DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the distance, outside the carrier frame, between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell is greater than the distance, in the carrier frame, between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell of claim 6 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because it recites the limitations “the distance, outside the carrier frame" in line 2 and “the distance, in the carrier frame” in line 4. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a distance, outside the carrier frame” and “a distance, in the carrier frame”.
Claim 8 is objected to because it recites the limitations "the total thickness of the carrier frame" in lines 2-3 and “the total thickness of the cell stack and the heat sink plate” in line 3. The examiner suggests amending the claims to recite “a total thickness of the carrier frame” and “a total thickness of the cell stack and a heat sink plate”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 recites the term “attachment means” which is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification and illustrated in the drawings as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Page 5, lines 27-29 of the instant specification provides support the “attachment means” as clamps and/or clips and/or counter-forms while Fig. 3 of the instant specification illustrates the “attachment means” as clamping lugs/clips/counter-forms arranged on a carrier frame. Thus, the limitation will be interpreted as “clamps and/or clips and/or counter-forms” and equivalents thereof.
Claim 13 recites the term “axial compression means” which is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claim limitation is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification and illustrated in the drawings as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Page 8, line 16 of the instant specification provides support the “axial compression means” as a threaded rod while Fig. 2 of the instant specification illustrates the “axial compression means” as a rod. Thus, the limitation will be interpreted as “a threaded rod” and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the second electrode of the first battery cell" in lines 17-18 and “the second electrode of the second battery cell” in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 2-13 are thus rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the heat sink plate” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the same axis parallel to the stacking axis" in line 5 and “the center of the cell stack” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 2022/0013836 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a battery sub-module for a motor vehicle, comprising a cell stack comprising, stacked along a stacking axis (Annotated Hwang Fig. 4, battery cartridge 100; Para. [0114] states that battery pack 1000, which is comprised of a plurality of battery cartridges 100, may be used as an energy supply source for electric vehicles.):
a first battery cell in pouch form (Annotated Hwang Fig. 4, pouch-type battery 10),
a second battery cell in pouch form (Annotated Hwang Fig. 4, pouch-type battery 10),
a layer of compressible material, inserted between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Annotated Hwang Fig. 4, buffer member 160),
the battery sub-module comprising a carrier frame made of plastic material, which at least partially surrounds the first battery cell, the layer of compressible material and the second battery cell (Para. [0062] states that cartridge body 110 (carrier frame) is made of a plastic material possessing an insulation property and a heat radiation property. Hwang Figs. 3 and 5 illustrate cartridge body 110 partially surrounding the two pouch-type battery 10s, and a buffer material 160.),
the carrier frame carrying the first battery cell, the layer of compressible material and the second battery cell (Hwang Figs. 3 and 5),
each battery cell comprising two electrodes opposite each other transversely to the stacking axis (Annotated Hwang Fig. 4 and para. [0042] describes terminals 12a and 12b (two electrodes) protruding to the outside of pouch-type batteries 10. The two electrodes are opposite of each other in a transversal direction to the stacking axis.),
each electrode protruding from the carrier frame (Hwang Fig. 1 illustrates and para. [0042] explains that terminals 12a and 12b protrude from cartridge body 110.),
a first electrode of the first battery cell being such that, outside the carrier frame, it faces a first electrode of the second battery cell and is connected to the first electrode of the second battery cell by a welded connection, the second electrode of the first battery cell being such that, outside the carrier frame, it faces the second electrode of the second battery cell and is connected to the second electrode of the second battery cell by a welded connection (Para. [0083] explains that terminals 12a (first electrodes of both the first battery cell and the second battery cell) and 12b (second electrodes of both the first battery cell and the second battery cell) may be connected to a terminal part 131 by a welding method. Hwang Fig. 2 illustrates terminals 12a and 12b of a first battery cell are connected to terminals 12a and 12b of a second battery cell via terminal part 131 which comprises part of bus bar 130.),
wherein the carrier frame is partially arranged between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell, and the carrier frame is partially arranged between the second electrode of the first battery cell and the second electrode of the second battery cell (Para. [0039] describes that cartridge body 110 (carrier frame) is comprised of a first guide member 111, a second guide member 112, a third guide member 113, and a fourth guide member 114. Hwang Figs. 1 and 2 depicts the third guide member 113 is disposed between terminals 12a (first electrodes) of the first and second battery cells and terminals 12b (second electrodes) of the first and second battery cells. Para. [0058] states that bus bar 130 is arranged one surface of the third guide member 113 and the fourth guide member 114.).
