DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments filed on 6/4/2026.
Claims 1,3-16,18,20,21 and 23 are pending. Claims 1 and 9 are amended.
Withdrawn Rejection(s)
The rejection of Claims 1,4-10,14 and 20 under USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108123111 (CN ‘111) are withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
The rejection of Claims 3 and 11 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘111 in view of CN 107732158 are withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
The rejection of Claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN ‘111 are withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
Maintained Rejection(s)
Claims 21 and 23 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN ‘111.
The rejection of Claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2014/0287315 (US ‘315) is withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments.
Claims 21 and 23 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US ‘315.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the claims, Applicants have amended Claim 1 to incorporate the allowable subject matter of Claim 2 to overcome the pending rejections.
The Examiner notes that, with respect to Claims 21 and 23, the product by process limitations of the claim yield a chemically distinct product wherein the novel lignin in Claim 1 is converted to carbon through pyrolysis/carbonization treatment. The Applicants have not shown how the claimed composition would be distinguished from the prior art composites that are disclosed in CN ‘111 or US ‘815 discussed in the Non-Final Rejection and summarized below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN ‘111.
As to above claims, the Examiner notes the product by process claim limitations and notes MPEP 2113 which states "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).”
As to Claim 21, CN ‘111 discloses a method whereby 3 micron silicon powder is mixed with lignin sulfonate fumed silica composite particle in a ball mill to make a particle dispersion (pg. 5, lines 1-10), then additives are added and the product is kneaded and hot rolled i.e. compacted and broken into a powder (pg. 5, lines 12-18) i.e. crushed prior to carbonization. CN ‘111 discloses a carbonization of the composite at 900 deg C for 5 hours (pg. 5, lines 20).
As to Claim 23, the material is crushed and sieved after carbonization (pg. 5, lines 18-20). The Examiner notes the material produced by the prior art method is used to silicon based negative electrode material for a lithium ion battery (pg. 1, lines 11-12).
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2014/0287315 (US ‘315).
The Examiner notes the product by process limitations of Claims 21 and 23 and notes MPEP 2113 which states, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).”
As to Claim 21, US ‘315 discloses a material that is produced from the mixture of lignin and silicon nanopowder (Example 1, para. 0160). US ‘315 further discloses the material discussed in Claim 13 as carbonized to form a composite particle (para. 0160).
As to Claim 23, the material discussed in Claim 21 above is formed into a negative electrode (para. 0165, Claim 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,3-16,18 and 20 are allowed.
Specifically, none of the prior art discloses the composite requiring the lignin particles as required by the amended Claim 1 nor is there any teaching, suggestion or motivation to arrive at the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 7/2/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762