DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/07/2024 and 11/202025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "for the receiving of the set of reference signals" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 and 22 (depends on claim 18) do not claim “receiving a set of reference signals” or “receiving the set of reference signals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abebe et al. (U.S. 2023/0208493).
With respect to claim 1, Abebe et al. disclose: receiving a set of reference signals (e.g. refer to Fig. 12 and Fig. 11. The UE of Fig. 12 receives CSI-RS 1, CSI-RS 2,…, CSI-RS M (M CSI-RS resources), [0106]-[0107], [0113] and specifically refer to lines 6-8 of [0113], [0105]); and transmitting, based at least in part on the set of reference signals (Fig. 12, refer to the transmitting of 1203 “CSI report with Doppler information” based at least in part on the M CSI-RS resources, [0113]): a set of Doppler frequency values (Doppler components (frequencies) (also referred to as Doppler coefficients or Doppler information {f}, lines10-14 of [0107], lines 8-10 of [0113]. Also refer to at least Fig. 13 CSI reporting {i1,i2, i3}, [0118] in particular lines 1-4, [0126] Doppler coefficient indicator per subband, lines 5-9, 12-14 of [0126] (for example), [0120]-[0121] and related [0117]. The Doppler coefficient indicator i3 per subband corresponds to (or represents) the claimed “set of Doppler frequency values”. Another embodiment of CSI report with Doppler information is described in [0129]-[0130] where the UE derives Doppler frequencies associated with DFT beams and layers. Another embodiment of CSI report with Doppler information is described in [0145]-[0148], enhanced Type II CSI reporting in a delay domain rather than subband reporting in frequency domain [0090]. [0148] discloses:”… a UE derives Doppler frequency shift Coefficients that can be reported when a UE reports for time-correlated CSI…i3 subindicator …corresponds to a Doppler frequency shift for the l-th layer, i-th DFT beam and f-th FD bases, i.e. (I,f) angle delay pair.”), and a set of weight values that correspond to the set of Doppler frequency values (at least [0120] refer to the precoder W(t) where the φn (co-phasing coefficient) and Vl,m (spatial basis vector) corresponds to the set of weight values and used to form a precoder at the gnB e.g. Fig. 13, alternatively the indicated i2 (co-phasing coefficient) per subband of [0126] corresponds to the claimed set of weight values. In the another embodiment of [0129]-[0130] refer to equation (4) and set of weight values pl,i(1) pl,i(2) (subband amplitude coefficients) [0129] and Equation (4). In the embodiment of [0145]-[0148] refer to the set of weight values in equation (6) pl,I,f(2) and φl,I,f amplitude and phase coefficients for the lth layer and (i-th, f-th) angle-delay pair or at least one of amplitude or phase coefficients for multiple layers).
With respect to claim 2, Abebe et al. disclose: wherein the set of reference signals corresponds to a first beam of a plurality of beams (the set of CSI-RS resources (e.g. of Fig. 12-14) corresponds to a first beam (first beam formed by the precoder derived by the BS at t1 (last sentence of [0120] or first 2D DFT beam given by vl,m. Embodiment of [0130] refer to the beam formed by the precoder for a particular layer l and time t given by Equation (4). Embodiment of [0145]-[0148] refer to the precoder of equation 6, the beam formed for layer l and time t. Alternatively refer to the ith DFT beam) and wherein the plurality of beams corresponds to a first transmission layer of a plurality of transmission layers ([0120], variable lowercase l corresponds to a particular layer, last sentence of [0118]. In [0129]-[0130] refer to lines 1-3 of [0130], l=1,2 and the disclosed “the precoder associated with a particular layer at application time t denoted as Wi(t)…”. In [0145]-[0148] also disclose “the precoder associated with a particular layer at application time t denoted as Wi(t)…”and [0146], “…transmission layers {1,2,3,4}”).
With respect to claim 3, Abebe et al. disclose: transmitting, based at least in part on the set of reference signals, a set of delay values that corresponds to the first beam (Refer to [0145]-[0148] enhanced type II CSI and lines 1-4 of [0090] “…delay-domain…”, refer to the “delay-specific amplitude coefficient…” ,“and co-phasing coefficients for angle-delay components…” and [0147] and [0148] the disclosed “(I,f) angle delay pair…” ).
