 but Fig. 7 only shows a RACH being sent on the uplink and does not explicitly state that a reference signal is included in this. Furthermore, “the predetermined time delay are usable to determine positioning information of the UE is intended use and is not given patentable weight).
However, while Bai teaches a UE may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal (Fig. 7; Para. 0056), which strongly suggests that the RACH includes a reference signal, which is transmitted a predetermined time delay after the SS block is received and he discusses RTT and distances between nodes (Para. 0098), he does not specifically disclose wherein the corresponding RS was transmitted in connection with the RF sensing procedure and based at least in part on the configuration information, either: 1) reporting, to a location server, information indicative of a time the corresponding RS was received, which is usable by the location server to determine a distance between the base station and the UE; or 2) determining, based on the time the corresponding RS was received and the predetermined delay time, the distance between the base station and the UE.
Manolakos teaches techniques for addressing relation round trip time (RTT) positioning and timing advance (TA) command with user equipment (UE) receive-transmit (Rx-Tx) measurement reporting (Abstract). He further teaches wherein the corresponding RS was transmitted in connection with the RF sensing procedure and based at least in part on the configuration information, either: 1) reporting, to a location server, information indicative of a time the corresponding RS was received, which is usable by the location server to determine a distance between the base station and the UE; or 2) determining, based on the time the corresponding RS was received and the predetermined delay time, the distance between the base station and the UE (Paras. 0086-0090; Either the UE 404 or the respective base station 402 may determine the distance 410 (dk, where k=1, 2, 3) between the UE 404 and the respective base station 402. Specifically, the distance 410-1 between the UE 404 and base station 402-1 is d1, the distance 410-2 between the UE 404 and base station 402-2 is d2, and the distance 410-3 between the UE 404 and base station 402-3 is d3. In an aspect, determining the RTT of signals exchanged between the UE 404 and any base station 402 can be performed and converted to a distance 410 (dk); After some UE processing time, the UE 504 transmits an RTT response signal 520 (e.g., an SRS, UL-PRS) at time T3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Manolakos with the teachings as in Bai. The motivation for doing so would have been to support position estimations in terrestrial wireless networks (Manolakos at para. 0006).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches wherein the RF sensing RS received by the UE was transmitted by the base station (Fig. 7; Paras. 0042, 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity (e.g., a base station 108) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the information reported to the location server comprises a duration of time elapsed between transmitting the RF sensing RS and receiving the corresponding RS (Paras. 0056 and 0086-0090; Either gNB 222 or eNB 224 may communicate with UEs 204 (e.g., any of the UEs depicted in FIG. 1). Another optional aspect may include location server 230, which may be in communication with the NGC 210 to provide location assistance for UEs 204; Either the UE 404 or the respective base station 402 may determine the distance 410 (dk, where k=1, 2, 3) between the UE 404 and the respective base station 402. Specifically, the distance 410-1 between the UE 404 and base station 402-1 is d1, the distance 410-2 between the UE 404 and base station 402-2 is d2, and the distance 410-3 between the UE 404 and base station 402-3 is d3. In an aspect, determining the RTT of signals exchanged between the UE 404 and any base station 402 can be performed and converted to a distance 410 (dk); After some UE processing time, the UE 504 transmits an RTT response signal 520 (e.g., an SRS, UL-PRS) at time T3).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches further comprising determining an angle of arrival (AoA) of the corresponding RS, wherein: (i) the AoA is reported to the location server; or (ii) a location of the UE is based at least in part on the AoA (Paras. 0056 and 0088; Either gNB 222 or eNB 224 may communicate with UEs 204 (e.g., any of the UEs depicted in FIG. 1). Another optional aspect may include location server 230, which may be in communication with the NGC 210 to provide location assistance for UEs 204; In some instances, additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that defines a straight line direction (e.g., which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (e.g., for the UE 404 from the location of a base station 402). The intersection of the two directions at or near the point (x, y) can provide another estimate of the location for the UE 404).
