DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the cartridge 22 of Conran has vertical side walls 24 that extend to the lower end wall 26, which has the dispensing slot 28 formed therein. In the Office Action, the Examiner attempts to equate lower end wall 26 of the cartridge 22 of Conran with the angled guide walls of the independent claims 1 and 11. However, the lower end wall 26 is equivalent to the bottom wall of the insert, not the angled guide walls of the insert. It is clear that the lower end wall 26 of Conran is not equivalent to the angled guide walls of independent claim 1 and 11, which claims 1 and 11 specifically call for extending from the inward from the first and second sidewalls and to the bottom wall of the insert.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagree with the Applicant. The prior art of Conran et al. teaches all the limitations recited in claims 1 and 11 of the instant application as clearly conveyed in the 102(a)(2) rejection. The rejections of claims 1 and 11 are herein restated with explanatory comments embedded therein:
Claim 1, Conran discloses a dispenser comprising: a housing (12) surrounding a volume; an opening (18) formed within a bottom wall (20; fig.5; bottom wall of housing) of the housing to expose the volume to an environment external to the dispenser, the bottom wall (20) oriented at an angle between 0 and 90 degrees (fig.5); and an insert (22) removably disposed within the housing (fig.5), the insert including: first and second sidewalls (24,24; figs.4-5) oriented parallel to each other; an opening (28) formed in a bottom wall (32) of the insert (22) and aligned with the opening (18) of the housing (12); and angled guide walls (26; fig.4) extending inward from the first (24) and second (24) sidewalls to the bottom wall (32) of the insert (22; figs.4-6); and a volume (fig.4) disposed between the sidewalls (24) of the insert (22) configured to receive a product stack (see abstract), the angled guide walls (26) configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall of the insert (see fig.3; bottom wall of 22).
Claim 11, Conran discloses an insert for a dispenser, the insert comprising: first and second sidewalls (24; figs.4-5) oriented parallel to each other; an opening (28) formed in a bottom wall (32) of the insert and aligned with an opening (18) of the dispenser (12); angled guide walls (26; fig.4) extending inward from the first (24) and second (24) sidewalls and to the bottom wall (32) of the insert (22; figs.4-6); and a volume disposed between the sidewalls (24) of the insert configured to receive paper towels (see abstract), the angled guide walls (26) configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall (32; see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Conran et al. (US 6,354,462).
Claim 1, Conran discloses a dispenser comprising: a housing (12) surrounding a volume; an opening (18) formed within a bottom wall (20; fig.5; bottom wall of housing) of the housing to expose the volume to an environment external to the dispenser, the bottom wall (20) oriented at an angle between 0 and 90 degrees (fig.5); and an insert (22) removably disposed within the housing (fig.5), the insert including: first and second sidewalls (24,24; figs.4-5) oriented parallel to each other; an opening (28) formed in a bottom wall (32) of the insert (22) and aligned with the opening (18) of the housing (12); and angled guide walls (26; fig.4) extending inward from the first (24) and second (24) sidewalls to the bottom wall (32) of the insert (22; figs.4-6); and a volume (fig.4) disposed between the sidewalls (24) of the insert (22) configured to receive a product stack (see abstract), the angled guide walls (26) configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall of the insert (see fig.3; bottom wall of 22).
Claim 11, Conran discloses an insert for a dispenser, the insert comprising: first and second sidewalls (24; figs.4-5) oriented parallel to each other; an opening (28) formed in a bottom wall (32) of the insert and aligned with an opening (18) of the dispenser (12); angled guide walls (26; fig.4) extending inward from the first (24) and second (24) sidewalls and to the bottom wall (32) of the insert (22; figs.4-6); and a volume disposed between the sidewalls (24) of the insert configured to receive paper towels (see abstract), the angled guide walls (26) configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall (32; see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conran et al. (US 6,354,462) in view of Orefice (US 2016/0029856).
Claim 2, Conran does not disclose a limit plate disposed within the dispenser, the limit plate having an upper location spaced apart from the top wall of the housing and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the product stack is removed from the volume.
Orefice discloses a limit plate (18) disposed within the dispenser (fig.6), the limit plate (18) having an upper location spaced apart from the top wall (14) of the housing and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the product stack is removed from the volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Conran with a limit plate disposed within the dispenser, the limit plate having an upper location spaced apart from the top wall of the housing and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the product stack is removed from the volume to ensure proper pressure against the dispensing opening by the downward depression force of the plate as the plurality of sheets in the dispenser gets low.
Claim 12, Conran does not disclose a limit plate movable within the insert, the limit plate having an upper location and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the paper towels are removed from the volume.
Orefice discloses a limit plate (18) movable within the dispenser (fig.6), the limit plate (18) having an upper location and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the paper towels are removed from the volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Conran with a limit plate movable within the insert, the limit plate having an upper location and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the paper towels are removed from the volume to ensure proper pressure against the dispensing opening by the downward depression force of the plate as the plurality of sheets in the dispenser gets low.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein the limit plate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYODEJI H OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651