Annotated Hwang Fig. 4: A battery sub-module (100) comprising of a carrier frame (110), first and second battery cells (10 – each denoted by arrow), a layer of compressible material (160) and first (12a) and second electrodes (12b).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module wherein the layer of compressible material is configured to absorb expansion along the stacking axis of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Para. [0062] explains that buffer material 160 may absorb an impact and is disposed along the stacking axis between adjacent pouch-type batteries.), and
wherein the layer of compressible material is thermally insulating, such that it is configured to thermally protect the first battery cell and the second battery cell from each other, and wherein the compressible material layer is selected from the group consisting of a foam layer and a polymer-based strip (Para. [0062] further states that buffer material 160 may be an ethylene propylene diene monomer pad.).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module comprising a heat sink plate, which is arranged at one end of the cell stack (Hwang Fig. 4, heat dissipation pate 120),
the heat sink plate and the carrier frame being attached together by attachment means (Annotated Hwang Fig. 5 illustrates a cartridge body 110 and heat dissipation plate 120 (heat sink plate) being attached by counter-forms (denoted by arrow).),
wherein the heat sink plate is L-shaped, such that an edge of the sub-module, running parallel to the stacking axis, is predominantly formed by the heat sink plate (Annotated Hwang Fig. 5 illustrates a heat dissipation plate 120 possessing an L-shape and an edge of the battery sub-module that is running parallel to the stacking axis being formed by said heat dissipation plate (denoted by arrow and circle).).
Annotated Hwang Fig. 5: A battery sub-module (100) comprising of a carrier frame (110) and an L-shaped heat sink plate (120), wherein said carrier frame and heat sink plate are attached by counter-forms (denoted by arrow) and wherein an edge of the battery sub-module running along the stacking axis is predominantly formed by said heat sink plate.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module which comprises a first busbar (Hwang Fig. 4, bus bars 130), the first electrode of the first battery cell being welded directly to the first busbar, and the first electrode of the second battery cell being welded directly to the first busbar (Para. [0083] explains that terminals 12a (first electrodes of both the first battery cell and the second battery cell) and 12b (second electrodes of both the first battery cell and the second battery cell) may be connected to a terminal part 131 by a welding method. Hwang Fig. 2 illustrates terminals 12a and 12b of a first battery cell are connected to terminals 12a and 12b of a second battery cell via terminal part 131 which comprises part of bus bar 130.).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module wherein the first bus bar is attached to the carrier frame (Para. [0080] states that bus bars 130 may be coupled to cartridge body 110 (carrier frame).).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module wherein, taken along the stacking axis, the total thickness of the carrier frame is less than the total thickness of the cell stack and the heat sink plate (Annotated Hwang Fig. 5A illustrates a battery sub-module 100 comprised of a carrier frame 110, a heatsink plate 120, and a cell stack wherein the cell stack includes a first battery cell 10 (denoted by arrow), a second battery cell 10 (denoted by arrow), and a buffer member 160. The cell stack and the heat sink plate are stacked along the stacking direction (denoted by arrow), and the cell stack is covered by said carrier frame on an upper side of the cell stack. A total thickness of the carrier frame is less than a total thickness of the cell stack and the heat sink plate in the stacking direction when measuring the thickness of the carrier frame in a width direction wherein said width direction runs in the stacking direction.).
Annotated Hwang Fig. 5A: A battery sub-module (100) comprising of a carrier frame (110), a heat sink plate (120), and a cell stack. The cell stack includes a first battery cell 10 (denoted by arrow), a second battery cell 10 (denoted by arrow), and a buffer member 160. The cell stack and the heat sink plate are stacked along a stacking direction (denoted by arrow) and the cell stack is covered on an upper surface by said carrier frame. A total thickness of the carrier frame is less than a total thickness of the cell stack and the heat sink plate.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module wherein the carrier frame carries exactly two battery cells, namely the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Annotated Hwang Fig. 3 illustrates the battery cartridge 100 (battery sub-module) possessing a cartridge body 110 (carrier frame), wherein said cartridge body carries exactly two pouch-type batteries 10 (first and second battery cells denoted by arrows).).