With respect to claim 4, Abebe et al. disclose: wherein each Doppler frequency value of the set of Doppler frequency values is associated with at least one delay value of the set of delay values ([0145]-[0148] refer to at least lines 8-13 of [0148], refer to the Doppler frequency shift dl,I,f signaled by the indicator i3 having subindicators as explained, the Doppler frequency shift is for an layer (l) and angle delay (I,f)pair).
With respect to claim 5, Abebe et al. disclose: wherein each delay value of the set of delay values is associated with at least one Doppler frequency value of the set of Doppler frequency values (refer to the portions cited in the rejection of claim 4 above and the disclosed Doppler frequency shift dl,I,f).
With respect to claim 6, Abebe et al. disclose: wherein the transmitting of the set of Doppler frequency values comprises: applying a size delimiting parameter (refer to [0148] describing Method II.3 and [0158] referring to method II.3 and reporting a subset of angle-delay pairs (instead of all the angle-delay pairs), refer to (delimiting) parameter KDoppler . defining: a first threshold number of Doppler frequency values (K-dopplerReportedCoefficients, and i3 is the Doppler coefficient indicator, refer to the approximate middle of [0148]); or a second threshold number of delay-Doppler value pairs (Doppler coefficients for only a subset of angle-delay pairs [0158]).
With respect to claim 7, Abebe et al. disclose: further comprising: quantizing the set of Doppler frequency values to produce a quantized set of Doppler frequency values (for example refer to lines 1-4, 9-10 of [0118], [0121] and for example tables 1A or 1B, refer to the mapping (quantization) between the measured values of the Doppler frequency shifts and the quantized levels of fd (indicated by i3) and d). Alternatively refer to [0130] indicator i3 has subindicator associated with the l-th layer where the value dl,I corresponds to a Doppler frequency for the l-th layer and i-th DFT beam and refer to [0135] and Tables 3A, 3B. Alternatively refer to [0148], lines 9-13 of [0148] and [0153] and Tables 6A or 6B), wherein the transmitting of the set of Doppler frequency values comprises: transmitting the quantized set of Doppler frequency values ([0118], [0120]-[0121]. Alternatively refer to [0130] and [0135]. Alternatively refer to [0148] and [0153]. (Also note that codebook based CSI feedback involves quantization of the CSI by the UE)).
With respect to claim 8, Abebe et al. disclose: quantizing the set of weight values to produce a quantized set of weight values (although the term quantizing is not expressly used, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the set of weights indicated by at least indicator i2 in [0146] and [0148], is generating by quantizing the set of weight values to the 4-bit per angle domain amplitude coefficient, 3-bit per angle-delay amplitude coefficient) wherein the transmitting of the set of weight values comprises: transmitting the quantized set of weight values (indicator i2 is transmitted as part of the CSI report with Doppler Information) (Also note that codebook based CSI feedback involves quantization of the CSI by the UE)).
With respect to claim 9, Abebe et al. disclose: comprising: determining a set of commonality parameters (refer to Fig. 18 part (c) discloses temporal-spatial-frequency domain CSI feedback compression, generated after L and Mv dominant angular domain (per polarization) and delay domain components are selected and Q Doppler domain components are reported, these are commonality parameters. Alternatively refer to the approximate second half of [0162] FD-basis common manner and the min of KNZ, KDoppler -corresponds to the claimed commonality parameters [0163]); and applying the set of commonality parameters (Fig. 18. Alternatively refer to the second half of [0162], [0163]) to the set of Doppler frequency values (implicit in Fig. 18(c) to implement compression in the temporal-spatial-frequency domain or as shown in angular, doppler and delay dimensions. Alternatively refer to [0163]) to produce a condensed set of Doppler frequency values (refer to the Doppler domain compression. Alternatively refer to lines 1-2 of [0164] and [0162]-[0163] relayed to reduction of CSI report overhead of lines 1-3 of [0158], wherein the transmitting the set of Doppler frequency values comprises transmitting the condensed set of Doppler frequency values ([0166]-[0168] refer to the reported (condensed) Doppler coefficients of [0162]-[0163]).