Regarding claims 15 and 27, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the RF sensing RS was transmitted by a second base station, and further comprising determining an angle of departure (AoD) of the RF sensing RS transmitted by the second base station based on reference signal received power (RSRP) information received from the UE, wherein (i) the AoD is reported to the location server; or (ii) a location of the UE is based at least in part on the AoD (Paras. 0056 and 0088; Either gNB 222 or eNB 224 may communicate with UEs 204 (e.g., any of the UEs depicted in FIG. 1). Another optional aspect may include location server 230, which may be in communication with the NGC 210 to provide location assistance for UEs 204; In some instances, additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that defines a straight line direction (e.g., which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (e.g., for the UE 404 from the location of a base station 402). The intersection of the two directions at or near the point (x, y) can provide another estimate of the location for the UE 404).
Regarding claims 16 and 28, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Manolakos further teaches wherein the RF sensing RS was transmitted by a second base station, and further comprising obtaining a distance between the base station and the second base station, wherein a location of the UE is based at least in part on the distance between the base station and the second base station (Fig. 4; Paras. 0056 and 0086-0090; Either gNB 222 or eNB 224 may communicate with UEs 204 (e.g., any of the UEs depicted in FIG. 1). Another optional aspect may include location server 230, which may be in communication with the NGC 210 to provide location assistance for UEs 204; Either the UE 404 or the respective base station 402 may determine the distance 410 (dk, where k=1, 2, 3) between the UE 404 and the respective base station 402. Specifically, the distance 410-1 between the UE 404 and base station 402-1 is d1, the distance 410-2 between the UE 404 and base station 402-2 is d2, and the distance 410-3 between the UE 404 and base station 402-3 is d3. In an aspect, determining the RTT of signals exchanged between the UE 404 and any base station 402 can be performed and converted to a distance 410 (dk); After some UE processing time, the UE 504 transmits an RTT response signal 520 (e.g., an SRS, UL-PRS) at time T3).
Regarding claims 17 and 29, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches wherein the distance between the base station and the second base station is determined using at least one of: global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) based positioning techniques, round trip time (RTT) positioning techniques, or any combination thereof (Fig. 4; Paras. 0056, 0066, and 0086-0090; The SPS receivers 330 and 370 may be connected to one or more antennas 336 and 376, respectively, for receiving SPS signals 338 and 378, respectively, such as global positioning system (GPS) signals, global navigation satellite system (GLONASS) signals, Galileo signals, Beidou signals, Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (NAVIC), Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS), etc. The SPS receivers 330 and 370 may comprise any suitable hardware and/or software for receiving and processing SPS signals 338 and 378, respectively. The SPS receivers 330 and 370 request information and operations as appropriate from the other systems, and performs calculations necessary to determine the apparatus' 302 and 304 positions using measurements obtained by any suitable SPS algorithm; Either gNB 222 or eNB 224 may communicate with UEs 204 (e.g., any of the UEs depicted in FIG. 1). Another optional aspect may include location server 230, which may be in communication with the NGC 210 to provide location assistance for UEs 204; Either the UE 404 or the respective base station 402 may determine the distance 410 (dk, where k=1, 2, 3) between the UE 404 and the respective base station 402. Specifically, the distance 410-1 between the UE 404 and base station 402-1 is d1, the distance 410-2 between the UE 404 and base station 402-2 is d2, and the distance 410-3 between the UE 404 and base station 402-3 is d3. In an aspect, determining the RTT of signals exchanged between the UE 404 and any base station 402 can be performed and converted to a distance 410 (dk); After some UE processing time, the UE 504 transmits an RTT response signal 520 (e.g., an SRS, UL-PRS) at time T3;).
Regarding claims 18 and 30, the combination of references Bai and Manolakos teach the limitations of the previous claims. Bai further teaches further comprising transmitting information indicative of the predetermined delay time to the UE (Fig. 7; Paras. 0056, 0071-0073, 0087-0090, 0142, and 0149; Each scheduled entity 704 a and 704 b may be configured to transmit its respective RACH signal 706 a and 706 b after a predetermined time (delay) from receiving the SS block 702, which may be set based upon a maximum round-trip time (RTT) within the cell).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474