Annotated Hwang Fig. 3: A battery sub-module (100) comprising of a carrier frame (110), wherein said carrier frame carries exactly two battery cells, namely a first battery cell and a second battery cell (each denoted by arrow).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module wherein the first battery cell, the second battery cell and the layer of compressible material are maintained in position on the carrier frame by means of:
the welded connection connecting the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell, and of the welded connection connecting the second electrode of the first battery cell and the second electrode of the second battery cell (Para. [0083] explains that terminals 12a (first electrodes of both the first battery cell and the second battery cell) and 12b (second electrodes of both the first battery cell and the second battery cell) may be connected to a terminal part 131 by a welding method. Hwang Fig. 2 illustrates terminals 12a and 12b of a first battery cell are connected to terminals 12a and 12b of a second battery cell via terminal part 131 which comprises part of bus bar 130. Para. [0080] states that bus bars 130 may be coupled to cartridge body 110 (carrier frame). Finally, para. [0062] explains that buffer material 160 may absorb an impact and is disposed along the stacking axis between adjacent pouch-type batteries.).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang discloses a battery module for a motor vehicle comprising several battery sub-modules wherein the battery sub-modules are stacked along the stacking axis so as to form a row of battery sub-modules (Annotated Hwang Fig. 13 illustrates a battery pack 1000 (battery module) comprising of several battery cartridges 100 (battery sub-modules) stacked along a stacking axis (denoted by arrow). Para. [0114] states that battery pack 1000, which is comprised of a plurality of battery cartridges 100, may be used as an energy supply source for electric vehicles.),
the battery module comprising an attachment plate at each end of the row of battery sub-modules wherein the attachment plates are interconnected by axial compression means along the stacking axis, wherein the axial compression means axially compress the row of battery sub-modules (Annotated Hwang Fig. 13 depicts support plates 310 and 320 (attachment plates) at each end of the row of battery sub-modules. Furthermore, annotated Hwang Fig. 13 illustrates and para. [0044] describes that the plurality of battery cartridges 100 are fixed to each other through a plurality of fastening bars 340 (axial compression means), fastening the plurality of battery cartridges to a fastening part 116, the fastening part 116 being disposed on cartridge body 110 (carrier frame).).
Annotated Hwang Fig. 13: A battery module (1000) comprising of a plurality of battery sub-modules (100) stacked along a stacking axis as to form a row of battery sub-modules. The battery module further comprises of attachment plates (310, 320) at opposite ends of the row of battery sub-modules. The attachment plates are interconnected by axial compression means (340) along the stacking axis to compress the row of battery sub-modules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Motohashi et al. (US 2020/0321592 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module as discussed in claim 1.
Hwang fails to disclose the battery sub-module wherein the distance, outside the carrier frame, between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell is greater than the distance, in the carrier frame, between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell.
However, Motohashi teaches the battery sub-module wherein the distance, outside the carrier frame, between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell is greater than the distance, in the carrier frame, between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell (Annotated Motohashi Fig. 2 illustrates a first electrode tab connected to a first battery cell 10f adjacent to a first electrode tab 12p of a second battery cell 10e. The first electrode tab 12n of the first battery cell 10f is bent in an upward direction whereas the first electrode tab 12p of the second battery cell 10e is bent in a downward direction as the tabs protrude from the first and second battery cells. Annotated Motohashi Fig. 2 furthermore illustrates that, based on the configuration of both the first electrode tab of the first battery cell and the first electrode tab of the second battery cell, as both electrode tabs protrude further from said first and second battery cells, their distance becomes greater. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as the first electrode tab 12n of the first battery cell 10f and the first electrode tab 12p of the second battery cell would protrude from a carrier frame holding both battery cells, a distance between the first electrode tab 12n of the first battery cell 10f and the first electrode tab 12p of the second battery cell would be greater on an outside of said carrier frame compared to a distance between the first electrode tab 12n of the first battery cell 10f and the first electrode tab 12p of the second battery cell on an inside of said carrier frame.
Hwang and Motohashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing easy-to-assemble batteries that contribute to improved product reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery sub-module of Hwang to include a distance between a first electrode of a first battery cell and a first electrode of a second battery cell on an outside of a carrier frame is greater than a distance between a first electrode of a first battery cell and a first electrode of a second battery cell on an inside of a carrier frame because Motohashi teaches that folding electrode tabs that protrude from a battery cell enables them to be welded together without trimming said tabs, thus leading to longer battery life (paras. [0004], [0012] and [0016]) and applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (D).
Annotated Motohashi Fig. 2: A battery pack (1) comprising of a first battery cell (10f) and a second battery cell (10e) wherein said first battery cell includes a first electrode (12n) that protrudes outward from said first battery cell and is folded in an upward direction and said second battery cell includes a first electrode (12p) that protrudes outward from said second battery cell and is folded in a downward direction.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yang et al. (US 2009/0220853 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module as discussed in claim 1.
Hwang fails to disclose the battery sub-module wherein the second electrode of the first battery cell is welded directly to the second electrode of the second battery cell.
However, Yang teaches the battery sub-module wherein the second electrode of the first battery cell is welded directly to the second electrode of the second battery cell (Para. [0051] discusses that when a pouch-shaped battery cell 100a (first battery cell) and a pouch-shaped battery cell 100b (second battery cell) are arranged in series in a longitudinal direction, the electrode terminals 120 (second electrode of the first battery cell and second electrode of the second battery cell) are coupled with each other by welding.).
