DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Particularly, claim 1 recites “a bottom wall of the housing” and “the angled walls configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall”. It is rather unclear which bottom wall this limitation refers to since the claim also recited a bottom wall for the housing and the insert. Clarification of the claim limitation is required.
Furthermore, claim 11 recites “from the first and second sidewalls and toward the opening”. It is rather unclear whether this limitation refers to the opening for the dispenser or the insert. Clarification of the claim limitation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Conran et al. (US 6,354,462).
Claim 1, Conran discloses a dispenser comprising: a housing (12) surrounding a volume; an opening (18) formed within a bottom wall (20; fig.5; bottom wall of housing) of the housing to expose the volume to an environment external to the dispenser, the bottom wall (20) oriented at an angle between 0 and 90 degrees (fig.5); and an insert (22) removably disposed within the housing (fig.5), the insert including: first and second sidewalls (24; figs.4-5) oriented parallel to each other; an opening (28) formed in a bottom wall (32) of the insert (22) and aligned with the opening (18) of the housing (12); and angled guide walls (26; fig.4) extending inward from the first and second sidewalls and toward the opening (28); and a volume (fig.4) disposed between the sidewalls (24) of the insert (22) configured to receive a product stack (see abstract), the angled guide walls (26) configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall (see fig.3; bottom wall of 22).
Claim 11, Conran discloses an insert for a dispenser, the insert comprising: first and second sidewalls (24; figs.4-5) oriented parallel to each other; an opening (28) formed in a bottom wall (32) of the insert and aligned with an opening (18) of the dispenser (12); and angled guide walls (26; fig.4) extending inward from the first and second sidewalls (24; figs.4-5) and toward the opening (28); and a volume disposed between the sidewalls (24) of the insert configured to receive paper towels (see abstract), the angled guide walls (26) configured to reduce the volume adjacent the bottom wall (32; see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conran et al. (US 6,354,462) in view of Orefice (US 2016/0029856).
Claim 2, Conran does not disclose a limit plate disposed within the dispenser, the limit plate having an upper location spaced apart from the top wall of the housing and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the product stack is removed from the volume.
Orefice discloses a limit plate (18) disposed within the dispenser (fig.6), the limit plate (18) having an upper location spaced apart from the top wall (14) of the housing and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the product stack is removed from the volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Conran with a limit plate disposed within the dispenser, the limit plate having an upper location spaced apart from the top wall of the housing and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the product stack is removed from the volume to ensure proper pressure against the dispensing opening by the downward depression force of the plate as the plurality of sheets in the dispenser gets low.
Claim 12, Conran does not disclose a limit plate movable within the insert, the limit plate having an upper location and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the paper towels are removed from the volume.
Orefice discloses a limit plate (18) movable within the dispenser (fig.6), the limit plate (18) having an upper location and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the paper towels are removed from the volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Conran with a limit plate movable within the insert, the limit plate having an upper location and configured to move downward toward a lower location as the paper towels are removed from the volume to ensure proper pressure against the dispensing opening by the downward depression force of the plate as the plurality of sheets in the dispenser gets low.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10,13-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20150014344 US 20120080444.
/AYODEJI T OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651