DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US 2011/0288352) in view of Hyman (US 2015/0148573).
Regarding claims 15-34, Peters teaches sending bio ethanol to dehydration to produce olefins, followed by oligomerization and hydrogenation to produce fuel products [0020-0026], [0084], [0091], [01000]. Peters teaches hydrogenation at temperatures of 25-350˚C and pressures of 0.1-20 MPa [0112]. Peters teaches recycle of unconverted hydrogenated material [0113]. Examiner additionally notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected hydrogen ratio, as such is a well-known variable, in order to achieve the desired hydrogenation. Peters teaches distillation can occur before or after hydrogenation depending on the products desired [0114].
Examiner notes that it is expected that the bio ethanol dehydration and oligomerization would result in the same properties as claimed, since they are the same steps applied to the same feeds as described in claim 29 and instant specification (See examples).
Peters teaches the products are useful as fuels, which is one of the same purposes as identified in Applicant’s instant sped (see page 1). Peters does not explicitly disclose the boiling ranges as specified in the claims.
However, Hyman teaches a similar process for bio ethanol dehydration to produce olefins followed by oligomerization, hydrogenation, and fractionation [0046-0048]. Hyman teaches that while the products can be used for fuel [0051] (similarly to Peters), Hyman teaches that the products may also be used in other applications such as for drilling fluids, industrial fluids, inks, solvents, etc [0051].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the cut points in the distillation step, depending on whether fuel products or desired, or products for the other applications as specified by Hyman. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results, since Peters/Hyman teaches that the products are useful in these applications, and the person having ordinary skill in the art would be familiar with selection of the boiling range so that the product can be used for the desired products.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao (US 2020/0062674) – teaches ethanol dehydration, oligomerization and hydrogenation
Luebke (US 9,957,449) – teaches production of jet fuel from bio renewable alcohols (column 7, lines 15-50)
Wright (US 2012/0238788) – teaches bio alcohol dehydration and oligomerization to produce fuels and lubricants (see figures)
Harandi (US 5,177,279) – teaches methanol to gasoline conversion process
El Halwagi (US 2012/0095272) – teaches biomass to produce alcohol to send to dehydration and oligomerization to produce fuel
WO 03/074634 – cited in ISR, teaches producing hydrocarbon fluids for inks, drilling fluids, working fluids, and silicone extenders by hydrogenation of vgo feeds (see example 1)
WO 2011/061575 – cited in ISR, teaches hydrogenation of VGO to produce hydrocarbon fluids having low aromatic content
Coupard (US 2007/0287873) – teaches conversion of ethanol to basestock
Gruber (US 2012/0238787) – teaches production of jet fuel from biomass
/MICHELLE STEIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771