Hwang and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing easy-to-assemble batteries that contribute to improved product reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery sub-module of Hwang to include a second electrode of a first battery cell being welded to a second electrode of a second battery cell because Yang teaches that directly welding a second electrode of a first battery cell and a second electrode of a second battery cell together provides a battery module that is manufactured by a simple assembly process, thus reducing the chance of short-circuiting or damaging said battery module during manufacture (para. [0014]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Schmidt et al. (US 2013/0295427 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module as discussed in claim 1.
Hwang fails to disclose the battery sub-module wherein the carrier frame comprises foolproofing means, formed by a protruding element and a recessed element of complementary shape to the protruding element, the protruding element and the recessed element being oriented on the same axis parallel to the stacking axis, the protruding element and the recessed element being arranged at a distance from the center of the cell stack along the stacking axis and opposite each other.
However, Schmidt teaches the battery sub-module wherein the carrier frame comprises foolproofing means, formed by a protruding element and a recessed element of complementary shape to the protruding element, the protruding element and the recessed element being oriented on the same axis parallel to the stacking axis, the protruding element and the recessed element being arranged at a distance from the center of the cell stack along the stacking axis and opposite each other (Annotated Schmidt Fig. 5 illustrates a frame 6 (carrier frame) that includes a foolproofing means, said foolproofing means is formed by knobs 18 (protruding element) and depressions 20 (recessed element) Schmidt Figs. 3 and 4 illustrate knobs 18 and depressions 20 oriented on a same axis parallel to a stacking axis. Furthermore, knobs 18 and depressions 20 are arranged in four assembly bores 16, the four assembly bores 16 being arranged wherein each individual assembly bore is provided in each individual corner on frame 6 in a symmetrical shape at a distance from a center of battery element 4. The four assembly bores 16 are opposite to one another in reference to the center of battery element 4.
Hwang and Schmidt are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries with improved stability within a cell stack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery sub-module of Hwang to include a carrier frame comprising of a protruding element and a recessed element because Schmidt teaches depressions possess a greater depth than a height of knob, enabling knob to be inserted into a depression of an adjacent battery cell to secure a plurality of battery cells together against rotation or displacement (para. [0038]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Annotated Schmidt Fig. 5: A battery sub-module (2) comprising of a carrier frame (6), wherein said carrier frame provides an assembly bore (16) wherein said assembly bore is comprised of a protruding element (18) and a recessed element (20).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ohno et al. (WO 2020/213188 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang discloses the battery sub-module as discussed in claim 1.
Hwang fails to disclose the battery sub-module wherein the carrier frame carries the cell stack solely by virtue of:
the welded connection connecting the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell, and by virtue of the welded connection connecting the second electrode of the first battery cell and the second electrode of the second battery cell.
However, Ohno teaches the battery sub-module wherein the carrier frame carries the cell stack solely by virtue of:
the welded connection connecting the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell, and by virtue of the welded connection connecting the second electrode of the first battery cell and the second electrode of the second battery cell (Ohno Fig. 1 illustrates a battery 1 comprised of an exterior part 3 (carrier frame) and two electrodes 27 disposed on opposite sides of said battery. Ohno Fig. 1 depicts and para. [0032] states that electrode terminals 27 are attached to the outer surface of exterior part 3. Para. [0052] states that both the positive terminals of batteries 1α and 1β and the negative terminals of batteries 1α and 1β are connected by busbars 55 in parallel. Furthermore, para. [0052] states that the corresponding pairs of electrode terminals 27α and 27β on batteries 1α and 1β are connected by busbar 55 by welding. Additionally, Ohno fails to teach wherein more than one connection in addition to the connection made by said busbars to connect the first and second batteries to the exterior part.
Hwang and Ohno are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries with improved electrode connectivity for enhanced product reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery sub-module of Hwang to include the carrier frame carrying the cell stack solely by the welded connection between the first electrode of the first battery cell and the first electrode of the second battery cell and the welded connection between the second electrode of the first battery cell and the second electrode of the second battery cell because Ohno teaches that it is required that the busbar be properly connected to two target terminals, thereby ensuring the reliability of a battery module (para. [0003]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 2021/0057692 A1) discloses a battery module comprised of a carrier frame, first and second battery cells, and a heat sink plate. Yu (CN 208690351 U) discloses a battery module comprising of a carrier frame which is comprised of a heat sink plate and at least one battery cell.
Contact Information
/SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713