Claim 10 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 1 above and Abebe et al. disclose the claimed: a processor (refer to the UE of [0012] comprising the claimed processor, also refer to lines 14-16 of [0051] UE is a mobile telephone or a smartphone , lines 1-5 of [0064] describing the UE of Fig. 3A and [0070]); a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor ([0012] transceiver of the UE); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor ([0064], [0070] refer to memory 360 coupled to the (main) processor 340), wherein the apparatus (UE of [0012], [0064], [0070]) is configured to: (refer to the rejection of claim 1 above)
Claims 11-15 are rejected based on the rationale used to respectively reject claims 2-3, 6-8 above.
With respect to claim 16, Abebe et al. disclose: receiving a set of Doppler frequency values (refer to the gnB of Fig. 12 (and related Fig. 11), the gnB receives CSI report with Doppler Information. Fig. 13, 14, 16 are (alternative / different) embodiments of performing CSI report with Doppler information and show gnB receiving CSI with Doppler information 1302, 1402, 160. Refer to at least [0105]-[0107], [0113] , [0118], describing the reception of a set of Doppler frequency values, performed by the gnB, and lines 1-4, 9-14 of [0118], [0121] refer tie reception of indicator i3 and Table 1A or 1B. Alternatively refer to at least [0130], [0134]-[0135] and Table 3A or 3B associated with Fig. 14. Alternatively refer to at least [014]-[0148], [0153] and Table 6A or 6B and associated with Fig. 16); receiving a set of weight values corresponding to the set of Doppler frequency values (at least [0120] refer to the precoder W(t) where the φn (co-phasing coefficient) and Vl,m (spatial basis vector) corresponds to the set of weight values and used to form a precoder at the gnB e.g. Fig. 13, alternatively the indicated i2 (co-phasing coefficient) per subband of [0126] corresponds to the claimed set of weight values. In the another embodiment of [0129]-[0130] refer to equation (4) and set of weight values pl,i(1) pl,i(2) (subband amplitude coefficients) [0129] and Equation (4). In the embodiment of [0145]-[0148] refer to the set of weight values in equation (6) pl,I,f(2) and φl,I,f amplitude and phase coefficients for the lth layer and (i-th, f-th) angle-delay pair); and transmitting, via a communication network, a downlink (DL) signal precoded (refer to at least the last three lines of [0118], approximate second half of [0120] and equation for precoder W(t) used by the gnB to transmit a DL signal (also Fig. 13). Alternatively refer to the approximate second half of [0130] precoder Wl(t) used by the gnB, [0134] and Fig. 14). Alternatively refer to at least the last two sentences of [0148] refer to the disclosed precoder Wl(t) construction (by the gnB) and Fig. 16) based at least in part on:(i) the set of Doppler frequency values, and(ii) the set of weight values corresponding to the set of Doppler frequency values (refer to the equation for precoder W(t) and what is described in at least [0118], [0120]-[0121] and Fig. 13. Alternatively refer to [0130], [0133]-[0134] and precoder equation and Fig. 14. Alternatively refer to [0148] and the precoder equation and Fig. 16 and [0152]).
With respect to claim 17, Abebe et al. disclose: wherein the transmitting of the DL signal comprises: determining a DL precoding matrix based at least in part on the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values (refer above to the rejection of claim 16, how the precoder W(t) or precoder(s) Wl(t) are determined); and transmitting, based at least in part on the DL precoding matrix, the DL signal ([0118] “precoder associate to a particular layer for a PDSCH transmission scheduled at time t…” and [0120] “the gNB constructs the corresponding precoders…for the corresponding application time (times PDSCH transmissions are scheduled) t=1, 2, 3. In particular, for application time t the gNB may apply the precoder W(t)….”. Alternatively refer to Fig. 14 and [013], alternatively refer to [0148], Fig. 16, [0152])
Claims 18-21 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claims 2-5 above (and from the point of view of the gnB of Abebe et al.).
