DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/26/206 has overcome all rejections to claims 1-17 and the rejection to claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b). However, the rejection to claim 18 remains due to the reflector foil sheet that is a single sheet being omitted from the limitations while be included in claims 1 and 15. Further, Applicant’s amendment has necessitated a new interpretation of Watanabe as applied claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 & 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 20170276861 A1; relied upon in the Office Action filed on 01/12/2026) and alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Watanabe et al. (US 20170276861 A1; relied upon in the Office Action filed on 01/12/2026) and alternatively in view of Morabito et al. (US 20210033771 A1; relied upon in the Office Action filed on 01/12/2026; “Morabito”).
Watanabe discloses a method of optimizing light rays for illuminating a display apparatus (optimizing light rays shown with light beams L1-L7 for the purpose reducing bright portions for backlight 10; shown in Fig 1-3 transposed with Fig 5 and described in at least ¶¶ 0040-0044 as well as optimizing as described below) for use in a motor vehicle (limitations following of for use is discussed below), the method comprising:
transmitting light rays (L1 and L2), by way of a light transmitting panel (light guide plate 14, reflective surface reflection sheet 17f and lateral reflection sheets 17a-c, double-sided tape 15a-c; shown in at least Figs 1-2 and 5; hereinafter panel), through to a viewing side of a display apparatus (shown with L6 and L7 in Fig 2 and described in ¶ 0043); and
emitting light rays (shown with L2; Fig 5; ¶ 0043), by way of at least one light source (a light source is inherent for the emission of light rays (L2; however for the purpose of completeness and compactness, the Examiner notes six LEDs 16 in Fig 1), across a breadth of the light transmitting panel (shown in Fig 5), wherein reflecting the emitting light rays (L2 being reflected as L6 and 7; Fig 5; ¶ 0043), by way of a reflector foil sheet (by way of 17a-c, f) applied to at least two sides of the light transmitting panel (17a-c are applied via 14a-c via 15a-c) with no air gaps therebetween (due to 15a-c, specifically at the portions of 17a-c that are covered by 15a-c, respectively) and to a light directing side of the light transmitting panel (17f applied to 14f; light directing shown with regard to direction of L7 from dot 18), such that emitting light rays (L2) and reflected light rays (L6 and L7) transmit through the light transmitting panel to the viewing side of the display apparatus (Fig 5),
wherein at least one length of the light transmitting panel is partially applied with the reflector foil sheet (with length being the longest side, at least either of sides 14a and 14c or sides 14a and14b has to be the longest side; the reflector foil sheet (17a-c) is respectively applied to 14a-c via 15a-c; further, partial application of 17a to 14a is shown in Fig 5 as compared with Fig 4; the Examiner notes that the same application of 17a-17b to 14a-14b via 14a-15b is described in ¶ 0036) and the at least one length of the light transmitting panel (any of 14a-c) comprises a border portion (portion between respective 14a-c, 15a-c, and 17a-c) defined by surface unapplied with the reflector foil sheet (represented in Fig 5; the Examiner notes that the claim does not limit that the entirety of reflector sheet is gapless in application to the light transmitting panel, border portion aside; further, the claim does not limit to a singular sheet as done in claims 1 and 15).
With regard to for use in a vehicle, the limitation is an intended use. The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "‘extraneous’ limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966; see also MPEP 2111.02 (II). After review of Applicant’s specification and drawings, then comparing with the preamble, there are no limitations in the body of the claim that require a vehicle. Therefore, the limitation of for use in a vehicle has been carefully considered but does not carry patentable weight.
Alternatively, for completeness of the record and compact prosecution, the Examiner notes that Morabito teaches a lighting unit (at least light guide panel 752, a set of reflectors 756 (described in ¶ 0059), a set of LEDs 758, and printed circuit board 760 (shown in Fig 7B and described in ¶ 0059)) for a display apparatus (monitor assembly in view 700, Fig 7A, ¶ 0058) for use in a vehicle (at least communication use in a vehicle described in at least ¶ 0026). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA use the display apparatus Watanabe in a vehicle as taught (in at least principle) by Morabito for the added utility of communication (Morabito: ¶ 0026). Further, a PHOSITA would have had an expectation of success because Watanabe discloses and Morabito teaches a light guide, LEDs, and reflector for a display apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 7-17 are allowed.
Below is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
After an updated search the closest prior art remains Gu (US 20190146145 A1; relied upon in the Office Action filed on 01/12/2026) and Watanabe.
Re Claim 1:
The closest prior art of record fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the reflector foil sheet that is a single sheet and of a border portion set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 7-14:
The claims are allowed due to their dependence on base claim 1.
Re Claim 15:
The closest prior art of record fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the reflector foil sheet that is a single sheet and of a border portion set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 16-17:
The claims are allowed due to their dependence on base claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 18 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. With specific regard to gapless and the border portion, the Examiner has relied upon the first embodiment. The Examiner notes that neither Gu nor Watanabe disclose, teach, suggest, or suggest the combination of method, structure, and functionality of the single sheet and border portion (see claims 1 and 15 for analogous limitations).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE JR.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875