With respect to claim 22, as best understood, Abebe et al. disclose: determining a report period ([0113] CSI reporting configuration 1201 includes parameter CSI-ReportPeriodicityANDOffset) defining: a threshold number of reference signals for the set of reference signals, or a length of time for the receiving of the set of reference signals (the CSI report periodicity defines a length of time during which the UE receives the set of reference signals, processes them and reports CSI based on the processing) , wherein the receiving of the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values comprises: receiving, according to the report period, the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values (Fig. 12 , 1203 is received according to the CSI report period (ReportPeriodicityANDOffset in 1201, [0113]).
With respect to claim 23, Abebe et al. disclose: comprising: transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report configuration message (Fig. 12 , 1201, [0113]), the CSI report configuration message comprising a timing parameter for the transmitting of the set of Doppler frequency values, the set of weight values, or both the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values (refer t the timing parameter defined by CSI-ReportPeriodicityANDOffset in [0113], also related lines 1-7 of [0094] and Fig. 13 or Fig. 14 or Fig. 16 disclosing transmission of CSI report with doppler information 1302, 1402, 1602 transmitted , according to the CSI reporting configuration 1201).
Claim 24 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 6 above (and from the point of view of the gnB of Abebe et al., KDoppler or K-DopplerReportedCofficients, is RRC configured (by the gnB) to the UE, also refer to [0159]).
With respect to claim 25, Abebe et al. disclose: further comprising: transmitting a set of commonality ([0166]-[0171] for example refer to the number of Doppler domain basis vectors Q configured by an RRC configuration in [0170], corresponding to the claimed set of commonality parameters. Alternatively refer to N4 number of Doppler of PMI reporting instances and parameter δv configured by the gnb via RRC [0171] corresponding to the claimed set of commonality parameters) parameters; and wherein the receiving of the set of Doppler frequency values comprises: receiving, in accordance with the set of commonality parameters, a condensed set of Doppler frequency values (the set of commonality parameters in [0170]-[0171] is used by the UE to perform Doppler domain compression [0166] and Fig. 18, in particular (c)).
Claim 26 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 16 above and Abebe et al. disclose the claimed: a processor (refer to the gnB of [0013] comprising the claimed processor, also refer to lines 1-6 of [0051] gnB is a base transceiver station or radio base station, lines 1-5 of [0072] describing the gnB of Fig. 3B, lines 1-3 of [0076], [0079]); a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor ([0013] transceiver of the gnB); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor ([0076], [0079] refer to memory 380 coupled to the processor 378), wherein the apparatus (gnB of [0013], [0072]) is configured to: (refer to the rejection of claim 10 above).
Claims 27-29 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claims 17, 18, 19 above.
With respect to claim 30, Abebe et al. disclose: wherein the apparatus is further configured to: determine an allocation of communication resources for receiving a set of reference signals (in response to the UE capability 1200 of [0111]-[0112] the gnB determines resource and report configurations (for the UE) in [0113] to perform the CSI report with Doppler information. Refer to the listed parameters in [0113]. For example the “M” of the “M CSI-RS resources” corresponds to the claimed “allocation of communication resources” (e.g. how many CSI-RS resources are/will be transmitted by the gnB) is based on UE capability [0105]-[0107] and [0111]-[0112]), wherein the receiving of the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values comprises: receiving, via the allocation of communication resources (interpreted as the UE using the allocation of communication resources to receive and then report the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values, included in 1203, and for example reported in 1302 or 1402 or 1602 and the portions already cited in the rejection of claim 26. The gnB performs the claimed “receiving” based on (via) the UE being configured for resource (and report) configurations), the set of Doppler frequency values and the set of weight values.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramireddy et al. (U.S. 2022/0029676) entire document is relevant. In particular refer to Fig. 11-13 feedback information examples.
Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0349035) refer to at least [0101] “To reduce CSI feedback overheads, the terminal device quantizes CSI by using a codebook matrix in a codebook, where the codebook is known to the terminal device and the network device.”
Mondal et al. (U.S. 2007/0183362) refer to at least the last sentence of [0032’ “…quantized CSI (i.e. Codebook-Based CSI)”.
Contact Information
SOPHIA VLAHOS
Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/SOPHIA VLAHOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 1/8/2026